You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Róisín Shortall and Catherine Murphy RollingNews.ie

SocDem co-founders Catherine Murphy and Róisín Shortall not standing in next general election

The pair set up the party in 2015.

LAST UPDATE | 2 Jul 2024

FORMER LEADERS OF the Social Democrats TDs Catherine Murphy and Róisín Shortall have announced that they will not contest the next general election. 

The pair made the announcement this morning saying it is time for a new generation to take over. 

Party leader Holly Cairns described Murphy and Shortall as trailblazers in Irish politics.

“I can say that I would not be in politics were it not for Catherine and Róisín’s decision to set up the Social Democrats. Their commitment to public service, belief in the possibility of a fairer society and dedication to strictly adhering to social democratic principles were, and are, an inspiration to me and many others,” Cairns said. 

The duo set up the Social Democrats in 2015 alongside then-Independent TD Stephen Donnelly. 

Shortall has been a TD for Dublin North West for almost 32 years.

In a statement this morning she said her priority during that time has been representing her constituents and “actively contributing to public debate on national issues”.

“I have a strong belief in the power of politics as a force for good. Politics has enormous potential to make people’s lives better and to create a fairer and more progressive country. I have worked in furtherance of those goals over the course of my career,” she said. 

Shortall added: “While I have decided to step down from frontline politics, I hope to continue to work to build on progress already made in the development of the Social Democrats party. I truly believe the Party can make a major contribution to creating a better Ireland for all.”

Murphy has been in politics for over 30 years and was first elected to the Dáil in 2005.  

Murphy, a TD for Kildare North, said today she loves her job and has always had a deep passion for her work and “tackling the many pressing social, environmental, economic and governmental issues we still face.”

“While I am bowing out of representational politics, I will continue to work in whatever way I can to support Holly Cairns and the next generation in Kildare and elsewhere, in advocating for and delivering on a social democratic future,” Murphy said. 

Labour-SocDems reunion ruled out

Though the Social Democrats has tirelessly positioned itself apart from The Labour Party, many argue they have yet to see the difference between the two – particularly after the European and local elections.

Centre-left and progressive parties failed to form alliance with Labour in local councils over a disagreement, most notably in Dublin City Council, over property taxes. The Labour Party holds the view it is a wealth tax while others believe hikes will impact struggling households.

Labour Party Dublin MEP Aodhán Ó Ríordáin in an interview with The Journal said it would be “worth talking” to the Social Democrats about forming a Government when the time comes.

But asked about merging the parties into one today, Shorthall said she believed that was not going to happen: “I don’t think so, no.”

“Politics has changed a lot since I was first elected in 1991, where the two-and-a-half party system dominated and there was still significant dominance of Civil War politics,” she told RTÉ Radio One’s News At One.

“Since then, we’ve seen a lot of newer parties being established and that’s a good thing. It provides choice for people.

“I think in for the foreseeable future, we’re going to have coalition governments where it’s a broader spectrum of views represented, and it allows for more collaboration at political level, and that’s a good thing.

“That’s what we’re about in the Social Democrats – providing better new choice for people. We’re following  the traditional social democratic model, which is about really honest politics and the fairest society,” she added.

Includes reporting by Muiris O’Cearbhaill

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:02 PM

Two excellent politicians, it’ll be a shame to lose them.

Catherine Murphy’s bravery to take on DOB for his attacks on free speech and attempts to control Irish media will never be forgotten.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:23 PM

@Rochelle Hart: any comment from their old colleague, Stephen Donnelly?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:03 PM

@Rochelle Hart: Murphy got a Siteserve enquiry set up which discounted allegations she made and likely the reason she refused to testify when called to same enquiry.
    Meanwhile taxpayer caught for upwards of 40m costs better spent on services.
    Populism meets reality.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:56 PM

@James Gorman: Her information was confidential and received rather than asked for, and from what I understand verbal.

So, it would have been classified as ” non admissible ” but she did start the process….and nothing gets done with without a start…..she started it.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:58 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: yes that’s the problem with starting a tribunal based on anonymous stories and why it’s hard to take the stand to answer for them then.
    It’s called gossip
    And cost us tens of millions best needed for services and delivered zero.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:14 PM

Any hope that was left is gone now. Two formidable politicians. Two great women. Would have loved to see either or both in key ministerial roles had the opportunity arisen. Those coming up behind them are dismal. Catherine Murphy was outstanding the way she ‘outed’ the allegedly corrupt Denis O’ Brien. Wishing them both a happy retirement.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:28 PM

@Andrew Kenny: Guess which one resigned from a ministerial role

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:06 PM

@David Murray: I said ‘Key’ Ministerial role. Roisin was a Junior Minister.

Mute Martin Finnerty
    Favourite Martin Finnerty
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:43 PM

Just after looking up their respective wikipedia pages, both aged 70, both running away with a big pension pot.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:46 PM

@Martin Finnerty: unhinged comment mate, will you be serving your country at 70?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:47 PM

@Martin Finnerty: Any reason they didn’t just run away with the same big pension when they reached retirement age?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Andrew Donohoe
    Favourite Andrew Donohoe
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:47 PM

@Martin Finnerty: as they should, do you not think?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:59 PM

@Daniel Wilson: serving youre country or yourself?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:03 PM

@Paddy C: two people, aged 70, standing down at the next election. If you can’t be respectful, just say nothing. Or maybe try to get elected yourself if you think it’s that cushy

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren

@Martin Finnerty: Fair play to them for not running away with it earlier when they would have been entitled to

Mute Seanfhear míshásta
    Favourite Seanfhear míshásta

@Martin Finnerty: hey snarky, I am sure they paid into and deserve whatever pension they have.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:25 PM

@Martin Finnerty: their Wiki page said they were both running away with a big pension pot? Strange

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:57 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: come on man. They’re 70 unlikely they will be running anywhere. I’m sure their pensions will be paid in a conventional fashion.

