You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/sonya etchison

Minister calls for ban on sulky racing on public roads

Communications Minister Denis Naughten also wants a ban on animals being used in circuses.

COMMUNICATIONS MINISTER Denis Naughten has said he wants to see an outright ban on sulky racing on public roads.

The minister told the Cabinet yesterday that he is deeply concerned about the issue, not only on the grounds of animal welfare, but also when it comes to road safety.

Sulky racing involves a driver on a two-wheeled cart being pulled by a horse attached to a harness. Videos have been uploaded online of these races taking place on public roads.

Naughten secured support on the issue from his colleagues yesterday, with the minister suggesting it could be outlawed through the introduction of bye-laws.

Ban on public roads

The ban would only relate to races on public roads, and would still allow for races to take place on private property where there are special tracks for the races, in some cases.

“Currently there is no ban. There was one in my constituency only recently, and it is just so unsafe. It’s dangerous and it is putting others on the road at risk,” he told TheJournal.ie.

It is understood Agriculture Minister Michael Creed will address the issue, with the two ministers due to meet this week to discuss if it can be tackled through amendments to the Animal Welfare Bill, which is due to be voted upon by TDs this week.

Naughten also told this Cabinet colleagues that he wants to see a ban on animals being used in circuses.

Circus animals

The government have continued to rule any such ban in the past, with Agriculture Minister Michael Creed, stating that his department continues to engage with stakeholders, including circus groups, animal welfare organisations, in relation to the welfare of wild animals in circuses.

“According to the information available to my department, there are in fact very few wild animals currently performing in Irish circuses,” he added.

shutterstock_590015414 Shutterstock / aleksandr4300 Shutterstock / aleksandr4300 / aleksandr4300

However, sources state there is work within the department on the issue, with one minister stating that there is widespread support for a ban, due to Ireland falling behind other EU countries, with Scotland and Estonia introducing only recently introducing a ban.

The Independents 4 Change Private Members Motion on animal welfare calls for the introduction of a comprehensive system of monitoring conditions in which animals are kept and robust regulations to protect animals from abuse, cruel treatment, neglect and poor living conditions.

TDs Mick Wallace and Clare Daly are also seeking those accused of animal cruelty be held accountable for their actions. Following her contribution to the Dáil last night on the issue, there was applause from the public gallery which was packed with animal rights activists and groups.

The government is not opposing the motion, but is submitting a counter motion on the issue.

Last night, Creed emphasised the government’s commitment to animal welfare and reiterated that it does not tolerate any instance of animal cruelty.

He said that his junior minister Andrew Doyle showed him his screen saver during the debate and it was of his family dog. He in turn said his screensaver on his phone is also his family dog.

“I think there is more on this issue that unites us that divides us,” he said.

Read: Government to pay for couples to have IVF treatment>

Read: Gardaí will soon have to ask a judge if they want to access your data>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Mar 25th 2014, 3:38 PM

A little insensitive to the people who had to jump without shoots maybe….

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Mar 25th 2014, 3:58 PM

Yeah, I somehow doubt they were having a go at the victims of such a tragedy.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:12 PM

You’re right. I very much doubt they were.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:23 PM

So much for security.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Mar 25th 2014, 3:44 PM

These two lads from Russia managed to climb all the way to the top of Shanghai tower with no safety equipment at more than 2190 feet:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLDYtH1RH-U

Crazy.

Mute Stephen Ryan
    Favourite Stephen Ryan
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:01 PM

That made me feel slightly ill!

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    May 9th 2015, 1:15 PM

That’s absolutely mental!!!

Mute Sean Newberry
    Favourite Sean Newberry
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:55 PM

Only Jim Corr knows what really happened

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:07 PM

The height of the new World Trade Center being 1776 feet high is based on America’s year of Indipendence from the British. A truly magnificent structure. Good luck to the base jumpers.

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:25 PM

A super building:

The building contains 49,000 cubic yards of concrete, enough to pave more than 200 miles of NYC sidewalks

Among 1WTC’s unique construction elements are its high-strength concrete, which can withstand seven times more pressure than standard concrete.

