You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Meet the man who made Ireland's very first surfboard back in the 1940s

Joe Roddy is the subject of a Newstalk documentary this morning.

PastedImage-75606

SURFING IS AN extremely popular pastime in Ireland right now, with western coastal towns boasting some of the best waves in the world.

Did you think that is a fairly recent phenomenon? Or something linked to the hippy freedom of the 1960s?

Both would be incorrect. The sport in Ireland actually dates back to the 1940s.

A documentary airing on Newstalk this morning delves into the birth of surfing on this island, tracing it back to a 14-year-old water lover almost seven decades ago.

Joe Roddy, now 80 years old, recalls building a surfboard with old wardrobes, floorboards and tea chests. The cobbled-together wood is now regarded as Ireland’s first surfboard.

The Surfing at the Crossroads documentary makers tracked down Roddy and brought him to Valentia Island where he told them his fascinating life story.

At 10, he started building canoes from sally rods. By 12, he realised his wish to go snorkelling by adapting an old pair of shoes for flippers, a World War II gasmask as a snorkel and long johns for a wetsuit.

By 14, he was ready for surfing.

“[To make the surfboard I used] Two big long floorboards…and more wardrobes and chests of drawers to get the cross-pieces to make the skeleton, and then laminated top and bottom with ply and plenty of heavy paint on it to waterproof it,” he remembers.

When I came in from two miles at sea, people lined the beach – they didn’t know what was coming in because I had a paddle and I was standing on something they couldn’t see. It was only about four inches thick and with me standing on it. I could see the whites of their eyes before they realised that this thing had length to it.

“They could only see the front width of it – about two feet broad. It was a big novelty because it was different to a canoe. It couldn’t sink. The fishermen were very annoyed with me because I’d be out when it was rough and they used to say ‘you’ll get drowned one of these days and we won’t come out for you!’.”

One of those onlookers remembers the day well.

Martin Cullinane of the Irish Surfing Hall of Fame – to which Roddy was inducted in 2009 – describes “this guy [that] came out of nowhere”.

“How did he even dream up this board?” he asked.

He paddled it out to sea. He was like an apparition. If you can imagine 1940′s… You’re standing on the beach and you see this guy standing on a board with a paddle. In the history of surfing, it’s a big event.

Roddy wasn’t finished though. When a spear-gun was required, he as an older teenager gathered a wooden dowel and rubber bands to make one. (In Cuba in 1967, Roddy represented Ireland at the World Spear-fishing Championships where he recorded a dive of 32 metres (105 feet) – the depth of an 11 storey building).

To this day, he continues to travel to Skellig Michael regularly. Over the years, he has ferried tens of thousands of pilgrims to the medieval monastic settlement.

“I’m coming here over 50 years. I’ve landed on the place about 20,000 times. If they were all in the one boat, she’d have to be a cruise liner to carry them because there’d be a 100,000 in it!” he says.

Surfing at the Crossroads is written, edited, and produced by Brendan Daly. The executive producer was Daithi McMahon. Listen this morning at 7am or at 10pm tonight. You can also hear it on Newstalk online. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:32 PM

Not good really. Surprised at TCD. Just academic backclapping. They would do better to give free education to academically bright people who cannot afford it…. even one person.

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:23 PM

@Paul A Whelan: Couldn’t agree with you more Paul.

Mute Jen M
    Favourite Jen M
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:11 PM
    Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 23rd 2018, 5:53 PM

@Jen M: Dont say that it spoils their narrative. Thr truth comes second to a good old class rant

Mute Benking23
    Favourite Benking23
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:17 PM

Why?

Mute Nullius En Verba
    Favourite Nullius En Verba
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:37 PM

@neilo: None available the boys are partying in them or I mean they are homeless shelters.

Mute Benking23
    Favourite Benking23
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:44 PM

@neilo: I only asked a simple question, why? Do you have the answer neilo?

