You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ivana Bacik said she would continue to advocate for a common platform between both parties. RollingNews.ie

Social Democrats reject Labour proposal to jointly enter government formation talks

Social Democrats informed Labour that it intends to continue “to engage on a stand-alone basis with all parties”.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Dec 2024

THE SOCIAL DEMOCRATS has rejected Labour’s proposal to jointly enter government formation negotiations on a common, centre-left platform, while a newly formed group of independent TDs say they are “willing to engage” in talks if they are guaranteed a place in the new government.

Labour leader Ivana Bacik told reporters that the Social Democrats informed her party that it intends to continue “to engage on a stand-alone basis with all parties” after a meeting at Leinster House in Dublin this morning.

Deputy Social Democrats leader Cian O’Callaghan, in a written statement after the meeting, said that his party has “always been clear that we want to go into government”.

He did not detail that they informed Labour that they intend to continue as a single party but said the Social Democrats will continue to negotiate with Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil next week to discuss their red-line issues.

Both leaders said it was a largely positive meeting.

Bacik said she would continue to advocate for a common platform between both parties, but that Labour will now need to convene internally to discuss the group’s next move. She added that there “will be opportunities for collaboration” with the Social Democrats.

Independent group looks for seat at the table

A group of eight independent TDs have said they are open to engaging with parties in government formation talks “on the basis that [they] would be part of Government”.

The newly formed ‘Regional Group’ was created earlier this week and includes a couple of TDs who previously were in government in the 2016-2020 term.

The members of the Regional Group are Sean Canney, Marian Harkin, Barry Heneghan, Noel Grealish, Michael Lowry, Kevin (‘Boxer’) Moran, Verona Murphy and Gillian Toole.

In a statement this afternoon, the TDs said: “The Regional Group is willing to engage if and when we get an invitation. In the event of an invitation the group will meet to discuss strategy and appoint our negotiators. We would enter talks on the basis that we would be part of Government.”

The group said that it would be “desirable that Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael first have agreement on the rotating Taoiseach”.

“Policy and the Programme for Government would have to reflect our concerns and initiatives,” they said.

Galway East TD Sean Canney and Longford–Westmeath TD Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran, two of the members of the Regional Group, were previously part of the 2016 Fine Gael-led government as part of a group of six independents known as the Alliance group.

Asked recently about his priorities if he was involved in government formation talks, Canney said there are regional infrastructure issues that need to be tackled, such as railway lines in the west of the country and traffic congestion in Galway, but also insisted independents don’t just focus on “parish pump politics” and that his “biggest issue” would be about accelerating housing construction.

Labour and Social Democrats

Labour’s proposal, outlined by Bacik on the very first day of the election campaign, was to unite the Social Democrats and the Green Party after all the ballots had been counted in order to enter formation discussion unitarily.

Roderic O’Gorman, the only TD to be re-elected from the Green Party, today announced that it is “very unlikely” that he would be re-entering government - but urged Labour and the Social Democrats to engage “seriously”.

Labour’s proposal, as of today, has not been accepted.

Asked if Labour are wasting time it could spend on engaging with the larger parties, Bacik said she made a “very clear commitment” to her voters to engage with the Social Democrats and believes it was the right thing to do.

“Our ambition in the Labour party is to grow the centre left to a point where we can deliver the change the communities need,” she said, adding that anyone who is “serious about delivering change must, at least, consider the concept of a common platform”.

Sinn Féin on Wednesday seemingly accepted that it will be in opposition for another five year term.

Leader Mary Lou McDonald called on Labour and the Social Democrats to, instead, join her to form a “cohesive” opposition in the Dáil.

Both parties have said that they are seeking to enter government, though some Labour TDs have made clear that they would not want to join a coalition by themselves

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael – the likely major partners in the next government – have made clear that independent TDs are in the frame to form a coalition. 

O’Gorman and Bacik today said that they believe climate policies would be significantly rowed back with independent TDs in government.

