You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
RICHARD BRUTON STOOD in for Enda Kenny at Leaders Questions in the Dáil last Thursday, and faced queries about the government’s housing policy, from Labour leader Brendan Howlin.
During their exchange, the Education Minister claimed that the government had committed to building 47,000 new social housing units.
On Twitter, BRegsBlog brought the claim to our attention, so we checked it out.
(Send your FactCheck requests to factcheck@thejournal.ie, tweet @TJ_FactCheck, or send us a DM).
Claim: The government plans to build 47,000 new social housing units by 2021
What was said:
You can watch a short video below, containing an excerpt of Richard Bruton’s comments, and a breakdown of the basic facts.
But for our purposes, we’re interested in these remarks.
Bruton was responding to a question from Labour leader Brendan Howlin about Daft.ie’s finding that annual rent inflation had reached the highest level since the company began compiling rental reports in 2002.
The Minister for Education replied:
I think the real solution to this is increased supply – that is the real focus of the approach that the government has been taking.
It’s real supply coming from social housing – for the first time we’ve committed to 47,000 new housing builds on social housing, after a period when there was virtually no social housing constructed.
The Facts
Oireachtas.ie
In response to our request for evidence, a spokesperson for Minister Bruton directed FactCheck to the government’s housing plan, Rebuilding Ireland.
“47,000 social housing units will be delivered under Rebuilding Ireland’s plan by 2021
“+26,000 of these homes will be exclusively built as social housing”
“11,000 homes, many of which will be will be newly-built, will be acquired by local authorities (LAs) and Approved Housing Bodies (AHBs) directly from the market or the Housing Agency”
“10,000 homes will be leased by LAs and AHBs. 5,000 of these will be sourced via the National Treasury Management Agency’s Special Purpose Vehicle. A further 5,000 units will be secured via a pilot Repair & Leasing Initiative and under long-term lease arrangements by LAs and AHBs”.
As you can see, the government has committed to deliver 47,000 social housing units by 2021, but it has committed to build 55% of those – around 26,000.
They plan to make the remainder available as social housing through various other methods that don’t involve housing construction, or “new builds”, as Bruton put it in the Dáil.
The minister’s subsequent contextualisation – “after a period when there was virtually no social housing constructed” - suggests that while he intended to refer to planned social housing construction, he incorrectly used the figure related to planned social housing delivery.
We rate his claim FALSE. As our verdicts guide explains, this means: “The claim is inaccurate”.
This is the fourth time we’ve fact-checked a claim by Richard Bruton. He now has one verdict of TRUE, two verdicts of FALSE, and one verdict of UNPROVEN.
TheJournal.ie’s FactCheck is a signatory to the International Fact-Checking Network’s Code of Principles. You can read it here.
For information on how FactCheck works, what the verdicts mean, and how you can take part, check out our Reader’s Guide here.
It is vital that we surface facts from noise. Articles like this one brings you clarity, transparency and balance so you can make well-informed decisions.
We set up FactCheck in 2016 to proactively expose false or misleading information, but to continue to deliver on this mission we need your support.
Over 5,000 readers like you support us. If you can, please consider setting up a monthly payment or making a once-off donation to keep news free to everyone.
FactCheck
The Journal's monthly FactCheck newsletter keeps you in the loop about what misinformation trends Ireland is experiencing - and how we're fighting back. Sign up here
The only way Clerys is going to be brought back from the dead is if the whole of oconnell street is cleaned up and has a proper retail offering, absolute joke of a european main street capitol.
I remember when there used to be an amusement place across road not that Dr quirkeys kip or what ever you call it. Another one. We used to all go in to play pool and arcade games tourists used to flock in and clerys was a tourist go to. O’Connell Street was safest street in Dublin.Those little kips ppopped up and the ruin of O’Connell street Began.
It would have been redeveloped… Had they not been squabbling over loosing an ethnic market in Moore st and some decrepit shack that organizers of the 1916 uprising once met and had tea in while DCC refused any plans more than 5 stories….
This is the price you pay for NIMBYISM and holding back progress….
classism in Dublin ruined O’connell street…retail gravitated towards a pedestrianised grafton street…the areas around parnell square were allowed to neglect and thus allow O’connell street to wither…The toffs who run/own the areas around Stephens green lobbied for development in their own interests.
Lest we forget, a Garda station is visible when you stand outside the building. IF you are willing to stand there long enough there is a real possibility you will be be harassed and or threatened at any time of the day or night.