Mute Benking23
    Favourite Benking23
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:48 PM

@neilo: not like you to apologise, that’s a first.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:04 PM

@Benking23: new profile already restricted? Poor pet

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jun 22nd 2018, 6:47 PM

The Clinton Foundation is shrouded in controversy, even our own ‘he who cannot be named’ is a major donor to this ‘charity’. Her husband was impeached, the first US president to be so since Andrew Johnson in 1868 (Nixon resigned during impeachment proceedings against him in 1974). They are a toxic duo and I cannot fathom why she was rewarded by Trinners.

https://www.economist.com/the-economist-explains/2016/02/08/why-the-clinton-foundation-is-so-controversial

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:44 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: if only it had been investigated

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 8:04 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Investigated properly by someone with no connections to the parties involved, I totally agree.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 23rd 2018, 10:43 AM

@Niall Quinlan: you’d think the new administration would have been right on top of that given the campaign promise to do so

Jun 22nd 2018, 3:23 PM

Really annoys me when she’s trying to take credit for Trump reversing his decision on the immigration issue when it was obvious it was a scare tactic by him to deter immigrants entering the USA. Hillary is just another incompetent failed politician who should not be given a public platform to speak.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:26 PM

@Adrian: Imprisoning 2500 kids after separating them from their parents is a scare tactic?
    Your moral compass is wrecked lad

Mute Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:36 PM

@Pearse Mc Mullen: you really need to try to understand news stories better. Don’t believe the political spin on the first break of a story.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:07 PM

@Adrian: o didn’t see her trying to take credit. When did she do that?

Mute Andrew Dillon
    Favourite Andrew Dillon
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:47 PM

@Adrian: her and her husband made a significant contribution to achieving peace on this island. I think that entitles her to speak in trinners or anywhere else.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 8:02 PM

@Adrian: I seem to also recall her banging on about nobody questioning the outcome of the election during her campaign, whatever ppl say about how she won the public vote they both knew well how the presidency is decided just like most Americans should. Now all she can do is rile up more folks about Trump, She is a warmonger and a hypocrite and America’s Tony Blair. These kinds of ppl are not democrats.

Mute DAVID EIRE
    Favourite DAVID EIRE
    Jun 22nd 2018, 8:12 PM

@Adrian: Ageeed !!! Herself and the WARMONGER HUSBAND who is beyond redemption

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:24 PM

First ang sang, now Hilary, why?
    We must really love our warmongers.

Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:23 PM

@saitek: Trinity Leftest? Hillary Clinton is further to the right than Theresa May ffs.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:35 PM

Why? Is this a consolation prize for losing to Trump or just yet another veiled Trump protest? Either way – thought Trinity would be above that.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:58 PM

Clinton an out and out warmonger. Had she been elected there would be no one making a comment here. Most of the world would be obliterated by now.

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:02 PM

@Dave Doyle: Voted in favour of invading Iraq. All you need to know….

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:00 PM

@Daniel Donovan: in her election speeches, she wanted to go to war with most of the middle east.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:56 PM

@Dave Doyle: yeah right

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:26 PM

Rumour has it that the people who organised the protest have already “committed suicide” after a short depression ;). Such is the usual fate of anyone in the way of the Clintons….

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:28 PM

@D_Murph: ah yeah, suicide jokes, you stay classy kid.

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:33 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: it’s not a joke. There’s a long list of people who conveniently killed themselves before they had a chance to testify against them in the past. Look it up.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:41 PM

@D_Murph: so the organiser of the protest really is dead? No, you were making a joke about suicide based on a conspiracy theory. You were called out on it and are now you claim you meant it to be taken as fact. Stay classy

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:49 PM

@D_Murph: think about it for a moment. The President absolutely despises her and got elected chanting “lock her up..lock her up”. Do you not think if there was a scintilla of truth in what you said that he would have been all over this and had the AG put her on trial for it. The only “proof” for it can be found only in the darkest corners of the internet.

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:56 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Let me reiterate. I have no intention of mocking suicide victims. Just Hillary.