Leaders Micheál Martin and Simon Harris are pausing their government formation talks today as they both have official duties in Edinburgh.

Taoiseach Harris and Tánaiste Martin are in Scotland to meet with the British-Irish Council.

Both leaders have said some short, informal discussions will likely take place – but admitted that both of them will be short for time.

“It’s a very busy night, tonight and tomorrow, so opportunities will be limited enough, obviously there are informal opportunities for us to touch base,” Martin said last night.

Harris told reporters last night that Fine Gael have “sounded out” a number of independent TDs over this week and will meet with political party leaders next week to discuss further.

“I take nothing for granted, and until agreements have been reached and completed, nobody can take anything for granted,” he said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

132 Comments
    Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:22 PM

No shinners and no greens- Happy days!!!

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:31 PM

@John arse: Its a wonderful Christmas for sure.

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:16 PM

Is the journal sure that Russia didn’t interfere with our election, Total BS hysteria.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:06 PM

@John arse: should also br KNOW FF AND FG

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:19 PM

@John arse: NEW TROLL ALERT,,,

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:26 PM

@John arse: Lol cool name

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:46 PM

@FlipBip: so flip ar§e or ar§e blip your next name?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:55 PM

@Trump24: ah yes the numbers of emigrants rose again recently, before the election. The homeless figures rose every single month for Nye on what, 4 years ?! God bless us everyone

Mute Bingbangbong
    Favourite Bingbangbong
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:15 PM

@John arse: Social Labourcrats

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:32 PM

@FlipBip: Better than Dick Arse.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:14 PM

@james rowan: John arse has been around for 6y, according to his avatar.
    You ; 9y. Have you not met before ?

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:16 PM

@John arse: Have you noticed that Alan Kelly is missing from Labour group speaking to media. His need for the “power drug” is overwhelming He was speaking to RTE about a Labour coalition before final results were in . We haven’t forgotten the Water Charges saga, Alan, and, “We will make you pay”.

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:34 PM

@John arse: Yes, you are an arsenal

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:18 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: an awful blueshirt, that Liebour TD Alan Kelly.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:34 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: AK is dying to get his feet back under the ministry desk

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Dec 7th 2024, 8:14 AM

@087 bed: No they both failed to get elected.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Dec 6th 2024, 1:44 PM

This version of labour is more akin to FFG than the left..

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:05 PM

@MN: FFG are left.

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:07 PM

@MN: Agreed, People Before Profit are the only true left-wing party in the State. Labour & Soc. Dems. are for yuppies who think it’s radical to vote for centrist parties. Labour proved they were nothing more than neo-liberal shills last time they were in govt. with Fine Gael.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Favourite Faejit Balloobas
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:12 PM

@Dermot Blaine: ohhhh no they are not. By most metrics FG is the most conservative/ right wing then closely followed by FF

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:13 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Lol, and all the farmers who vote for them are Marxists too. Give your head a wobble.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:22 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: Very hard to pull the wool over the eyes of an old warhorse such as yourself Jacintha, it’s funny because crazy lefty policies has pushed Europe to the right. Don’t forget that. Centrist intelligent parties with common sense is what’s needed, not more blue haired turkeys voting for Christmas,

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:28 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: yuppies? They haven’t gone away, you know. How very 1980’s

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:29 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: just because there ‘THE MOST conservative/ right wing’ doesn’t mean they are conservative or right wing. Who are you comparing them to? Left wing parties. Fiscally FG and FF are centrist. They support a free market that is owned by the people and not the elected politicians, but they also have left wing policies like social housing and dole payments to employmentally challenged people.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:39 PM

@Dermot Blaine: yes they are.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:00 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: Why Larkin left Larkin Labour for voting with the most right wing party in Ireland, Fine Gael, against Fianna Fáil. The words of a founder of the party.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:09 PM

@Freda Peeple: I think you’ll find that austerity policies are the realm of the right. Remind me, who invaded Abyssinia that has a far-right government now?