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:59 PM

@Martin Finnerty: And both served for over 30 years so it’s well deserved.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:37 PM

@Martin Finnerty: some politicians deserve their pension pots, Catherine Murphy has worked for ordinary people for decades, taking on Dennis O B.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:49 PM

@donal O’brien: haha

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:17 PM

@Martin Finnerty: fantastic politicians. Gave great service to their country. RoisÍn was thrown under the bus by her labour colleagues

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:44 PM

@Martin Finnerty: at least they earned it

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:01 PM

@Paddy C: I thought you regarded serving your country as being on the gravy train…..

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:43 PM

@Daniel Wilson: long time since current politicians ‘served their country’ , served themselves more like

Mute barry lyons
    Favourite barry lyons
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:03 PM

Would you work with Roderick and his agenda .
    The guy is hell bent on bringing in WOKE laws , is extremely unpopular and a snob

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:31 PM

We won’t be bringing back your BIGOT laws

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:00 PM

@barry lyons: So edgy

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:04 PM

Good Luck Roisin you always had Dublin North West’s back.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:29 PM

@Annette: She certainly was on of the best.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:50 PM

Two very good and effective politicians in their time, but unfortunately, the Social Democrats have morphed into probably the most woke, virtue-signalling and annoying party in the country next to the Greens…

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:59 PM

@William Tallon: come on man. They were always aware of social injustice from their foundation.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:16 PM

@donal O’brien: Yes, but unfortunately, what was a genuine quest for social justice in society back in 2015 appears to have been replaced over time with the performative type of woke activism and virtue-signalling nonsense that the party espouses and engages in today…

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:21 PM

@William Tallon: please explain what woke activism entails?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 6:15 PM

@brian madden: Oh, I’m sure you know very well what it means! Of course you do…

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:58 PM

@William Tallon: I don’t. Please tell me

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:47 PM

Sad that two of our most credible politicians gone

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:24 PM

Fair play to Catherine Murphy for showing siteserv for what it was , corruption. And showing up another fine gael stalwart, Alan dukes for what he was, corrupt as they rest of them!!

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:35 PM

Wishing them both well in their retirement. Losing women politicians is never a good thing. Catherine Murphy has worked tirelessly for decades.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:37 PM

@Colette Byrne: women in politics. Correction!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:03 PM

@Colette Byrne: There’s another girl, 2 I think that have worked with Catherine and are councillors and they are very much in her mould, so I’d expect one of them to replace her…..great local politicians.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:08 PM

2 more slots on the gravy train so,may add an extra carriage as these will want hefty lump sum and pension stepping off. Did a bit alright but consumed a fair bit while on board for what was actually achieved in real terms of course.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

@Paddy C: jaysus thats a mouthful.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:28 PM

@Brian Dunne: and a load of tosh

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:13 PM

@Paddy C: I’d say you’re some craic down the pub, nothing positive to say about anything, these two women probably did more for their country in a week than you’ll achieve in a lifetime.

It’s a nice day go for a walk breathe in for 7 seconds and out for 8 you’re brain will switch off the negative thoughts.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:51 PM

The torch is passed to a new generation. Ask not what the social democrats can do for you: ask what you can do for the social democrats etc etc

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:59 PM

@Garreth Byrne: I agree with that , hopefully we will see something better not just for a few but for the majority, within limits and budgets.

Mute Patrick Treacy
    Favourite Patrick Treacy
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:58 PM

Two fantastic women, James Rielly, probably the worst health minister this country ever had,done his best to wipe the floor with Rosin Shortall and not one member of the Labour party said boo to Reilly. Now Labour are playing up to Soc,Dems to join up with them.The public will never forget you lot of Labour louts.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:27 PM

SDP/Labour are once of the same

Mute John Mc Dermott
    Favourite John Mc Dermott
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:01 PM

Catherine Murphy was an excellent TD, I don’t agree with her new party’s policies, but she stood out. Shortall is not in the same league, left when she had the chance to change things, wouldn’t go into power another time & jumped ship from a party that failed working people, where she was one of those responsible for failing people. Social Democrats without Murphy are just the Greens part two. Holly Cairns is the Roderic O Gorman of the Soc Dem’s. When they eventually join Labour as Aodhain has commanded, most of them will never be heard of again. Best wishes to both of them, more honourable anyways than the other runners Varadkar, E Ryan & C Martin.

Mute Bryan Mc Mahon
    Favourite Bryan Mc Mahon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:44 PM

This paves the way for Labour and the Soc Dems to merge.

Mute Joseph Tierney
    Favourite Joseph Tierney
    Jul 2nd 2024, 6:24 PM

Absolutely two pair of useless TDs retiring.Roisin Shortall especially, anytime asked for help with some queries, totally useless.Wont be missed sorry to say

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jul 2nd 2024, 11:26 PM

When the going got tough after the financial crisis in 2007 she ran for the hills . This ensured she would continually get elected without having to deliver anything.. after the last election she refused to do any negotiations with any party and just said no to all parties. Why go up to get elected if you’re not willing to do your duty.. because she knew if she went into gov her 10000 votes would evaporate because hard decisions would have to be made

Mute pat
    Favourite pat
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:29 PM

Anyone setting up A Go Fund page??

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jul 3rd 2024, 6:09 AM

Their generation of women helped to reshape Irish politics, and to improve the status of women in this state. As individual activists, they stood up, stepped forward, and led the way for the younger women to become active in the formidable task of reforming politics from the staid 2.5 set up. Thank you ladies, from an appreciative 83 year old man.