You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

23 people arrested after clashes between anti-lockdown protesters and gardaí in Dublin city centre

The Taoiseach has condemned today’s events as posing an “unacceptable risk” to the public and gardaí

LAST UPDATE | 27 Feb 2021

GARDAÍ HAVE ARRESTED 23 people after a protest against lockdown measures in Dublin city centre that turned violent for a time this afternoon.

Around 500 people took part in the demonstrations. A smaller number were involved in scuffles with gardaí and a number of fireworks were let off in the direction of public order officers called in to police the growing protest.

125 gardaí were initially involved in the operation, with further resources sent out during the afternoon.

Three gardaí have been injured, including one garda who required hospital treatment for his injuries. It’s understood he’s being treated for a broken ankle.

The situation has now been brought under control and the Garda presence in the city centre is being scaled down. 

Those arrested were brought to garda stations in the city centre, and a number of them are expected to be charged at a special sitting of Dublin District Court this evening at 8pm.

“Garda members engaged with the gathered individuals over a considerable period of time,” the gardaí said in a statement.

“Following continued and orchestrated non-compliance with Public Health Regulations and failing to comply with directions from An Garda Síochána, the gathering became violent on occasions with members of An Garda Síochána targeted with fireworks, missiles and spit.”  

Political leaders have condemned today’s events, with the Taoiseach saying in a statement that it posed an “unacceptable risk to both the public and gardaí”.

The gathering, he said, showed a “complete lack of respect to the people who have made huge sacrifices during this pandemic”.

“Nor can we tolerate the thuggish behaviour or attacks on gardaí, who have the public’s utmost respect as they continue to protect and serve our society in difficult circumstances.”

Speaking this evening Garda Commissioner Drew Harris said: “You don’t carry fireworks to a protest with any other purpose than to engage in violent conduct, as we saw today.

“But we will follow through with an investigation and bring perpetrators to justice.”

In addition to the arrests made today officers would also be pursuing other individuals, Harris said. 

Justice Minister Helen McEntee said the special court sitting was being arranged “to make sure these law-breakers are prosecuted speedily”.

“I understand fixed charge notices have also been issued to a number of people,” she added. 

“I want to commend the courage and professionalism of the Gardaí on duty today in Dublin who responded with great control and discipline in an extremely challenging situation.”

Protest

A number of online groups had planned a protest for Stephen’s Green, but the park was closed about an hour in advance of the planned start time of 2pm. 

As the crowd increased, gardaí attempted to move protesters down Grafton Street. Fireworks and other items were thrown at officers during this phase of the protest, and arrests were made. 

Some protesters later moved along College Green and across the Liffey. Large numbers congregated on O’Connell Street as the Garda operation continued.

Luas services were briefly disrupted as the protests took place, but the tram service has since resumed with some delays.

Planned online

Business groups yesterday urged the public not to defy lockdown rules following efforts by online activists in recent weeks calling on people to reopen non-essential retail and hospitality activity. 

These activists have set up several groups in recent weeks in a bid to try to swell support for businesses to open their doors in defiance of the health guidelines.

Gardaí were also aware of these groups, which set up today’s planned protest, and have been monitoring online activity in advance of today’s operation.

Additional reporting by Lauren Boland, Daragh Brophy and Niall O’Connor 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

580 Comments
    Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Apr 4th 2023, 7:53 AM

The days of getting any value for your money has been eaten up by greed in Ireland

Mute Noel_Random
    Favourite Noel_Random
    Apr 4th 2023, 9:00 AM

Switching energy or broadband supplier is a nightmare. Deliberately confusing tariffs that make it very difficult to compare. Not to mention the time you need to invest. Suppliers should be mandated to provide clear transparent information and to use Plain English. This is what the CCPC should be doing….protecting the consumer, but I have not been impressed by any dealings with them to date.

Mute Alan Kenny
    Favourite Alan Kenny
    Apr 4th 2023, 1:04 PM

@Noel_Random: I find Bonkers very easy to use when switching energy supplier every year. Compares what you are currently on vs whats on market now.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Apr 4th 2023, 1:55 PM

@Noel_Random: Switching broadband is the easiest thing ever. Pricing is extremely clear.

Energy is not too difficult either. Just look at unit rate but don’t forget about standing charge.

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Apr 4th 2023, 5:14 PM

@Noel_Random: u know what they do,I personally do not know of anyone that reads the terms and conditions,u click yes,or on the phone u agree,if you’re on contract for 12 months,and after 5 r 6 months the bill goes up,I got caught with pinergy,and was told in the terms and conditions that it could happen,I said I want to cancel my contract,it’s 12 euro a month of what’s left to get out of it,the whole system is rigged to the ordinary person..

