You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Going to a parade? Here's what you need to know about the weather and road closures

Maybe bring a brolly, just in case.

TENS OF THOUSANDS of people will attend various St Patrick’s Day parades across the country today.

So, what’s the weather going to be like?

Not too bad, according to Met Éireann.

There will be frost in some areas this morning, especially in the east. Mist and a fog patches will clear and it will be a mainly dry and bright day, with sunny spells in places.

Ireland being Ireland, a few scattered showers will also occur. Maximum temperatures will range from 8 to 11 degrees Celsius, with a mild breeze in many areas.

rainfall We're off to a good start in terms of rainfall - or the lack of it. Met Éireann Met Éireann

Tonight is expected to be dry, with clear spells. Overnight temperatures will drop to minus 1 to plus 2 degrees Celsius, with frost likely.

Road closures

Dublin

The parade in the capital will get underway at midday, and will see participants depart from Parnell Square onto O’Connell Street, over O’Connell Bridge and onto Westmoreland Street. They will then make their way down Dame Street and Lord Edward Street and through to Patrick Street, before finishing up just past St Patrick’s Cathedral.

Western Way to Fredrick Street North will be closed until 2.30pm. The following roads are closed until 5pm: Dominick Street Upper, Mountjoy Street (to junction of Wellington Street), Middle Mountjoy Street, Palmerston Place, St Mary’s Place North, Granby Row, Parnell Square North & East, part of O’Connell Street and O’Connell Bridge.

Westmoreland Street, College Green, Dame Street, Lord Edward Street, Christchurch Place, Nicholas Street and Patrick Street will also be closed until 5pm.

Traffic restrictions are in place on St Stephen’s Green North from midday to 9pm.

Cork

The parade in Cork city will start at 1pm. The route begins at Parnell Bridge, before travelling on towards South Mall, Grand Parade and Patrick Street, through to Merchants Quay. Road closures will be in place along the parade route from 11.45am.

To avoid the parade route motorists can use the North Quays from John Horgan Quay to Sundays Well and on the South Quays. Parnell Place, Merchants Quay and St Patrick’s Bridge will remain open.

St. Patrick's Day. People from all arou Rain, be gone! Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Galway

The parade in Galway city will run from 11.30am until approximately 1pm. Up to 60,000 people are expected to attend.

The parade will start from Fairhill to Lower Dominic Street and travel along Bridge Street, Shop Street, William Street, Williamgate Street and onto Eyre Square before finishing at Prospect Hill.  Rolling road closures will be in place along the route and delays are likely.

Limerick

The parade will take place in Limerick city from midday to 2pm and approximately 70,000 people are expected to attend. It will start at Sarsfield Barracks on Barrack Hill, before travelling onto O’Connell Avenue, the Crescent, O’Connell Street, Patrick Street and Bank Place. No parking will be allowed along the route from 4am.

The following road closures will be in place today from 7am until 3:30pm: O’ Connell Avenue, Quin Street, Rutland Street, Gerard Street, Patrick Street, O’Connell Street, Charlotte Quay, Bridge Street, Athlunkard Street, Sarsfield Bridge, Sarsfield Street, Liddy Street, Honan’s Quay, Arthurs Quay, Merchants Quay, Nicholas Street and Convent Street.

Waterford

Approximately 40,000 people are expected to attend the parade in Waterford city.  Participants will gather at the Glen from 12pm and the area will be closed. It will leave the Glen at 1pm and travel towards Thomas Street, The Quays, and the Mall and onto Parnell Street.

From 9.30am to 2.30pm, several roads will be closed including: Anne Street, Barker Street, Francis Street, Hanover Street, James Street, Little Michael Street, Margaret’s Avenue, Penrose Lane, Sargent’s Lane, the Glen, Thomas Hill, Thomas Street, Vulcan Street and Wellington Street.

For a full list of road closures and diversions across the country, check out the AA Roadwatch website.

Read: Off to a good start… no major incidents on eve of St Patrick’s Day

Read: Enda tells Australian PM: We don’t all get drunk on St Patrick’s Day

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:07 AM

As the date looms I get more and more nervous. I couldn’t begin to tell you how important civil equality is to me an my partner. For 28 years I have been legally excluded, less than. For years I have known I am not considered equal to my brother who is getting married a week after the referendum.

To finally be on a equal standing to all my heterosexual friends, family and colleagues would be a gift , better than any other.