There is plenty to say about the addicts and treatment centers in the area but the fact of the matter is it has been left to degenerate into a no go area for many people of every class and age.
I completely agree Stephen, that street is horrible. Unsafe and an eye sore. It’s embarrassing. Most European countries have beautiful streets in the centre of their city ESPECIALLY the “main” street.
I’m waiting on a delivery from Clerys. Ironically put it off being delivered from today till Tuesday. No idea if it will be delivered or where I stand.
John, would you have the police armed also? This country has consistently rejected any attempt to arm or militarise it’s police force. The reasons for the Irish people’s collective rejection of a militarisation of our civilian police force is an historical reaction to our colonial past and this is embedded in our national psyche and rightly so. It is a matter of national pride that the Gardia are an unarmed civilian police force, not a quasi(para)military force.
Cholly, it is not a case of being on one side or the other. To be honest i saw that video once before going to bed and couldn’t sleep because of the injustice i felt i had witnessed . In the morning with fresh eyes it was a lot easier to be objective.
I could stand by the spire tomorrow and if I’m lucky to see a Guard i could slowly pan left or right and more than likely see drug dealing out in the open or see someone i could follow down to Marlborough st. and catch them in the act there.
They are not selling bags of black tar. They are slinging sheets of “benzos”. There is no proper legislation to prosecute people carrying these drugs. I suspect this is why we have the situation we have on O’Connell St. and the surrounding areas.
I have given o ríordáin a lot of sh*t but i think it is probably a personal thing because o the Lab tag. Still bitter. Recently he has been saying the right things with regards to these drugs and Shorthall has highlighted it many times before.
Varadkar needs to get serious about this now. These drugs are produced legally in this country but each county is being flooded with them because there is no real focus on how they are prescribed how and why they are being distributed.
Clearys is an institution part of Dublin culture
My parents and their friends danced and romanced and my generation met outside on first dates. Clearys must live on !
Get rid of the many addict treatment centers in the center.Why should junkies be allowed to congrate and annoy people in our main street? Stuff the bleeding hearts, unless this is done very soon expect the center to die. Time to tidy up and then maybe people may come back again and Clerys may trade again.
Steve Rossiter there is no reason not to arm the police. Carrying a gun does not stop people from talking to officers ,have a chat with PSNI officers next time you are in Belfast, they dont bite, all Gardai should be armed with Tazers at the very least, wont happen because we like to subscribe to the myth of a country so peaceful that any type of weapon is not needed.
Gus, you cant are the Gardai with tazers or pistols, their main function seems to be as a certain business man’s private security force. They have been turned on their own people, the trust is gone.
@the Journal Comments seemed to be mixed up here. I see comments from another article mixed in with comments from another article. I also note that comments I made myself are gone. Why???
Blaming the junkies is lazy. O’Connell Street is lame because there’s feck-all shops/bars there. It’s boring after you’ve completed the history element. There’s really nothing special in terms of shops there. Also, the Red Luas takes 4 hours to cross the road to Abbey St stop, so many people just go to Jervis/Mary St/Henry St. Same goes for the Green Luas in terms of not linking up to our Main St.
€3:50 an hour for car parking.. Junkies injection heroin in broad daylight, drunks positioned at every monument on O’connell Street drinking out of cans and litre bottles of vodka with their kids asleep in tatters of clothes in a buggy that seen better days. Then you have gangs of young lads dressed in cotton tracksuits going around robbing bikes, handbags and phones.. Give me Dundrum, Blanch or liffey Valley any day of the week..
These companies have no interest in retail they just trade commodities, far too many hotels businesses excetra are bought at knock down prices due to the recession and traded like oil.
Vulture capitalism at its best
Thoughts are with all the staff tonight…. Dad worked for 40 yrs in readymades before retirement. Make no mistake that O Connell St will sorely miss Clery’s … hope something can be worked out…
I remember going there on our bi-monthly visit to Dublin with my Gran in the ’70-’80′s. We’d do the usual browsing around the city, then lunch in Clerys..oh God that WAS paradise then…and then another round of browsing(the same shops).. And buy the few things needed, then back to Clerys for Gran to sit on one of the chairs/stools inside the main doors for a breather cos it was free to sit there(there was no luxury coffee breaks):-))…then back on the bus and stand all the way home( cos we’d a better chance of surviving a crash if standing?¿?) with all our ‘fancy’ items. Both my Gran and I loved Clerys and I am saddened by its closure and the loss of so many jobs. Good memories of friendly professional staff in a great department store.
