You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Russian President Vladimir Putin DPA/PA Images

'Spy mania': West accuses Russia of global hacking conspiracy

Russia scathingly accused the West of “spy mania”, with the Russian foreign office describing the accusations as “propaganda”.

WESTERN POWERS HAVE accused Russia of orchestrating a string of global cyber attacks including a bungled plot to hack the world’s chemical weapons watchdog in The Netherlands.

The United States indicted seven alleged Russian members of the GRU military intelligence agency yesterday for targeting the Hague-based OPCW, the US Democratic Party, world sports bodies and US nuclear energy company Westinghouse.

The charges came as part of a coordinated pushback by allies Britain, The Netherlands, Canada and the US against a series of hacking attempts by what London dubbed “pariah state” Russia.

Russia scathingly accused the West of “spy mania”, with the Russian foreign office describing the accusations as “propaganda”.

In scenes reminiscent of a Cold War spy novel, Dutch security services said it had expelled four Russian GRU agents in April after they attempted a cyber attack on the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons from a car parked nearby.

The OPCW was at the time probing the nerve agent poisoning of Russian ex-spy Sergei Skripal in Britain and an alleged chemical attack on the Syrian town of Douma by the Moscow-backed regime in Damascus.

The Dutch and British prime ministers Mark Rutte and Theresa May in a joint statement accused the GRU of “disregard for global values” and lashed out at the Russian agency’s “unacceptable cyber activities”.

Hidden antenna 

The Russians were tracked by Dutch and British secret services from their arrival in Amsterdam on diplomatic passports in April and were then seen hiring a Citroen car which they parked outside the Marriott hotel next to the OPCW.

When Dutch agents swooped on 13 April they found electronic equipment in the boot and back of the car to intercept the OPCW’s wifi and login codes, including a hidden antenna facing the chemical weapons watchdog.

Marriott manager Vincent Pahlplatz told AFP there was “no James Bond involved” and the Russians had been arrested without force as they emerged from a lift into the hotel lobby.

Investigations found the Russians had originally taken a taxi from GRU barracks in Moscow to the airport, for which Dutch agents later found a receipt from their hotel. Some of their mobile phones were also activated in Moscow near the agency’s headquarters.

“They were clearly not here on holiday,” said the head of the Dutch MIVD intelligence service, Major-General Onno Eichelsheim.

A laptop belonging to one of the four was linked to Brazil, Switzerland and Malaysia — while the activities in Malaysia were related to the investigation into the 2014 shooting down of flight MH17 over Ukraine.

It was also revealed that the agents had made searches for the OPCW-affiliated Spiez laboratory in Switzerland – which the Swiss last month said had been targeted by Russia.

Dutch authorities released the Russian diplomatic passports of the men identifying them as Oleg Sotnikov, Alexei Morenets, Alexei Minin and Yevgeny Serebryakov. They also showed photos of the men outside the hotel.

Rutte said the “unusual and powerful” step of releasing details of an intelligence sting was taken to bring Russia to account.

“It is impossible for them to deny what has come out,” the Dutch PM told broadcaster NOS.

The OPCW confirmed it had suffered “increased cyber-related activities” since the beginning of the year and had “undertaken measures to mitigate them”.

‘Pariah state’ 

The four Russians allegedly involved in the OPCW attack were included in the list of seven men indicted by the US Justice Department.

John Demers, US Assistant Attorney General for National Security, confirmed that known attack targets included the OPCW, football body FIFA, the World Anti-doping Agency (WADA) and Westinghouse.

Demers said the operations dating back to 2014 “involved sophisticated, persistent and unauthorised access into the victims’ computer networks”.

The case also overlaps with US Special Counsel Robert Mueller’s probe into Russian election meddling, with three of the men targeted on Thursday having featured in an earlier indictment on interference in the US polls.

US intelligence says the GRU conducted the 2016 Democratic Party hack in an effort to help Donald Trump win the presidency.

Canada confirmed Thursday it believes itself to have been targeted by Russian cyber attacks, citing breaches at its centre for ethics in sports and at the Montreal-based WADA.

Britain and Australia had just hours earlier pointed the blame directly at alleged GRU front operations such as Fancy Bear and APT 28 for the same string of worldwide attacks.

The West’s coordinated response also saw NATO chief Jens Stoltenberg warning Russia to halt its “reckless” behaviour and the European Union condemning “aggressive” Russian spying. France separately denounced the attacks as “serious and worrying”.

British Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson said that these were “not the actions of a great power, this is the actions of a pariah state”.

‘Spy mania’ 

Russia’s foreign ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said the allegations had been mixed together “indiscriminately”.

“That’s a hell of a mix for a perfume,” she told reporters.

London has accused two GRU officers of poisoning former double-agent Skripal and his daughter Yulia in Salisbury in March, using a perfume bottle containing the powerful nerve agent Novichok.

A Russian foreign ministry representative told AFP separately: “Western spy mania is gathering pace.”

GRU stands for the Main Intelligence Directorate, one of Moscow’s three spy agencies along with the FSB security service and the SVR foreign intelligence agency.

