You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Concerns were raised by women in 1986 over waiting times for cervical smear tests results

19 women wrote to the then-Minister for Women’s Affairs and Family Law about the issue, State Papers reveal.

A GROUP OF women in 1986 wrote to the then-Minister for State with responsibilities for Women’s Affairs and Family Law outlining their concerns over waiting times for cervical smear tests results. 

In a hand-written letter to Minister Nuala Fennell in 1986, a group of women from a group called the Wednesday Friendly Club said they were writing to “complain about the length of time it takes for the result of cervical smear tests to come back”. 

cervicalstatepapers National Archives National Archives

“It takes three minutes to do the tests but one has to wait three months for the result,” the women wrote. 

Cervical cancer is completely curable so surely something should be done to quicken up the results. The results often show pre-cancerous cells, that is another reason why it is so important. 

The letter was signed by 19 women. 

Nuala Fennell was a leading Women’s Rights campaigner in the 1970s, during which time she was part of the Irish Women’s Liberation Movement. She was elected to the Dáil in 1981. 

In her response to the women’s group above, Fennell wrote that she was “aware of the great concern of women about this matter” and added that she brought the issue to the attention of the then-Minister for Health Rory O’Hanlon. 

“I am glad to report that the Minister has in the last week made a special allocation of £41,000 to St Luke’s Hospital to help clear the backlog in processing,” Fennell wrote. 

“In addition, his Department is at present examining all aspects of the existing services provided around the country for cervical smear testing and processing with a view to providing a more effective service generally and, in particular, to ensure its availability to all socio-economic groups.

You can take it that I will be keeping in close touch with the situation and will be pressing for practical measures to ensure that this important service is accessible to women, and that processing delays are minimised. 

IMG_3267 National Archives National Archives

The letters, which were included in 1988 State Papers released this week, show that cervical cancer was a major concern for women over 30 years ago. 

Although 32 years have now passed since the above letters, this year has shown that the issue is still a significant concern to the nation. 

Earlier this year, it emerged that the results of earlier smear tests of at least 221 women who were subsequently diagnosed with cervical cancer could have been interpreted differently.

Most of these women were not informed about this, raising issues around open disclosure. The HSE has since sought to recruit educators who will train employees in the area of open disclosure. 

Since then, campaigner Vicky Phelan has urged the government to make the drug pembrolizumab available to all women with cervical cancer in Ireland.

The drug, which Phelan said is allowing her to live with the disease despite her terminal diagnosis in January, has been offered by the State to the 221 women affected by the CervicalCheck crisis.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:41 AM

Apparently two thirds of “child” immigrants turn out to not be children when challenged.

The people who really suffer here are the genuine child immigrants.

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:38 PM

@Damocles: A perusal of the Continental newspapers over recent weekd will show that these children have been responsible for some horrific rapes including gang-rapes.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:55 PM

@MackPilon: One can find anything when perusing Brietbart alright.

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:59 PM

@Guy Incognito: Normally I ignore trolling but in your case i will make an exception “A perusal of the Continental newspapers over recent weeks” You are aware that they have newspapers on the Continent ?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:06 PM

@MackPilon: ‘A perusal of the Continental newspapers over recent weeks’ is no substitute for a reliable link.

Mute KalEll
    Favourite KalEll
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:13 PM

I believe what the report said was two thirds of those who had their age challenged were found not to be children. Not two thirds of all child refugees.

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:21 PM

@Brendan O’Brien:Gawd another one, try Google as there are too many links for thejournal to handle

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:31 PM

@MackPilon: You claim that children trying to get into Britain have been involved in rapes on the Continent. You need to support that in some way; otherwise it will appear that you are trying to smear child refugees in general.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Oct 19th 2016, 2:17 PM

Damocles. This isn’t anything new. Do a Google on athletics cross country competitions in some African countries and there isn’t a hope some of the lads competing under age are actually underage. They are clearly fully grown adults.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 19th 2016, 2:24 PM

It’s a very minor issue that is being used to fuel a general anti-refugee, anti-immigrant mindset and the agenda of the far right.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:43 PM

A minor issue? Good grief. You can be sure that if you put incorrect information on your landing card in New York or Sydney you’d be pulled up on it immediately. I think the phrase you are looking for is anti illegal immigrant rather than anti immigrant. And fraudulently entering a country by giving incorrect information whether by accident or on purpose is quite serious.

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:49 PM

Brendan O Brien: I’m against mass immigration and 100% against refugees coming to europe, but am not far right or even just right lol!

