You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sofa Watch: Ryan returns to studio, Graham beams in from home

All you need to know about your Irish and international chat show options.

THE DECISION OF what to watch has never been more important as restrictions keeping us at home have been extended for a further three-and-a-half-weeks. 

And while there’s plenty of TV shows and streaming apps at your fingertips these days, sometimes we need a bit of socially distant light banter to break up the monotony. 

Here at TheJournal.ie’s Sofa Watch, we want to help you find the best on offer, old and new, from chat shows on both sides of the pond. 

From the lineup in Montrose to the most popular clips from US late night TV, we’ll break down the best of your chat show options heading into each weekend.

Ryan Returns 

When: Tonight, 9.35 pm

Where: RTÉ 1, RTÉ Player

After Miriam O’Callaghan took the helm of the Late Late for the last two weeks in Ryan Tubridy’s absence, Tubs returns tonight after his battle with Covid-19.

Joining Ryan for a chat is actor Brendan Gleeson who will also be performing a musical number alongside his son, Fergus. 

Ryan will also be joined in studio by Oscar-winning singer-songwriter Glen Hansard, while presenter Dermot O’Leary and actress Amy Huberman will chat from their (respective) homes. 

The Late Late Show / YouTube

Graham Norton

When: Tonight, 9pm

Where: BBC 1

The Bafta award-winning host is back, but not in his regular studio. Norton is hosting a shorter show than usual from home. 

The half-hour-long show will feature Michael Bublé, Martin Freeman, Daisy Haggard, and Michael Sheen. The red chair is also set to make an appearance. We’re not sure how they’ll pull that off yet. 

Tweet by @Graham Norton Show Graham Norton Show / Twitter Graham Norton Show / Twitter / Twitter

Netflix Vault 

Netflix’s first stab at the talk show format came in the form of US comedian Chelsea Handler, Chelsea on Netflix.

It only lasted for two seasons but her guests ranged from Hollywood’s A-list, world leaders to people from all walks of life.

The last show aired in 2017 so it might be nice to live in the past, and not watch a talk show where the guest has Zoomed in. 

Netflix / YouTube

From the archives 

If there is a Tiger-shaped hole in your heart since you binged your way through Netflix’s Tiger King, then you’re in luck.

The popular series is returning with a special episode on 12 April, featuring new interviews with John Reinke, Joshua Dial, John Finlay, Saff, Erik Cowie, Rick Kirkman, and Jeff and Lauren Lowe. 

But if even that is too long a wait, there’s always Joe Exotic TV. 

If you finished the true-crime series you’ll remember Joe Exotic’s Youtube show shot on location at the GW Zoo. They range from the what you’d expect to the bizarre. 

JoeExoticTV / YouTube

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:23 PM

Every other talk show in the world is recording their show from the presenters home, why is the Late Late beyond these rules?

Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Cynical: Any excuse for a whinge. Have a few beers and hit the hay.

Mute Peter Clancy
    Favourite Peter Clancy
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:48 PM

@Cynical: What rules regarding where chat shows can be recorded?

Mute Keith Synnott
    Favourite Keith Synnott
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:52 PM

@Cynical: your name precedes you.

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Damien: Was just a ‘lead by example’ thought, but you’re probably right, anyone watching is probably well aware of the dangers. Cheers! ☺︎

Mute Peter Leonard
    Favourite Peter Leonard
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:57 PM

@Cynical: Tubs is waiting delivery of a shed that’s the reason

Mute Declan Crowley
    Favourite Declan Crowley
    Apr 11th 2020, 12:34 AM

@Damien: written like the real , soon to be , old school elitist that ye are.. never f listen to sense.. till its too late ..

Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    Apr 11th 2020, 8:51 AM

@Declan Crowley: Well that’s a bit dramatic.

Mute yell cub
    Favourite yell cub
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:31 AM

@Declan Crowley: go easy on the sauce there

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:19 PM

I wont be watching either of them because I do not have a TV.

Mute Maureen
    Favourite Maureen
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Frances Faller: Do ya have Skype Frances, I’ll stream the late late live over to your phone or pc on the dial up if ya want?

Mute Nick Dunne
    Favourite Nick Dunne
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:57 PM

@Frances Faller: Tell it to the TV licence inspector, punk ;)

Mute MRhino82
    Favourite MRhino82
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:58 PM

@Frances Faller: great story

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Apr 11th 2020, 3:30 AM

@Frances Faller: By choice or circumstance Frances?

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Apr 11th 2020, 8:22 AM

@Nick Dunne: Why be rude?

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Apr 11th 2020, 8:24 AM

@OConnelj: Choice I prefer radio and now through the internet I can listen to stations in America, Australia,New Zealand and Canada.

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Apr 11th 2020, 8:27 AM

@Maureen: Thanks for the offer but I listen to radio which I prefer..Keep well and Happy Easter.

Mute Sean Bean
    Favourite Sean Bean

Joe was set up…..

Mute Mick Hunt
    Favourite Mick Hunt
    Apr 10th 2020, 10:40 PM

@Sean Bean: Carol Fucxin Baskin

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Apr 11th 2020, 4:43 AM

@Sean Bean: he may well have been but he didn’t do himself any favours either by running his mouth. And Carol was the worst of the lot of them. I hope they get evidence on her.

Mute Sean Bean
    Favourite Sean Bean
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:24 AM

@Ger: yes i totally agree with you, but it was all talk, his zoo was stolen and he was set up

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Apr 11th 2020, 4:41 AM

I love the Graham Norton show but it didn’t really work last night via Skype. It would have been awful in anyone else’s hands other than Graham but still wasn’t great. The running time is cut from 1 hr to 30 minutes for the duration of the virus and just as well.

Mute SteveÓ
    Favourite SteveÓ
    Apr 11th 2020, 6:56 AM

@Ger: it was fairly shite alright

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:21 PM

Joe Exotic should be hung out to dry…. glorified what now?

Mute Sean Bean
    Favourite Sean Bean

@EdmundOrlando: joe was set up……

Mute Rebecca Keyes
    Favourite Rebecca Keyes
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:48 PM

Why did they bring back the couch? Thought they were all a bit too close together

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:27 AM

Jaysus talk about living in an age of mediocrity.