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:12 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: No difference between the centre and the right, just look at France and their austerity policies. Ironic colonial countries give out about foreigners and some Irish hold their views, clueless.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:30 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: That’s pure nonsense and you know it. Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are both solidly centre-left parties with some left-wing leanings. They both support inheritance and property tax hikes, minimum wage hikes that hurt businesses, the voted in lock-step with of the Green Party’s wacky environmental proposals like the carbon tax and “Net Zero”, they support rent control and price controls on childcare, they haven’t made any effort to shrink the size of the government once, they keep throwing more money at the HSE instead of privatising it, they are both strongly anti-Israel and they both have a policy of cozying up to China. They don’t have a single policy in their manifestos that is right-leaning.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:33 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: How is that Ironic. Nigeria is one of the most far right countries in the world, they are not a colonial power. Poland has actual far right groups. Football hooligans who hate foreigners and Jews. Look at Legia Warsaw. Tens of thousands of members who walk around as skin heads, with bottles of Fanta. Poland isn’t a colonial power. The Brits were the most colonial power of all time, and they were the first to adopt mass immigration policies in Europe. So is France. I thought you said the colonial powers don’t like foreigners and the non colonial powers like them?

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:35 PM

@Frank O’Hara: agree with everything except being anti Israel can be seen as far right, or left wing. Both hate Israel for very different reasons.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:36 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Giving your age away Kevin, isn’t it amazing that you’ve learnt so little in all those years!

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:36 PM

@MN: Labour, traditionally, just the political wing of the teachers’ unions.
    There was a time when they were in touch with ordinary people, but they are above that now.
    eg, our president

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Dec 6th 2024, 8:55 PM

@Dermot Blaine: here you go, a nice little graphic showing where each party stands……

https://politpro.eu/en/ireland/parties

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:35 PM

@Dermot Blaine: feckwit

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:56 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: They might hate Jews but they love their fellow far-right Zionists in Israel as per the trend in Hungary, the Netherlands, Argentina, the UK, USA et al. Islamophobia is the common denominator.

Mute Harry Callahan
    Favourite Harry Callahan
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:25 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: PBP are more a protest movement than a political party who who are destined to fulminate from the fringes. I doubt even Sinn Fein in their desperation to get into government would team up with them. Essentially, a vote wasted for a group that will never wield any real power or influence.

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:17 PM

@Harry Callahan: Are PBP against corporate profit ? Do they want zero profit and zero corporation tax returns ? If so they must believe in very small Government budgets. I might vote for them.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:50 PM

@Dermot Blaine: stop would ye,left hahabaahaa

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:13 PM

@Pat O’Shea: If Islamophobia is the irrational fear of Islam, who are you to say that somebody’s fear is rational or irrational?

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Dec 7th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: There’s nothing centrist about FG fiscal policies. They have proved time and time again that they are very much pro-big business even if it’s to the detriment of the people. This is the most fiscally conservative government Ireland has ever had. Big Business never had it so good. Hence why Ireland is so rich but its majority are struggling.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:16 PM

@Freda Peeple: no in Europe many of the great countries with their very strong infrastructure & healthcare in place it all came from the centre left, much like Labour gave the Uk the NHS. USA under trump was treated as practically signifying the west turning right back in 2016 on, thankfully that hasn’t come to pass in terms of Europe because it isn’t the answer. And id the first to oppose Brussels on a lot, be opposed to this level of unsustainable immigration from the third world across Europe. Also i would support Schengen being taken apart. This should have been started as a process following the jihadist massacre in Paris much of Europes left treats as little more than a slight blip in recent history.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:03 PM

As long as that dreadful man Roderic O’Gorman is nowhere near the levers of power, I’ll be happy!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:25 PM

@Brian Hunt: Agreed, dreadful almost doesn’t do justice to that horrid little man

Mute Maximilian Kolbe

@Freda Peeple: I’m reporting you for homophobic abuse

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:30 PM

@Brian Hunt: And hopefully they keep woke Helen McEntee away from the justice portfolio. Shes handing out citizenships like confetti., not to mention the draconian hate speech legislation.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:42 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: As a fellow gay I’d be a severe hypocrite if i was being homophobic. Where did you come up with that? Is it reading or comprehension you struggled with in school?

