You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin's St Patrick's Day Parade in 2019. PA

Taoiseach says St Patrick's Day parades won't take place this year

Micheál Martin said there won’t be enough people vaccinated to allow the festivities to go ahead.

WITH ST PATRICK’S Day now just two months away, Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said that that he does not see any parades to mark the holiday going ahead this year because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The cancellation of parades around the country last March signalled the severity of the public health crisis that Ireland was heading into.

The streets look set to be quiet for two years running as the Taoiseach told Virgin Media News that there won’t be enough people vaccinated to allow festivities to go ahead this year.

“The one thing we’ve learned about this virus, it changes, it evolves into different phases, different variations are coming on stream. Clearly vaccination is the key to this,” the Taoiseach said.

Martin was also quizzed about the reopening of schools and he said that children with special needs are the government’s first priority for returning to classrooms, followed by leaving cert students.

The Taoiseach said the situation will be reassessed at the end of January but added that no guarantees can be given because of the high level of coronavirus circulating in the community.

Martin added that the preference across all government departments at present is for the leaving cert to be held in a traditional manner this summer.

“As of now we’re looking at a traditional leaving cert. I would say, all round, that we just need to hold our nerve and have a degree of patience on this,” he said. 

The Taoiseach also said that US President-elect Joe Biden will come to Ireland on a state visit after tackling the coronavirus outbreak.

“He told me when I invited him after the conversation, after his election, he said: ‘try and keep me out’,” Martin said.

“Obviously with Covid being very dominant all over the world and in the United States, where it’s very, very prevalent at the moment, that’s his first task, he told me, when he would become president, to deal with the Covid-19 issue and to deal with the vaccinations there,” he added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

156 Comments
    Mute Labhrás Hayden
    Favourite Labhrás Hayden
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:23 PM

See you in school Thursday though.

Mute Teddy
    Favourite Teddy
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:56 PM

@Labhrás only if you’re in a special needs school.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:11 AM

@Teddy: he is!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Patrick Hudi Irwin
    Favourite Patrick Hudi Irwin
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:20 AM

@Labhrás Hayden: paddyday sesh 2034

Mute Patrick Hudi Irwin

Jan 16th 2021, 3:21 AM

Mute Patrick Hudi Irwin

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:51 AM

@Patrick Hudi Irwin: ooops!

Mute James Mitchell
    Favourite James Mitchell
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:48 AM

@Patrick Hudi Irwin: is there going to be a Paddy’s day sesh in a few year’s time?

Mute rolyat ecnal
    Favourite rolyat ecnal
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:42 AM

@Patrick Hudi Irwin: understood you first time lad

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:38 PM

@Labhrás Hayden: school is vital to peoples future. Paddy’s day is not. Risk vs reward.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:40 PM

And there is already talk in certain circles that pubs may not open again till August at the earliest. This has gone way too far, especially when there are many other experts and doctors in the field saying that our approach has been all wrong, and there are other ways.

Mute Fergus
    Favourite Fergus
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:06 AM

@mark connolly: haha patricks day going has gone too far? You seen december, 4 weeks of level 3 and we had 8k cases per day.

Ill have some of whatever you’re smoking pal

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:06 AM

@mark connolly: Here’s another tinfoil expert with a medical degree and a master’s in public health from ” Facebook and The Journal “

See 47 more replies ▾
    Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:10 AM

@mark connolly: yea and allowing people into pubs is really going to help.. NOT

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:10 AM

@Fergus: What do you suggest, keep going on eternal lockdown?

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:15 AM

@Jim: I’m nether a doctor or expert in epidemiology, however ive listened to many that say our current approach with draconian lockdowns are wrong especially in the long run. I don’t buy into conspiracies and the like. However if other experts are suggesting other approaches given what we now know, don’t you think its worth taking a look at?

