You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The hospital in Enköping which has received a case of suspected Ebola Fredrik Sandberg/TT via PA Images

Man admitted to hospital in Sweden with suspected Ebola found not to have disease

The man had recently returned from a trip in Burundi.

LAST UPDATE | 4 Jan 2019

A PATIENT IN Sweden who was admitted to hospital with a suspected case of Ebola, was found not to be suffering from the highly infectious and potentially fatal disease, health care officials said this evening.

“The young man… who had symptoms… is not suffering from Ebola. That is what the result of tests shows,” the health authorities in Uppsala, about 70 kilometres north of Stockholm, said in a statement.

“The patient came in this morning. He was throwing up blood and had bloody stools,” which can be a symptom of Ebola, Mikael Kohler, a medical director for Uppsala Region, told AFP earlier.

The young man, whose identity has not been released, lives in Sweden and had returned from a trip to Burundi three weeks ago but was not known to have visited any Ebola-contaminated area, Kohler said.

The symptoms first appeared this morning.

After the patient was admitted to hospital, the emergency room of that hospital was closed, and staff who came in contact with the patient were being cared for, authorities said earlier. 

Ebola is one of the world’s most notorious diseases, being both highly infectious and extremely lethal.

It is caused by a virus that has a natural reservoir in the bat, which does not itself fall ill, but can pass the microbe on to humans who hunt it for “bushmeat”.

The virus is handed on by contact with bodily fluids – touching a sick or dead person is a well-known source of infection.

Following an incubation period of between two and 21 days, Ebola develops into a high fever, weakness, intense muscle and joint pain, headaches and a sore throat.

That is often followed by vomiting and diarrhoea, skin eruptions, kidney and liver failure, and internal and external bleeding.

The worst-ever Ebola outbreak started in December 2013 in southern Guinea before spreading to two neighbouring west African countries, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

That outbreak killed more than 11,300 people out of nearly 29,000 registered cases, according to WHO estimates, although the real figure is thought to be significantly higher.

An Ebola outbreak ravaging eastern areas of the Democratic Republic of Congo has claimed several hundred lives.

It is the 10th such outbreak in the Congo since the disease was first detected there in 1976.

© AFP 2019

View 22 comments
22 Comments
    Mute Paperboy2
    Favourite Paperboy2
    Oct 14th 2014, 9:58 AM

I’m afraid to give my opinion incase they start taxing my comments…

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:03 AM

Your comment is taxing, Paperboy2:-)

Mute Dee Dillon
    Favourite Dee Dillon
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:03 AM

Per keystroke, so keep it short.

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Favourite Partysauras Rex
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:14 AM

How droll

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:20 AM

Water tax !!!!
    The rest is bull shit.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:33 PM

Paperboy
    They do need to pay their trolls so dont be surprised if they tax your comments.

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:25 PM

Worst country in the world to work!!!

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:53 AM

Budget day is going to be a day of election bribery, everyone dont get fooled by this, remember how disgracefully our government have treated us all in past ! Especially dont forget we are still fighting to abolish the new water tax, a tax that we are all paying for already through general taxation !

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:20 AM

I just know I’m not going to get any work done today. I’m going to spend my time reading all the comments on thejournal.ie

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:40 PM

Noonan and Kenny or Nooenny are too old to worrie about consequences its the historical aspect, always remember for the wrong reasons but remember all the same. Their mark on the world when their gone…let’s hope they go soon……

Mute Ronan Mc Namara
    Favourite Ronan Mc Namara
    Oct 14th 2014, 3:05 PM

Happy with the budget overall very pro business which is great. What suspect is that it’s very similar to the give away budgets of FF. DL and SF must be disappointed with the welfare increases which will play into Labours hands and increase their vote.

Mute skin flint
    Favourite skin flint
    Oct 14th 2014, 4:28 PM

After all that I’m not even up €30 per month. And my water charges will cost me more than that, so still, nett result is I have even less than last year.

So, yes..you’re buying!

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:53 PM

Kenny has bought out journal and set up a team of red tumbing dopes. Are you frightened of social networking Enda. Will you just ends it. Red tumb me to confirm.

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:07 AM

I hope the German parliament has approved this budget. We wouldn’t want to be upsetting our masters.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:55 AM

If Sinn Fein had their way the germans certainly would have been our masters
    http://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/new-evidence-on-iranazi-links/

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:11 AM

That’s desperate Tom, even for a blueshirt.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:44 AM

I’m not any coloured shirt, I find the continual silly irrelevant comments irritating. Is my comment a stupid irrelevant comment….yes, but it’s in keeping with the comment I was replying to.
    Do I support the Government ? in some things yes & in others no. But no matter who is in power I’m never going agree with all their policy but that’s what democracy is, a compromise. I do detest opposition parties that knock for the sake of knocking.
    Labour were every bit as bad during the last governments term as Sinn Fein are this term.
    I never in my life voted Labour but I intend giving Ged Nash a vote next time.
    Simply because although it hurted their support base they were mature enough to make the tough choices.
    Probably change again after that, The only party I will never vote for are FF, but I am a floating voter

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:48 AM

You lost when you starting comparing the current labour party to the shinners. No one will ever be compared to the lying treacherous animals. You are voting for Ged Nash, you deserve everything you get. Oh and before you call me a shinner, i was a card carrying member of labour from 1997 to 2012

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:27 PM

Well there you go thetruth, I never give them a vote 1997-2012, however they are having to live a little more in reality these days, but that grating/condescending voice of Burton is hard to listen to.

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:07 AM

Why is The Journal taking the piss out of the protester? He’s perfectly intitled to do that.. Power to him I say!