© – AFP 2018

View 51 comments
51 Comments
    Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Oct 5th 2018, 7:44 AM

Its only bad when it’s Russia hacking the west.

Mute JustOneScoop
    Favourite JustOneScoop
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:31 AM

@Stephen Devlin: well kinda , yeah Stephen your in the EU.see all that lovely stuff you enjoy like jobs welfare economic activity. We kinda need all that. So do you. So the integrity of our Economic zone is pretty vital. Surprised you want to live in an economic wasteland that’s been separated purposefully to make it less strong . Very weird ambition

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:36 AM

@JustOneScoop: the only thing weird is your response

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:15 AM

@JustOneScoop: So no problem that the US were caught spying on the Merkel and the french prime minister. No problem with the brit intelligence service listening in on and recording almost every mobile phone call made in ireland?

Mute Lambo Moonski
    Favourite Lambo Moonski
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:46 AM

@JustOneScoop: + “too many” I’d say – lol

Mute JustOneScoop
    Favourite JustOneScoop
    Oct 5th 2018, 12:55 PM

@Cal Mooney: I do have a problem with it, Which is why i dont use it as a deflectionary tactic anytime Russia is mentioned. It just so happens at this point in time Russia is actively engaged in destroying the EU, because it was too strong and it has massive sanction wielding power on the money held by its leaders and their friends. But there are EU citizens that will jump to defend Russia at any opportunity. Hapless Idiots

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:03 PM

@JustOneScoop: why would Russia want to destroy the EU when its one of its largest trading partners ? And the EU is doing well enough on its own destroying itself

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    Oct 5th 2018, 3:13 PM

@Stephen Devlin: are you a Russian bot Stephen ?

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Oct 5th 2018, 5:58 PM

@Mr E: Hmm let’s see: if you were Putin would you A) deal directly with a massive supranational entity or B) deal separately with loads of small states you can bully into one-sided deals by virtue of being the biggest fish in the pond? What a difficult choice!

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 6:27 PM

@Harry Whitehead:
    Let’s face it, that’s how Russia has treated the former Soviet states for decades.
    It’s not for nothing that most of them now look to nato for protection.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Oct 5th 2018, 6:57 PM

@mattoid: it’s funny, you ask Putinbots why Poland, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, etc. keep going to NATO for protection from Russia instead of going to Russia for protection from NATO and they never seem to be able to answer…

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Oct 5th 2018, 7:24 PM

@Mr E: just cause the EU is Russia’s biggest trading partner doesn’t necessarily engender good friendly terms. If that was the case then the US and China would be BFF

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:04 PM

@Harry Whitehead: That is a lot of fish pond whataboutery Harry. Point is that everyone is spying on each other. It was always the case and it is not going anywhere any time soon.
    No need to stress yourself about it.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Oct 6th 2018, 1:43 AM

@Stephen Devlin: Vault 7

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:01 AM

I feel this comment section needs more whataboutery.

Mute Genius 80s+
    Favourite Genius 80s+
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:58 AM

@Clifford Brennan: I would have thought if a major power like Russia wants to bump you off they would send a hit man with a gun, Not a guy on holiday with a perfume bottle

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:20 AM

@Clifford Brennan: hows the tea in the little england embassy today? R u having a scone with it? The little englanders mimicking the paid israeli program of paying sheep to post anti russian propoganda. We saw the same efforts in the media in the lead up to the Iraq and Libyan wars. All articles spreading false intel to justify some murderous military campaign.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:31 AM

@Genius 80s+: So you obviously think the Russians had nothing to do with the murder of Alexander Litvinenko?

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:52 AM

@Cal Mooney: Thanks Cal. Just what the comments needed. My very own strawman freshly delivered from the howling wildnerness of your mind. Ha ha.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:02 AM

@Genius 80s+:
    Even the Russian public ridiculed the “two guys on a holiday to see Salisbury cathedral spire” yarn.
    They don’t believe it, but you do – says a lot really.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:35 AM

@mattoid: Even renouned award winning journalist Robert Fisk and an ex British ambassador mocked the conclusions of englands claim about the Russians being behind the Skripal poisoning. They also mocked the idea that even though hundreds of police scoured the park where the Skripals were found, somehow a civilian managed to pick up a bottle of Novochok in the same small park 2 months later and poisoned themselves with it. Pull the other one, it has bells on it.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:28 PM

@Cal Mooney:
    The perfume bottle wad found in a completely different place, but hey, don’t let the facts get in the way eh?
    Still, at least you’re no longer denying that poison was involved – that’s some form of progress anyway. You’ll get there yet.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Oct 5th 2018, 3:16 PM

@Cal Mooney: you’re just so anti British you defend Russian threats to Western democracy

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Oct 5th 2018, 7:18 PM

@Clifford Brennan: ah Cliff, you shouldn’t worry about whether your posts aren’t getting the amount of likes you hoped for, especially considering you seem to be a Unionist and Israeli apologist who shows his gullability whenever the US and UK cry wolf.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:34 PM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: Still more mooing ad hominem from the crown prince of bovine mediocrity!

