You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Speed cameras to be reviewed as system 'clearly isn't working'

The Oireachtas Transport Committee isn’t impressed.

THE OIREACHTAS TRANSPORT Committee is set to review the use of GoSafe cameras after a number of speeding cases were recently dismissed.

Committee member Patrick O’Donovan said the current system clearly isn’t working.

“It is clear that the system is not working at the moment. There are questions around the issuing of notices, as well as the location of vans and I believe that these, and other issues, need to be discussed in detail,” the Fine Gael TD said.

Only last week, cases involving Go Safe vans in Cavan and Monaghan were dismissed and last month cases were also dismissed in Clare and in Limerick.

O’Donovan has asked for a full review of the GoSafe system.

“I proposed that this review should include the Departments of Justice and Transport, the Garda Síochána, the operators of the GoSafe vans, together with legal practitioners who will be invited to come before the Committee.

“I have asked that this would commence as soon as possible so as to make sure that confidence is restored in the system,” he stated.

Emergency legislation may be needed to close penalty points loophole

Here’s everything you can get penalty points for from today

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:55 PM

Supposed to be at black spots but I only ever see them on safe dual carriageways. Money making racket

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:42 PM

Ever tried shooting fish in the deep blue sea? Try it, then try shooting them in a barrel, I bet the barrel will be easier! Now they’re on dual carriageways and motorways for the same proverbial reason!

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:06 PM

I’d love to know where the ass*ol*s who are red thumbing work. I have a fair idea though.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:53 PM

A money making racket. Hiding like snakes in the grass in low speed zones. Contract should be ripped up. How they got away with this for so long is a disgrace.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:26 PM

Only see them in 50 zones hidden. Have you ever tried to do 50 in a 50 zone when ones not around I have and to say I’ve been abused for it is an understatement. Never seen an accident in these zones either in all the years I’ve been driving the same road. I have on the other hand seen numerous accidents in other stretches of the same road and never see a go safe on in these places. Must not bring in the revenue on these stretches.

Mute Conor Foley
    Favourite Conor Foley
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:32 PM

on the N11 in Wicklow is a perfect example of lazy revenue generating practices of the gatso vans, typically parked just inside a lower speed zone or just before the motorway where they catch people easily. these are locations with low accident rates and levels but easy to catch people. Interestingly these were never the places that the guards used to do manual speed checks at.

Mute Ciaran McGrath
    Favourite Ciaran McGrath
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:22 PM

Here here. Got caught there last week, it’s less than 300 metres from the 120 sign for the motor way! What a money making racket

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:49 PM

Of course it’s not working – it’s a complete con job.

‘Speeding’ as they love to tout it, isn’t the problem you’d believe. Even the RSA’s own website only attributes less than 10% of accidents attributable to ‘speed’. Not forgetting of course that ‘speeding’ in the RSA’s own reports is the sum of those who break the actual legally posted limit PLUS those who weren’t legally speeding, but who were driving ‘too fast’. (wtf that means.).

Still, a private company in Kerry gets €50m so that’s grand. Jobs for the boys & all that.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:08 PM

I said that here on the journal over two years ago and 90% gave red thumbs.

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:08 PM

Was there not a plan to change the speed limit to common sense on those dodgy country roads a few months back?

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:24 PM

This is Ireland Shawn. Nobody likes a smart arse!!

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:32 PM

Wrong.
    Speed limits are not set by Superintendents, they are set by Engineers from your local council.
    And the speed van company’s get reimbursed by the number of hours they complete not the number of tickets.
    Never let the truth get in the way of a good moan.

Mute yeats
    Favourite yeats
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

Thank you.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:13 PM

..irrelevant. The car you describe isn’t breaking any law.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:20 AM

Yea Darragh. Good to see they believe me at last.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:16 PM

Got caught speeding once in Dublin. Was bracing myself for a hefty fine and points to arrive in the post. When it finally did arrive, it had my name and address but a photo of another car and a statement saying I was speeding in Donegal! Couldn’t make it up

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:13 PM

Give us an unjust system & we will get around it. There is a big emphasis on speeding not because its a major cause of road deaths but because its an easy target & a goid revenue generator. Its the very same as the tachograph legislation.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:52 PM

Traffic lights are the same. They slow up traffic and tempt people to ignore them and get fined. When did traffic lights ever help the ordinary working-class man?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:50 PM

If it isn’t working in the first place then how can confidence be restored?