Also, oooh, I’m so scared of you “calling me out” like the big man you think you are. Behind your keyboard or phone etc that is lol.

Now run along and find something else to be offended by…..

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:59 PM

@Diaspora’d: I’m sure he would but it’s not like others wouldn’t have tried either. It’s not what you know but what you can prove that works in cases like this. Too much smoke to have no fire though.

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:24 PM

@D_Murph That’s the point there is no evidence or proof. The Republicans appointed a special federal investigator Ken Starr to investigate the Clintons for the whitewater and the Vince Foster suicide. It went on for nearly 4 years and didn’t come up with any proof on that matter however it did end up getting Bill for perjury about Monica Lewinsky, who by the way didn’t conveniently disappear.

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:53 PM

@Diaspora’d: They covered their tracks well when it mattered and the one who gave him a BJ got through. Priorities….

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:40 PM

@D_Murph: ..and the Lewinsky affair, probably the most embarrassing lasting legacy of his Presidency wasn’t a priority? I don’t buy your logic.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:48 PM

@D_Murph: dies someone not understand the difference between being called out and having their bs called out? Poor little snowflake.

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:12 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Are you still here? Still don’t realise I don’t give a shite what you think, do you? BTW, it’s “does”, not “dies”, lol. My opinion still stands no matter how many spastics like you think otherwise.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 23rd 2018, 10:45 AM

@D_Murph: well, at least now you’ve changed from declaring facts to staring opinion. The personal insults are a lovely touch though I must admit. They show who you really are

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 23rd 2018, 12:05 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: you started it with the snowflake comment but I guess you’re too thick to understand that it works both ways.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 24th 2018, 6:00 AM

@D_Murph: you’re so fragile. It’s hilarious. “You started it” what are you? 5?

Mute D_Murph
    Favourite D_Murph
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:09 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: You’re so stupid, it’s hilarious.

I made a comment on here and you repeatedly made insulting comments trying to rubbish my post. I tried to explain it to you in a civil manner and you persisted with more of the same and when I eventually insulted you back, (not before it was due either), you try to make me look like I’m the childish one? Hahahaha unreal!!

Furthermore, you have repeatedly said that you have analysed the kind of person I am etc and it’s clear that you don’t like me but it’s 2 days since I originally posted and here you are still unable to drag yourself away from this conversation with me. You seriously need to get a life!

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:21 PM

I didn`t realise she was that small, Little Poison Dwarf..

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:24 PM

@Pearse Mc Mullen: fake account

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Jun 22nd 2018, 6:25 PM

What’s even more nauseating is Mary Robinson’s sycophantic fawning.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:53 PM

She head hunts gaddafi to death which leads to the complete destabilizing of Middle East.that area has always needed a dictator to control the area from saddam Hussein to gaddafi,now that both of them are gone it’s a complete war land with innocent people slaughtered and millions of people getting on boats that are ending up in Europe,what a disaster she has been and a disgrace trinity are honouring her

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:19 PM

Ahhh give her a break….. She’s a lot saner than what’s in the Whitehouse at the moment….

Mute Mark Foy
    Favourite Mark Foy
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:21 PM

@Sean Leonard: Is she though?

Mute Nullius En Verba
    Favourite Nullius En Verba
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:26 PM

@Sean Leonard: She was adamant about a war with Russia just in case you forgot.

Mute Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:35 PM

@Sean Leonard: wouldn’t agree with you on that. She’s a whole lot of crazy.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:41 PM

@Jackie Carvill Caruana: nuts! watch her clip about Ghadaffi “we came we saw he died” followed by a witch like cackle! D fact is dat Libya is 100 times worse than when Ghadaffi was in power because of her actions, and I truly would doubt it plays on her conscience as she I don’t think she has 1!

Mute Thomas McGuire
    Favourite Thomas McGuire
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:27 PM

@Vote4Pedro: “watch her clip about Ghadaffi…” And Trump admin officials have cited this “Libya model” in respect of other countries, what’s your point?

