You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Poll: Is today the first day of spring?

Or was it last month? Or is it later this month?

FOR MANY, TODAY – 1 March – is the first day of spring.

Metereologically-speaking, this is the case according to Met Éireann with temperatures and weather conditions to generally improve from this month onwards.

However, some astronomers would say spring begins at the Vernal Equinox, which falls on Saturday 20 March.

Others might remember being taught in school that 1 February marked the first day of spring.

So, today we’re asking you: Is today the first day of spring?

Poll Results:

No, it was 1 February (5317)
Yes, it is (4387)
No, it's on 20 March (1036)
Not sure (500)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:27 AM

God help us.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:40 AM

Fair play Denis, always great to see a successful irish business man investing in ireland.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:23 AM

So snoop if you had his money you would just give it all to charity yeah? You would in your arse. Just face the fact you are just jealous simples

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:28 AM

I certainly wouldn’t use it to buy up large chunks on the Irish media. If he is the patriotic businessman you are portraying why would he want to influence what Irish people read and listen to?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:29 AM

Murdoch looks like the ould rich plutocrat that’s looking for eternal life in Prometheus.
    http://img3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130201220209/avp/images/b/b8/Guy-pearce-prometheus-2012.jpg

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:31 AM

Maybe Ridley Scott based the character on Murdoch or one of our other Globalists?

Mute Derek Mahon
    Favourite Derek Mahon
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:33 AM

@Rocky, because there’s a lot of money to be made in media, and it’s area where O’Brien has experience in

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 19th 2015, 11:33 AM

Mahon tribunal. Bet DOB thanks god every night for the DPPs abilities.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 19th 2015, 11:34 AM

He wants to be digger. Hope Tony Blair gets into the kennel.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Mar 19th 2015, 12:42 PM

The likes of him have big bellies which are never full… The only time he was truly happy was probably when he was a baby

Mute Sinister Lucinda
    Favourite Sinister Lucinda
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:02 PM

He must be investing in new riot gear for the Garda

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:22 PM

That’s right Rocky. I commented in reply to Richard Cynical’s silly “jealous” remark earlier and this too seems to be deleted. And to think we were worried about media control and freedom of speech/expression? By the way, does the aforementioned gentleman to who this whole article refers happen to own The Journal.ie by any chance? Just curious that’s all.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:24 PM

Correction “to whom this whole article refers”

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:37 PM

The Irish government must be about to outsource something else big and he is just releasing cash to snap it up, watch this space, some how or another that money he released will cost us more money

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:41 PM

@Sloop John G. No, DOB doesn’t own any part of TheJournal. Here’s our comments policy in case you need any clarification on what’s acceptable on this forum: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/

Mute Real Shinnerbot
    Favourite Real Shinnerbot
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:46 PM

I hope he doesn’t buy An Phoblacht.

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Mar 19th 2015, 1:56 PM

Unbelievable Peter. After reading the journal’s comments policy and seeing what others have stated about DOB I don’t see how you can delete that comment? I merely stated facts and opinions relevant to the article which the majority of people agreed with and you delete them?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:59 PM

Denis O”Brien did attend a Biderberg meeting.
    Where elitest plutocratic globalists and their friends in government discuss media agendas, population control and other weird god policies?

He was found out to be in the wrong by the Moriarty tribunal?
    He was the under bidder for siteserv, inspire of this he was chosen as the buyer?
    The other bidders in the 2nd mobile phone licence auction were way more deserved of the licence?

Unless he can rewrite History.
    Those and other very shady facts still stand.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Mar 20th 2015, 1:35 AM

So why was my comment censored then, when I mentioned the Moriarty Tribunal report, available to anyone interested incidentialy, uncensored online ?

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:31 AM

I am sure FG will look after their most generous benefactor. Irish Air must coming online shortly.

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:34 AM

More money for Dinny to invest in getting his protege re-elected to push his water metering and to award him the lead pipe replacement contract worth a few more billions

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:36 AM

Tell us more about the lead pipe replacement contract. Where are all the lead pipes?

