You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Appeal for information after three ducks stolen from nursing home

Yes, three ducks… Their names are Jemima, Pete and Angus.

POLICE IN CO Down have issued an appeal for information after three ducks were stolen from a nursing home at the weekend.

The birds were taken from the facility in Comber, a small town 5km south of Newtownards, between Friday night and Saturday morning.

According to a statement from the PSNI, they were stolen from a nursing home on Castle Street some time between 9.30pm and 7.30am:

Anyone who was in the area and who noticed any suspicious activity or anyone with information is asked to contact police in Newtownards on the non-emergency number 101.

The ducks’ names are Jemima, Pete and Angus.

[PSNI]

Read: Childline is at “breaking point” as donations continue to plummet

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Oct 26th 2016, 10:10 AM

I’m proud of the people, I’m proud of the beauty of our country. I’m proud of our culture, of our history. I’m deeply ashamed of the spineless, clueless cowards we have running the place.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:41 PM

@Laura Walsh:

But Open-Border Extremists ask “who are the Irish anyway”, they ask “what culture have the Irish”.

In 15 years through low self-esteem the Irish are on their way to giving away their territorial and ancestral birthright

Ireland’s native population could be in a minority by the middle of this century, the president of Dublin City University (DCU) will claim today. But large-scale immigration is still essential if we are to remain prosperous, Prof Ferdinand von Prondzynski will say.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/irish-could-be-minority-ethnic-group-here-by-2050-professor-1.424517

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Oct 26th 2016, 4:37 PM

@stevenocarroll:

worth a read is Paul Collier’s
    Exodus: How Migration is Changing Our World.
    Collier is a former senior figure at the world bank and is pro-EU and pro-immigration, but anti- mass immigration. He sets it out in the book, and he a few other academics studied mass immigration across all continents over generations. It always ended badly.
    1. Loss of generosity – reduction in benefits, social protection.
    2. Loss of co-operation as different enclaves inevitably build as groups – surprise, surprise, prefer to live among their own.
    3. Lastly, confrontational politics – in plain language, tribal warfare as happened in African and Asian countries and the Middle East. As Collier kept pointing out on BBC’s Newsnight last year, there was solid science behind his book and the three stages follow as sure as night follows day.

Mute Gearoid Mag Leannáin
    Favourite Gearoid Mag Leannáin
    Oct 26th 2016, 10:42 AM

What makes me proud to be Irish is our history! I’m proud of the fact that a people who could come through so much destruction famine losing their language massive migration and loss of culture and on top oppression and still thrive without bitterness in their hearts! Eire Abu

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:38 PM

@Gearoid Mag Leannáin:

The Irish about to be a minority in 2050
    Ireland’s native population could be in a minority by the middle of this century, the president of Dublin City University (DCU) will claim today. But large-scale immigration is still essential if we are to remain prosperous, Prof Ferdinand von Prondzynski will say.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/irish-could-be-minority-ethnic-group-here-by-2050-professor-1.424517

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 26th 2016, 6:56 AM

I’m proud of our Sports especially Rugby Soccer etc our unique wit.
    Saying that there is a lot i’m not proud of, the way the Country is run, homelessness not enough nurses hospitals.
    The worst the most important People have to strike to get a decent wage Garda Nurses Teachers. Thats the Ireland i’m ashamed of, the Government should start with that.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Oct 26th 2016, 11:19 AM

The Irish sense of humour you can’t beat it …… ” Me Father passed away last night Seamus ” … ” oh Jesus sorry to hear that Pat … your still coming on me stags aren’t yeah..” ….

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:52 PM

@von:

But Open-Border Extremists say we need non-white people so that our soccer team and other sports competitors can win

I always thought the point of diversity in sports was that each country would pitch their ancestral talent against others and see how we get on, so far for such a small country we have racked up quite a tally of Olympic medals, have beaten the worlds best in soccer, Brazil, Germany etc, have won Tour de France, World Champions etc. So guess all we only need is Irish people and more self-belief. Plus our runners, including our mid-distance runners are turning out to be fast bstrds. With more people in sprinting we would no doubt at some stage beat the sprinters too.

Mute Paul Kealy
    Favourite Paul Kealy
    Oct 26th 2016, 5:21 PM

@von:Someone recently told me that Ireland and Italy are the only two countries who have never reached the semi finals of a Rugby World Cup, out of only ten decent teams in the game, is that actually true? As for our football team they are terrible. I’m as proud to be Irish as the next person but lets be realistic.

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 26th 2016, 5:57 PM

Paul i agree, but we are a small Country and any good players (soccer) seem to go to England but our Rugby guys fight to the end, I have faith in them and if i didn’t have the Sport and the there is nothing except our beautiful buildings and Museums .

Mute Paul Kealy
    Favourite Paul Kealy
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:52 PM

@von: True Von, I sometimes forget how small we actually are, and to be fair the rugby lads have a great fighting spirit. On a slightly different note, I was walking through town recently and an old lady fell on the street. Within seconds there was a large group of people (including myself) around her trying to help her. The owner from a nearby cafe brought her in for a cup of tea and a few of us waited with her until her son arrived. She was fine except for the shock but it’s little moments like that which make me proud to be Irish. There is something special in the majority of people here, a compassion, that is not so readily found in other countries. That makes me proud of what and who we are.

