You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Want a job at this pub? You have to apply on Snapchat

There are 20 positions on offer at Sober Lane, which is opening a new pub in Dublin.

A NEW DUBLIN pub, which will be opening up next month, is asking applicants to send in Snapchat photos and videos instead of CVs.

The messaging app, which lets users send photos and videos that disappear after a set amount of time, is the only way for people to apply for the 20 positions on offer at Sober Lane D4.

95655-image1403773012 Sober Lane Sober Lane

So why use Snapchat instead of a CV? Speaking to TheJournal.ie, the owner Ernest Cantillon said it’s all about making a good first impression.

Snapchat lets you make a first impression, there’s no back and forth, people are only able to send photos or 15-second videos and it either catches our imagination or not.

Since it’s a new pub, that first impression is vital in turning visitors to become regulars with Cantillon saying “all they see is that first impression and they do judge a book by its cover.”

So far, the pub has received a number of applications from Snapchat, some telling jokes while one person has sent a video of them juggling. Cantillon recommends that people just get creative when they’re applying and will make them think “this is a person I would like to meet.”

That good first impression also extends to the bar itself. While it’s well established in Cork, it needs to make a good first impression for its opening to be a success.

We’re new in Dublin, we wouldn’t be well known so first impressions is everything… [but] social media is a great level playing field and if you’re first and you’re clever, then you’ll get the real coverage.

The bar plans to open its Dublin branch on 16 July.

Read: Now Facebook is letting anyone download its Snapchat-inspired app >

Read: DIY: Google wants you to create a VR headset using cardboard >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute Stuart
    Favourite Stuart
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:19 AM

Please tell me someone in government has heard the warning from the fiscal advisory council that the current corporation tax intake is not to be relied on for long term spending!!

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:35 AM

@Stuart: Public sector unions won’t have heard it for sure…hand will be out soon!

Mute B Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite B Ó Raghallaigh
    Oct 4th 2019, 5:52 PM

@Gavin Tobin: Don’t forget that TDs were the first to get a payrise

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:34 PM

@B Ó Raghallaigh: TD’s got the same pay rise as the rest of the public sector at the same time. I don’t begrudge them the salary, I do begrudge them the massive expenses they claim.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 5th 2019, 9:11 AM

@Gavin Tobin: The PS will bury us again in the coming years, their pay and pensions are growing by the year and are totally out of control now…..we are in the hole for over 200 billion and as soon as reality hits we are in for serious pain…..our voting for FFG will once again cost us all dearly.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:43 AM

I am waiting to see how the increased carbon tax will be “ring fenced” as Leo Varadkar has promised and how we will be able to see how much money has been raised and where it is being spent or saved to deal with climate change issues.

We have to remember that this is not just another cash cow.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:55 AM

@George Vladisavljevic: That won’t happen George.

Mute Bah Humbug Soon
    Favourite Bah Humbug Soon
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:35 AM

@George Vladisavljevic: We’ve already used some of the ‘bonus’ corporation tax take for pay rises against their advice when we should have used some for capital projects to bring value for the future, expand Luas, improve rail & bus but sure we’ve a great record in ppp projects. Most expensive children’s hospital.

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:52 AM

Are people completely delusional. The economy is about to go over a cliff thanks to brexit and people want a give away budget .

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:15 AM

@jerry slattery: its amazing the amount of people spin and bluster works on

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Oct 4th 2019, 10:43 AM

@jerry slattery: The economy is about to hit recession due to global factors that no one in the media is talking about. Brexit will exacerbate it for us ten fold. It’s going to be worse than 2010.

Mute Brian Henoll
    Favourite Brian Henoll
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:00 PM

@Ian Breathnach: Totally different to last time, but don’t let the facts get in the way of a good scare story.

Mute RichieC
    Favourite RichieC
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:43 PM

@Brian Henoll: Huh? Just because it’s different, doesn’t mean it is without fact. Credit based recessions are sharp and severe. What we’re potentially facing now is something we haven’t seen before and for that reason is much harder to predict. Most economists however believe that in the current climate, a global recession would be a much longer and slower burn.