Mute Jason Power
    Favourite Jason Power
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:09 PM

@Thomas McGuire: why is everything a comparison. Can’t she just be a terrible human being on her own. Why is everything “they did it first” and “they are worse”. Can’t people and policies just be judged by their own merit or lack thereof.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:09 PM

@Vote4Pedro:

Because of her there are currently open African slave markets in Libya, where Children, Women, & Men are sold to the highest bidder, nice job Trinity.

Mute Ivan Connolly
    Favourite Ivan Connolly
    Jun 22nd 2018, 5:22 PM

@Thomas McGuire: the Libya model which Bolton was referring to was in fact a reference to the way Gaddafi gave up his nuclear ambitions for investment and access to western markets. It was not a reference to the eventual bombing and murder of Gaddafi. It was Trump who conflated the two issues.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:47 PM

@Thomas McGuire: I’m sorry but how is this thread anything to do with Trump. But while ur at it u acknowledge that the operation she implemented in Libya was the mother of all disasters?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Jun 23rd 2018, 9:16 PM

@Sean Leonard: Someone who cackled “we came, we saw, he died” at the death of Gaddafi is more sane than Trump?

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Jun 22nd 2018, 6:06 PM

Why is the Republic of Ireland catering to this dreadful individual? She should be booted out, imo. Disgusted.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Declan Carroll: Should we have booted her out during the peace process? Eaten bread is soon forgotten.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:54 PM

What contributions has she made exactly? A power hungry warmonger

It’s like Obama getting the Nobel peace prize based on promises. Educational institutions are so moronic when it comes to this kind of thing.

Mute Chris Leitrim
    Favourite Chris Leitrim
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:39 PM

Does anybody in Trinity know how to use a search engine?!!

Mute Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Favourite Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:45 PM

Crooked Hillary – the woman who laughed at getting a rap-ist of a twelve year old off jail time because otherwise it would be a miscarriage of justice…Some champion of women…

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:17 PM

@Dumb as a Rock Mika: ya poor thing. Do a proper search on that famous laugh.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:58 PM

@Dumb as a Rock Mika: Very apt name. She was his lawyer and doing her job. It requires a higher moral understanding than you can handle it appears

Mute Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:01 PM

@Mark Murphy: I’ve listened to the recording. I suggest you do too before you act as an apologist…Disgusting woman…

Mute Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:03 PM

@Kal Ipers: Kal, my point relates to her been recorded laughing about the case, even though she implies she knew he was guilty.

You should read a point before you start questioning people’s morals, Kal…

Mute Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:04 PM

@Kal Ipers: I’ll call you Half-Wit Kal from now on…

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:41 PM

@Dumb as a Rock…..you really know how to live down to your name…idiot

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:55 PM

how is it that people can loathe trump so much that such actions by this woman are brushed aside so easily. There’s a twisted obsession by alot of Irish people with the Clintons, wud i be rite in saying horny bill got an honorary doctorate from nui Galway recently? Both colleges should be investigated as to whether those making such decisions are mentally capable. Not a great example to be setting for impressionable students.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Jun 23rd 2018, 9:17 PM

@Kal Ipers: Lawyering doesn’t require anything approaching moral understanding.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 8:02 PM

Fair dues to those hecklers

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:33 PM

Ffs

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:54 PM

An absolute disgrace!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 22nd 2018, 4:12 PM

Killary Clinton even worse than Trump

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:44 PM

Ridiculas

Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:51 PM

@@mdmak33: love your spelling. Was it delibrate?

Mute Karen Ryan
    Favourite Karen Ryan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 6:39 PM

no wonder why trinity knocked out of 100, crooked hillary might as well collect all she can now, as she will be in an orange jumpsuit soon

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:56 PM

@Karen Ryan: 1 can dream Karen

Mute Kevin Cashin
    Favourite Kevin Cashin
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:21 PM

WTF are they thinking?

