You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardai at the scene of the shooting yesterday. Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

National Stadium shooting: Gardaí looking for dark coloured Lexus car

Two people were injured in the shooting, which occurred outside the Stadium while an underage boxing event was underway.

GARDAÍ HAVE APPEALED for witnesses or anyone with information to come forward in relation to a shooting at the National Stadium in Dublin on Friday night.

Two people were injured in the shooting, which occurred outside the Stadium while an underage boxing event was underway.

One of the injured men – who is believed to have been the intended target of the shooting – is aged in his 40s and known to gardaí. The second victim is believed to be a student with no links to crime.

Neither man received life-threatening injuries in the attack.

Investigating gardaí are appealing to members of the public who may have any information in relation to the incident or who may have been in the area of South Circular Road or St Alban’s Road in Dublin 8 between 8pm and 10pm on Friday night.

In particular, gardaí want to talk to anyone who may have seen a black or dark coloured Lexus car which was reported to have been in the area at the time.

Gardaí also want to speak to any drivers who have dashcams fitted to their vehicles who may have been in the area at the time.

An incident room has been established at Kevin Street Garda Station and gardaí wish to appeal for witnesses or to anyone who can assist with the investigation to contact Kevin Street Garda Station on 01 6669400, the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

Read: Gardaí investigating after two shot near the National Stadium in Dublin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 10:08 AM

I don’t understand why we’re restricting access to these drugs for medical research. We’re fine with allowing researchers to work with highly addictive opiates as we know of the medicinal benefits of them. Why not open the doors to researchers so long as they have a legitimate reason for their research?

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Apr 23rd 2017, 10:39 AM

@Jason Culligan: Because LSD does a lot to your perception of reality. Governments loose control of their carefully built narrative if the population is using LSD. I can’t see any other reason why.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:32 AM

Jason, I’m all for letting people access natural medicine but LSD is different. The mental health institutions in the UK are still full of the casualties from the 60s and 70s LSD epidemic. Many of them were one-off users. Mushrooms are slightly different in as much the amount consumed can easily be regulated by the user. With acid in those days it was take the tab and see what happens and many people were damaged for life. It was a kind of Russian Roulette. I think we all know why governments are happy to let Pharma keep churning out the opioids.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:31 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: No they’re not. Talk about fear mongering.

Mute Pheilum Shannon
    Favourite Pheilum Shannon
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:39 PM

@Mal: Well said. The mind is opened by LSD and this helps people think for themselves. The US government would sh*t themselves at the thought of larger numbers of their population thinking for themselves. Effectively what they are doing by banning LSD & other psychedelics, is taking away everyone’s sovereign right to explore their own consciousness.
    If everyone in the world drank the potent psychedelic Amazonian medicine, Ayahuasca, we would live in a more peaceful and compassionate world.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Apr 23rd 2017, 2:44 PM

@Paddy Ryan: Excuse me, as I went through the 60s/70s I can tell you that three of my classmates/friends from school in England are still in institutions from LSD damage. In my time at one grammar school the head count was over 20 for the whole school being treated with severe problems from LSD. At one point Graylingwell Hospital in Chichester was on overload from LSD casualties. LSD was available everywhere then. I was lucky not to end up the same. It either opened your mind or blew it. It’s a subject I know well so don’t talk about fear-mongering.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Apr 23rd 2017, 3:14 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: There is nothing worse than a bad trip. You can’t stop it once it starts.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Apr 23rd 2017, 8:23 PM

@Pheilum Shannon: I don’t think people getting PTSD and schizophrenia from a psychoactive substance makes a more peaceful world. If you need drugs to open your mind then you didn’t have much of a mind in the first place.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Apr 23rd 2017, 9:40 AM

People should do DMT

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:32 PM

@Hello there friend: I’ve heard of people getting PTSD from smoking that. On the other hand, I’ve also heard good reports.