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:46 AM

Maybe INM will use this money to pay back those debt writedowns AIB & BOI granted them a while back.

LOL

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:25 AM

No chance Mark. You know how the banks work in this country. If you owe them €100 they will hound you until you pay back every penny. If you owe €100 million you get write downs.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:45 PM

He’s only selling that to take up the slack. His Topaz franchise is loosing money. Has to resort to crapy club promotions all over the radio.

Mute Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Favourite Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:46 AM

29.9% is not a majority stakehold in Independent News and Media, it does however make him the single biggest shareholder. It’s INM and not the bould Denis selling this stake, so technically it doesn’t affect his media empire size at all.

Are there any actual researchers working in the Journal to catch such basic errors?

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:55 AM

Are we still at war with Eastasia?

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:02 AM

Was making a joke there, but yeah, reading the story again, it’s an obvious error.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:02 AM

@Paul – I’ve used the term majority in the dictionary sense – that is, O’Brien having the biggest share. However I’ve reworded in case there’s any confusion. Given that its both O’Brien’s private investment vehicle AND the company he owns the largest share in selling off their holdings there are no errors here

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:43 AM

His record speaks for itself. Dismissing people’s rightful concerns as simply jealousy is meaningless. You are ok with the damage been done to what is left of the democratic fabric of the country with this man’s control over so much of the media here.

Mute Conrad Shields
    Favourite Conrad Shields

A-ha – That might explain why my Independent App has disappeared this morning.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:36 AM

He was the start of cheaper mobile usage ! I for one take my hat off to him he has set up some of the most profitable companies in Ireland.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:42 AM

That’s great, now tell me how much tax he pays here on all his profitable businesses

Mute Richard Cynical
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:48 AM

Easy Shane, you are on tbe fast track to a journal dressing down. You can’t come on here and give praise to a successful irish person, are you mad?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:51 AM

Probably more the you euro

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:55 AM

€135m in 2013 Euro McPunty.
    Those hand outs you get for sitting on your ar5e don’t actually come from the magic lefty money fairy. Most of it comes from decadent capitalist companies.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 19th 2015, 9:56 AM

Without figures id be guessing but he employees thousands maybe more ! Between his companies. I saw a protest outside my local Topaz a few weeks ago what fools wanting the company shut down and everyone loose their jobs !
    I did wonder how the protesters had time do they not work !!
    I didn’t need diesel but i drove back and got some

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:49 AM

Shane, how sad you are;-(

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 19th 2015, 11:04 AM

Loose their jobs , like make the hours more flexible or something.

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D
    Mar 19th 2015, 11:43 AM

Lose their jobs? That’s no worry, Denis O’Briens media and the FG shills/trolls here keep telling us that there are thousands and thousands of new jobs. Make up your mind FG shills/trolls.

Mar 19th 2015, 12:20 PM

Water meters???

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 19th 2015, 7:57 PM

Why is that happy Mary !

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:46 AM

Shane that’s a proper cowardly fg thing to do sneaks the lot of ye.dob lackey

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern

True Irish patriot

Mar 19th 2015, 12:19 PM

Like IW lol.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:18 AM

Nice to have a place where the anti Denis O’Brien folk can let it all out of their systems.

Mar 19th 2015, 12:19 PM

Boo… lol.

Mute I am Joke
    Favourite I am Joke
    Mar 19th 2015, 12:13 PM

Dennis paid 2.53 for his INM shares, today they trade at 0.14, just saying..,

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 19th 2015, 10:46 AM

Not so sure describing Murdock as a “rival” of O’Brien is all that accurate.

Mar 19th 2015, 12:21 PM

Only in a p155ing contest I believe?

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Mar 19th 2015, 11:26 AM

It’s unfortunate that Independent News & Media have chosen to lower its horizons and retreat from the world back into the small and insular island of Ireland, particularly at a time when there is a growing population of Irish people once again in Australasia. But I suppose this is the price to be paid for the huge and debilitating debts built up at INM when the company was the plaything of the Tony O’Reilly family.