Mute Kirk Van Houten
    Favourite Kirk Van Houten
    Oct 26th 2016, 6:52 AM

Why do so many Irish people care about how we’re perceived abroad? I love being Irish but I don’t really care if people in other countries like us or not what difference does it make?

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:04 AM

Millions every year in tourism revenue

Mute ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Favourite ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:37 AM

We have a lot to be proud of in Ireland, so much but out political class is something that I am so ashamed of; there is a rotten culture of greed and incompetence, exasperated by a leadership deficit. Our so called leaders have sold us out to global corporations, the banking crisis, CETA, TTIP, NAMA and vulture funds. HSE for the most part is a cesspool devoid of leadership. Then there is homelessness, evictions, mental health, countless charity scandals, the buried Moriarty Tribunal report, treatment of Garda Whistleblowers, skewed media reporting from the national broadcaster and the media dominance of DOB.

This political party led chaos is endangering all the good things that makes the vast majority of us proud to be Irish. I’m proud of the Icelandic government and the way they put their people first.

There is quite some merit in the UK initiative to change politics, Free parliament:-

http://www.freeparliament.org.uk worth a look, it includes the power to recall under preforming deputies……

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:44 AM

Kirk, spot on. And while we have a reputation for being friendly, you and I are never more than ten steps away from a complete and utter sc..bag.

Mute ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Favourite ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Oct 26th 2016, 9:17 AM

exacerbated

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 26th 2016, 5:59 PM

ISBA Seamus. Well said i agree with all you say.

Mute Kieran C
    Favourite Kieran C
    Oct 26th 2016, 12:55 PM

“People are incredibly fond of the Irish” I’m incredibly proud of our modesty.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Oct 26th 2016, 5:28 PM

I’m not Irish, but despite the clowns running the place,I love living here.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 26th 2016, 9:47 AM

I was born in Cuba,moved to Pakistan until I was 10,then lived in Alaska until I was 16.moved on to hawaii until I was 22 then moved “back to dear old Ireland.Of course I’m proud to be Irish!

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:45 PM

@Gerry Fallon:

Are you’re parents Irish?

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:45 PM

@stevenocarroll:
    *your

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:55 PM

No my dad is an Eskimo and my mother is a queen from the umgowa tribe in borneo!

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 4:53 PM

@Gerry Fallon:

Do you think Inuit and the Umgowa tribe have a right as ethnicities to their exclusive and ancestral territories?

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:12 PM

Begorrah Steven I do and be jaysus!

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 11:09 PM

@Gerry Fallon:

Who says “begorrah” or “be Jaysus”

Mute Kieran C
    Favourite Kieran C
    Oct 26th 2016, 11:53 PM

@Gerry Fallon: You are very ignorant and stupid to respond to a question from Steven like that.Not your fault you are thick as pig sh*t i guess.Blame your parents.Ass*ole.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 27th 2016, 3:37 AM

Kieran,are you ok.?will I call a doctor for you?Is Steven your lickle fwend? I don’t like you getting all upset like that.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:25 AM

I’m not proud to be Irish. Just glad.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:44 PM

@Margie Murph:

Why not proud?

Blacks say Black pride, gays say Gay pride.

Mute Anthony Healy Poroloniczak
    Favourite Anthony Healy Poroloniczak
    Oct 26th 2016, 5:35 PM

Irish Pride – good bread

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Oct 26th 2016, 11:08 PM

@Anthony Healy Poroloniczak:

Irish Pride – marry an Irish woman

Gash
    Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:43 AM

Mick Wallace ‘s hair and beard combo

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:38 PM

Often, while lying down, I’ll suddenly stand proudly thinking of lovely Irish women.

Mute john culhane
    Favourite john culhane
    Oct 26th 2016, 10:22 AM

Good Guinness

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:17 AM

enda kenny

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:52 AM

Patrick Gough. The men in the white coat’s are coming for you.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Oct 26th 2016, 12:30 PM

How about being humbled to be Irish? Pride is one of the seven deadly sins. Proud is much exploited , discredited, and ambiguous word!

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Oct 26th 2016, 3:42 PM

when I seen that chap`s name ( enda mc nulty) I thought for a second it was kenny I would be ashamed to be connected to him or any of his govt in any way they should not be classified as Irish, they are an embarisment to the Irish nation….

Mute Rory Corbett
    Favourite Rory Corbett
    Oct 27th 2016, 5:45 AM

Having lived abroad for years and having returned home has given me a perspective and appreciation I never had before.

We live on a very beautiful small green Island.
    We are generally warm , friendly and empathic.
    We are spirited and look at rules as a challenge rather than something to be obeyed.
    We have a deep and rich history and culture that newer nations do not.
    We have a phenomenal sense of humour
    The food available here is some of the best on Planet Earth.
    The list is endless..

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:49 PM

Being Catholic.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 26th 2016, 8:18 PM

And visiting Skellig Michael for cultural reasons.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Oct 26th 2016, 7:19 PM

Proud of Denis O’ Brien, Paddy Hickey and John Delaney…

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 27th 2016, 10:21 PM

Well I’m proud of our citizens, they keep voting for the same crew and hope for a different result each time. Well done Ireland, stay stupid and fleece each other silly!

Mute Deirdre Doherty
    Favourite Deirdre Doherty
    Oct 27th 2016, 10:47 AM

Being Irish. I’m proud of our history which seen the birth of a nation. Being Irish means proud that u can go anywhere and people smile when u say we’re ure from. It’s also the little things like Guinness coddle. Stew. Tatyo chrisps..