You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Recognise these men? Gardaí appeal after South William Street attack

Two victims were surrounded by the group before being repeatedly kicked and punched on the ground.

men

GARDAÍ ARE APPEALING to the public to help identify these men after an attack on Dublin’s South William Street in November.

The CCTV footage shows four men assaulting two others on South William Street.

Gardaí want to speak to the men pictured.

The victims were surrounded by the group before being repeatedly kicked and punched on the ground.

Tonight’s Crimecall on RTE One will feature the assault from 5 November 2016 just after midnight.

Anyone with any information is asked to phone Crimecall on 1800 40 50 60.

Crimecall airs on RTÉ One 9.35pm tonight. 

Read: Man in critical condition following Waterford airplane crash>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:44 PM

Head kicks should carry a 15 year minimum.

Mute John Owens
    Favourite John Owens
    Mar 28th 2017, 1:28 PM

@Barra O Brien: and rape? And a myriad of other offences worse than this? You’d have half the state budget spent on jails

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:21 PM

Looks like a violent over reaction to a remark being passed. Just shows how quickly things can escalate and these guys were ready to go in an instant like a pack.
    Clear footage, should be no problem apprehending them.

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:20 PM

Dirt bags.

Mute Paddy Byrne
    Favourite Paddy Byrne
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:36 PM

Is there more to this story than what were been told or are these guys just pure $cum. I dont know how anybody can just attack somebody like that without a reason.

Mute Lisa Dorothy
    Favourite Lisa Dorothy
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:40 PM

@Paddy Byrne: I’m sure there’s a reason but you’re still likely to be charged with assault regardless.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:53 PM

@Lisa Dorothy: really? I’m equally sure there wasn’t a reason. There are people who just do that kind of thing. I hope they are caught and put away

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:56 PM

@Lisa Dorothy: There’s never a valid reason for a gang of guys to beat the

Mar 27th 2017, 9:44 PM

@Lisa Dorothy: there doesn’t always have to be a reason .

Mute Niall Ó Muirthile
    Favourite Niall Ó Muirthile
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Paddy Byrne: I was attacked in Temple Bar last year by two lads I’d never seen in my life. No reason whatsoever, one just grabbed me and told me the other one wanted to fight me, then both of them layed into me, pretty much exactly like this. I’d said nothing. They didn’t want to mug me. I’m not big, it wasn’t an ego thing. They just felt like kicking me in the head apparently.

Thankfully I was fine but I’d nasty cuts and bruises on my face and on my arms where I’d been covering my head on the ground, and my knee was messed up for a few months.

The guards in fairness tried their best but the video footage was crap. This is much better. Hope these “gents” are caught and handed justice.

Mute George Murphy
    Favourite George Murphy
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:23 PM

The Hardy boys when together.. i bet ye are not so cocky when ye walking around alone…

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:14 PM

@George Murphy: As always. Cowards hunt in packs.

Mute Dan Broderick
    Favourite Dan Broderick
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:35 PM

The bouncer was moving in slow motion ffs

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:38 PM

@Dan Broderick:
    4 against 1.
    He’s not Bruce Lee.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Tommy: also bouncers have no protection legally if they intervene beyond merely restraining an attacker. Even less so if it’s not on the premises.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:24 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: How far does that go? Does he just stand there and watch someone be murdered?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 28th 2017, 10:00 AM

@Emeralds: there’s four of them and one of him.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:28 PM

They could have been from the UK or anywhere.
    Did they get their accents?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Gerry Fallon: because only people with Irish accents live in Ireland !

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Gerry Fallon: thinking the same thing.. surely the bouncer heard an accent.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:01 PM

Shocking, hopefully theyre caught so they can be given heavy suspended sentences.

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:19 PM

The attack was in November and they are only appealing to the public now?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:43 PM

@Shane Carroll: it’s last resort for the gardai. They have exhausted all other avenues to investigate and identify them. They will only go on crime call when they’re at a dead end

Mute tombyrne
    Favourite tombyrne
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:42 PM

Real hard men 4on 2 and the poor fellas were sitting down put them prison 5 year min each the only way to treat these animals that someone sons sitting there getting bashed

Mute Eimear Gibbons
    Favourite Eimear Gibbons
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:42 PM

It would be appropriate to have a warning sign that this video contains disturbing images

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:46 PM

South William St attack is a giveaway Eimear

Mute Michelle Caulfield
    Favourite Michelle Caulfield
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Eimear Gibbons: what exactly given the headline did you think it would contain?