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:44 PM

I recently got caught doing 60 in a fifty zone which may seem fair enough, the thing is in was leaving the town of birr and the van was right at the edge of the 50 zone, surely catching people speeding in the town would be of more benefit.
    What lesson did I learn from this except the safety cameras are an extortion racket and have nothing to do with safety.

Mute Dan O'Sullivan
    Favourite Dan O'Sullivan
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:46 PM

A revenue collecting exercise only, cherry picking locations by placing the vans immediately inside speed limit areas. Proof of the pudding, fatalities up! Government want money. Whole system should be reviewed. Speed van locations should be in areas where fatal accidents occur, not soft targets?

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:23 PM

People should be allowed drive at any speed they like. Driving on footpaths with any vehicle over 1400cc should, however, be strictly limited.

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:50 PM

We need more cameras not fewer

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:50 PM

Sure we all know EXACTLY The spots they always check on the n11 because of the 60km speed limit! They always do the same places over and over again! Stillorgan had a van for about a month recently goin into the slip road and they always check just after ucd going up the underpass and then again behind the bus stop on the opposite side! There are marked points for Garda only spaces on the side of the n11 also just for catching people speeding ! All so predictable! Will you find cameras tho down the country on small roads where people actually drive dangerously? No! Because more chance of people in Dublin going a few over to make some money! How many people die on the n11? Nobody! You can’t go fast enough. Also I think most collisions happen because of stupid people not checking mirrors and blind spots not because of speed!

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:01 PM

Speed never killed anybody. If your car is designed to travel at 200KPH then there is no reason not to drive at this speed. Planes go much faster and never kill anybody because of their speed. It makes sense.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:56 PM

Never on small roads ? Ha ! Try the R347 – they’re in two spots near my front door regularly. Just in time for commuters to work too. Amazing coincidence. The road even fails the criteria for warranting a camera.

Mute Rachel Bergin
    Favourite Rachel Bergin
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:19 PM

Well said. Every day you can predict the road crashes they are down the country in the middle of the night ie, 2am

Also some of the speed limits are crazy the n11 has two speed limits 80km/h and 60km/h why not have the same speed limit. When you try to do the speed limit in the fast lane people are on your tail just the other week I had a woman overtake me and then when she got in front of me she gave me the two fingers through her rear view mirror and kept them up for a while to make sure i saw her

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:38 AM

Rachel, figures publicly available for 2012, 2013 and so far this year, show that just less than 60% of road deaths happened between 6pm and 10pm and were mostly from Tuesday to Saturday. Not at 2am or nights. 15% were night time 10pm to 6am and the other 25% was 6am to 6pm.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:57 PM

Ah sure didn’t berties mate get the contract the same person who owns the swanky hotel outside of Kilkenny city,And who signed off on the contract no other than the failed school teacher Dempsey, The same man who when minister for transport said in order for people to avoid damage to their cars,They should drive slowly in to the pot holes.
    Also this company has done a grey hound and gone off shore regarding accounts.

Mute Molly1952
    Favourite Molly1952
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:55 PM

The Hollywood to Glendalough road is a nightmare on Sundays – lunatic motorcyclists doing insane speeds and overtaking two or three cars at a time even on bends.There are numerous roadside memorial plaques to motorcyclists who have died in accidents on that road and other windy roads around Wicklow but I have never seen a speed van on that particular road.

Mute Brian Carroll
    Favourite Brian Carroll
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:39 PM

But sure if your a motorcyclist, you can never be caught by GoSafe, as they only detect approaching traffic….
    No requirement for front reg plates on bikes, so no recordable offence committed.
    So much for the law being fair….

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:29 PM

Speeding tickets are for everyone , when we see the points been scrubbed every day for some sections of society then the law is not the law of the land as it does not cover the people equally across the land .

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:07 PM

It’s working for someone, from the Irish Examiner Saturday, July 20, 2013

“The Xavier McAuliffe-led consortium, that operates the army of speed camera vans across the country, recorded operating profits of almost €50,000 per week last year.

The Go Safe consortium secured the €80m Garda contract to operate the speed camera vans in 2009, and new accounts show the firm recorded operating profits of €3.12m in the 15 months to the end of Mar 31, 2012 — or €48,000 per week, on average.”

Mute Karl Treacy
    Favourite Karl Treacy
    Dec 13th 2014, 10:21 PM

Some of the locations are a joke, there is a location near me that hasn’t had a crash in 20 years yet every few weeks there is a van there. Don’t get me started on when the van is on an incline! I would also argue that glaring at the speedometer is taking the drivers eyes off the road thus making it things even worse