You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Bus strike: Students slam 'travel misery' for tens of thousands of students

Irish Rail services will not be affected by the strike action this week.

Updated 8.50am

AN ORGANISATION REPRESENTING students has condemned the failure of Bus Éireann management to resolve a dispute with their workers, resulting in what they call “travel misery for tens of thousands of students”.

Members of the Union of Students in Ireland (USI) have said they support striking bus workers, and have asked that the Minister for Transport Shane Ross to intervene to seek a resolution.

Speaking during the latest short-notice stoppage, USI President Annie Hoey said:

“This dispute has gone beyond the dispute between management and workers – it has created a complete gridlock for students seeking to get home and to college.

She said that “tens of thousands of students” rely on Bus Éireann and Irish Rail to travel around the country, and are unsure if they’ll be able to make critical classes in the lead up to exam season.

The failure to negotiate isn’t just causing inconvenience – it’s causing enormous anxiety and stress for people at the most difficult time of the year.

Yesterday, NBRU spokesperson Dermot O’Leary said that it was his understanding that Irish Rail workers would not strike in solidarity with their colleagues this week.

This morning, it was confirmed that train services would operate as normal.

On RTÉ’s News at One, he called on Ministers John Halligan, Finian McGrath and Boxer Moran to support the bus strikes.

He suggested that Coras Iompair Éireann (CIE) provide funding for the company to help it financially in the short-term, before a long-term resolution can be agreed.

Minister for Transport Shane Ross is to appear before an Oireachtas Committee this week to explain the current situation at Bus Éireann.

His last appearance before the committee was a feisty affair, with Ross refusing all calls to intervene in the industrial dispute.

With reporting from Sean Murray

Read: Rail and Dublin Bus workers angry over treatment of Bus Éireann staff, says union boss

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Oct 21st 2016, 7:58 AM

Watching Gulliani’s head nearly explode was hilarious.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:14 AM

Man he didn’t like that at all lol

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:03 AM

I love when Trump tells his joke about pardoning Hilary – directly after he looks as if he is about to put his baby finger into his mouth – ala Dr Evil.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:09 AM

Wonder was Denis O’Brien there. He’s a big fan of Hillary donating to her charitable fund. He cares so much about the poor as we know ourselves.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:38 AM

Yes Mr.Magoo, Denis O Brien is such a fan of Hillary that the journalists and presenters at Newstalk have debased themselves and their professions by continuously attacking and ridiculing Trump while ignoring the avalanche of verifiable wrongdoing by Hillary.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:49 AM

Really scary stuff but the brain washed masses seem to be falling for it. What I as a woman find particularly hard to swallow is Clintons hordes of female followers who think she is some kind of womens champion. She set herself up as a womens right/feminist type person and yet she stood behind a man who is a rapist and had numerous sexual liasons while he was PRESIDENT and then she throws dirt at Trump about allegations about groping 20 years ago.?? Totally weird. She also defended a child rapist and is on tape laughing about how she got him off but knew he did it ?? What the fck is wrong with people ?

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:54 AM

Oh yeah it was really funny Old Knobby cos she should be in jail and she knows it

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:26 AM

Jerry jerry jerry jerry

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:29 AM

Maybe he ignores the multitude of allegations against Hillary because so many of them are clearly… *ahem* trumped up.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:39 AM

@mr magoo: at this stage and I am deadly serious – I think you may seriously need to ask yourself if you might need some counselling for your own mental health – you seem to have an unhealthy obsession with getting onto every Trump related thread and constantly making up stuff , constantly in denial with the realities ( such as your posts about how fantastic the polls are for Trump when all the evidence was showing the opposite) – then your propensity to spout endless conspiracy theories and hate speech about Clinton – it’s not a normal adult behaviour and conversation – you should definitely ask yourself if you think you may have some behavioural problems because I can tell from all your posting this past week there is definitely an underlying issue that you should face up to.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:52 AM

Stop stalking me weirdo.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:57 AM

@Dave Hammond: Too much time on the internet Dave.. That’s all that is wrong there.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 21st 2016, 12:13 PM

Well you know, even with heavy editing, those conspiracy videos on YouTube are still rather long.