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:17 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: I’m talking about other approaches other then draconian lockdowns. Seeing as many life long experts are coming forward with new info on how to handle it. Don’t you think its worth a look

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:23 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: Well Patricia, the pubs have been closed for the past 10 months, so maybe you should point your finger in a different direction, but before you do, maybe you would like to look at your own behavior. Too many people blaming others, when they themselves are not keeping to the guidelines.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:25 AM

@mark connolly: Anything is worth a try at this stage Mark, otherwise it is going to be continuous lockdowns.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:28 AM

@Gere: Exactly! Especially now with many other experts coming up with new approaches. Its nearly impossible to get people to reason, without someone trying to insult you like the above comments.

Mute Mal Swan
    Favourite Mal Swan
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:37 AM

@mark connolly: “I’m nether a doctor or expert in epidemiology, however ive listened to many that say…….”
    Mwah haw haw haw haw haw

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:42 AM

@Mal Swan: If thats amusing to you, then why are you listening to anyone?? Have you got anything constructive to add to the conversation or do you just like trying to insult anyone that suggests an opinion. These lock downs are killing people, driving people to suicide, and other health problems. Why is that amusing to you?

Mute MonkeyTarmac
    Favourite MonkeyTarmac
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:46 AM

@mark connolly: wow

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:52 AM

@Mal Swan: very mature & constructive.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:57 AM

@mark connolly: Mark, don’t know why you would ever try responding to those above. They have neither the rational thought process or the vocabulary to carry on any kind of normal intelligent conversation on this subject. Cant say that I have any immediate answers but of late I have begun at least kick starting my brain with regard to the worldwide approach to this virus. To date what I have arrived at… its absolutely NUTS!!

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:58 AM

@Mal Swan: Grow up

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:02 AM

@Gavin Linden: Nuts is right! This is what worries me, its getting impossible to have an open an honest debate on what could be done without someone trying to be insulting.

Mute James Lough
    Favourite James Lough
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:19 AM

@mark connolly: get over yourself snowflake. It’s only a bunch of keyboard warriors. The best approach is strict compliance and testing – l live in the UAE and life is normal enough, almost everything is open.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:22 AM

@mark connolly: What the government & NPHET are doing at the moment has made it worse rather than better. The best they can come up with is to blame the pubs/hospitality etc. There are business out there that have not been open since last March, so a new approach is needed. This industry cannot continuously be punished if other people are not following the rules. Either go for a complete lockdown for the whole country for 4 weeks, or else forget lockdowns. It is unfair to this industry & to the people of this country to keep this up, because as we know it is the same people it is affecting every time there is a lockdown while others can just get on with their lives.

Mute gavin meade
    Favourite gavin meade
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:23 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: they havnt been opened in the first place anyways so shruuuuuup.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:26 AM

@mark connolly: Pay no attention to the muppets. Civil service I would say.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:28 AM

@James Lough: LOL snowflake! you think i’m offended by keyboard warriors. Not so.
    I respond for now because every place is different and we are playing an eternal game in Ireland. Its worse then ever. Seeing people driven to despair is a reason enough for responding.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:30 AM

@Gere: Yea, i think its time to just ignore. Some people there is no reasoning with them.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:34 AM

@James Lough: I would not be slow in firing the snowflake comment if I thought it was deserved but Mark has a good point that has been very obvious from quite early on in the covid spread. Maybe you do not experience it in UAE and good luck to you on that. What is concerning is there is not only a lack of alternative opinion but it is hammered any time it raises its head, from almost every angle. Reminds me of the fable of The Emperors New Clothes, even Hans Christian Andersen could not have dreamed up what the general public are swallowing now.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:43 AM

@mark connolly: Covid has turned into a cult. Almost impossible to reason with the followers.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:46 AM

@mar: It really seems that way!

Mute Kevin Mac Glera
    Favourite Kevin Mac Glera
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:52 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: that’s people’s livelihoods!what is your vendetta against pubs?

Mute Kevin Mac Glera
    Favourite Kevin Mac Glera
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:56 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: what is your vendetta against pubs??

