You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Call for increased policing resources over summer as gardaí investigate three stabbings in Dublin

Three men were taken to hospital yesterday.

THERE HAVE BEEN calls for greater resources for gardaí this summer and a focus on knife crime following three stabbing incidents over the weekend.

A man was taken to hospital after sustaining an injury during an altercation between two groups near St Stephen’s Green in Dublin’s city centre yesterday evening.

In two separate incidents in west Dublin, a man in his 40s and a man in his 30s were injured.

The first assault was in Parslickstown Drive, Dublin 15 at 4.30pm, the second was at Fortlawn Drive in Dublin 15 at 5pm.

Both men were taken to hospital with suspected knife injuries.

Fine Gael TD Neale Richmond today said the case for a knife amnesty grows and he will be asking the Minister for Justice to work with gardaí to implement this.

He said plans to follow the Scottish model to tackle knife crime in Ireland “must be accelerated”.

“Once again our capital has seen the vicious spectre of knife crime darken our city’s streets,” Richmond said. “Three individuals are currently being treated in hospital following three separate incidents in a short 24 hour period.

“I know that detailed work is underway in the Department of Justice on how we can learn lessons from other jurisdictions.

“It is vital now the minister accelerates the plans to follow the Scottish approach to tackling knife crime, investing in early intervention at a community level through education and preventative methods.”

The Dublin TD also said gardaí need to be given resources to increase patrols through the city with increased numbers outdoors this summer.

“Some will call for tougher or mandatory sentences for knife crimes and these may be justified but often by the time it gets to that stage it is too late,” he said.

“Rather we must work to make sure knives are kept out of peoples’ hands and off our streets.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:03 PM

Try stabbing offences as attempted murder. Which it is. Soft touch on violent crimes needs to end.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:51 PM

@Rob Gale: Agree 100%, but the civil liberties and PC mob will shoot it down straight away!

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:02 PM

@Seán Dillon: the PC strawman tediously makes another appearance on the Journal

Mute Derek Goulding
    Favourite Derek Goulding
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:43 AM

@Rob Gale: In Italy if you stab above the waist it is tried as on a level with attempted murder. Which is why you often hear of football fans stabbed in the back side.

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Jun 20th 2021, 6:42 PM

Scrouts in fake canada goose bottling people. This area should be heavily guarded due to its new found popularity with low life

Mute Aido
    Favourite Aido
    Jun 20th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Garreth mc mahon: Where, Blanch?

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:07 PM

@Garreth mc mahon: Its like a uniform for scrotes. Grey tracksuit bottoms and black Canada Goose jacket. Least you can easily spot em and stay away.

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Alan Wright: 100% Alan. Its a pity all the door staff in the area didnt pile in on these lads that i seen in the videos i seen to let them know theyre not wanted in the area

Mute Colin Heffernan
    Favourite Colin Heffernan
    Jun 21st 2021, 1:11 PM

@Garreth mc mahon: Scrote City

Mute Christybhoy67
    Favourite Christybhoy67
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:13 PM

Ask Minister Eamon Ryan what he going to do, after all it was he who got the public order unit stopped from patrolling the streets as they were inflammatory,

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:35 PM

We really need much more police presence in this country. There should be more Gardaí on the beat in our busy streets who will actively engage with problematic groups and also act as a visible security for the people who are not out to cause trouble. There should also be a separate public order unit who are independent of the guards like you see in some continental countries, that can be called upon easily if the more softly softly approach to policing fails. A well trained unit, with a strong physical presence is unfortunately needed in some situations and the ones causing trouble will know that this group are not to be messed with.

Mute Martin Gordon
    Favourite Martin Gordon
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:05 PM

@Longlin: you’re mad

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:29 PM

@Martin Gordon: no Martin. But you might be

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Jun 20th 2021, 9:34 PM

@Longlin: So teachers should be bringing up the children and guiding them through life and the gardai should be disciplinary part of the parenting set up so the parents don’t need to. How about stop all allowances to the parents if their children still live at home. With the housing issues in Ireland that should account for a lot of the youths. The parents won’t be long stepping up to their roles then

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Jun 20th 2021, 9:51 PM

@Longlin: exactly, like the Guardia Civil here in Spain, nobody messes with those boys.

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Jun 20th 2021, 11:09 PM

@Pat Ryan: I’ve got no idea how you deduced that from my post.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:50 PM

Dublin is on the verge of lawlessness!