Mute Michelle Caulfield
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Eimear Gibbons: what exactly about the headline did not indicate that to you?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:25 PM

@Michelle Caulfield: She was expecting men, with handbags and throwing insults.

Mute BoggerBlogger
    Favourite BoggerBlogger
    Mar 28th 2017, 10:26 AM

@Michelle Caulfield: To be fair, it might have just been footage of the suspects walking to or from the attack.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:51 PM

The toe rag with the red hat should be jailed for a long time for that kick to the head!

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:24 PM

Judges, please please do your job and lock these vermin up for at least 5 years.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:48 PM

Ha, they’re screwed

Mute Keith Byrne
    Favourite Keith Byrne
    Mar 28th 2017, 2:54 AM

Happend to me a few years back on new year’s eve group of guys decided to kick the crap out of me danced on my head while I was knocked out,garda arrested them 10 minutes later file sent to the dpp never heard a thing since.i hope these guys get caught and punished

Mute William Shanahan
    Favourite William Shanahan
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:49 PM

Look American to me

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:56 PM

@William Shanahan: really? What marks them out as American to you?

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Mar 27th 2017, 8:58 PM

@William Shanahan:
    Americans with a Manc swagger?

Mute Ciara Baines
    Favourite Ciara Baines
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:08 PM

@William Shanahan: How does someone ‘look American’?

Mute Mark Kenny
    Favourite Mark Kenny
    Mar 28th 2017, 12:28 AM

@Ciara Baines: not in this instance but usually naturally better teeth, clearer skin, nicer hair, well groomed, better fashion sense, basically opposite of typical Irish pisshead

Mute Feelip
    Favourite Feelip
    Mar 28th 2017, 8:55 AM

theres a pretty obvious tell tell sign here that they are more than likely not irish and some of you may think its silly but i dont. very few if any irish men of that age range wear runners with the tongues sticking out like that, its more of an american custom.

Mute Keith Byrne
    Favourite Keith Byrne
    Mar 28th 2017, 9:45 AM

@Feelip: and is that a white cowboy hat?

Mute Mark Kenny
    Favourite Mark Kenny
    Mar 28th 2017, 12:21 AM

Yep I recognise them..recognise them as a bunch of s£umbag nobodies

Mute Michelle Caulfield
    Mar 27th 2017, 9:42 PM

@Eimear Gibbons: what exactly given the headline did you think it would contain,

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:00 PM

@Michelle Caulfield: You’re coming across as the type of person that would kick someone in the head repeatedly, if they said the wrong thing.

Mute Paddy Power
    Favourite Paddy Power
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:52 PM

Hitting anybody above legs should be treated as attempt to murder and jail for life.

Mute Christine Paulette Roche
    Favourite Christine Paulette Roche
    Mar 28th 2017, 12:09 PM

They don’t look Irish, most certainly foreign, hope the rats are caught soon and either deported or jailed.

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh
    Mar 27th 2017, 10:13 PM

Jail for five years for a kick to the head? If you murder someone you get eight years ffs

Mute Andrea O Donoghue
    Favourite Andrea O Donoghue
    Mar 27th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Laurence Cavanagh: you can kill someone with a kick to the head like that….

Mute Carol McGowan
    Favourite Carol McGowan
    Mar 28th 2017, 9:01 AM

What about the poor lad they attacked? Is he ok? I can’t imagine that was an easy recovery. Desperate

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh
    Mar 28th 2017, 5:07 AM

@Andrea O’Donoghue yes I know you can die from a kick to the head.My point was that the sentencing in this country of ours has become a joke.

Mute SomeRandomIrishGuy
    Favourite SomeRandomIrishGuy
    Mar 28th 2017, 4:11 PM

I know of a fella who kicked a man with 2 others and left him like a vegetable. He got just 2 years while one of the others got 4years & the other lad got away Scott free.
    Madness altogether.