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:14 AM

@mark connolly: Experts, Experts and eh Experts! Who are they Mark, sources, names? I haven’t seen much said in regards these experts giving expert opinion on their expertise re lockdowns being outdated.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:27 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: Thank you for asking, a good start would be the work of Ivor cummins. Backed up by epidemiologists from Harvard and Oxford universities. Can’t remember names off hand, but even there is now a consensus agreement signed by over 150 experts on viruses. These things are available for anyone to research, but for some reason being ignored. Its not facebook experts if thats what you are assuming

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:52 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: At the risk of being rude Gavin, open your eyes and ears, as good old judge Judy would say try putting on your ‘listening ears’. Lots out there for you to explore, lots of complete BS but lots of other factual views that you can at least open a brain cell to, god knows what could happen.. Don’t be sitting round the television at 6 each evening waiting for the match of the day results on RTE etc (and here included). Strange as you may find not all the worlds experts are sitting in that 32 inch screen in the corner of your room. Go on give it a go..

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:06 AM

@mark connolly: Lockdowns work but only if the supply is turned off at the same time and contact tracing employed. And that means shutting the boarders … Only then can you hope to get on top of the situation, and by that I mean eradication, and go back to normal. Ireland had the opportunity when case numbers were low but didn’t do all the steps necessary, and I fear it’s too late now and the vaccine if the only hope. Australia provided the blueprint, we didn’t follow it.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 4:14 AM

@Kieran Hayes: Even grow a fuc kn mans beard.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Jan 16th 2021, 5:16 AM

@mark connolly: of course those so called experts you to about
    - don’t have any relevant qualifications in the relevant fields.
    - don’t work for WHO, CDC etc

But, they don’t make YouTube videos and post on twi8. They also hang out with people who think 5g caused this.

Clearly they are smart!

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 6:11 AM

@Barry Somers: Barry, I would normally try to be polite, but you are probably the biggest rick with a P i’ve come across on these interactive white boards..

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 6:18 AM

@Barry Somers: And in addition, who decided that you had to have some ‘expert’ degree to comment on here, I’m sure you do not have one, stop being a ‘village i d i o t/ C L Ow n and contribute something positive or destructive but with some tuned in cop on..

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:26 AM

@mark connolly: “there is talk in certain circles that pubs will be closed until August ” is there? What circles would those be? WhatsApp messages? And you say “other approaches are worth a look”. Do you not think that all approaches have been looked at and discussed? Before Christmas Ireland had the lowest infection rate in the EU and has been consistently at that level since the whole thing started. The government relaxed things over Christmas, tried trusting the public, and look how that worked out!
    What do you think we should be doing? What do these so called experts you’ve been reading about suggest we should be doing differently?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:37 AM

@Barry Somers: Dr David Nabarro said, “We in the World Health Organization do not advocate lockdowns as the primary means of control of this virus.”

Ireland seem to be using it as the primary means of control which is against WHO thinking.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:14 AM

@mark connolly: Tell that to the families of the people who have died.. .

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:16 AM

@mark connolly: What other approaches you keep saying “other” without saying what they are, can ylu provide examples…

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:18 AM

@Dave: who have died due to impact of three lockdowns? I’d say they would agree with him.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:22 AM

@mark connolly: what are they?

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:09 AM

@Dave: I kept asking that same question to another commenter yesterday. Eventually all I got was “open up society and live with the virus”. Even at this stage there are a few out there that just don’t get it.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:24 AM

@mark connolly: Ivor Cummins?? Have you actually read up about that chap, you may as well cite Mystic Meg as a source. People like you are so thick, you’re genuinely dangerous. Dunning Kruger syndrome in full swing.