I know people have their reservations, fuelled by scaremongering. However none of this has any traction and none have as yet been able to justify a case for a no vote.

I implore anybody that is undecided to consider voting for equality, as nobody deserves the position of legal or civil exclusion and isolation.

Rant/plea over (please forward your hate-filled accusations to Iona, mammies and daddies matter).

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:18 AM

I’m not against it but so far no one from the yes camp can answer why two gay brothers shouldn’t be able to get married? They’re not doing anyone any harm.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:22 AM

Because currently the legislation governing marriage precludes siblings. Also, marriage creates a familial relationship where there isn’t already one. For example, my partner and I are not related, but once married, we will be.

Hope that answers your question.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:26 AM

Because your brother doesn’t want you, Bo.

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:38 AM

So you wouldn’t be in favour of such a thing? I’m curious because you often describe this referendum as being about marriage equality but it’s not being equal at all to be honest. Why should your moral standards stop two people who love each other from getting married? Isn’t that the whole crux of the yes side?
    And before you say it….. yes I do know two gay twins that where caught in bed with each other.
    #Equalityforsome

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:45 AM

Bo, marriage forms a legal family bond ie kinship between two unrelated people. Siblings already have that legal kinship therefore a secondary bond through marriage is neither legal nor desirable.

I hope that this answers your question.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:47 AM

Bo, your last comment begins with and follows the assumption that I am against it. I never said that. I would have to know more about it, but I would not be against it, nor strongly for it until I have informed myself better from those on both sides.

I would appreciate if you did not assume my position on sibling marriage and then use it to attack my own civil equality. It is disingenuous and hurtful.

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:49 AM

But we could easily change the law. I love the hypocrisy of the yes side. You tell people not to judge but then do it yourself.

Mute Sandra Sinnott
    Favourite Sandra Sinnott
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:52 AM

No one from the yes or the no camp can really answer that one. Sure they wouldnt be doing any harm but siblings getting married (whether same sex or not) cant happen as there are laws against incest in this country. Completely separate from anything to do with marriage and something that could be amended by legislation without need for a referendum if the government chose to look at it. As far as this referendum goes it has nothing to do with it if that makes sense.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:53 AM

I haven’t judged. I have not stated by opinion because I haven’t fully formed it. You are calling us hypocritical yet ignoring our posts and putting words in our mouths.

I have no issue with sibling marriage thus far, as I am aware of no negatives.

Now please take your accusations and assumptions elsewhere and show me the respect I have shown you.

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:55 AM

Bo, you are very welcome to put forward a campaign with supportive arguments for a change in the incest law. I for one would like to be more informed about the consequences of such a change. Good luck to you.

However, this is not part of the upcoming referendum and perhaps should be separate from this thread?

Mute Colm Durkan
    Favourite Colm Durkan
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:06 AM

Stop feeding it!

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:15 AM

If the referendum allowed gay people to marry but also stipulated that no other aspect of law will be changed relating to marriage,family,children or society as a result I would vote yes.
    This referendum has never been about the government giving gays equality it’s about the government wanting to redefine the legal definition of the term marriage for the purposes of downgrading the legal status of the natural family.
    If you remove a child’s history,family and heritage you create a soulless individual, a more extreme version of this is used in west african child soldiers, they are removed from their natural parents and family to become soulless child soldiers and killers.
    Ailbhe your brothers marriage is unique in so far as he and his wife can create a family, and this is the reason why i will vote no to keep the institution of marriage,family and the child in the constitution as it was written by the founding heroes of this state.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:17 AM

Hi Thierry,
    We all know your claims to be false. But thanks for commenting and have a good day.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:27 AM

Ailbhe I would vote yes to gay marriage if no aspect of family law was affected…
    But the referendum will change child and family law so it’s a no from me

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:32 AM

Incorrect, but thanks for your response. Have a nice weekend Thierry

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:34 AM

Thierry, I genuinely believe that your premise is incorrect in this regard. However, we know that you and many others on this board have made up your minds and that we cannot sway you from those positions. I therefore wish you well and hope that if and when the referendum passes you will see that the consequences will not be as dire as you believe.

Have a pleasant day!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:35 AM

Ailbhe, you have a partner?

*gutted*

Right, that’s it. I’m voting no. That’ll learn ye for being in love.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:38 AM

Alan! I’ll leave her for you, you know that. You and I are soulmates. Finally a man has ‘turned’ me….

