You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/fullempty

Call for more monitoring of super trawlers after dolphin deaths

Irish MEP Seán Kelly said people who break rules should be “dealt with”.

SEÁN KELLY HAS called for greater monitoring of super trawlers off the Irish coast following the deaths of three dolphins.

The Fine Gael MEP for Ireland South recently wrote to the European Commission about the issue, after if was raised with him by constituents and dolphin and whale interest groups.

Speaking to EuroParlRadio, Kelly said he was pleasantly surprised when the commission responded, saying it was something he “didn’t expect”.

“Since 1991, the coast of Ireland has been a dolphin and whale sanctuary and, unfortunately, in July this year three dolphins were found dead and one of them had a rope around its tail.

“There are suspicions that the super trawlers are killing these dolphins and then throwing them back into the sea.”

Kelly said the commission is “obviously taking it seriously” because it has “proposed revised technical measures on how to deal with this issue and the monitoring of super trawlers”.

The only way to deal with an issue like this is to have onboard inspections, in particular, and then for the Sea-Fisheries Protection Authority (which is based in Clonakilty, Co. Cork) to be given the opportunity and resources to continuously monitor what’s happening off the west coast of Ireland.

Kelly said the rules need to be enforced and people who break them should be “dealt with” and “[brought] to justice”.

7318658562_ff1e341fe5_b-3 File photo of a super trawler Free photos & art via Flickr / Creative Commons Free photos & art via Flickr / Creative Commons / Creative Commons

In July, Sinn Féin MEP Liadh Ní Riada called for an “effective ban” on super trawlers fishing on Irish waters.

Under the EU Common Fisheries Policy, vessels registered in the EU are allowed to fish in any EU waters.

At the time, Ní Riada said: “Super trawlers are seldom if ever boarded and seem to be immune from any form of inspection.

“Which stands in stark contrast to the treatment of Irish fishermen, who are subject to very regular oversight and who are routinely punished for even the slightest discrepancy in record keeping.”

Read: MEP calls for “effective” ban on super trawlers in Irish waters

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:04 PM

How the hell did it cost $1400 to build. You’d make that for 80 quid.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:07 PM

for 1400 he could have bought a mobile home or a serious tent/camper combo with gas cooker and electrics.

Mute ads20101
    Favourite ads20101
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:15 PM

I’d say they journal forgot the decimal point.
    It should read $11.40

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:18 PM

I hope so, otherwise that lad is a dope.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:27 PM

He used the same builder that put up the temporary housing units for €190,000 a pop……….

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:33 PM

He could have used anything up to 8 sheets of marine plywood for this, add couple of tins of polish to give a good finish, it has timber internal framing too, given that hes an illustrator probably needed to buy a circular saw for couple of hundred, possibly had to buy his own bed and quilting. strip light could be 40-50 quid. Cost would add up easily enough.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:39 PM

A top of the range 12v leisure battery with trickle or automatic charger or even solar panels to keep his ‘lights’ on, a high end makita circular saw, the timber and ply if he replaced with oak, and if he polished it in gold dust (and that doesn;t look polished to me) wouldn’t cost him 1400

Sorry man, but that could be made for free. I think it’s an error in the article. If not, his rent is the least of his worries.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:13 PM

Just glanced at his blog and he did indeed pay 1300 to have it made. Talk about stupidity.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:39 PM

but how would you know how much things cost is SF ? Just asking.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:42 PM

I checked. It’s far cheaper than here. Googled the costs of materials. I also import tools and camping gear from the US regularly as it’s half the price of the UK.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:57 PM

Didn’t even get a lick of ronseal

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:03 PM

Fair play – just asking. Maybe it includes land rent !!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:44 PM

€1500 to live in a plywood crate? I have a barna shed he can have for a grand a month

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:48 PM

He’s probably wondering why he hasn’t had any takers on his great idea. If he popped down to any industrial estate or any importers in SF, he would have got that for free. They would be more than happy for him to take it away.

Apr 2nd 2016, 9:06 PM

He pays $400 to live there not 1500

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Apr 2nd 2016, 11:06 PM

And put it where Smeghead?

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 3rd 2016, 12:14 AM

Put it on a campsite in san francisco for 10 dollars a night. Buy a camper for 1400.

Mute Niall Mullane
    Favourite Niall Mullane
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:17 PM

It’ll be some craic in the pod when he has kids.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:24 PM

What’s the point, other than to fulfill some need for attention on social media?

Shared a room a few times in university/J1 etc. One room, two beds… No big deal. Plenty of people I know who grew up in the 80′s/90′s shared a room with a sibling. No one ever saw the need to build a ridiculous crate to live in.