My parents took myself and my sister to see Santa every year in Clerys, and my Dad would take time off from working the crazy hours to spend the evening with us in the city looking at the lights and eating MacDonalds. Clerys did the most beautiful windows! It was perfect
My reply went astray because accessing this site through a mobile browser is a nightmare..
To quote Bill Bailey, Dublin City, the only city in the world impaled on a spike!
I used to travel to Dublin every second Saturday for years for a course but I hadn’t gone for a period and the nose dive I saw in the o’connell street area shocked me. Clear evidence of drugs everywhere.
I loved Dublin , loved the shops clearys included , the old virgin megastore store, Eason’s, arrnots, forbidden planet, Marks models etc. etc. I’m a very proud Irish man The GPO, Croke Park etc. are sacred ground to me and part of my culture, all In Dublin.
I just can’t believe that our nations capital (excuse the American expression) has been let go and has gone over a cliff in just a few years, what will it be like in 2020???. I’m a Limerick man and proud of it but lets be honest Limerick had a terrible rep but it has been cleaned up a lot and it can be done but it requires people to stand up and the justice system to do something. When the system went after the gangs in Limerick things Improve a lot.
The police, Courts and overall tolerance of these weak cowardly parasites is nothing but pathetic, the amount of people they rob, threaten and abuse to feed their habit is nauseating , every excuse is made for them, they do not have any excuses and they are destroying what is a great city.
You’ve updated this story three times but obviously you haven’t reread it top to bottom – says 130 staff and 80 staff in different places.
However many, sad uncertain day for them. But there is also 300+ employees of concessionaires who haven’t gone bust but still have no work to go to tomorrow. Hopefully they work for parent companies who can redeploy them to other branches.
Best Santa in Dublin was in Clerys. I remember queuing outside to say the man himself in the early eights and then bringing my own kids there only just last xmas.
What stunnes me most is the government says there’s a big recovery taking place , I’m in retail with a family business and we are hanging on by the skin of our teeth our lease is up & we fought for 3 years to reduce our rent from 84,000 to 47 & now landlords are looking to go back up to 60,000, this year has been the worst year in 4 years . Recovery you Enda Kenny , Michael noonan Joan burton, where ? Please show me .was in dundrum today & another shop closing down & the government have the cheek to say people have more money if so why aren’t they spending it ? Simply not spending because there’s no confidence , the city ctr is now doomed & lacking massive initiative from the council the government . Instead they are more interested in spinning figures to suit themselves in hope they get re elected I sincerely hope they don’t . Kenny & co are a disgrace & I hope retail picks up sooner than latter because this is a massive blow today to Dublin & internationally our reputation as a fair city with iconic stores to visit
Horrible the way people have to find out their jobs are gone, shutters down locks changed, get out & you will get your check in the post, cold & heartless, just like the dunnes across the road from it, in the last 2 years I’ve been in their probably half dozen times, and it was always elverys or carphone warehouse, and you have to step over junkies & beggers to get in the door, 21st century Ireland, green shoots of recovery
So sad for the employees of cleary’s this evening. This country’s still on its knees and our government are on some hallucinogenic drug that they ant see how bad things really are in the real economy. Irish pride, cleary’s, how many more names Ethan we grew up with have to fall before the public revolt and start calling for action. Not broken promises that we are tired listening to, it’s time to stand up and be counted.
Very few defenders of O’Connell street here. In life, things are never ever as bad or as good as someone says they are. The truth is always in the middle. O’Connell Street is not the post apocalyptic quagmire that many people on here are portraying it to be. Nor is it a pristine utopia. The fact is, that as a rule, every main thoroughfare in every large city in every country has its share of criminality and antisocial behaviour, obviously there are exceptions to this. O’Connell street has it’s problems of but it’s certainly not unique by international standards. The Guards do a decent job of policing it considering their resources are stretched beyond reason. My point is,..why turn this thread into an excuse to bash O’Connell Street, our country’s Main Street. It has potentially just lost one of its most iconic businesses and a lot of people have lost their jobs. Surely we should all be rowing in behind the street and it’s businesses at this time and not highlighting it’s shortcomings.