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:42 AM

I am happily married to my wife at the moment Bo and Thierry.
    Could one of you please tell me why if I vote yes this will change…. or have any effect on our relationship as 2 heterosexuals.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:55 AM

Because reasons. Joe.

Good, non-homophobic, reasons.

But you wouldn’t understand then if I told you because of brainwashing by the mainstream media and the gaystapo liberals.

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:52 AM

Have any of the yes camp seen the Louie Theroux show a week ago about trans gender kids in San Francisco. It was shocking and jaw dropping. A yes vote will ultimately lead to a ridiculous society that sees anything as acceptable.
    There is a very simple reason for voting no. It is a stupid question.

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:02 AM

Deerhounddog, whilst canvassing yesterday one household was voting Yes because they have a transgender child. Trans issues are very real and more common than you expect. If you ever wish to discuss these issues I would be happy to oblige. One site which may answer your questions is http://www.teni.ie

Have a good day!

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:12 AM

Joe in our constitution the term “marriage” is described many times amongst terms relating to family law, children law and society law…
    Be very careful of the exact wording of what you are voting for..
    This referendum proposes to change the meaning of the word marriage to not distinguish between the sexes which will in turn apply to all the other section of the constitution and will cause many landmark court cases which will involve children’s custody, access,adoption,family law, inheritance,guardianship,next of kin,taxation, pensions… Everything maybe not necessarily for you but for other citizens of Ireland who live by the law of the constitution which you propose to change without doing any research and expecting someone to do it for you.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:29 AM

Helen you are ailbhe

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:48 AM

So if gay people get married, kids will be forced to have sex change operations?

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:53 AM

Seems legit, Neal.

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:06 PM

Helen, thank you kindly for your offer but I don’t believe I have any questions that need answers as I am very well informed. I know these issues are very real but don’t believe that marriage is any sort of solution.
    Regards.

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:09 PM

I’m voting no because I don’t want to see society collapse when young girls are forced to have sex changes and become male child soldiers.

Not to mention the slippery slope argument that brothers and sisters and aunties and cats will suddenly want to marry each other.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:31 PM

You’re right to, John. There’s also the matter of women from Eastern Europe being being smuggled into County Monaghan’s puppy farms to be force impregnated to feed the voracious hunger gays will have for designer babies.

Because the last thing we need is more immigrants!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:06 PM

If you say so Thierry, am I also Sandra Bullock….I hope not, cos I fancy my chances with her. To’am roide

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:38 PM

Hi bo jangles. I love my brothers and sisters. I don’t want to marry any of them because I am not romantically in love with any of them. I love my Partner but I am also romantically in love with my Partner. I believe their is a difference between loving some one and being romantically in love with some one. For me the criteria for marriage not only requires two people to love one another but it also requires for them to be in love with one another. for this reason I cant envisage any problems from the aspect of marriage equality been about love. After all we don’t see two straight sibylline who love one another wanting to marry each another. I hope this helps to clears things up for you.

Mute Valerie Judge
    Favourite Valerie Judge
    Apr 11th 2015, 9:05 PM

Ailbhe, I’m not at all sure when answering questions about this aspect, to people who have asked me, and it has got me thinking and actually reading the constitution. You seem to be well informed so maybe you can answer this. There are questions being asked on another thread here on Journal. Are Articles 41.3.1 and 41.1.1 affected when taken in conjunction with the proposed amendment? And does it affect 42? Or is that intended? I think the yes campaign (and note I am a yes voter as it stands) needs to be clear about the intent. Is it just about marriage or also about parenting/founding a family with children,, in terms of what is being sought? I have a feeling that the message is not that clear at the moment. And if it is about marriage only, and not about children, is the wording right? The constitution can’t be changed the way legislation can, so we need to get this right.

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:35 AM

The article could at lest tell people what they have to do to register.

At this stage it is too late to get on the register for this year. The register is updated each year in February.
    You can still get on the supplement to the register, which is issued about 3 weeks before polling date.

To do this you need to fill out an RFA3 form: https://www.checktheregister.ie/appforms/RFA3_English_Form.pdf

This form must be stamped and signed by a garda, and then returned to your local authority.

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:52 AM

Niall, thank you for your information – it is very important for everyone!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:11 AM

Hi Niall, the article does mention CheckTheRegister.ie, but didn’t directly link to the form. I’ve added this in now. Thanks!

