You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

IT Tralee Students Union via Facebook

Protest: Almost 1,000 Tralee students march to TD's office

It is one of a number of pre-Budget marches taking place to tell TDs that students can’t afford college fees increases or cuts to the maintenance grant.

ALMOST 1,000 STUDENTS took part in a protest in Tralee this afternoon, gardaí confirmed.

Students from the north and south campuses of IT Tralee gathered at 12.30pm to march on the constituency office of Labour Party TD, Arthur Spring.

Deputy Spring met the students outside his office. He met with USI Deputy President Kate Acheson, and officers from IT Tralee Students’ Union, including its president, Niall Harty.

Acheson commented:

“The large turnout in Tralee today is indicative of the interest we’ve received in this campaign. Thousands have turned out for marches in Galway, Cork, Dublin and in towns across Ireland. While we welcome Deputy Spring’s assurances regarding the preservation of maintenance grant rates, €3,000 fees still loom ominously. The Minister has refused to acknowledge the suffering he has caused students and families and we’re calling on parents of current or prospective college students to contact their TDs and tell them that they cannot afford such an onerously steep fee increase.

During the meeting, the student representatives encouraged Deputy Spring to vote against any Budget measures that would increase college fees and cut the maintenance grant further.

They reported that while he did not make any commitments on this, he said that he was not aware of any plans to cut the grant or to remove funding from the Student Assistance Fund (SAF).

TDs Michael Healy Rae and Martin Ferris addressed students outside the office. The protest was part of USI’s ‘Fed Up? Stand Up’ pre-Budget campaign.

Further protests are scheduled for later this week, with one in Castlebar tomorrow and another in Waterford on Thursday.

(knobbly/YouTube)

Read: In pics: Third-level students march in free fees protest>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Nov 26th 2012, 9:40 PM

Well done them students.

Mute Anne Gardener
    Favourite Anne Gardener
    Nov 26th 2012, 9:41 PM

Fair dues to the students. The country is suffering but it’d cost more to have all those kids on the dole for four years and we wouldn’t have the foreign companies here if it weren’t for our educated workforce. What’s the altermative? Let all the youth emigrate without an education? We’re already underpopulated.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Nov 26th 2012, 10:35 PM

Arthur Spring is a yes man. Done nothing for Tralee or North Kerry. Just agrees with and does everything he is told to do by the party. More or less invisible. Hope next election he gets his marching orders. Cant come soon enough. Useless shower of Dopes down here. All mouth where nothing gets done.

Nov 26th 2012, 11:34 PM

Maybe Arthur could ask Dick Spring to donate his salary he is earning as a public interest director with one of the pillar banks towards student fees? At least that would mean both of them are doing something useful.

Mute Kathleen Charlonis
    Favourite Kathleen Charlonis
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:19 AM

Typical Spring

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Nov 26th 2012, 9:43 PM

FFS the Healy-Raes and an IRA apologist are leading the protest, this country is going nowhere fast

Mute Ger Nolan
    Favourite Ger Nolan
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:02 PM

idiot…is that all you can say…this country has been going nowhere fast for the past 5 years..or hadnt you noticed…fool!!!!

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:13 PM

The country has been going nowhere for 12 years.

Mute Seán Cafferkey
    Favourite Seán Cafferkey
    Nov 26th 2012, 10:17 PM

Protest in Letterkenny on Wednesday and the SU are offering night club passes to anyone that turns up

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Nov 26th 2012, 10:25 PM

So the motivation is for protestation is tickets yo a nightclub? I thought students were too broke paying fees to buy drink?

Mute Legalise Ireland
    Favourite Legalise Ireland
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:38 PM

Fair play to the students in this country, Not afraid to stand up for what’s right. Shame the government really doesn’t care about what they think, sure they’ll be having the general election on a Thursday anyway when most of the students won’t be able to vote.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Nov 27th 2012, 8:39 AM

Why won’t they be able to vote?

