You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"Mugabe would be proud" - spoiled votes all over the southeast because of papers not being stamped

The problems have been found in Wexford and Waterford, and one Wexford candidate is less than impressed.

Updated 20.10

THERE HAVE BEEN issues with spoiled papers in both Wexford and Waterford during the counting this evening, with one Wexford candidate particularly unimpressed.

Independent candidate for Wexford John Dwyer earlier pulled out of the contest there after a run-in with the returning officer over spoiled ballots.

“Robert Mugabe would be proud of how this election was conducted,” the former Sinn Féin councillor told TheJournal.ie.

We spotted a large bundle of papers under a table, but the returning officer said they were being discounted because they weren’t properly stamped.

Dwyer claims that he was initially told that 380 papers had been declared invalid, but that the returning officer later revised this figure down to 50.

dwyer

“My team are experienced and they don’t tell lies,” Dwyer said.

To have the democratic process interfered with like that, it’s incompetence at its worst.

Dwyer likewise claims that the results of the returning officer’s investigation into the problem will not be made public, a fact he describes as “just quite bizarre”.

Waterford

Meanwhile, as many as 80 ballot papers at the counting centre for the Waterford constituency have been spoiled as the papers weren’t stamped.

Stamping a paper is the job of the presiding returning officer at each polling station when each voter presents him or herself.

Generally speaking a paper should be perforated appropriately before being handed to the individual voter.

A source at the count centre told TheJournal.ie that the spoiled papers came from around the county and were not limited to one polling box.

waterford

All told there were 400 spoiled votes discovered during the count at the Waterford centre.

At present just one of four seats has been filled in the constituency with Fianna Fáil’s first-time candidate Mary Butler fulfilling the quota of 10,341 at the first count.

The total turn-out in the county was 52,103.

The battle for the remaining three seats appears to be a shoot-out between Sinn Féin’s David Cullinane (who is very close to the quota after the first count), independent John Halligan, and Fine Gael’s John Deasy and Paudie Coffey.

Read: Mary Lou tops the poll and tries to shut down talk that a FG/FF deal is inevitable

Read: LIVEBLOG: Fianna Fáil surging as results begin to fly in

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:19 PM

A big buala bus for that genius. Making Waterford look good.

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:53 PM

That’s a hard task. Rebranding soft rolls as a speciality good and alleged passable weather versus being, well, Waterford. ..

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:19 PM

Someone is getting there arse slapped

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:23 PM

Their! There, there.

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:46 PM

You’re ma.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:50 PM

Yizzer mah

Feb 27th 2016, 7:55 PM

You’re Ma will slap your arse with the you know what.

Feb 27th 2016, 7:56 PM

Ah what a dope, that’s me slapped.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:23 PM

The sad thing is, most likely no one will be repromanded or held to account in any way for this.

Mute EmmaLoodle
    Favourite EmmaLoodle
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:51 PM

Presiding officers are not reappointed if unstamped ballot papers are in their specific ballot box and their payment can be withheld by the Returning Officer

Feb 27th 2016, 8:55 PM

Pedant

Feb 27th 2016, 8:59 PM

*reprimanded.. It’s the unspeakable for you Daffy. Although being a bear it will probably at best mildly irritate you.

Feb 27th 2016, 10:36 PM

I want to see a scrap between Daffy and Diarmuid, silverback vs brown bear. Reckon the bear would have too much strength and psycho buzz i.e. wants to eat everything, omnivorous chap is the bear. Gorilla wouldn’t be taking any prisoners either, so there might not be a victor.

Who would win in a fight, a grizzly bear or a silverback ape?

Feb 27th 2016, 10:41 PM

Silverbacks are very close to us, but bears do not trust us.

Feb 28th 2016, 12:07 AM

A government for the people any time soon? I do not think so. Fat rats rule OK.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Feb 28th 2016, 7:30 PM

Used to be a programme where they would get scientists to work out which creature would win in a fight.Shark vs crocodile ,tiger vs lion ,etc they very well could have done bear vs gorrilla ,it would be a good one alright!

Feb 28th 2016, 9:05 PM

Octopus versus Hyena.

Feb 28th 2016, 9:15 PM

Grizzly is a first cousin of the Polar bear. The only animals that might beat a polar bear in a fight would be a hippo or a rhino. Two Herbivores. Also a Giraffe would kick the shite out of the vast majority of enemies. A male tiger would have a chance but only if he caught him by surprise. Thankfully these magnificent beasts don’t share territory. Unless of course us humans get involved.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:05 PM

You had ONE JOB!!!!

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Feb 27th 2016, 11:16 PM

Fortunately, with the state if healthcare, these doddery auld wans and lads probably won’t make it to the next election. So thanks for that Enda

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Feb 28th 2016, 10:54 AM

Quite the contrary. These teachers will be very well looked after by Enda and now Michael. Screw the private tax payer and the guy that doesn’t get a vacation

Mute Niamh Patterson
    Favourite Niamh Patterson
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:21 PM

Disgraceful – how hard is it to remember to stamp each voting paper? I wonder was it one individual who forgot and I wonder if the 80 spoiled votes were for one individual????