Lets hope the security and re-enforcement design put into this building never has to prove its worth.

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:06 PM

“49,000 cubic yards of concrete, enough to pave more than 200 miles of NYC sidewalks”

But it didn’t.

So it’s pointless numbers trivia so beloved of people trying to find content.

Mute Charlie Carlisle
    Favourite Charlie Carlisle
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:01 PM

Some craic, I’d say

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:39 PM

$200 fine for running that red light when landing.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:47 PM

I know what i’d be doing if I worked in that new building,
    stashing a parachute on the roof in the event of….

Mute Alan Ruane
    Favourite Alan Ruane
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:05 PM

They jumped from the roof. 1368 feet above the ground. The spire adds over 400 feet making the 1776.

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:28 PM

That was crazy,some adreneline running there!

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Mar 25th 2014, 3:46 PM

In 2001 US Government officials also sneaked passed security agents at its former buildings, ie the Twin Towers and Building 7 when they were planting controlled demolition explosives. I wonder why any of these officials were never arrested for more serious charges than just Burglary and felony charges?

http://s30.postimg.org/o65s68vtd/Jetfuel.jpg

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Mar 25th 2014, 3:55 PM

Did you manage to find that all by yourself Frank? Or did you get Nicole or Padraic to help you with it?

This song keeps popping into my head every time I read one of your comments:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYM4jIxCJ14

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:00 PM

lol , did they find evidence of the fake moon landings when they were in there? its a pity white trash in US trailer parks are allowed internet access, they just muddy things for everyone else

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:01 PM

Frank you do actually realise that approximately 6 months of preparation by multiple demolition teams would be necessary in order for a controlled demolition of a 20 storey building let alone the 110 storey towers and WTC 7.

Mute Willy Motley
    Favourite Willy Motley
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:10 PM

Call it controlled demolition,call it whatever you want.All I know is that anybody who believes the official 9/11 story is a complete and utter moron

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:20 PM

It’s strange that the steel columns at the bottom of the towers had a clean explosive cut along them. Let the red thumbs explain that!!!!!!

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:22 PM

@ Willy Motley – Here is every single thing you needed to know in regards to 9/11 and all of the conspiracy theories that have been linked to it have been debunked:

http://www.debunking911.com/

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:44 PM

Glen, Horgay and golden as well.

Mute Shane McDonnell
    Favourite Shane McDonnell
    Mar 25th 2014, 4:45 PM

What you mean by that willy?

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:10 PM

Wow. People are so conditioned by American propaganda that they vigorously defend the official line of a country they’re not even from.

Wake up people and stop believing everything you read in commercial privately owned media.

Better to question than to blindly accept and become a benign robot.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 25th 2014, 6:13 PM

Its always the nut-bars that tell us to “wake up”.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Mar 25th 2014, 6:17 PM

Michael nobody was vigorously defending the official line of anything. Just because someone doesn’t buy into every conspiracy theory that comes along doesn’t mean they are a benign robot or that they are ‘conditioned by American propaganda’.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 25th 2014, 9:41 PM

He’s a bit mad that Frank is.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Mar 26th 2014, 1:24 AM

Of course this operation would have been well planned and calculated involving millions…..It all paid off though….Iraq Afghanistan Libya and of course the Patriot Act and more…

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Mar 25th 2014, 6:55 PM

Sketchy doing it in the day time, absolutely crazy to go at it at night ( although probably necessary). Kudos to them looked like it would be a huge thrill to do it. For me I think it’d be ballsy to look over the edge let alone jump off it.

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:17 PM

Are American authorities always this joyless, they were just having a laugh.

Mute Etienne de Montfort
    Favourite Etienne de Montfort
    Mar 25th 2014, 5:34 PM

Yes

Mute Donny Duck
    Favourite Donny Duck
    Mar 25th 2014, 8:39 PM

They should have wrapped themselves in sheets, grown long beards and shouted “Durka Durka Mohammed Jihad Stoodbacker Stood – I love your balls”.

Then watch what the police will do.

Mute Iain Danger Drennan
    Favourite Iain Danger Drennan
    Mar 25th 2014, 10:26 PM

fair play to them.
    crazy feckers