Mute Pheilum Shannon
    Favourite Pheilum Shannon
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:43 PM

@Bairéid Rísteard: DMT changed my life for the better. I was in a very dark place for many years, and then smoked DMT a few times. Whatever it did to me, it really showed me the beauty of life and helped me get out of that dark place.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Apr 24th 2017, 6:17 PM

@Pheilum Shannon: it did the same for me though I wasn’t in a dark place at the time, I was just curious. It opened my eyes to the universe and has made me see the big picture. Amazing experience and one that will stay in your essence forever. If I had anxiety I’d definitely give it a go.

Mute Games Greatest
    Favourite Games Greatest
    Apr 23rd 2017, 10:21 AM

If you look at all the tribes that are left in the jungles etc. They run round all day in the buff flinging spears and darts painting each other up and getting high as kites on their own made beer and potions and spark plugs. They always look in great form and live till they are at least 3 hundred years old. And we can’t get a tiny drop of LSD when the shit hits the fan in our life.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    Apr 23rd 2017, 10:33 AM

Socialism doesn’t work.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:46 PM

@Games Greatest: They also have the shortest life expectancies, highest rates of miscarriage and a broken leg can be enough to end their lives. A tribal lifestyle isn’t exactly bliss.

Mute Brian O'Faolain
    Favourite Brian O'Faolain
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:33 PM

@Jack Cassady: seems to in scandanavia. I would argue that if you have a strong man leader then you live in a dictatorship, not in a socialist society, ie: ussr, dknr, cuba, venezuela, etc. Life in Norway, Sweden and Finland seems just fine for its citizens

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 9:23 AM

Nothing beats organic natural remedies.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Apr 23rd 2017, 9:35 AM

@Paul Culligan: but LSD is synthetic magic mushrooms would be a natural remedy

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:07 AM

@Jamie: I never mentioned LSD.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:22 AM

@Paul Culligan: Cancer beats organic natural remedies. That’s why we use chemo, radiation etc…

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:15 PM

@Paul Culligan: Ah yes, nothing like a cup of chai tea with a spoonful of organic honey, to bring your tuberculosis back under control.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:23 PM

@Paraic McDonagh: I find my morning cup of hot water, grated ginger and squeeze of lemon keeps my smallpox quiet

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:42 PM

@Matty kinevan: Stupid remark. Cannabis kills various strains of Cancer. We only use Chemo and Radiation because natural products havn’t been tried first.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:50 PM

@Paraic McDonagh: actually ‘green’ tea and citris fruits are the ones for TB. The curing of TB with or without natural remedies is a slow one, but no sugar and high protein foods also help immensely.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:51 PM

@David: you see!! Told ya’.

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:05 PM

@Paul Culligan: I knew I was going wrong somewhere. Pity all the 100s and thousands of people who died a century ago didn’t know about the citrus tea without sugar trick.

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:09 PM

@Paul Culligan: Paul, any links to peer-reviewed, blind-trial data backing that up? Would be genuinely interested to read.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:24 PM

@Paul Culligan: Various strains? There are over 200 “strains” Stop spreading dangerous misinformation. We have a name for effective alternative medicine, we call it medicine.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 10:53 PM

@Paraic McDonagh: i can only speak for Ireland there. A century ago, citrus fruits and sugar were only available to the English gentry. They were too costly for the minions.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:23 PM

@Matty kinevan: and there are approx 700 strains of cannabis. If further research was done, it could be possible to match the strain to the complaint. Dangerous misinformation? Lmao!

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 24th 2017, 3:13 AM

@Paul Culligan: I meant over 200 strains of cancer, as per your previous comment. Match the strain to the complaint? What are you talking man. The various cannabis strains don’t have all different magical ingredients in them to be tailored to specific illnesses. The strains mainly entail different smells, tastes, yields, disease/bug/mould/stress resistance and flowering times. The active compounds in all the strains are basically the same, there’d just be variation in the proportions of the active compounds, thc cbd etc… You don’t know what you’re talking about horse. Pseudo science bs

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 24th 2017, 8:34 AM

@Matty kinevan: So basically what your argument is, is that all of the people that purport to Cannabis curing their Cancer…are basically…..liars?