I really don’t know how to take the current generation of 20 somethings and the way they carry on.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:59 PM

That’s true Drew, some of the places I shared in my college years would make the 20+ generation toes curl, one room with two beds, kitchenette in a corner of the room, and one had a shared bathroom and loo down the hall. It’d been much cheaper for him to go and buy a damn bed, oh and in no way did that thing cost 1400.

Mute Fiona Murphy
    Favourite Fiona Murphy
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:25 PM

Your comment shows what are ridiculous nation we’ve become that apparently it hasn’t been acceptable for siblings to share a room since the 90′s. Don’t think we need to look to the US for ridiculousness.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:05 PM

is it unacceptable I wonder. Families are smaller I suppose as the cost of raising kids is now so high. Well for most of us anyway,

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:32 PM

He may avoid the stout whilst living in that thing. One fart and he’s brown bread.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:41 PM

That’s why he put in the sky light.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:41 PM

Wanna come back to my pod?

Mute Sinead
    Favourite Sinead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:29 PM

Nevermind him, can you imagine having that in your sitting room! No one take any notice of the man in the box. It would just be so awkward

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:08 PM

Hope the landlords don’t see this article b giving them ideas

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint

If my missus sees this, that’s me done for !

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:29 PM

Wife jokes are so 90′s

Mute Richie Jordan
    Favourite Richie Jordan
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:28 PM

This was supposed to be posted yesterday I take it…?

Mute Sidney Cooper
    Favourite Sidney Cooper
    Apr 2nd 2016, 10:35 PM

I was written shortly after it appeared on Reddit ;)

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:16 PM

It blows all the irish building regulations out the windows and health and safety will probably get toffee nosed about pod living too.

Mute Richard F
    Favourite Richard F
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:31 PM

Jaysus my dogs kennel is nearly that size

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:09 PM

rental opportunity !!!

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:18 PM

W**k box

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:28 PM

That’s existing. Just. Don’t show Alan Kelly. He will have us all back to tenements in no time.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:10 PM

Looks cosy.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Apr 2nd 2016, 7:05 PM

Looks like what dob and edna would dream up to solve the housing crisis at a substancial cost to the taxpayer of course

Apr 2nd 2016, 9:13 PM

Sure does anyone remember some of the adverts online over here ? Someone was actually advertising a bed for rent under the stairs in a house .

Mute Jim Woodcock
    Favourite Jim Woodcock
    Apr 2nd 2016, 9:30 PM

It would be funny if his mate put the couch in front of the entrance…nice chest of drawers behind the couch as well to give him a bit of a challange

Mute Paddy Flynn
    Favourite Paddy Flynn
    Apr 2nd 2016, 8:25 PM

Sure makes moving out of the parents home look ‘great’!

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Apr 2nd 2016, 11:30 PM

He won’t get his hole in there

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Apr 2nd 2016, 11:22 PM

Um fire hazard?

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    Apr 3rd 2016, 8:08 AM

I hope he doesn’t get an Irish roommate. There’d be a firelog and a shovel of coal in on top of him

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 3rd 2016, 9:08 AM

And the top of his box used as a bar counter.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:14 PM

80? With the bedding, the storage space, shelves/desk, the lights etc?

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead

Yes. A saw, a measuring tape, and those are fairy lights operated by a simple battery most likely, the bedding you’d pick up in a second hand shop or second hand for peanuts. People dump stuff like that, nor a mind say sell it.

Tbh, it’s comical anyone would spend 1400 on a dog kennel. And a dog kennel would be better built than that yoke. I’d knock that together in 2-3 hours.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:19 PM

And I’d do it for free by picking up pallets.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Apr 2nd 2016, 6:32 PM

Uhhhh yeah…

$20 for cheap used bedding… $800 to rid your apartment of bed bugs, or loose your security deposit.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Apr 3rd 2016, 11:07 AM

Yeah Drew, cos landlords the world over are known to buy all their furniture brand new for lettings.

Mute Sidney Cooper
    Favourite Sidney Cooper
    Apr 2nd 2016, 9:50 PM

Does he have a rest room in there ?

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Apr 3rd 2016, 2:08 AM

Where’s Dave? Ah, he moved in to the sideboard…

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Apr 2nd 2016, 11:31 PM

America, the greatest country on earth? You wouldn’t have people living like this in the third world.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Apr 3rd 2016, 3:51 AM

The Japanese would just love that accommodation.
    “Workaholics who live in rabbit warrens”.

Mute steve
    Favourite steve
    Apr 3rd 2016, 1:33 PM

What a tool

Mute Vinc Enzo
    Favourite Vinc Enzo
    Apr 3rd 2016, 3:29 AM

This was written and published just to shake the housing market a bit more in ireland….. that would be the next option for landlords trying to get more money for an apt

Mute westcorklad
    Favourite westcorklad
    Apr 3rd 2016, 1:09 AM

Man in a box right there