You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Smoke rises into the air above the Sudanese capital city of Khartoum Alamy Stock Photo

Sudanese ceasefire fails again as army attacks paramilitary bases

The United Nations says 1.2 million people have been internally displaced and more than 425,000 have fled to neighbouring countries.

Sudanese army forces blasted paramilitary bases with artillery in Khartoum today after pulling out of US and Saudi-brokered ceasefire talks, accusing their foes of failing to honour their commitments.

Mediators have blamed both sides for violating the truce which was supposed to enable secure corridors for delivering aid to an increasingly needy population.

In both the north and south of the capital, key bases of commander Mohamed Hamdan Daglo’s Rapid Support Forces (RSF) came under attack by troops loyal to army chief Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, residents told AFP.

One witness said there was “heavy artillery fire from army camps” in northern Khartoum, on the 47th day of a war that researchers said has claimed 1,800 lives.

Another reported “artillery blasts on the RSF camp in al-Salha” in southern Khartoum – the largest paramilitary base and arsenal in the city.

The attacks came two days after United States and Saudi mediators said the warring parties had agreed to extend by five days the initial week-long humanitarian truce.

The mediators of the talks, held in the Saudi city of Jeddah, acknowledged repeated breaches but have held off imposing any sanctions.

‘Fight until victory’ 

The army walked out “because the rebels have never implemented a single one of the provisions of a short-term ceasefire which required their withdrawal from hospitals and residential buildings”, a Sudanese government official said on condition of anonymity because he was not authorised to speak to the press.

Mediators admitted the truce had been “imperfectly observed”, but said the extension would “permit further humanitarian efforts”.

Despite repeated pledges from both sides, fighting has flared this week both in greater Khartoum and in the western region of Darfur.

“The army is ready to fight until victory,” Burhan declared during a visit to troops in the capital.

The RSF, led by Burhan’s deputy-turned-foe Daglo, said they would “exercise their right to defend themselves” and accused the army of violating the truce.

Sudan specialist Aly Verjee said the mediators had been eager to avoid a complete breakdown of the talks, for fear of a major escalation on the ground.

“The mediators know that the situation is bad,” but were hoping for “arrangements that are better respected”, Verjee, a researcher at Sweden’s University of Gothenburg, said before the army’s withdrawal from the talks.

Snipers and air strikes 

On Sunday the mediators said both forces had disrupted humanitarian efforts, including through the presence of snipers near hospitals in RSF-controlled territory, and army “elements” stealing medical supplies.

They said RSF occupied “civilian homes, private businesses, and public buildings”, some of which were looted, while Burhan’s forces flew military aircraft daily during the ceasefire, “including a confirmed airstrike” that reportedly killed two people.

African Union spokesman Mohamed El Hacen Lebatt told AFP that suspension of the talks should “not discourage” mediation efforts.

After a meeting with East African bloc IGAD, and other officials, he said a plan for broad talks among all Sudanese would be proposed as soon as possible.

Since fighting erupted on 15 April, more than 1,800 people have been killed, according to the Armed Conflict Location and Event Data Project.

The United Nations says 1.2 million people have been internally displaced and more than 425,000 have fled to neighbouring countries.

Yaqout Abderrahim escaped Khartoum for Port Sudan, where she has been waiting 15 days for a rare seat on a flight out.

“We want to leave at any price because our houses are destroyed and we no longer have any means to raise our children,” she told AFP among families camped out on the ground.

More than half the population – 25 million people – are now in need of aid and protection, the UN says.

Entire districts of Khartoum no longer have running water, electricity is only available for a few hours a week, and three quarters of hospitals in combat zones are not functioning.

The health ministry said Wednesday that “nine health facilities” had gone out of service in Jazira state, just south of Khartoum, “despite the declared truce”.

It blamed “the presence of RSF militias threatening the movement of medical personnel and supplies”.

Hundreds have been killed in Darfur, on Sudan’s western border with Chad, where continued fighting “blatantly disregards ceasefire commitments”, Toby Harward, of the UN refugee agency, said earlier.

Darfur has never recovered from the years-long war that began in 2003 when a rebel uprising led strongman Omar al-Bashir to unleash the Janjaweed militia, from which the RSF are descended.

Experts say Burhan is facing increasing pressure from his own Islamist supporters and remnants of the Bashir regime, with whom he had built a symbiotic relationship in order to gain power.

© AFP 2023 

View comments
Comments
    Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:04 PM

Looks like a scene from New Delhi.

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Apr 28th 2022, 6:41 PM

@OConnelj: Probably a used vehicle export load to an African country – it’s where a lot of our old vehicles end up. Still, these vehicles should be loaded more safely than this while still in Ireland.