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:07 PM

@Freda Peeple: Well if you actually had a real name we could confirm that but you don’t. Röhm was gay as well, still a Nazi

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:14 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Ah, but he came to a sticky end!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:17 PM

@Staker Wallace: McEntee being sacked would’ve been the icing on the cake, but you can’t have everything!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:25 PM

@Brian D’Arcy haha are you for real? How would my name confirm if I was gay? It has no bearing on what’s being discussed. Your name is Brian Darcy so I assume you are a priest?

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:37 PM

@Freda Peeple: I was being sarcastic don’t worry. I was riling up that Brian Darcy clown to get him going.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:06 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: Aah I see, Brian got his phone back from his handler for the weekend.

Mute Tis Shields
    Favourite Tis Shields
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:14 PM

Labour can’t wait to get their noses back into the trough.

Never forget Labour’s treachery the last time they were in government.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:31 PM

@Tis Shields: I’ll never forget when they opposed the law that would allow orphans to not be executed.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Dec 6th 2024, 1:43 PM

Hopefully labour learned their lesson from last time, but they do seem a bit eager imo

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:09 PM

@Nigel Hayden: no matter who makes up the numbers required to prop up a FFFG government, they are toast at next election.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:03 PM

@Nigel Hayden: their lucky to me and MEP Aodhan o recently posted about the riot anniversary. How ironic!! He practically wants more division in Ireland and he posts rewriting history and ignoring the terror stabbing. Ah well, it’s not as if children’s lives were nearly taken !! What harm

Mute Tasty k
    Favourite Tasty k
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:18 PM

Social Democrats showing their true colours now.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:17 PM

@Tasty k: The party is more like a debating society than a political party. They have absolutely no intention about taking part in any government because then they’d have to make choices they don’t have to make decisions and and heaven forbid they have to make unpopular choices. They prefer sideline management to getting down inductee on the field of play.

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:57 PM

@Tim Brennan: They want to govern in a progressive left leaning government, I’m not sure why that’s so difficult to understand for some people. They have little policy in common with FFG so it hardly makes sense to form a coalition with them.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:05 PM

@Rochelle Hart: And wouldn’t that be fun, all left leaning Government with people before Profit, Hello

Mute Dermot Clancy
    Favourite Dermot Clancy
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:07 PM

@Tasty k: And fair play to them, Labour back to their same old bowing down to ffg.

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:09 PM

Soc dems seem pretty desperate to get into government… hopefully that’s the death of another left party at the next election

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:12 PM

@Dixie: Doubtful, if anything the Left vote will increase. Thankfully not a single far-right nutjob got elected, one-trick ponies with no policies apart from anti-immigration waffle which only 6% of voters considered a factor in the polling booth.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple

@Jacintha Dumbrell: You must have your eye on one of the new arrivals Jacintha, not sure they have quite reached those levels of desperation just yet. in fairness I don’t think the far right have been responsible for children going missing, or being maimed. Or for treating women like they are a separate species. In fact “the far right” don’t exist, only in the propaganda spewed by the media, and it is lapped up by gullible people like yourself.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr

@Freda Peeple: ah now Freda, this time lat week you were telling us that the Far Right were on the march!