Mute Lager Lout
    Favourite Lager Lout
    Jun 23rd 2018, 12:23 PM

People talk about the northern Ireland peace process as if this somehow absolves the clintons of the massive harm they have created in the world. a few dozen lives saved in northern Ireland compared with hundreds of thousands of lives lost worldwide and counting and misery for decades to come. a bit like Joseph Stalin given forgiveness because he gave a beggar a sandwich.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jun 22nd 2018, 3:29 PM

Go on hillary ya good thing. Fair play to her I say anyhow.

Mute Kevin Cashin
    Favourite Kevin Cashin
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:13 PM

@Mark Murphy: Get a life shes a war criminal

Mute Dumb as a Rock Mika
    Jun 22nd 2018, 10:06 PM

@Kevin Cashin: I wouldn’t pay attention to Moron Mike…he’s brainwashed, the poor chap…

Mute Liam Mac Roibin
    Favourite Liam Mac Roibin
    Jun 23rd 2018, 9:24 PM

@Mark Murphy: Obviously you’re a Troll.

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:42 PM

Some have short memories. She and Bill were instrumental in the peace process in Northern Ireland. Up to then most AMerican pols took their lead from Britain.

Mute Kevin Cashin
    Favourite Kevin Cashin
    Jun 22nd 2018, 7:45 PM

@Brendan Walsh: Yawwwwn

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Jun 22nd 2018, 9:51 PM

@Brendan Walsh: very true, her and Bill did an awful lot to help the peace process along. Some of the tin foil hat kids here are to young for that bit of history.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 23rd 2018, 12:28 AM

@angryDuck: so the fact that they helped the peace process here in your eyes gives them a free pass on everything horrible they have done?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Jun 23rd 2018, 9:18 PM

@angryDuck: Your use of the “tin foil hat” pejorative shows you have nothing approaching a cogent argument.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jun 22nd 2018, 8:44 PM

They wear colourful gowns for honorary degree ceremonies – more appealing than the suits and dark glasses of the personal bodyguards.

Mute Evelyn Boylan
    Favourite Evelyn Boylan
    Jun 22nd 2018, 11:58 PM

Time Hillary 2 go away her stupid book what happened blamed everyone but herself for her loss FBI didnt tell her to bleach bit her emails smash phones destroy laptops have a private server in her house with classified info which IG report says was hacked russians didnt tell anyone to vote TRUMP she list bcause she wasnt a good canidate was out of touch with people outside Washinton why not give this award to someone who deserves it She wont go down in history for bringing peace to NOKO hopefully TRUMP will

Mute Lager Lout
    Favourite Lager Lout
    Jun 25th 2018, 12:22 AM

@Evelyn Boylan: FFS please use punctuation. You come across as illiterate and let the side down.

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Jun 23rd 2018, 10:12 AM

Well yeah, she’s an American politician. I’d consider them all warmongers. Most of the country seems fine with America going to war, they’ve been brainwashed into believing its necessary for their way of life. In reality its just good money for those in the right places.

Mute Car O Line
    Favourite Car O Line
    Jun 23rd 2018, 1:10 PM

Ireland has stopped to a new low awarding a war monger and the one who distroyed lybia , Iraq with lies . They should have awarded her for being the biggest lier and getting away with it award ..I’m ashamed to be Irish .

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:47 AM

@Car O Line: I’m ashamed of all the Irish people hurling ignorant abuse at a visiting democrat who has always been a friend to our country and who worked so hard for peace here.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Jun 22nd 2018, 9:49 PM

Jez, the comments section on the journal has gone full psyco tin foil hat bat sh! t crazy.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Jun 23rd 2018, 9:19 PM

@angryDuck: There you go again with your name-calling. The dirty legacy of the Clintons is all well documented. No conspiracy theories needed. That you choose to ignore it speaks volumes as to the type of person you are.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:35 AM

@Tom Sullivan: When a person who invested a huge amount of time and effort into helping secure peace in our country comes to visit you hurl abuse at her. What type of person does that make you?