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Oct 6th 2018, 12:18 AM

@Clifford Brennan: here, I’ll give you a like to stop those tears.

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:32 AM

The hypocrisy from the West is parody at this stage. Embassys are spy compounds where agents and assets come and go. The bribes, assassinations, coups organised by Western governments in the last 100 years leaves Russia and China in the hay penny place.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 5th 2018, 10:41 AM

@Ranty McCrank: No hypocrisy, just PR! It’s all part of the spy industry that’s been around for 1000s of years. And always will be. The West needs it’s spies as much as everyone else. Its just that when you’re caught, you pay the price and suffer the bragging rights being hurled at you. At least no one is being killed anymore…..oh wait….Salisbury and those North Korea lady assassins…..

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:07 AM

@Paul Furey: Think you need to look up the US’s history in the world and see the ampit of ‘regime’ change that the CIA has been part of and the amount of deaths due to the same..

Mute Michael farrelly
    Oct 5th 2018, 3:16 PM

@Ranty McCrank: bot bot bot

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Oct 6th 2018, 11:29 AM

@Paul Furey: thousands of years?

Mute Caitriona Conlan
    Favourite Caitriona Conlan
    Oct 5th 2018, 10:09 AM

Strangely I’m more afraid of some major states in the West, than I am of the Russians. This whole evil Ruskie narrative is such raiméis.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 5th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Caitriona Conlan: Off you go then…..you’ll be safer and will have a ball in Russia. Bye now!

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:04 AM

@Caitriona Conlan: Same here, seeing the state of Iraq and Afganistan after US interventions .. Afganistan Opium production is at record levels and has rised year on year since the US invaded, stragely enough which conicided with Big Phara in the US and the rise in Oxycotin usage.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Oct 5th 2018, 3:17 PM

@Caitriona Conlan: yet another bot

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Oct 5th 2018, 10:59 AM

WikiLeaks /Snowden showed that US Intelligence ( :-)) NSA is spying on all internet and smart phones … CIA /NSA spying on EU leaders, buging phones like Merkels etc.
    All millitarized countries spy on one another.. the US spies on the UK and vice versa all the time.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:08 AM

@Irish Bob:
    So when Russia get caught out it’s like “well so what, everybody does it”, but when the US get caught out (Snowden) it’s like a decade of faux outrage?

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:11 PM

@mattoid: I’m no fan of putin but i don’t think he’s an idiot either. Why would they be actively doing this while they know no their is on-going investigations. Also you do know that the NSA and CIA have the tools to create digital footprints to make it seem that other countries or people are doing things that they are not, which was also shown in the snowden leaks

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:37 PM

@Mr E:
    Most of these incidents happened several months ago, and it’s not just a case of creating false flag digital footprints – there were physical arrests of named Russians who were caught red-handed with a bootload of high-tech surveillance equipment.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:47 PM

@Mr E:
    By the way, the Russians in question were travelling on diplomatic passports, which makes it a bit harder to claim they were on a weekend break to see the spire of the cathedral in the Hague. It does give them immunity from prosecution if caught though.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Oct 5th 2018, 3:19 PM

@Mr E: I’m no fan of Putin but……..lol

Mute Rob O'brien
    Favourite Rob O'brien
    Oct 5th 2018, 7:46 AM

Muh Russians invented cancer and paper cuts

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Oct 5th 2018, 7:45 AM

Putin has seen how an eejit get’s all the attention so he decides to do a bit of blackguarding himself.

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Oct 5th 2018, 8:48 AM

They are having a laugh. The two guys that went to visit the Cathedral is like just take taking the piss. Sending lads on diplomatic passports to hack again taking the piss. They don’t care. I would say they find the whole thing halarious, especially that Donkey Trump.
    You have to hand it to them fairly messing with the lot of them, trump, Brexit, all manipulated through Facebook and social media. The new frontier.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 5th 2018, 9:17 AM

Hugs could counter confict between peoples.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 5th 2018, 12:12 PM

@Sean Conway: maybe they could invent cyber-hugs, it’s bound to help.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Oct 5th 2018, 1:14 PM

yeah, yawn. Russia is no more than a developing-world cleptocracy trying to make itself seem relevant. Generations of communism, followed by decades of corruption have left the place in a mess. And the only way it can get on a world stage is by trying to act all macho n tough – grand, the rest of the world will get on with what matters while Russia continues to stagnate economically and politically and more and more become the laughing stock of the world.
    You only have to spend a couple of days there to see how much of a mess the place is.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Oct 5th 2018, 2:06 PM

@Tom Purcell: The US will also look like that as well, again that Urangotan is finished.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Oct 5th 2018, 4:41 PM

@Tom Purcell: Oh surely you’re not criticising Communist Russia. Doesn’t everybody know that it was just Paradise on Earth, particularly under Uncle Joe??

Mute Mark Mc Steve
    Favourite Mark Mc Steve
    Oct 5th 2018, 11:18 AM

Muh Russia, Muh collusion Y.A.W.N

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Oct 6th 2018, 1:42 AM

Remember VAULT 7 from the CIA or was that the NSA?