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:13 PM

@Seán Dillon: it’s like the purge at the moment. There should be Gardai on every street corner at this stage.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:28 PM

@Jason Ebbs: there’s no excuse for not having a high visibility garda foot patrol around all the major Dublin streets. Kevin St and Store St are two of the biggest in the country both in the city centre. Pearse St is a stone’s throw from Stephen’s Green and Sth William St where a lot of s(um have been causing trouble. Get them out on foot patrols with batons and pepper spray.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:33 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Try government funding? Patrolling streets costs money.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jun 20th 2021, 9:05 PM

@Tommy Berry: The Garda Commissioner on a number of occasions during the last few weeks has said on a number of occasions “we have the resources to deal with anti-social behaviour”.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jun 20th 2021, 9:32 PM

@Seán Dillon: Jaysus Sean….a bit dramatic for a Sunday night. You must have watched Robocop over the weekend.

Mute Colin Heffernan
    Favourite Colin Heffernan
    Jun 21st 2021, 1:12 PM

@Seán Dillon: Scrote City is what it is.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Jun 20th 2021, 6:54 PM

Anyone with a knife on them should be charged with attempted murder. Simple as.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:06 PM

@Madra: scouts? Hunters? Fishing? Arbitrary comments are useless.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:41 PM

@Paul Clancy: I think its obvious who’s a scout and who’s a scrote.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:42 PM

@JustBEERbarry: madra clearly said “anyone”

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 20th 2021, 7:43 PM

@JustBEERbarry: so just poor people not allowed knives then?

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:13 PM

@Paul Clancy: well done for taking that comment completely and utterly out of context.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:29 PM

@JustBEERbarry: Maybe just lock them up based on their clothing?

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:33 PM

@Jason Ebbs: you mean I read it as it was typed? Gotcha

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Jun 21st 2021, 4:47 PM

@Paul Clancy: and you clearly said ‘scouts, hunting, fishing’ you’d think you’d know the difference between a scouts pen/Swiss army knife and a Stanley knife. Or do you want to include carpet fitters in this aswell?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Jun 21st 2021, 4:48 PM

@john doe: Regardless of their income why would a person carry a knife with them?

Mute ChronicAnxiety
    Favourite ChronicAnxiety
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:08 PM

One of these scrotes got two years for killing a food delivery worker- yet another got 11 years for threatening a judge with a toy gun.

Mute Bala mc blaha
    Favourite Bala mc blaha
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:31 PM

Thank god I don’t live there.

Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle
    Jun 20th 2021, 11:37 PM

I was in town for the first time in a year on Grafton Street in Butlers and someone from a shop ran out and tackled a thief and swung him to the ground, that’s “20” minutes in to my visit!! Absolute kip and a total disgrace!

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 21st 2021, 1:17 AM

@Dav Nagle: agree and yet if you tried to drive 20 minutes with an out of date car tax there are plenty of garda will be all over it and have ya fined and do this easy policing in no time ay all – I know they have a tough job but the obsession with car tax as if this is some great police work is beyond ridiculous

Mute edward
    Favourite edward
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:06 PM

No descriptions?

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson
    Jun 20th 2021, 9:55 PM

@edward: Hmmmmm!!

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Jun 21st 2021, 7:25 AM

Ireland has for years done everything related to public services on the cheap including policing. There needs to be continuous walking and mingling of Gardai through our cities, towns and country side on a 24 hour basis. No more of this passing by in a patrol car every hour and ignoring the gutter trolls on the streets.. They need dealing with. Employ more cops, have them patrolling on foot and I think maybe then we will see reduced street crimes.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jun 20th 2021, 10:42 PM

Didn’t know it was crime to wear grey tracksuit bottoms and nice Tommy hilfigerjacket jesus stigma off wall sometimes here maybe journal your missing a trick, I for one occasionally wear this type of clothing do that Make me knife carry scrout wat ever a scout means must be Dublin, answer to my question 1000% no it don’t,

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:27 PM

Alcohol

Mute Dan Black
    Favourite Dan Black
    Jun 20th 2021, 8:53 PM

@John O Reilly: more likely cocaine

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Jun 20th 2021, 10:53 PM

@Dan Black: true

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Jun 21st 2021, 10:06 AM

It’s not guards on the streets that’s needed it’s scrots removed from them.

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Jun 21st 2021, 11:30 PM

@Chris Mc: and the living sh!t€ knocked out of them… it’s all they understand…