Mute Micheál De Bhaldraithe
    Favourite Micheál De Bhaldraithe
    Oct 22nd 2016, 7:46 AM

@mrmagoo so what style of tin foil hat do you like to wear?

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Oct 21st 2016, 7:43 AM

Watched it live, thought HC was very, very funny, but DT was his usual caustic self. Just my opinion.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:11 AM

In fairness, his Michelle Obama joke was pretty funny.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 21st 2016, 1:50 PM

Have to agree there

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Oct 21st 2016, 7:51 AM

Couldn’t put your personal agenda aside could you lads, not even for one minute for the impoverished children….

I hope they went for the gold leaf trim flat-wear this year, $200 steak looks so cheap on plain china. You know because the children have suffered enough.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:21 AM

The night is appalling anyway, disgusting to see rich people pretend to care about the poor kids. In regards his comments, if you read it in context he raised the point of her comments about catholicism at a catholic themed party yet that isn’t relevant. Journal you are disgusting also

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:32 AM

@Gone Feisin: well if the rich are being brought together for events you may as well raise 6 million dollars for the poor ffs do you have to be such a toole all the time

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:16 PM

Well said Drew. Like they give a toss about impoverished children.

Mute rory2u
    Favourite rory2u
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:35 AM

HRC was also booed when she mentioned Russia..but let’s pretend that didn’t happen…

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:59 AM

All Irish media have decided that we the Irish people should believe that Trump is the Devil and Clinton is good. Have you not being informed of this yet ?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:09 AM

It’s funny how the evil Irish media has managed to brainwash most of us, but yet, somehow, the great and brilliant Magoo managed to not get brainwashed. How is that? How is it he managed to make up his own mind, but everybody else who disagrees with him didn’t? Could you be any more arrogant?

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:14 AM

You have a thing for me Sean ?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:19 AM

Magoo thinks this is Breitbart where his tale of heroic defender Trump battling through the enchanted forest of paranoia and fear to defeat the evil fem- bot and triumph for the little guy would be believed.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:23 AM

The funny bit is he thinks he is making a difference. Like he is a campaigner for Trump. Hes is out here in the trenches fighting the good fight. Crazy auld hoor.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:31 AM

Ah old Knobby Johnson methinks you have more than one account ? Sean your personality then ? You get terribly upset by me. You don’t want anyone to break free from the sheep pen and think for themselves because it threatens your security. If you are so sure you are right and you are in the majority, and you are, what are you so worried about ?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 11:08 AM

Worried? Upset? You amuse me. Nothing more.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Oct 21st 2016, 11:30 AM

@mr magoo: He gets upset by me too mr. magoo. He called me racist the other day during a conversation about election fraud. He doesn’t like to offer his own opinions he just likes to verbally abuse those that do. It’s pathetic. I wouldn’t worry too much about him.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:07 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:23 PM

Were they not booing Russia when she mentioned Russia? In a pantomime villain kind of way.

Mute The IMF are here
    Favourite The IMF are here
    Oct 21st 2016, 7:39 AM

Christ, why couldn’t the rest of the election campaign been like this?

Mute Paddy Scully
    Favourite Paddy Scully
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:08 AM

When a presidential candidate, who rightly or wrongly has a reputation for lying and cheating, sets up a narrative days before the election, which demands from her opponent that he accept the outcome of the election, without question, without suspicion, without diligence; I’d be very suspicious. I’d want to check the counts. I’d look for fraud. I’d expect the worst behaviour from my opponent, especially if that is her reputation, win at all costs. But who is the bad guy, the prudent person. The one who has called you a cheat and a liar throughout the campaign, should never suspect you would raise the dead to vote, you would have placed dubious officials within the counting system. Someone who has sold themselves as the experienced politician would know nothing about political fraud! He is set up to be the anti-democracy, mean, wild haired, baddie; while she waits for the cash registers to clang, again.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:32 AM

@Paddy Scully: I’d get out more Paddy if i were you.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:57 AM

The billionaires love cheering for Clinton. That tells me Trump must be doing something right. Clinton is willing to start WW III to get in but when she wins she’ll be looking over her shoulder a lot more because of Donald Trump and thats one thing he has achieved. Crooked Hillary and her crooked foundation in the spotlight more than she might have liked

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:18 AM

Looks like you’re on the losing side again paddy. When the 8th is repealed, that’ll make it a hattrick of loses for you.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:41 AM

@Paddy Scully: you need to get out more

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Oct 21st 2016, 11:38 AM

Paddy, you are wrong on that! I live here and everyone is saying how trump is wrong on that!!