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:10 PM

Using nylon straps to hold them vehicles down is not only reckless but also illegal

Mute Alan Foy
    Favourite Alan Foy
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:07 PM

A right Langer load.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:17 PM

@Alan Foy: yes and a big fine

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:34 PM

Surely tractors are not legally allowed to do this as I thought their insurance only covered them for moving agricultural equipment from field to field and within a certain milage.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:46 PM

@Ian James Burgess: nope they can drive length and breath of the country with a trailer hauling anything that fits in it at 16 years of age and with no experience.

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:46 PM

@Ian James Burgess: it could be under commercial insurance.

Mute Donncha Cronin
    Favourite Donncha Cronin
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:02 PM

@Ian James Burgess: no DOE test, no tacho on tractors and a 16 y/o can drive it.

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:47 PM

I grew up on a farm years ago,the farmers with their tractors don’t realise whether it’s on a country lane or on a main road,they travel the same way,even to this day where I live,if your behind someone in a tractor or jeep,u always keep well back,because they do be looking in over the ditches seen what’s on other people’s land,they could stop all of a sudden,or swerve..

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:07 PM

I also don’t see a single number plate on any of the trucks or the trailer…

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:27 PM

@Bertie: You don’t need them with the red diesel, Boss.

Mute John Costello
    Favourite John Costello
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:24 PM

With the trucks on the truck and the truck on the truck and the truck on the trailer and the trailer on the tractor and the tractor in the tunnel………..O – Ro the rattlin’ trucks

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    Apr 28th 2022, 10:21 PM

@John Costello: quality

Mute Ollie Ryan
    Favourite Ollie Ryan
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:59 PM

Cyclists fault

Mute M.J. O' Neill
    Favourite M.J. O' Neill
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:27 PM

Definition of muppet

Mute Stephen West
    Favourite Stephen West
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:29 PM

A truck towing truck towing towing trucks

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Apr 28th 2022, 7:13 PM

This is not an agricultural load, so the tractor must have commercial diesel, commercial tax, commercial insurance and be certified roadworthy. Same for the trailer including weight limits of 10ton per axel. Height limit is 4.65m as already mentioned and if the Garda is unhappy with the safety of the load, there can be prosecutions. Driver must have a full commercial licence and be over 18. Those are the rules. Most of the comments here are rubbish and disinformation.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:04 PM

@Liam Dunne: care to post a link to where you got that information?

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:11 PM

@Liam Dunne: the reason I ask is because it’s none of what you mentioned in the rules of the road. It’s not on the rsa website. Look forward to seeing where you got it from. If you can’t provide it I’ll take it as BS

Mute Paul Clavin
    Favourite Paul Clavin
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:22 PM

I grew up in Ennis,my Da was a rep for Guinness, when I was about 8 I remember a day on the road back to Ennis from Kilrush ,my Da slowed down to about 5 mph,there were trucks tractors and cars behind us, I gave em the finger out the back window

Mute Loughlin Moore
    Favourite Loughlin Moore
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:23 PM

Can’t park there mate.

Mute Nomis Andrews
    Favourite Nomis Andrews
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:10 PM

4.6 metres is a very generous height limit.

The tallest double deck buses are 4.4 metres

Max authorised height for HGV’s is 4 metres.

Mute John Webb
    Favourite John Webb
    Apr 28th 2022, 5:14 PM

@Nomis Andrews: incorrect. The maximum legal height is 4.65m for trucks. And truck over that height can obtain a permit to travel

Mute The world outside the M50
    Favourite The world outside the M50
    Apr 29th 2022, 11:08 AM

@John Webb: Yeah so if your truck is 4.65m (a legal height) then you can’t travel through the tunnel – lack of foresight

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 28th 2022, 6:38 PM

Old news ….. Cork Beo had this up this morning…..ye dubs really need to get the finger out

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Apr 29th 2022, 7:54 AM

@Joe_X: We were too busy laughing and trying not to make culchie jokes about it. The tractor pulling all this in the City jumps tops the story off.
    We were being nice and we get slagged for being nice.

Mute Brendan O' Gorman
    Favourite Brendan O' Gorman
    Apr 28th 2022, 6:14 PM

Vehicle smuggling, langer style.

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:40 PM

It’s like Inception…..a truck within a truck within a truck!

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Apr 28th 2022, 8:51 PM

@Joe Kennedy: STUCK

Mute Allora
    Favourite Allora
    Apr 28th 2022, 6:28 PM

If its on its gone.

Mute Patrick Corr
    Favourite Patrick Corr
    Apr 28th 2022, 10:05 PM

A way to avoid using a tacho.

Mute Ciarán Bohane
    Favourite Ciarán Bohane
    Apr 29th 2022, 9:06 AM

The vehicular equivalent of a turducken.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 30th 2022, 12:07 PM

Congratulations on a fine headline, that must have been fun to compose!