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:39 AM

As a heterosexual woman married to a transwoman I too hope that the Irish voter will think about fairness, equality and the huge boost for marriage that a Yes result will bring. The YesEquality position is one of Family Values – valuing marriage, valuing loving commitment, valuing the precious bond of family. I am in awe of the passion and devotion of the gay people I know to marriage as a positive institution for society as a whole.

When I married my spouse neither of us knew what our future would bring, but it brought changes that stretched us but ultimately brought us closer to our vows and in our love. If the referendum does not pass, we will be forced to divorce as per the Gender Recognition legislation which is up before the Dail. I hope that Ireland does the right thing for ALL its citizens. Please vote Yes on 22nd May.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:15 AM

Helen is the word love any where in the constitution???
    You live In fairy tale land

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:35 PM

The word idiot isn’t anywhere in the constitution either and yet we have to put up with people like you.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:07 PM

Thierry, what does article 40.1 of our constitution say?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 10th 2015, 7:21 AM

I’ll be on hols on the day, but for the record my Mrs and I would vote yes.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:05 AM

I’ll be away also. But im registered already. Can you use postal before going or something like that?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:09 AM

Not sure, citizens information might be able to advice if you drop them a message.

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:27 AM

You cannot get a postal vote if you are going to be away on holidays.

If you’re away on work then you should be able to get one, but you will need proof of this from your employer.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:54 AM

Thanks Niall & Ailbhe

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:18 AM

I think it’s very important for us to go and vote, don’t be complacent and assume that it’ll be a landslide win for the yes side.

Make your voice heard, stand up for equality.

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:25 AM

Yes indeed, Larissa. I know that there are plenty of people who are putting in the time and shoe leather in order to promote the YesEquality position – my wife and I were canvassing for two hours last night, and it was her birthday!

We will be canvassing in Knocklyon shopping centre tomorrow, if anyone wishes to come and help.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:38 AM

Good for you. Helen (and the other Mrs Helen)!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:32 PM

I hope you bought her a glass of wine after!

Mute Fozzy Dunlop
    Favourite Fozzy Dunlop
    Apr 10th 2015, 7:30 AM

Should people younger than 18 not be allowed to vote in this instance? I mean it affects people of all ages and in a way it’s about their marriages in the future

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    Apr 10th 2015, 7:41 AM

Sure you could say nearly every referendum will have an effect on children’s lives when they’re older. Have to draw a line in the sand somewhere when is comes to voting age.

Mute Shannon
    Favourite Shannon
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:09 PM

I’m going to go and get the forms either today or tomorrow, I didn’t know I still had time to register. I’ll let all my friends know, most of them are 18 too. We need as many Yes votes as we can!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:33 PM

Good for you!

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Apr 10th 2015, 3:05 PM

Just because you have a beard doesn’t mean you’re a hipster. Men have beards, not just poxy hipsters.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Apr 10th 2015, 4:19 PM

Was about to ask what hipsters got to do with the equality referendum, then saw they changed the headline and removed the picture of the cute girl that was there before

Mute George Shuttleworth
    Favourite George Shuttleworth
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:07 PM

At a loss to understand why the Referendum Commission used a bearded drone in the campaign (other than to subliminally campaign for a Yes vote and circumvent the McKenna judgement), as that type never tends to speak at all.

Mute Dermot O Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O Reilly
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:36 AM

Gay partners have a legal right to be “partners” in Law.

3% of the population are defined as gay.

They have legal rights protected by law at present.

What about the rights of the other 97%.

Over 1/3 of gay couples do not want to be called “married”

Gays can never be called “couples”!

The 97% should respect the 3% and the 3% should respect the wishes of the 97%.

Marriage is for male and female couples.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:39 AM

Wait… what?

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:41 AM

While I’m doubtful of the figures used (could you provide sources?) not all of that “97%” of people think the same way as you do, Dermot. Many of them wish to extend the right to be married to those of the same sex.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:47 AM

So your saying dermot that marriage is for male couples and female couples.?