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 24th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Paul Culligan: Some are, yes. I’m an empiricist so I base my opinions on evidence. Not doubting that weed can have some medical benefits, but it is not a magical cancer cure as you are claiming it to be. But hey maybe me and the entire field of oncology are wrong

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 24th 2017, 2:05 PM

@Matty kinevan: I’m a bit of an empiricist too, based on the first hand testimony of the ‘magically cured’. You’re still advocating that they’re they’re telling untruths. Shameful.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 24th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Paul Culligan: First hand testimony is largely useless information. Do you believe all the people who say they were cured at lourdes? Or that a psychic healed their sore arse? Next you’ll be telling me how great homeopathy is.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Apr 24th 2017, 3:01 PM

@Matty kinevan: ‘first hand info is useless’, Lol. Never heard as much bullshit in my life, tell that to the professionals. Calling the ‘cured’ liars….absolutely disgraceful. BMBL……and for that reason, I’m out.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 24th 2017, 3:30 PM

@Paul Culligan: If you’re quoting someone, you’re supposed to use the words they actually used. No talking to people like you. If your kids get very sick, bring them to the doctor if you want to save their lives okay? Good luck

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:10 AM

LSD is grand if you’re in a good mental place, if you’re not, and I know this from experience, you have some horrible trips! Wouldn’t go next or near the stuff again personally. But wouldn’t tell anyone else not to, as long as they’re aware of the possible effects.

Mute Games Greatest
    Favourite Games Greatest
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:34 AM

@David: the trip depends on the person. Nasty person bad trip. Nice person nice trip. Speaking from experience. Seen lots of people having bad trips due to their negative life affecting the sub conscience thus .. bad trip. Never had a bad experience after countless trips acid mushrooms etc.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:51 AM

@Games Greatest: that’s a load of shite!

Mute Games Greatest
    Favourite Games Greatest
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:05 PM

@David: You see. That’s why you had bad trips. Your nasty attitude. Negativity spewing out of you.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:16 PM

@Games Greatest: if you think my retorts to an idiotic Internet troll like you 40 accounts, are a true reflection of me as a person, you’re sadly mistaken.

Mute Games Greatest
    Favourite Games Greatest
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:30 PM

@David: oh stop FFS i seen you say that to countless people. It’s boring you child. Just look at each of your replys. Toxic. That’s why you had trips. Also you would of been surrounded with other toxic people. Hence the bad experience. Now go cheer up take a nice walk you horrid child.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:44 PM

@Games Greatest: horrid child? Now who’s nasty? Go away and get a friend you pathetic waste of oxygen.

Mute willypearson
    Favourite willypearson
    Apr 23rd 2017, 12:05 PM

Micro dosing is not the same as full on tripping

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    Apr 23rd 2017, 3:08 PM

Turn on, Tune in, Drop out.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Apr 23rd 2017, 11:54 AM

Steve Jobs said it was one of his most significant experiences. As did the guy who invented either Betamax or VHS technology forget which but he said the whole thing came to him while tripping on this stuff. Don’t ask me. Any good idea I ever had was when sober and it was generally dependent on staying that way. But MDMA was originally developed and used as a marriage aid back in the Fifties. Not sure about LSD. Knew an oul hippie said he did a lot of it in the Seventies and he was still making his way back.

Mute Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    Favourite Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    Apr 23rd 2017, 1:55 PM

@John O’Driscoll: the guys who helped crack the DNA code were off their boxes on LSD.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Apr 23rd 2017, 3:19 PM

@John O’Driscoll: and look at Jobs now. He’s pushing daisies. Mmm.. drugs are bad.

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Apr 23rd 2017, 4:17 PM

@EdmundOrlando: According to statistical based reports alcohol and heroin are the most damaging to the user and society..LSD is bottom.