Mute Paddy Scully
    Favourite Paddy Scully
    Oct 21st 2016, 12:21 PM

@ @ Sean I’d never worry about been on the winning or loosing side of any vote. I’m always just concerned with justice, the right to life, right vs wrong. There is only one judgement I care about, and loosing a few along the way, will place me in good shape for the last one. @ dublinlad And when has “everyone” ever been correct.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 21st 2016, 1:12 PM

@Paddy Scully: And what do you do when you get to the pearly gates and there’s an 8 armed elephant looking at you??

Mute Paddy Scully
    Favourite Paddy Scully
    Oct 21st 2016, 1:19 PM

@ Rob Cahill I’d say, St Peter!, I’m not sure about your new look.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 21st 2016, 1:52 PM

It’s OK Rob as There will be nothing no gates no elephants, it’s lights out finished…..

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 21st 2016, 1:53 PM

@Wynnner: Oh I know that.. But some people cling to silly superstitions bcause reality is too scary for them.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:10 PM

I dunno paddy, all I see is you repeatedly failing your god. If he’s real, you’re in big trouble I reckon.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:26 PM

Eh, Trump introduced the rig narrative in every event he has ever taken part in that he did not have total control over the outcome

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:20 AM

The sooner this joke of a campaign is over, the better

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Oct 21st 2016, 7:49 AM

Did either of the two cast even a split second thought for why they were there and what the purpose behind the dinner was?! Neither possess a shred of empathy for the less well off. They are simply too far removed from it because the class divide is just so immense.

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:13 AM

Christ we should all suffer like good little pilgrims, even when raising money for good causes. Why were they not self flagellating instead of eating dinner, and walking on broken glass in penance instead of making speeches? We need more moany, preachy, self righteous piety in the world, that’ll make it all go away….

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:14 AM

They made 6m, what are you on about?

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Oct 21st 2016, 11:37 AM

Did you not listen to the speech? Hillary spoke at length about the charitable work that this charity does.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:24 PM

Charity isn’t always done for charitable reasons gar. It would be nice to cut out the bs.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 21st 2016, 4:02 PM

@Trisha Tully: What have you given??

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    Oct 21st 2016, 8:44 AM

https://youtu.be/azu7Xb5hy-4

This is the George bush press night from 2006. Its comedy gold.

Mute Jay Murphy
    Favourite Jay Murphy
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:08 AM

“What was it’ 7 million Raised” Peanuts is all to these stinking high rollers..

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 21st 2016, 3:11 PM

OK, slightly off topic but how about this. It certainly puts Hillary’s claims about sources in a different light.
    “l can tell you with 100% certainty that it is not any Russian state actor or proxy that gave DNC & Podesta material to WikiLeaks.” – former UK Ambassador Craig Murray @CraigMurrayorg (after visiting Julian Assange) “

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 21st 2016, 9:58 AM

Next they’ll be shagging each other on live TV.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 21st 2016, 10:42 AM

@Daniel Fontaine: no next youll make a comment or a contribution that says something sensible btu I wont hold my breath

Mute Karl Phelan
    Favourite Karl Phelan
    Oct 22nd 2016, 3:07 AM

Has anyone even watched the speeches? Hillary’s speech was as drab a a damp sponge. Donald got boos because he won the room, was funny and can actually give a speech. Hillary never won the crowd to lose it and never got any boos because she never got enough cheers in order for people to be brave enough to actually boo.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 21st 2016, 2:28 PM

A nice summary of false equivalence https://youtu.be/pz_o0LgP8xQ

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Oct 21st 2016, 3:38 PM

The story of Alfred Smith’s presidential campaign is very interesting, would make for a good article some time. He had to deal with vicious anti-catholic feeling in the south. Sad!