Mute Maximilian Kolbe

@Jacintha Dumbrell: left wing vote has been falling all over europe, and right wing increasing. France had to form a coalition with the communist party of France just to reach a majority by the skin of their teeth to stop Le Pens right wing government. That’s working out well for them by the looks of it. Lol. Biggest opposition in Germany is now the (far) right wing AFD. Even though it’s controlled opposition, it’s still there. The same can be said for the majority of Europe, and the entire world. Every single government in Africa is far right or fascist. Try identifying as lgbt there and see what happens to you. Middle East the same thing. Russia, China, majority of rest of Asia – same thing. Socially left wing governments are about 5% of the world.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:46 PM

@Kevin Kerr: If you look back on your notes I said the “far right is on the March in Europe” as in right wing parties. We don’t have any credible far right parties at all. But next election after 5 more years of destroying Ireland I think we will have more.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:52 PM

@Freda Peeple: so they do exist then, got it

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:02 PM

@Kevin Kerr: I’m glad you got it. Would you consider the “far right” views of high ranking clerics of certain religions calling for the end and takeover of western culture worrisome at all? There are areas of Sweden white people can’t go anymore, same in Birmingham, pretty close to home, do you think that’s something to ponder or try to prevent?

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:03 PM

@Freda Peeple: Ha ha, loom at your history of far-righg treatment of women, they even lied about the word woman being removed from the constitution during the referendum to take away the woman’s place being in the home. Freeda People, Freeda the head more like.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:07 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I think your keyboard is broken Brian, Its probably from you drooling on it

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:10 PM

@Freda Peeple: The ‘no-go areas in Birmingham’ claim was made by a London Tory and has been thoroughly debunked.

‘So there are no go zone areas of Birmingham – it’s official according to an MP from, er, London. Paul Sculley of the Sutton and Cheam area of the capital decided Sparkhill isn’t an area you want to be going to – much to the surprise of us journalists at the city’s local newspaper and all the residents who live in this suburb. It is a perplexing comment to make, especially as he later suggested he’d only been to Small Heath.’

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/whats-on/whats-on-news/gallery/no-go-zones-birmingham-you-28717952

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:35 PM

@Freda Peeple: how would you define the politics of Derek Blighe, Ben Gilroy, or Gavin Steenson , for example?

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:00 PM

@lesidees: Nationalist right of centre, have a look at Malachy Steenson election mandate on his leaflet available on his website. Educate yourself and stop swallowing the mantra of “fat right” not one of his policies is extreme in the least. Definition of far right is extreme views. I’m sickened so many of our country has been brainwashed out of rational thought.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:48 PM
    Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:50 PM
    Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:53 PM
    Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:57 PM
    Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:02 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Fair play Emer, I’m hopeless at tech so can’t post links here. Facts, stats, and hindsight still won’t be enough to convince the gullible RTE news watchers

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:17 PM

@Freda Peeple: Exactly, I just can’t comprehend how people refuse to see we will be exactly the same as Sweden if not worse in a few years time if we don’t try to control the situation now! I don’t know if it’s naïveté or arrogance for some here to think people wouldn’t behave like that over here! Why are we not learning from what’s happening in Europe?

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Government and media manipulation, social conditioning, gaslighting, an out of control number of NGO’s working for well connected people, who are making a fortune out of the movement of people… the list goes on. Things will have to reach rock bottom before people wake up here, We are only at the start compared to mainland Europe and the Uk. Europe will recover, and the traitors will be removed swiftly from their mansions!

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:02 PM

@Freda Peeple: a long way from the centre

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Dec 7th 2024, 4:14 AM

@Freda Peeple: “In fact “the far right” don’t exist,…”

https://i.imgur.com/WTUuBnn.jpg

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Emer McDonnell: well said. Parts of the city centre already Look the way Malmö and other cities in Europe have gone. It’s gathering pace.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:08 PM

Holly Cairns had enough of labour, luckily for socdems they got the election day baby bounce. Won’t happen again

Mute John Ledwidge
    Favourite John Ledwidge

Any parlamentary steps that can be taken that can break up and cut down one hundred years of FFFG control in our country I welcome…..

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:10 PM

Laughing at the far-right on social media cheering when Independents were riding high in the polls for Local and General Elections, when really they are either ex-Fianna Fáil / Fine Gael patsies, or Left-Wing. There is so much political illiteracy in this country.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 6th 2024, 2:45 PM

Right decision, Holly!