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:47 AM

@mark connolly: these lockdowns wouldn’t have been necessary if PEOPLE listened back in the beginning. In general the human race are i d i o t s.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:09 PM

@O Swetenham: First of all ive yet to see anyone that has proven his work wrong. Happy to look at it. There are other sources like the great barrington agreement that has been signed by experts (and hasn’t been debunked) the very fact that i get toxic replies like yours for suggesting alternative approaches says a lot. I don’t keep every source in my head or handy as like everyone i read many different articles a day.
    If im wrong show me where im wrong. The act that you simply go into attack mode tell me all i need to know

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:27 PM

@mark connolly: is one of those experts Jim Corr? Lol

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:40 PM

@Paul Whitehead: Jim Corr is not an expert. Can’t believe you consider him an expert. Lol

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:51 PM
    Mute Eamon Morris
    Favourite Eamon Morris
    Jan 17th 2021, 12:32 AM

@mark connolly: Pubs are not priority!

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:27 PM

But open schools Thursday? What is it with this country that we like to defy logic after learning lessons twice over the past 10 months? If we are opening schools in six days we may as well open everything!

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:36 AM

@Ciaran McCann: it’s called prioritising services. Don’t think it’s that hard to comprehend

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 6:38 AM

@Ciaran McCann:Ciaran, really? what is wrong with you that you can not see this totally right and correct..

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:18 AM

@Ciaran McCann: When the people vote in gombeens its exactly what you get

Mute molly
    Favourite molly
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:54 PM

Just before Xmas i saw people posting on social media, things like it’s Xmas, I will celebrate, I will meet my friends and family and so on. Look at where we are now. Now some people are kicking up they can’t go on a, session paddy’s day.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:37 PM

Do people really care??? It’s usually an absolute mess of a day!

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:44 PM

@Jonnie Marre: yes, we should just work and buy shxt off Amazon we already have, why celebrate anything in life.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:45 AM

@John Egan: nobody’s stopping you celebrating the day.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:08 PM

@DJ François: thanks.

Mute Victoria
    Favourite Victoria
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:41 PM

How well he is able to make that decision, but yet he will wait and see about his own paddys day plans to America! Ffs will we ever learn?

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:45 PM

@Victoria: I bet he’ll end up going. Nothing going on here but he’ll enjoy himself in New York.

Mute Victoria
    Favourite Victoria
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:47 PM

@paul mccoy: i think you are probably correct, and it will all be in the name of ” essential diplomatic work” why are these yahoos still being voted in!! Surely the decision for his own plans should have been curtailed before ours were!

Mute yell cub
    Favourite yell cub
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:13 AM

@Victoria: because you’ll have direct access to the President of the US on behalf of Ireland I suppose.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:19 AM

@paul mccoy: The Whitehouse is in Washington DC, not NYC.

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:26 PM

wow….another lightening deduction from the Mehole The MASTERMIND……plenty of things won’t happen and that covid passport BS won’t happen either…..

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:30 PM

This has to be fake news, because Leo is first with the news,

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:57 PM

I remember seeing the film Groundhog Day years back and wondering is that possible, and lo and behold, its true.

Mute Guill Ire
    Favourite Guill Ire
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:27 PM

Ffs. Is Steak and Blowjob day going ahead?!?! TELL US NOW!!

Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:38 PM

Bring back Arthur’s Day. We should be all vaccinated and raring to go by September!

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:10 AM

@Handsome McWonderful: September is almost realistic.

Mute Labhrás Hayden
    Favourite Labhrás Hayden
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:24 PM

But we’ll See you in school Thursday though.

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:52 AM

@Labhrás Hayden: we heard you the first time…

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:31 PM

St Pats day could be a thing of the past. Lockdowns a constant thing of the future.

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:54 AM

@Michael Maher: Nah. Its a pandemic, but it’ll pass. It would be almost completely gone if adults could just fkin stay apart for a few weeks.

Mute Gene Johnston
    Favourite Gene Johnston
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:22 AM

This year is cancelled a month at a time.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:51 PM

So long as they show ‘The Quiet Man’, ‘Darby O’Gill And The Little People’ and ‘Flight Of The Doves’ shur we’ll be grand for our annual dose of Paddywhackery begob ‘n begorrah I says to meself! Or if you feel that’s not enough you could always watch ‘The Magical Legend Of The Leprechauns’ which stars Colm Meaney as Seamus Muldoon, a Leprechaun. It has to be seen to be believed…

Mute John brett
    Favourite John brett
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:59 PM

Everyone please stay at home but open the schools to 16000 Thursday.