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 6:24 PM

@Ian O Connell: The left are obsessed with the idea that the evil capitalists create racism, and borders, to divide and rule the working class. So anyone paying what they deem to be an inappropriate amount of attention to something like abuses of the asylum system must be on the side of the capitalists – therefore far right. I won’t even begin to pick apart how detached from reality they are.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:32 AM

Far be it for me to praise the Daily Mail but they ran a similar article yesterday with actual photos. Some of these “children” were grown men!

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:04 PM

@Martin Flood: I wouldn’t put much trust in the Daily Mail when it comes to this stuff, their record of xenophobia is mind boggling and they peddle this stuff to their followers and have done for generations. Paper never refused ink could have been coined to describe them alone.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:09 PM

Whatever your views of these children, or not children, or whatever, the Daily Mail is the probably the most disgraceful publication on the planet.

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:45 PM

Joe Arthur: or probably not.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:46 PM

There’s others that go by the description of “sacred books” that are far more vile than the DM.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:00 PM

@Martin Flood: I occasionally read the Daily Mail and it feels like a cross between a creche, a zoo and a care home. You just need a big bag of salt to take regular pinches from. Good fun though unless you’re on the receiving end of their “journalism”.

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:01 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Ah here lads, youse could have warned me about all the diddys before I went to see what the fuss was about the Mail

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:24 PM

@Joe Arthur Hardly any more Joe, especially the Irish edition of the Mail, which on social issues is quite liberal. This issue is also a problem in schools, where some migrant ‘children’ register for a school place to secure children’s allowance. Free for all open border globalism is causing a lot of problems

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:33 AM

I have seen some of these child migrants on the BBC, some are clearly in their middle 20′s but claim to be 14 or 15.

Got to hand it to them, they have some balls………….

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:40 AM

Sure we all did that in the days of trying to get into Hollywood nights!!!

Mute garb yakob
    Favourite garb yakob
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:43 PM

Well, lie about your age for a chance of living like the luckty ones or go back to hell… Not the bravest decision ever. Sensible more than anything.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:05 PM

The onus of proof should be on the person making an asylum claim, including compliance with testing, whatever the method used to satisfy doubts.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:26 PM

You’re right Greg, but it’s probably racist somehow, isn’t everything racist now?

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 19th 2016, 6:32 PM

Ah racism, the curse of the unenlightened.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:37 PM

In Sweden, they call the phenomenon of unaccompanied minors turning out to be fully grown men; Beard Children.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:40 AM

Some of the “children” were approaching pension age.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:54 PM

And they’re all pregnant, even the men.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:41 AM

Is being 35 and claiming you’re 16 inappropriate and unethical?

Mute Neal not Neil
    Favourite Neal not Neil
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:03 PM

Depends on why you’re doing it.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:27 PM

I suppose. Doing it to fraudulently enter a country would probably not be wise.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:42 PM

I’m struggling to think of a situation where somebody who’s 35 and claiming to be 16 isn’t inappropriate and unethical. Can you give us examples where it’s not, Neal?

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 19th 2016, 2:08 PM

@Beachmaster: If you’re playing Spiderman?

Mute Fox in the Box
    Favourite Fox in the Box
    Oct 19th 2016, 2:19 PM

@Beachmaster:

Pretty sure its ok for a 35 year old to claim to be 16 on facebook

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:20 PM

The poor little urchins, having to lie about their age to escape the terrible persecution of France.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:50 AM

Look at this guy. Teeth records shouldn’t be needed just common sense. But they’re sorely lacking that in Sweden and also, it would appear in the U.K.http://www.prisonplanet.com/sweden-pediatrician-says-some-refugee-children-are-actually-40-years-old.html

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:43 AM

Same problem has existed for a long time in Europe’s asylum system. People with unknown identities, ages,criminal records and origins should not be permitted entry to any sane country. Take the 60 year old Christian woman whipped for selling alcohol in Indonesia instead. That would be both ethical and compatible with self preservation.

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:36 AM

Do they get supplied with shavers for free with gel and aftershaves..

Mute Homer's imp son
    Favourite Homer's imp son
    Oct 19th 2016, 11:49 AM

Shouldn’t this article read “Politicians unhappy that migrants are abusing the system”?