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:38 PM

@Me Me: Holly knows her party is just woke nonsense and will be wipped out soon.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:41 PM

@Trump24: wiped out?. They started in 2015, have run in 3 general elections, first one they got 3 seats, second they got 6, the third they got 11. They are clearly a party on the rise.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:11 PM

@Ger Whelan: so it will take a generation to get into Government Wise up, SD & Labour are champagne socialists

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:34 PM

@Ger Whelan: Yes the get in a junior partner next stop wiped out

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 1:46 PM

That’s a pity together they would have more traction if they were in Government again and if something was unpalatable which with FFG is a given, they could pull the plug or get some compromise. If either go in alone they will suffer next election.

We need a centre left in our politics.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 6th 2024, 1:49 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Either Labour or SDs with FF/FG would comprise a comfortable majority of TDs, so I don’t think there’s any incentive for FF/FG to include both.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:02 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: In case you haven’t noticed. FF are Centre Left and FG are Centre Right. The much described Far Right and the media free pass Far Left are thankfully shunned by voters.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:33 PM

@thomas molloy: Are you basing that on Bertie saying he was a socialist or FG has the right within the party at one stage? Both parties are centralist if anything and while they provide some relief for those in need they certainly aren’t left is all policies they implement.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 3:36 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Yes but it would act as a counter balance the FFG stranglehold and get closer to a standard that befits a country that isn’t poor.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:47 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: You do spew some awful lefty trash on this site, totally clueless!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:07 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: so they just walk out if it was uncomfortable for them? & what another election, let them go it alone & stay that way

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:14 PM

@Brian Hunt: I’m glad you are reading my posts.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Sheila McNulty: Where did I say that? The issues in country aren’t been addressed and it’s certainly not due to the lack of money. A country like ours with it’s near 100bn income should not run in the way it does. FF/FG are going to be in Government with help if it’s ” like minded independents” nothing will change having Labour and the SDs in government too would balance things up…and Governments rarely collapse here there’s always someone to be bribed.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 6th 2024, 8:27 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: FF is so socialist that it increased welfare levels to the highest in the world. This is why Ireland is now a welfare magnet country and this has created side effects in housing, healthcare and teacher/pupil and other areas.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:38 PM

@thomas molloy: both centre right ,wtf would make you think FF is centre left?
    Are you a yank??

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:27 PM

@thomas molloy: Both. FF and FG are economically right wing, supporting big business interests over the needs of the people.

FG are socially liberal while FF are socially Conservative.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:39 PM

@thomas molloy: Either you don’t understand what left is or you’re simply trying to justify your understanding .Increasing SW payments does not make you left , building a society where anyone can participate is one aspect of being left. Have economic policies that are fair to all is left. I’m not one for free anything but there are people especially disabled people who need things just to live .

Mute Jim Roche
    Favourite Jim Roche
    Dec 6th 2024, 4:43 PM

Clearly both Labour and the social democrats separately are looking to form a government with Fianna Fail and Fine Gael, because “It’ll be different this time” I think not. Both labour and the social democrats as part of their program while canvassing the doorsteps was “Real Change” a kind of anti FF/FG sentiment, but it’s different now, that, as usual, once elected their sentiments towards FF/FG have changed. Speaks volumes about the labour and social democrats politicians who knocked on your door asking for your vote for real change.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:40 PM

@Jim Roche: Modern advanced societies like Ireland see the blatant cheek and wrongness of the money grabbing Socialist left. Punishing sensible serious diligent citizens and with that cash rewarding themselves and their left wing comrades and the work-shy.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 7th 2024, 3:57 AM

@thomas molloy: And explain how most of Europe works? Most EU governments are in the centre with a lean to the left. Look at how their money is used , look at the way their health system, housing, infrastructure, is created and managed .

You either seem to not know what the left does and clearly don’t know what socialism is. Europe has a system where hard work is rewarded, taxes are used for the people, and those who need help are provided with it, based on the resources of the country.