Mute Brianán Mc Bride
    Favourite Brianán Mc Bride
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:24 PM

Read the story before commenting, the spoiled votes were from around the country and not from one polling box!

Mute Brianán Mc Bride
    Favourite Brianán Mc Bride
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:25 PM

Read the story before commenting, the spoiled votes were from around the county and not from one polling box!

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:28 PM

It’ll be easy to tell who it was, it’ll be the guy from Zimbabwe used to rigging votes for Mugabe !

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:56 PM

That’s much worse! So instead of having one stupid person in Waterford you’re saying we have a few?…

Mute Dave Murphy
    Favourite Dave Murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:20 PM

If they can verify that this is the only vote from the person and is not a silly attempt to add multiple votes just let the votes in. The person didn’t make a mistake so their vote should count.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:24 PM

No they cant

Mute liam lally
    Favourite liam lally
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:27 PM

No excuse for the voting papers not been stamped properly.
    Voting centre staff are paid good money
    Sitting at each table in the voting centre is a junior paid €250 and a senior paid€450. There is a supervisor in each voting centre paid €700.
    People on standby in the returning officers headquarters are paid €70 if they are not used.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:09 PM

I’d be delighted if FG’s Paudie Coffey gets his arse kicked because he’s one of the most arrogant, egotistical TDs in the Dáil.
    How anyone voted for him is beyond me.

Mute Alan Conway
    Favourite Alan Conway
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:17 PM

Have to agree with you…..never met anyone so arrogant.

Mute Marcella Treacy
    Favourite Marcella Treacy
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:10 PM

How hard a job is it!!

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:18 PM

Didn’t receive a polling card in the post to brought my passport to the polling booth in Waterford.
    Chatting for a while with the agents and noticed they hadn’t checked my ID.
    Upon questioning I was informed that ‘We only check every fifth ID’.
    This is unacceptable in my opinion.
    Every single ID should be checked.
    I was the only one in the booth at the time so it’s not as if they were overburdened either.
    Not good.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:32 PM

They would have recognised you anyway from your album covers!

Mute Car K Stanley
    Favourite Car K Stanley
    Feb 28th 2016, 4:58 PM

I asked that question last year aswell at the polling station and I got a dumbfounded look like I had asked the unquestionable question which to me is obvious so there is no voter fraud . They eventually said we ask some people for id but I wasn’t convinced ….

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:48 PM

Sure they vote again in next weeks election

Mute Dave Murphy
    Favourite Dave Murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:55 PM

Sorry had a stupid moment, was annoyed and forgot it was an anonymous vote so no way of knowing who’s votes these clowns spoiled, clearly fairest way is to redo vote in that constituency, yes it’s only a small number, but their voice needs to matter too.

Mute Dave Murphy
    Favourite Dave Murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:57 PM

That was meant for Dan who replied to my original comment, I hold my hand up to a stupid moment

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:20 PM

Mary Lou still not elected after 6 rounds of counting..SF transfer toxic.

Feb 27th 2016, 7:25 PM

Don’t be so bitter.

Mute Tony Duncan
    Favourite Tony Duncan
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:32 PM

She was elected on the 6th count the guts of 3000 votes ahead of the next best you idiot.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:02 PM

I never said she wouldn’t be elected…but well done her…she’ll be a well paid mouthpiece in opposition unless you believe all the SF drivel about them only having the average industrial wage.

Elected to opposition benches = useless.

Feb 27th 2016, 8:03 PM

FG seem first-preference toxic.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 28th 2016, 3:09 AM

Christ, is this idiot still here. Thought we’d get a rest from the anti left /anti SF nutters now the election is over.

Mute una nolan
    Favourite una nolan
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:27 PM

Be accountable for ones auctions, no payment for offending officers ?

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:04 AM

How the fcuk can the ballot paper not be stamped there is two people sitting at the desk.we’re they asleep

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:26 PM

Gombeen from top to bottom start to finish. That’s Irish politics

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:22 PM

Shoulda broken out the e-voting machines; all of this vote spoilage could have been avoided..

Feb 27th 2016, 9:02 PM

Correct, let’s build new ones. Who can we the contract to? Anyone 50 million to spare?

Feb 27th 2016, 9:42 PM

Can we have a referendum on croynism? No way Jose.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Feb 27th 2016, 10:40 PM

Anyone for e-voting ?

Mute mike mallee
    Favourite mike mallee
    Feb 28th 2016, 8:15 AM

What sanction is a Returning Officer able to take against a Presiding Officer shown to be clearly incompetent in these circumstances? They have little enough to do in most polling stations and not stamping the ballot paper is unforgiveable

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:05 AM

Small cow and far away comes to mind