Mute Fran Ponick
    Favourite Fran Ponick
    Jun 24th 2018, 12:33 AM

Good God. Another honorary degree for Hillary? What were they thinking?? This woman collects a degree and/or award approximately every other week. Events like this one are scheduled for her as routinely as appointments with her hairdresser. Ireland needs to realize that she is a silver-tongued crook. Her crimes go back over forty years. We in the United States are done with her, except insofar as she can be prosecuted. And that day will come.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 2:56 PM

@Fran Ponick: It’s funny that a right ring Trump supporter from America agrees with the loony left in Ireland. All populists spout the same spurious rubbish.

Mute Fran Ponick
    Favourite Fran Ponick
    Jun 24th 2018, 4:06 PM

@Will J. Browne: I think you meant right WING … Also, please see https://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Populism for notable right- AND left-wing populists, including Daniel O’Connell. Finally, if you are not a populist, what are you? An elitist? Thanks for sharing!

Mute Fran Ponick
    Favourite Fran Ponick
    Jun 24th 2018, 4:23 PM

@Will J. Browne: Oh, I forgot to mention. I’m not from America. I live there. I was born in Dublin a very long time ago. Had to leave because the “elitists” kept power, money, and anything useful (including jobs) for themselves and their minions. Their genius heirs recently invented Project Ireland 2040. Meanwhile, they starve homeless citizens (12,000+ and counting) while feeding and housing imported aliens. So yeah, I’m a populist.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 8:56 PM

@Fran Ponick: I’m not a populist. I’m a democrat like Hilary Clinton and unlike Donald Trump or whatever populist muckraker you’re getting your fake news and paranoid conspiracy theories from.

Mute Fran Ponick
    Favourite Fran Ponick
    Jun 26th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Will J. Browne: Ad hominem, anyone? Sorry, doesn’t work with me, nor, I see, with others to whom you’ve responded. Shaming’s not a useful tool either (“What type of person does that make you?”). Interest fades in the face of insult; conversation dies before it starts. Bye.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 27th 2018, 7:30 PM

@Fran Ponick: Is calling someone a “silver tongued crook” and slanderously accusating them of unspecified crimes not an ad hominem attack? You’re a typical populist: you attack the person, not the argument, but you cry foul if anyone calls you out on it.

Mute Herr Wolf
    Favourite Herr Wolf
    Jun 23rd 2018, 6:50 PM

She should be in prison instead of receiving fake degrees.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:09 AM

@Herr Wolf: It’s lucky for us we didn’t adopt your ignorant attitude during the peace process.

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Jun 23rd 2018, 10:38 PM

Is there any reporting in the Irish Times about the protests?

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 24th 2018, 11:07 AM

It shows how the hard left and the hard right have more in common with each other than they do with anyone else. They both hate anyone in the center.

Mute Alan Harvey
    Favourite Alan Harvey
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:04 PM

Big thanks to the Journal.ie and Paul Hosford for having the courage to cover this story. Because the rest of Official Ireland – RTE, TCD, The Irish Times, and even Mary Robinson who keeps preaching about human rights – all seem to be extremely complicit in white washing the crimes of Hillary Clinton, Wall street warmongering puppet that she is.

Mute Alan Harvey
    Favourite Alan Harvey
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:04 PM

Big thanks to the Journal.ie and Paul Hosford for having the courage to cover this story. Because the rest of Official Ireland – RTE, TCD, The Irish Times, and even Mary Robinson who keeps preaching about human rights – all seem to be extremely complicit in white washing the crimes of Hillary Clinton, Wall street warmongering puppet that she is.

Mute Joe Eugene Smith
    Favourite Joe Eugene Smith
    Jun 24th 2018, 3:48 PM

The 5 remaining Clinton fanatics are having nervous breakdowns here today it’s quite refressjing p.s feel free to point out spelling errors lol

Mute Joe Eugene Smith
    Favourite Joe Eugene Smith
    Jun 24th 2018, 3:52 PM

Nazis