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Oct 4th 2019, 8:06 PM

@Ian Breathnach: can’t wait I’ll be able to buy a house then bring it on

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Oct 4th 2019, 12:18 PM

In a country where motor tax pays for water infrastructure you can be sure that carbon will be spent on anything but eliminating itself.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Oct 4th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Denis McClean: motor tax also pays for education, health etc. Its not ring fenced just for roads, hell motor tax intake wouldn’t come close to paying for roads.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:01 PM

@Barry Somers: what is tax and duty on petrol and diesel, toll charges, insurance levy vat on car parts as well as paying the highest road tax on a car in the world , motorists ripped off by corrupt politicians.

Mute Peter Hopkins
    Favourite Peter Hopkins
    Oct 5th 2019, 3:29 AM

@Denis McClean: best of luck Ireland (huge producer of carbon ha ha ha) you are being screwed by government tax, blaming a country the same size as Lake Superior Canada. In prospective Ireland’s carbons omissions are equal to a slow day in New York City ….just saying

Mute Grebo Leonardo
    Favourite Grebo Leonardo
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:29 AM

What about the Billions in tax Apple owe? Surely they would help but oh no you don’t want to take it from them…

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Oct 4th 2019, 8:32 AM

@Grebo Leonardo: How can they take it when it’s not theirs to take?

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Oct 4th 2019, 9:34 AM

@Grebo Leonardo: That money is being held in an escrow fund at negative rates of interest and we are being charged big money to have it “ managed”. If it drags on long enough it will eventually disappear due to these “ management” costs but if Apple are successful in their claim to have it returned to them the Irish taxpayer will have to cough up the money.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:44 AM

Can’t wait until Brexit stops been the architect for really bad governance. Everything filters down to brexit. What are our clowns honing to blame when it eventually hapoens

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Oct 4th 2019, 9:21 AM

The reason for no kites this year is simply to ram these scam , I mean save the planet taxes through. Sad those whom vote FFG…

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Oct 4th 2019, 2:27 PM

And still ff won’t call for a genarel election

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:07 PM

@Fran O’Keeffe: with the ongoing chaos in Westminster over Brexit last thing Ireland needs is instability. Glad to see FF continuing to put national interest first. Wont be long into new year before we do get a general election here and can so replace FG

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:52 AM

Any excuse will do them to screw the poorest of society .

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:00 PM

Too much spent on spin and varadkar pet projects

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 4th 2019, 10:25 AM

They’re not meeting their carbon targets and will be fined.

They’re getting the cash together adding more taxes and hikes to cover the cost of these fines.

It’s annoying AF.

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Oct 4th 2019, 12:41 PM

@Peter: dont pay the fines…..we owe 200billion as is ….add it to the bill….

Mute Johnny Comelately
    Favourite Johnny Comelately
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:21 PM

@Pete Lee: thinks it’s at 210 now

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Oct 4th 2019, 4:03 PM

@Johnny Comelately: 210 000 000 050

Mute Mr Bordello
    Favourite Mr Bordello
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:19 PM

Blah blah blah usc is never going, blah blah blah here’s some carbon tax. Don’t forget to vote us in again next tear.

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Oct 4th 2019, 8:15 AM

Immediate carbox tax on fuel Drivers face instant petrol price hike from Budget Day carbon tax

https://www.independent.ie/business/budget/drivers-face-instant-petrol-price-hike-from-budget-day-carbon-tax-38561734.html

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Oct 4th 2019, 8:22 AM

@Jim O Brien – TechBuzz Ireland: I am signing on to the new ‘Walk to work’ scheme at my company.

I will get a year to pay off a new pair of runners that will enable me to jog 30 km’s to work and then another 30 km’s back home. E’fin amazing.

No bus service or train service but no problem bringing a tax to hurt the rural dwellers even more.

Mute Brian Carroll
    Favourite Brian Carroll
    Oct 4th 2019, 5:12 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: on the other hand rural dwellers do get cheaper housing and subsidised electrical infrastructure…swings and roundabouts!

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Oct 4th 2019, 12:21 PM

In a country where motor tax pays for water infrastructure and doctors, you can bet your last cent that carbon tax will be spent on anything but eliminating itself.