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:50 AM

Dermot, under section 40.1 of the Irish Constitution all Irish citizens are regarded as equal under the law. There is no provision for this constitutional requirement to be abrogated on numerical values – a small population receives the same protection as the majority and indeed, the minority needs to be protected from the tyranny of the majority.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:58 AM

Joe, I really don’t think Dermot knows what he’s saying. He certainly hasn’t made any sense.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:02 AM

Dermot, A couple is defined online as two individuals of the same sort considered together. So where do you get the idea they can’t be a couple? And 97%? So how come in the polls the majority are for a yes vote? Your sort of thinking thankfully is on the way out. Passing the sort of thinking displayed by many on the no side on to children is far mare damaging to them than having two mammys or daddys would be. Imagine if a gay child was brought up thinking like that? How would s/he ever accept themselves. That is the kind of thinking that could lead to suicide of gay youths. And is a big part of why so many struggle for years with their sexuality before having the courage, or through desperation, coming out.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:23 AM

Helen you are a citizen, “who happens to sound like ailbhe”.
    And to have the same rights by law as every other citizen

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:57 AM

Thierry Ratt “who happens to sound like an idiot” Ailbhe currently doesn’t have the ability to marry the person she loves.

Should I fall in love with a woman tomorrow and want to marry her I can do that.
    Albhe has fallen in love with a woman and, presumably, would like to marry her but currently can’t.

We’re not equal. We ought to be and a yes vote will ensure we are.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:09 PM

Also, I’m not Helen. Helen is married for YEARS and straight. I’m 28, gay and have never been married. Not yet anyway.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:13 PM

Dermot I have to ask. Where are you getting those figures from? Can’t remember last time I read that much bull.
    This referendum is about marriage equality only.

Nobody is going to be forced to go out and marry someone of the same sex.
    The choice of who you marry man or woman/ woman or man will still be up to the individuals getting married.
    So far all the arguments I’ve heard against are pretty much the same as the anti-divorce campaign back in the 90.
    This referendum dose not affect anyones religious beliefs. It is purely about civil rights. Where the state will just recognise a marriage contract between to people of the same sex if they both want to get married.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:15 PM

Two not to

Mute Anne Doyle
    Favourite Anne Doyle
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:43 PM

The girl in the photo is so hot!!!

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Apr 10th 2015, 3:11 PM

Could there also be a referendum on the outlawing of these scruffy beards?

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:22 AM

Also kids in a gay married in unnatural family would be at a higher risk of bullying…
    That autistic boy being force fed sticks the other day is a prime example of how children pick their victims to bully, bullying is horrific and I don’t want to be any part of a yes vote which results in more kids having upset childhoods, kids should enjoy childhood worry free

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:41 AM

Yeah, because horrible children, the likes of who bully autistic children, will really care if little Tommy’s mommies are married or not.

FFS. There can’t be much left in the bottom of the barrel for you bigots to scrape up at this stage.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:42 AM

So, blame the bullies, and their parents, Thierry.

Their parents should have raised these kids correctly, and taught them not to pick on anyone who was different to them.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:43 AM

Thierry, I totally agree with you that the bullying of that poor child was horrific – the reaction to that torture by the general public has been gratifying insofar as the bullies have been roundly excoriated.

I would hope that the same attitude would be applied to any bullying that occurred to children of a same-sex couple. It would be extremely cowardly of us to step back from loving progress in order to appease the bullies.

Thank you for your comment.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:27 AM

Could be worse Thierry, we could have a re emersion of religious fundamentalists…..

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:34 AM

Thierry bullying is a serious cause for concern for most parents and the fact that you are using it in an attempt to score points for the no side is everything that we need to know about you and your fellow campaigners. Your a disgusting human being with no morals or scruples.
    I would also bet that there is a married couple who’s child done this disgusting act to that poor lad from Cork. So I wouldn’t be using that as your example.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:50 AM

Thierry you seem quite worried about the children… You should check out the ISPCC website, they are in favour of a yes vote, and they unlike most on the no side acknowledge the damage to children that a no vote will have. Actual, real damage. Not a pie in the sky possibility of being bullied. And as stated above, the bully is at fault not the victims family.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:20 AM

No society has ever gotten rid of bullies they are an unfortunate fact of life.
    If a yes vote means even one more child is ridiculed at the school gate for arriving with two dads surely that’s enough to drive home a landslide no vote.
    Kids well being is way more important in my book than putting the lgbt camp in to the constitution

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:39 AM

You can’t stop it completely, there is always going to be some bullies who will find something to pick on – whether a kid has a single mother, mother and father, two fathers, or two mothers!

But you can try to educate. Failing this referendum will not help anyone. Passing it will send a message that having two parents of the same sex (because families like this exist already!) is not something to be ashamed of.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:01 PM

What about the impact on children a no vote will have Thierry . Do you really think the ISPCC would support a yes vote if it wasn’t the best thing for children?