Mute Mal Swan
    Favourite Mal Swan
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:35 AM

@ John brett: keep the schools closed. They are major spreaders

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:06 AM

@Mal Swan: You doing your own testing outside schools? Fair play to ya, any chance you would share the results, good man.

Mute Keith Dempsey
    Favourite Keith Dempsey
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:54 AM

@Mal Swan: where do you get your major spreader stats from?whilst I agree for the greater good they should remain closed,even though i worry about my 8 year old not having any interaction with his own age I just don’t get this super spreader tag line. Ultimately group settings increase risk but if the schools were the only ones to open eventually when numbers level out and are managed correctly then I think it’s a worthwhile risk due to the actual facts that NPHET have given.

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:44 AM

Yet he wants to go to the US for patricks day

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:29 PM

St Pats day could be a thing of the past.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:30 PM

@Michael Maher: st patrick’s day is still happening !

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin

@bmul: Pattys day is off?

Mute cork rebel
    Favourite cork rebel
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:46 PM

@Gavin Tobin: thats worse calling its Patty’s day ffs. Thats brit talk

Mute Lager Lout
    Favourite Lager Lout

@bmul: No parade = no St Patrick’s day

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:56 PM

@cork rebel: nah it’s yank talk

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:05 AM

@Gavin Tobin: Good.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:46 AM

@cork rebel: Patty’s is yank talk

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:47 AM

@Lager Lout: so Paddy’s day was in the US first ? They had the first parade .

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:48 AM

@Lager Lout: we can celebrate our Irishness without a parade ffs.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:35 PM

All of a sudden a very slow year seems to have flew.

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin

He’s right.

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:04 AM

Paddys day is a joke. Give it to the rest of the world and run from it. Paddywhackery Shoyt.

Mute Bennett28
    Favourite Bennett28
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:40 PM

Jeez I never seen that coming, I may pack away my tricolour and green wig so

Mute Danny McCarthy
    Favourite Danny McCarthy
    Jan 16th 2021, 12:09 AM

@Bennett28: a bit of a shock alright, had the green suit dry cleaned & ready for road

Mute Bennett28
    Favourite Bennett28
    Jan 16th 2021, 6:38 AM

@Danny McCarthy: it’s disappointing to say the least lol, ye may pack away the suit til next year

Mute gavin meade
    Favourite gavin meade
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:20 AM

Ah no way I was looking forward to Irish dancers in roscommen jerseys and backwards baseball hats dancing tapping to snoop dog …..

Mute Lee Brennan
    Favourite Lee Brennan
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:58 AM

The longer they wait on the leaving cert to make a definite call, the more upset they cause for the students waiting to know what kind of pressure they are under. Make a call now and stick with it. Don’t leave them hanging!

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Jan 15th 2021, 11:55 PM

well teashock the virus wont be here for Paddys just like it wasn’t here for xmas

Mute Ian Bentham
    Favourite Ian Bentham
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:15 AM

The cases which caused this peak was due to gatherings around Christmas ? Christmas is long gone now so we can hardly blame the number of cases due to this ?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 16th 2021, 4:13 AM

@Ian Bentham: people where mixing and partying up till new years Eve so 2-3 weeks after is mid to end of next werk

Mute Matthew Whelan
    Favourite Matthew Whelan

Open ya eyes ffs!

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:00 AM

The most obvious headline this year.
    Easter will also be cancelled.
    Summer holidays will be within 50km.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:14 AM

Awe poor mehole wont get to go see sleepy Joe Biden. Lol…

Mute liam ward60
    Favourite liam ward60
    Jan 16th 2021, 6:50 AM

So the alcoholics annual day out is cancelled again great news for greedy publicans especially in dublin.the annual alcoholics day out should be now cancelled 4 good

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:39 AM

@liam ward60: That comment makes zero sense. I would doubt alcoholics have just one day per year where they go on a session.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:57 AM

If we vaccinated people we could return to normal but unfortunately the Real EU countries need the vaccines for themselves.