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:28 PM

Or maybe “Liberal luvvies happy that migrants are abusing the system”

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:44 PM

Yeah the jihadist’s have started arriving in Britain from calais disguised as kids, fantastic.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:47 PM

I’m in favour of a straight up polygraph test, should find out much more regarding truthfulness in statements made regarding background, origins, affiliations or past criminal activity…

I like the way it’s ‘unethical’ to conduct an age test, but lying on a asylum application is perfectly fine.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Oct 19th 2016, 2:16 PM

Every alleged asylum seeker needs to be processed before they are granted asylum in another country, it has now become a farce.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:02 PM

Medical ethics have a very much made-up-on-the-fly feel to them sometimes. There’s mandatory drawing of blood for all sorts of purposes, and nary a squeak about it. Is a dental X-ray to establish whether a crime is being committed really so different?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 19th 2016, 12:44 PM

You should see some of the U10′s or U12′s or U14′s etc playing schools football each weekend. And it only benefits the oddball manager who is thrilled that his star can score multiple hat tricks against kids 5 years younger. We have been living with this for years now.

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:52 PM

Wheres all the innocent little girls? seem to be all blokes.

Mute Patrick Mac
    Favourite Patrick Mac
    Oct 19th 2016, 6:54 PM

Would you trust these guys around your daughter, niece, sister, mother, grand-mother, aunt ?
    Any libtard that wishes to accuse me of being a racist is welcome to do so.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:57 PM

In Greece, a Syrian 15-year-old boy called Firas is being held in juvenile detention. He was sent on his own by his parents, who are in Turkey, because they didn’t have enough for the whole family to be smuggled in. Because hes’ not Turkish, the Turkish government won’t let him re-enter Turkey. Two activists – an American woman and her husband, who is a Syrian refugee – are hoping to become his legal guardians so that he will be released.

Many Middle-Eastern and Central Asian, e.g. Afghan, parents who originate from areas of conflict are irresponsible – they send the children on their own with people-smugglers. Therefore, it is Firas’s parents’ fault that he is apart from them. Parents who actually love their children would never do that to them.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/the-forgotten-children-itv-documentary-shows-perils-of-refugee-orphans-stranded-in-europe_uk_57f3c170e4b01e384a3e46bf

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Oct 19th 2016, 6:29 PM

If as claimed two thirds of the ‘children’ who claim asylum in the UK are in fact adults, then that raises obvious questions as to whether the same happens in this country. We should perform these tests here too

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 6:54 PM

@Rosa Parks: No it’s something more like two thirds of those whose age is tested. The dental tests are not all that reliable anyway and Irish dentists, like the Swedes too, will probably baulk at doing it. France does bone tests I believe – another reason not to apply for asylum in France of course. There is no real getting around the fact that it’s just crazy to allow people to enter your country when you have no idea who they are.

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Favourite June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:17 PM

They are fully grown adults not children!!! What the fudge!!??????

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:29 PM

@June Rose-Sommer: It’s racist to judge their age from their photos apparently. Their feelings might be hurt over internet waves or something.

Mute Neil Mcdonough
    Favourite Neil Mcdonough
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:12 PM

Seems logical, though some of the commenters here might not realise that living in extreme poverty does add years to your appearance . . .

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 19th 2016, 1:43 PM

Does it increase the facial hair growth?

Mute Liviu Flore
    Favourite Liviu Flore
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:14 PM

I had teenage friends from Pakistan and so on, who looked over 20. I think their dark skins and the growth of facial hair increases how old they look

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:32 PM

@Liviu Flore: It does happen, of course. But it’s not really about this group and a few photos. There are huge incentives for migrants to claim to be underage throughout Europe – because we quite rightly treat children travelling alone differently to adults. Including in the criminal justice system and when it comes to deportation.

And the phenomenon of migrants lying about their age is very well documented. It”s what many sensible youngish looking people would do if you were in their shoes weighing up the costs and incentives before you. The only debate in France, Sweden etc is about what to do about it. Spoiler alert: they have no idea.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Oct 19th 2016, 8:44 PM

Dental Plan……

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 19th 2016, 9:20 PM

Some of them adults are trying to pass as children?

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Oct 19th 2016, 8:06 PM

I used to say i was 15 on the bus for child fare. Then say i was 21 to get into nightclubs. We are all guilty of telling these white lies. LOL

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Oct 19th 2016, 3:16 PM

The UK is such a police state. Glad we’re nowhere near as bad as that over here

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:08 PM

David (josef mengle )Davies. Experiment on refugees!hmm? That sounds familiar

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:16 PM

@Gerry Fallon: And the Godwin’s Law prize for the day goes to you.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Oct 19th 2016, 7:22 PM

@Gerry Fallon: Its a ridiculous comparison.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 19th 2016, 9:17 PM

It’s a joke.lighten up