There is no point in focusing on the positives if there is a number of valid reasons why the area has gone downhill. I have no doubt if anyone commenting on the journal had the political and financial influence to improve the area they would do it. The dogs on the street can tell you what needs to be done but the powers that be won’t listen! There is a shortage of hotel occupancy in Dublin especially and Cleary’s could be turned into a lovely hotel but it’s not going to happen because an investor would take a look around and say no thanks!
Leaving the history & present day status of O Connell street aside, this is absolutely abhorrent to the employees. This is not the way to treat people, especially when they’re the ones working & paying the taxes that are keeping this country’s head above the water for a government who are taking all the undue credit for it. Disgusting in every sense of the word.
As a former public servant who was made redundant twice during the economic downturn, I am very sorry for any inconvenience I have caused by not sharing in your pain.
At Daniel looks like they don’t like your facts either haha. I think all history related to these buildings and people should be told. Couldn’t believe how many Irish never heard of grainne o mhaol.
This is pure disgusting. I’m sure those workers will only get statuatory redundancy. Clerys was an icon. Where’s Enda Kenny now. He can’t resist having his mugshot when there’s 15 or 20 jobs over the next next 3 years being announced. But slinks into the shadows when there’s people losing their livelihood.
A very sad day for Dublin and generations of Dubliners including myself.
I agree with everything said about the state of the street. I remember when those lovely London plane trees grew down the middle of the street and there were fairy lights on them at Christmas. Since they cut those down you can see what a kip the place has become.
I feel so sorry for the staff. What a shock for the. And sold for €1. Unbelievable.
Henry, St has always been the best shopping area ,O’Connell St was more for entertainment ,cinemas restaurants and bars ,and the odd disco back in the good ole 70 s ,Clery’s had no real competition ,they were the only large department store in O’Connell St ,sad to see it close .
so, nobody is interested in the dire effects that allowing vulture funds to snap up and asset strip businesses in this country? just want to gripe about o’connell Street? I see.
I’m very sad to see Clery’s go, but for everyone here bemoaning the loss of the shop, how many of you actually shopped there? The prices in Clery’s were always too high, even their sales were unaffordable. With Arnotts and Debenhams nearby, who both offer the same kind of luxury products at high prices, Clery’s didn’t really have a chance. There aren’t too many of us in the city now who are willing to pay over €100 for a quilt cover. There was too much competition for luxury goods, and not enough people willing to buy them. Clery’s location meant they were just a little too far from the shopping crowds on Henry & Mary Streets, people wouldn’t be bothered heading over there when they didn’t have anything new on offer. They didn’t offer anything different to the nearby department stores. Their website was also dire, every big business in Ireland should be taking part in the online world these days, if they’re not then they’re missing out big time on potential sales.
I think their downfall has less to do with O’Connell St being a kip, and more to do with bad business decisions. It’s not that bad a location, it’s mostly swarmed by tourists gettinf photos of the spire, I’ve never felt unsafe there once. The junkies aren’t keeping people from shopping there, it’s the lack of decent shops on the street that keeps people away.
I feel mostly sorry for all the staff who were kept in the dark about losing their jobs, it’s a terrible way to treat people, yet another sign of a badly run business. Clery’s will be missed, it’s a Dublin institution, but their downfall was happening for years.
Shame about the timing. Once the LUAS cross city starts running that whole area will be rejuvenated. Any business that opens in the premises will do great.
“At the High Court yesterday Kelley Smith Bl for OCS Operations said arising out of the examination the company had no alternative other than to seek the appointment of a liquidators.
Counsel said since 2012 OCS Operations had traded at a loss and was now balance sheet insolvent. Counsel said between August 2012 and January 2015 the company has lost €4.3m.
Counsel said while the loans are not repayable until September 2016 a change in the shareholder, as has occurred, means a demand for the loans facilities to be repaid can be made.
Counsel added that financial projections showed a cash flow deficiency in August. OCS Operations would require further funding from the group parent OCS Investment Holdings. That firm indicated it would no longer provide any further financial support to the company.
After appointing the provisional liquidators the judge adjourned the matter to a date in early July.”
Which when translated to layman’s understanding of above translates to:
“financial stuff I don’t understand”
Sympathies to the current staff but Cleary’s has survived in one form of other through the 1916 Rising which destroyed the premises, and everything else that had happened in between.
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
1 hr ago
InvestigatesImpact
The Journal and The Journal Investigates shortlisted for the Mary Raftery Prize
Updated
2 hrs ago
trump administration
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say