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:52 AM

@Bramley Hawthorne: cop yourself on with that BS.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:12 PM

@Bramley Hawthorne: higher percentage vaccinated here than any other EU country

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:30 PM

@bmul: Aren’t we behind Denmark?

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:13 AM

No tirp to see Joe this year.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:21 AM

But yet mehole wants to go to America for it mmmmmmmmmm.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:04 AM

No surprise there. Of course there won’t be, Hard to believe the way things are going that any sane person thought otherwise.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 7:42 AM

Glad I got my session in at Christmas. Gonna be awhile before the next one.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:33 AM

@Sal Paradise: ah sure maybe you & your pals killed a few people along the way but at least you had your sesh!

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:36 AM

@Hotirish: Maybe we did, maybe we didn’t. Maybe you killed a few people as you loitered in the aisle in the supermarket trying to decide which essential bottle of wine to buy or which bar of chocolate to treat yourself with. I hope you can sleep at night. Murderer!!

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:58 AM

@Sal Paradise: huh????

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:51 AM

@Sal Paradise: Donkey

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 16th 2021, 11:56 AM

@Dixieblue: Horse

Mute Ivan Genockey
    Favourite Ivan Genockey
    Jan 16th 2021, 4:58 AM

So that’s the junket for all the ministers down the swanny

Mute Chaunce Hayden
    Favourite Chaunce Hayden
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:12 PM

As soon as you allow government to close your business and turn off your life you allowed them to take your freedom forever. Enjoy.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:25 PM

@Chaunce Hayden: grow up you tool

Mute Scott Mcgarry
    Favourite Scott Mcgarry
    Jan 16th 2021, 1:13 AM

Bla bla bla

Mute Mike Moran
    Favourite Mike Moran
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:09 PM

it was interesting that he could say no parade on St. Patricks Day, yet he didnt rule out he himself travelling to the US and members of his cabal swanning round the world at taxpayers expence. “Do as I say, not as I do.”

Mute Ronan Lawler
    Favourite Ronan Lawler
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:31 AM

Surely the leaving cert cannot go ahead, correct me if I am wrong they’ll have missed more face to face teaching than last years students, I know they are doing online teaching but that can be hit and miss depending on the teacher and how tech savvy they are.

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Jan 16th 2021, 8:55 AM

horrayy another year free of drunks and Oirish Americans

Mute Konrad Ślewa
    Favourite Konrad Ślewa
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:00 PM

In my opinion it’s a good idea because it’s too risky for now and the amount of people that go to the event is insane.
    I respect the decision made because with no parade we can hopefully get out of this situation faster

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jan 16th 2021, 9:26 AM

Bring back Arthurs Day then!

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Jan 16th 2021, 10:04 AM

I think we should ban the celebration of all fairy stories.

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:34 PM

Leo will announce they’re back on next week.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 16th 2021, 2:31 PM

I bet Joe Biden has his green corduroy suit and green nylon wig ready. Go Joe!

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Jan 16th 2021, 5:01 PM

No surprise there as we will still be in lockdown

Mute Konrad Ślewa
    Favourite Konrad Ślewa
    Jan 16th 2021, 3:00 PM

In my opinion it’s a good idea because it’s too risky for now and the amount of people that go to the event is insane.
    I respect the decision made because with no parade we can hopefully get out of this situation faster

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jan 16th 2021, 5:07 PM

St Patrick gone ,who the hell is going to banish the snake now

Mute Eileen O' Connor
    Favourite Eileen O' Connor
    Jan 17th 2021, 5:45 PM

I hope he doesn’t intend in going to the USA in March

Mute Eileen O' Connor

Mute Mark White
    Favourite Mark White
    Jan 17th 2021, 12:06 AM

Should have cancelled Christmas!

Mute Eileen O' Connor