Mute john mac
    Favourite john mac
    Apr 4th 2023, 7:09 AM

Nonsense

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Apr 4th 2023, 9:14 AM

That’s funny because last I heard there was over 2 million Irish revolut customers so that’s quite a few people shopping around however a lot of institutions in Ireland are breaking European law by not recognizing ibans from other European countries, maybe if the Irish Central Bank enforced the rules even more people would shop around.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 4th 2023, 9:40 AM

@Sean Whelan: who are the institutions breaking EU law that’s quite the accusation / are you sure you are not getting confused with the need to have an Irish banking licence in the market you wish ti compete / the market is regulated I am pretty sure they are not “breaking eu laws “ without being called out

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Apr 4th 2023, 10:03 AM
    Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 4th 2023, 1:26 PM

@Sean Whelan: that was in 2022 when Revolut we’re waiting for approval of their Irish IBAN ( which they subsequently got and notified me to change minths ago / ti be clear I don’t think they were breaking EU LAWS as claimed

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Apr 4th 2023, 1:45 PM
    Mute Brendan Shanahan
    Favourite Brendan Shanahan
    Apr 4th 2023, 9:58 AM

Try switching health insurance and be blinded by choice. Still no move on deposit interest rates! Not much choice there!

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Apr 4th 2023, 9:47 AM

If €1 is equivalent to 60cent on my fuel bills with the extortionate price gouging by sseairtricity who only use renewables and no gas. Then the CCPC comments are worthless to me. There is the problem they are not protecting me or my hard earned Euros. Are they aware that’s in their remit. Ah maybe not because the government gave then toothless laws.

Imagine being caught up in a vulture funded mortgage where their interest rates are like bingo ball calling at any time for no reason. That the present Fine Gael encouraged to Ireland. But fair play the central bank governor told the government they do not want any laws to regulate this extortion.

Hear the question? Are we to just live in an economy where everyone euro is really valued at 60cent due to extortion or can the Europeans add an extra 40C onto our Irish Euro so we can live like every other European country.?

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Apr 4th 2023, 12:25 PM

“Shopping around ” has been bandied around for years as the only consumer protection we have
    God Forbid a regulator side with ordinary people for once

Mute Eileesh Buckley
    Favourite Eileesh Buckley
    Apr 4th 2023, 10:16 AM

Having been through the pain of switching a business account from ulster bank it is a non trivial task. Shockingly we were only contacted by 1 institution looking for our new account details due to our ulster bank IBAN on file with them for payments. Trying to get the likes of eir or our energy provider to update to our new account details was a months long battle. Heck panda never updated our details and only for them leaving the energy market I don’t know what would have happened.

Mute Don Hogan
    Favourite Don Hogan
    Apr 4th 2023, 11:23 AM

No surprise here. Some Irish have never given up their old ways and cling to them just as they cling to parish pump politics. Aldi and Lidl who have been in Ireland for decades were first shunned because of misplaced pride and a what will the neighbour’s think mentality. Thankful this attitude has changed. Unfortunately,Ireland is still not a nation of comparison shoppers who keep their eye on the ball of getting the most value for their money.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 4th 2023, 1:32 PM

@Don Hogan: to be fair there was a bit more to Aldi and Lidl than pride / their original offering in the Irish market was very limited compared to the choice of offerings from Dunnes Tesco and SuperValu not least in Irish meats and Irish brands that everyone loved / it took them a few years to expand the range to include Irish tastes and trends and then more people continued to actually swap over / there was a bit of brand snobbery for sure but they have both done an amazing job and growing their appeal to Irish shoppers since they launched imo

Mute Ivan Dickson
    Favourite Ivan Dickson
    Apr 4th 2023, 3:07 PM

@Dave Hammond: being shopping in Aldi for years now, can see the prices rising there too. Used to spend 40 odd a week for the two of us, now it’s 50 and 60 euros.

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Apr 4th 2023, 5:10 PM

If these companies that do these Poll,makes my effing blood boil,why won’t they tell us,where to go if it’s that easy,there are 5 different big supermarkets in the town I shop in,and they are all charging the same,do these so called educated people,think that the people are so stupid,we need to be effing told where to go..in fact I find if u go from shop to shop,it’s more expensive,but the 31st of March,the AIB bank,had no problems taking our fees out,ww bailed them out,gave no help with the covid,and no help either now.but they will up the wages..reading this stuff,drives me so mad

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    Apr 4th 2023, 6:26 PM

Save ? In a bank !? Better off having a flutter in the bookies . Basically zero interest offered . Rev or the credit union are the best interest rates for a loan . Price bonds are decent too

Mute John Kieran G.
    Favourite John Kieran G.
    Apr 4th 2023, 4:56 PM

I see. We’re doing it all wrong!