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Denis McClean: they have introduced a stealth carbon tax last week, well in kildare anyway, they (ffg labour) voted for 7.5% increase on local property tax and 5% of that is been given to climate action ireland ie a carbon tax added onto an illegal property tax

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Denis McClean: they have introduced a stealth carbon tax last week, well in kildare anyway, they (ffg labour) voted for 7.5% increase on local property tax and 5% of that is been given to climate action ireland ie a carbon tax added onto an illegal property tax

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Oct 4th 2019, 12:14 PM

you can bet tds will get their annual 5-8 grand pay rise one way or another as for everyone outside the top 5% – tough shit paddy , now cough up and move on !.

Mute Aine Power
    Favourite Aine Power
    Oct 4th 2019, 2:57 PM

Absolutely anything to screw the Ms and Mr Taxpayer. Carbon tax inflicted on the commuter, while they have this glorious children’s hospital which will is nothing than a white elephant and don’t get me started on the broadband.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Oct 4th 2019, 5:51 PM

I would love a little pool of money to dip when I overspend at home. Oh wait , it’s call my savings( However small). Probably good I don’t touch it in case there’s some unforeseen emergency. I think I just better not overspend then. What a novel idea.

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Oct 4th 2019, 10:24 AM

I am not public service….never have been. But why should unions etc. Listen to the bullshit spoke by TDs etc. Who have credit cards and give themselves pay rises…like charlie haughey and his charvet shirts….its allways bulls wool and the knacker yards for the poor old and sick as long as im allright jack…
    50 years of listening to this shite

Mute Aine Power
    Favourite Aine Power
    Oct 4th 2019, 3:07 PM

@Pete Lee: Well he gave free travel to the over 65′s and gave us fuel allowance to the poverty poor. He was a good statesman in many ways, Varadkar’s shirts are 700 euro each from the Copeland shop.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Oct 4th 2019, 4:40 PM

@Aine Power: He didn’t give anything. Its very easy to be generous with other peoples hard earned money and its easier still when doing so helps you buy the support of certain parts of the electorate. Re the public sector, we must remember, dishing out large pay increases to PS workers is not coming from the TDs pocket. Its money taken from the pockets of private sector workers – who fund everything in the state. And private sector workers are not benefiting from the job security, pensions and beneifits afforded to PS workers.

Mute Jeremy Moynihan
    Favourite Jeremy Moynihan
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:10 PM

You mean that unsustainable corporate tax take? Politicians politicking..

Mute Charlie Jameson
    Favourite Charlie Jameson
    Oct 4th 2019, 5:53 PM

Honestly look at this government it’s a pantomime seriously you couldn’t write this as a comedy how on earth did they get in

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Oct 4th 2019, 4:35 PM

Time to look at the amount of PCP on all the flash cars in the country. Some cough softening is in order I think.

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh
    Oct 4th 2019, 6:17 PM

Fine Gael are planning to Build a Liquified Natural Gas terminal in Shannon which will be used to store Fracked gas imported from America.

If this LNG station goes ahead Fine Gael will be locking Ireland into fossil fuels for the foreseable future, the hundreds of millions that the government intend to spend on this project should instead be invested in renewable energies.Talk about hypocrisy.

Mute Rob Callaghan
    Favourite Rob Callaghan
    Oct 4th 2019, 11:29 PM

@Bernard Kavanagh:
    It’s Gas isn’t it !!’

Mute Peter Hopkins
    Favourite Peter Hopkins
    Oct 5th 2019, 3:35 AM

Ireland’s carbon footprint is about equal to an elephants far$ in the world’s point of view,

Mute Boris Becker
    Favourite Boris Becker
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:28 PM

Take a bite from the Apple and we’d all be laughing (excuse the cheesy shyte) and kill the vultures destroying society…..Ireland is heading to a bad bend in a winding road……nothing ever straight with cronies behind the wheel!!!

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Oct 4th 2019, 7:38 PM

Robbing Peter to pay Paul and to give T D a raise when the rest of us poor idiots take it all we bailed out this country to save it but since then it’s spend spend to get votes when are we going to learn

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    Oct 4th 2019, 10:43 PM

Such a Dick, another Finance minister who rewards the rich and screws the rest of us.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 5th 2019, 4:24 AM

When the Govt talks to itself .