Mute Oisín Tarrant
    Favourite Oisín Tarrant
    Nov 26th 2012, 9:59 PM

Never seen such happy protesters.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Nov 26th 2012, 9:42 PM

The more government we want in our lives, the worse this is going to get.

We. Should. Live. Within. Our. Means.

I wonder do these students do economics?

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 26th 2012, 10:17 PM

Live within our means but pay bondholders money that we don’t have to! Billions BILLIONS !

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Favourite Brendan Williamson
    Nov 26th 2012, 10:22 PM

I dabbled in economics yes. And its one over the most overrated, oversimplified, politically motivated and nonsensical disciplines in all of academia. However there’s a lot of discussion based around not living within our means during a recession that merits some analysis (as long as you don’t take it too seriously).

Austerity, or living within our means, was disastrous for a lot of countries in the last 100 years (Britain and the US in the 1920s, most of Latin America in the 1980s, Europe now). It’s also been a remarkable success (Canada in the 1990s, the Balkans in the 1990s) and the opposite approach, Keynesian Economics, has also succeeded (most notably the US now) and failed (the US in the 1970s). Unfortunately after 236 years of stellar work economists can’t tell us with any agreement why each method fails or succeeds.

So the idea that we should live within our means is (from an economists viewpoint) contentious at the best, as any of the students who studied economics would tell you.

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:17 PM

We have paid anyone yet, the money has been borrowed and probably won’t be paid back pixie heads

Nov 26th 2012, 11:23 PM

It will be paid back Witzend. We are already paying it back €3.5 billion a year in interest and down payments on the original “loan”.

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:32 PM

Did you miss the memo about the 11 figure deficit?

Mute Siobhan O'Brien
    Favourite Siobhan O'Brien
    Nov 26th 2012, 11:37 PM

Or billuns as Healy Rae wud say

Nov 26th 2012, 11:39 PM

Nope, but you must of missed the memo about the fact we are already paying back for the bail out? Did you also miss the memo that the government paid bond holders €18 billion this year and will be paying over €23 billion next year?

Budget 2013 targeted savings €3.5 billion money due to be paid back for the “bail out” including interest in 2013 €3.5 billion. What nice neat figures….

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Nov 27th 2012, 1:22 AM

Ryan, I didn’t mean the concept of economics was just for students. Our beloved politicians need some lessons too

Mute David o Gorman
    Favourite David o Gorman
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:25 AM

How r we lazy I’m a mature student lost my job I’m not signing on once a month I’m doing somethin with my life to try n gain new skill to get a job explain how that is lazy

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Nov 27th 2012, 1:06 AM

Apologies in advance, for hijacking this thread. I’m only doing so in order to ask why a previous article has had the comments section shut down. It seems to me that it was probably done by extremely wealthy and powerful people, who have sent in their two legged legal attack dogs, in order to muzzle free speech. A fledgling online news service would have scant resources to combat such a threat. It might be that an extraordinary general meeting, might have recently been held, by extraordinary well fed and secretive fat cats.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Nov 27th 2012, 5:07 AM

Which article?

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Nov 27th 2012, 10:26 AM

Agreed.

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Nov 27th 2012, 10:39 AM

The one below.

Mute Orly
    Favourite Orly
    Dec 2nd 2012, 12:06 AM

What the bejaysis are ya on about?

Mute mick lennon
    Favourite mick lennon
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:14 AM

workshy layabouts,put the pot noodles down lads and get a job

Mute Angela Barrett
    Favourite Angela Barrett
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:24 AM

@mick lennon…Got to be the most uneducated comment of the week!

Mute David o Gorman
    Favourite David o Gorman
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:38 AM

Care to explain your opinion there that’s small minded talk that I take as an insult I worked for years in construction n lost my job but am I sitting at home all day doin nothin no I’m not I decided to go back and learn a new skill set so I can better myself and get a job all students are not lazy they live within their means as its hard to afford college easy tell u haven’t been

Mute mick lennon
    Favourite mick lennon
    Nov 27th 2012, 12:37 AM

@Angela I couldn’t afford college thats why im uneducated,now where’s my prize?