Mute Sally Aquilina
    Favourite Sally Aquilina
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:18 PM

Fat kids still get bullied, but we don’t stop fat people from marrying. There is a big problem of racial bullying at the moment but we’re not discussing laws of preventing other races from marrying.
    Bullies need to be dealt with, not their victims.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:18 PM

@Thierry

Blaming the victims of bullying for being bullied is like blaming rape victims for being raped.

Nice try, you failed, have a nice weekend.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:36 PM

I suspect Thierry is from the “sure they were asking for it” camp on that one, Larissa.

Mute Enrique Sanchez
    Favourite Enrique Sanchez
    Apr 10th 2015, 3:20 PM

Good point Thierry, we should ban autism.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Favourite Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:31 PM

Exactly Larissa, I got bullied in primary school for wearing glasses, sure it was probably my own fault for being short sighted!

Mute Valerie Judge
    Favourite Valerie Judge
    Apr 11th 2015, 9:13 PM

Not a valid argument in my opinion, bullies prey on the vulnerable, no reason needed.

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:03 AM

Whether your gay or straight,secular, athiest, religious,humanist. In these groups too you will find people for and against.

Make an informed choice, as to which way to vote.

Go to the internet and find out what, others from other parts of the world are saying about it.

Don’t always rely on people opinions on this platform because, it more often than not turns into a slagging match.

Opinons are like ars*h*les everyones got one.

Mute Helen R
    Favourite Helen R
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:08 AM

David, you are exactly right. Everyone should take the time to research the question and to vote with full knowledge of the issues.

I know that we do not agree on the subject of marriage equality, but the derogatory rhetoric that prevails on this Journal can be avoided if we recognise that we will never change the minds of those who have already made their vote known.

All we can do is inform correctly, and correct misinformation.

I hope that you have a pleasant weekend.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:25 AM

Well said David, read the constitution carefully…, then read the proposed change.., and then think how will this affect the future shape of Ireland..
    And then vote or choose to not bother as is your right

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:07 PM

Thierry. Read article 40.1 carefully

Mute Valerie Judge
    Favourite Valerie Judge
    Apr 11th 2015, 9:11 PM

40.1, 40.61i in particular

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:11 PM

Vote no and protect the innocence of children.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 10th 2015, 5:10 PM

Thought it was to force a GE?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:06 PM

Read up about SSM,change constitution, its ridiculous. So another reason to vote no.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:38 PM

@mdmak33 really if you want to protect the innocence of children you might want to ban the Internet, TV, Sun newspaper, every magazine and libraries.

Mute Micheál Fleming
    Favourite Micheál Fleming
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:34 PM

But I have registered.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:47 AM

Have not registered. Expecting charge to vote next.

Apr 10th 2015, 11:02 PM

Who says the government is listening, look at IW, Property tax etc etc etc…

Apr 10th 2015, 10:57 PM

The younger the voter the more likely it will pass?
    But who under 35 votes???

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    Apr 11th 2015, 7:29 AM

Why have my comments been deleted?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Apr 11th 2015, 12:42 PM

Were you not commenting on the poll?

Mute Paula Cawley
    Favourite Paula Cawley
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:45 PM

It is bad enough for a man to lay with another man or a woman to lay with another woman but it is 10 times more worse for them to marry for it is against god. you will find out all this information in the Holy Bible this is not classed as judging its classed as educating those who are going with modern times and have forgotten the ways of God because of lack of prayer, going to mass and reading the holy bible. No this that all who condone this will be distant for hell unless they stop, go to confessions and repent. You say it is doing no harm who told you that its not doing any harm, tell me who is above God you have taken heed of, hell is for eternity, no one is promised tomorrow so if this was your last hour are you confident enough to stand before our heavenly father. if you still believe that its ok to vote yes to equality then I ask you to ask God to give you a sign that its not a sin. remember all you do on earth you have to face when you stand before the almighty father our one and only judge. God bless all.

Mute Cillían O'Byrne
    Favourite Cillían O'Byrne
    Apr 13th 2015, 12:42 PM

It is almost shameful that people would not have registered to vote by now. There are many votes equally as important as the same-sex marriage referendum. you should be voting on everything not just what affects you on a personal level. People complain about thier TD’s but yet dont bother to vote when they get the chance. Campaigns pushing people to register and to vote should have been around long before this referendum.