I suggest to do a little research before typing inane, inaccurate posts.

Mute Pro gamer Jack
    Favourite Pro gamer Jack
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:38 PM

I see Zappone the phoney is looking to contest the seanad. She obviously has no shame.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:09 PM

@Pro gamer Jack: Have any of them?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:10 PM

@Pro gamer Jack: I thought she emigrated ? Pity she didn’t

Mute PhiBo
    Favourite PhiBo
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:37 AM

@S Suilleabhain: Do you have a vote?

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 7th 2024, 9:05 PM

@PhiBo: the party I voted for by way of first pref came second.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:54 PM

The mean sprititidness and division is unreal but despite the censorship, the journal comments remain interesting to gauge the mood post an election. Unfortunately, a divided country didn’t turn out in enough numbers so SF whatever you think of them have another plot to exclude them having gotten the most single preferences in 2020, come 2nd in 2024. Hope you all sleep soundly those bragging about fg who lost the election, in particular since you dont care about vulnerable people. Just like your joke of a Fg leader proudly doesn’t !!? (I’m NOT a Mary Lou supporter.)

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes

@S Suilleabhain: the election results show you can’t gauge the country’s mood from the Journal – completely disconnected from the real Ireland

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:10 PM

This is where I logout…I’m one of Simon Harris ‘ purposely dropped in it by unreasonable wait lists for resources such as psychology, as one of the vulnerable he like Leo does so passionately despises. People who come on and they proudly fess up to more FFg despite the fact that FG lost the election

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:53 PM

The question should be asked & and answered: has the agent code named Cobalt by the gardai been re-elected?

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:33 PM

It’s disappointing that the left can’t work together. Brilliant strategy by FF & FG divide and concour, and let’s pretend we are different parties. We are a rich country, where the rich keep getting rich & poor poorer!!!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 7th 2024, 3:58 AM

@David Byrne: Yes it is, and both of them in Government would have been a good thing.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:37 PM

Ms Bacik seems to be attempting to ride 2 horses at once! Thats a circus act, not practical politics, so adopt a clearly defined and expressed policy.
    It has to be either to enter Government as a junior element, or go opposition to form a left front and policies.
    Given the semi FFFG independents play for Gregory type deals, an invite to Labour is very unlikely, so face that reality, ms Bacik and co.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Dec 6th 2024, 6:20 PM

“We’re the Judean peoples front not the front for Judean people”

Mute Pro gamer Jack
    Favourite Pro gamer Jack

@John Quill: it’s the peoples front of Judea

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 6th 2024, 8:45 PM

@Pro gamer Jack: what about the Popular front

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:37 PM

@Martin Ryan: Roderic? He’s over there.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:42 PM

Look at the gob on that

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:48 PM

Fair play to sd. Hopefully, they stick to a left leaning agenda.
    And don’t prop up any ffg government.
    Labour, on the other hand, are still sell outs. Never forget alan Kelly in government.

Mute Co. Kerry.
    Favourite Co. Kerry.
    Dec 6th 2024, 9:56 PM

The SDs clearly have more insight than Labour. FF & FG are only looking for a mudguard not partners in Government. Labour elite just want a few jobs and pension perks and leave the party go down the Swannie come the next election.

Mute rqHSc3FP
    Favourite rqHSc3FP
    Dec 6th 2024, 5:59 PM

Wankpuffin’. ‘Nobsocket’. ‘Shitflute’. ‘Peetrumpet’, and ‘Cockwomble’.

Mute PhiBo
    Favourite PhiBo
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:33 AM

What exactly is ‘the centre-left’? Is it a dialectic contradiction or simply a total hamming of the English language?
    No matter, Labour will do as Labour always does when the opportunity arises: enter coalition, screw the poor and face annihilation at the next election. History repeats itself ad nauseum.

Mute Green Masquerader
    Favourite Green Masquerader
    Dec 7th 2024, 9:29 AM

Bacik to add some much needed glamour to irish politics.
    Jesus tonight.