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:56 AM

The only thing I want to hear today from noonan is how he plans to dissolve irish water and clean up the mess fg has made everything else is irrelevant

Mute Shane Dunne
    Favourite Shane Dunne
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:25 AM

If the finance minister knows what’s good for him he would abolish the USC, HOUSE HOLD TAX AND THE WATER CHARGES THAT WAY, The people of Ireland wouldn’t feel the pinch as much. And maybe we would spend again. Who knows.

Mute Cormac Harte
    Favourite Cormac Harte
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:49 PM

And then we would be broke again, extremely smart thinking

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Oct 14th 2014, 3:16 PM

Nothing of significance there to increase take home pay. I’ll be cutting my own spending to counter the continued austerity/theft.

Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Favourite Breandán O Conchúir
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:34 AM

it’s going to do next to nothing for ordinary people. the rich will get a tax break we’ll get feck all

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:41 AM

That degree in Human Rights not raking in the millions you thought it would?

Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:44 AM

never wanted to be rich mo chara

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:30 AM

Who you calling mo!

Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:59 AM

mo as in my

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:04 PM

I shall name you Sherlock.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:19 PM

Mo Chara, is he not the British athlete?

Mute Mark Miller
    Favourite Mark Miller
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:12 AM

Is it too soon to change the hash tag “As it happens” to “Sh*t happens”?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:52 PM

Here is everything you’re going to see today:

1. The govt acting like they’re doing you a favor giving you tax cuts hoping you won’t notice that with all the taxes they’ve newly introduced and charges they’ve hiked you’re actually at a major MAJOR NET LOSS.

2. FF are going to pretend that the govt is somehow doing something other than following the policies they started in office, they will be trying to square an impossible circle of saying that those policies are the reason for recovery but are also terrible bold policies that hurt the needy that they’d never have done.

3. The fragmented left, will come into the dail looking disheveled and shabby and make bellicose over the top speeches about how they’d have free chocolate ice cream and Swedish hookers for all and would manage to do this without anyone other than cartoon rich people with monocles paying taxes. The highlight of this will be two upper middle class brats who came from privilege acting as crusaders for the working class.

4. SF will try to square their own circle of trying to make the press see how mainstream and moderate they are while trying to send the exact opposite message to their constituents.

5. Labour ministers will stand up and try to make a highly regressive conservative reactionary agenda sound like something Hugo Chavez came up with, while at the same time leaking to the press that FG wanted 20euro a week dole and would have got it but for the valiant red crusaders in Labour standing up for the little guy

6. The tiny number of people in the house actually qualified in economics will get very little attention and will continue to say ”hey that’s another iceberg were heading for there…see it?” as smug ministers laugh thinking were in a recovery.

Mute Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Favourite Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:24 AM

I’m really looking forward to this budget. Good things are beginning to happen again. Workers will be rewarded for their hard work/sacrafices over the last few years.

Mute Cupán Tae
    Favourite Cupán Tae
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:46 AM

I agree but bear in mind that some people will never be happy. :)

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:00 AM

True..if we get any reprieves it will be ‘THEY’RE BUYING THE ELECTION’ and if they take anything else it’ll be ‘CAN’T PAY WON’T PAY’.
    Gets tiring after a while…

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:29 PM

Abolish the USC as promised, and I will dance a jig with delight!

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:43 PM

Those pizza suits are another fine example of the job bridge scheme in action.

Mute Munster2014
    Favourite Munster2014
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:47 PM

I can just imagine the job description

“The Intern will gain valuable experience in wearing an outfit resembling a takeaway product, dealing with the public and being chased by hungry stoners”

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:25 PM

Camel Lights are still €8.60 that means they’ll go up to 9 quid? might hafta start buying rolling tobacco to mix with my joints . would like to just smoke blunts but at €500 an ounce I simply can’t afford it . of coarse tens of millions of euro are being lost to the exchequer due to cannabis being illegal

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Oct 14th 2014, 5:27 PM

400 euro thought I just don’t have that disposable income but yeah it would be a wise investment

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:52 AM

5 euro Increase in child benefit ? Well it’s going to take more than five euro to buy my vote at the next election .

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:19 PM

Post the fiver back if you don’t want it, Catherine, and maybe tone down the histrionics, will ya?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:31 PM

Histrionics ? Led a very sheltered life have you ? Must have if you think that comment constitutes histrionics lol

Mute JMaireMc
    Favourite JMaireMc
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:06 PM

Absolutely sick of all the government bashing. We all played a part in this economic mess. The government has brought us back from the brink. Have some respect and educate yourselves.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:31 PM

FG fool, this will be you last stand with general Enda Custard Kenny leading the charge.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:34 AM

I’ll tell you what shouldn’t exist … Ministers !! Especially out of touch ones with scary smiles and big fat salaries and pensions . ( which basically covers the lot of them )

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:41 AM

Yeah the accountants and economists should be the ones running the country.

Mute Seafra O'Cathain
    Favourite Seafra O'Cathain
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:23 PM

The proposed/suspected cut in the private pension levy will have no effect on workers pockets – scheme providers will just tell you it will reduce the burden/pressure on the scheme. So nothing really there for workers in that respect.

An increase in child benefits – FFS, could we not scrap this social welfare payment an introduce a proper children’s tax credit and/or at least try to means test it. Sick of contributing to the costs of bringing up other people’s children.

Top tax rate to be cut – middle to low income earners are not really going to benefit as much as high earners.

I have no kids and don’t earn enough to be effected by the 1% top rate cut. I’m in the verge of insolvency, if the USC bands aren’t widened far enough to give me 10-20euro at least a week extra take home I’m screwed. But sure, I’m not in the select demographics (lab for the social welfare and FG for the top layers) so I don’t matter.

Sorry, bit of a rant. Carry on

Mute Ian Doyle
    Favourite Ian Doyle
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:12 AM

Buying votes?

They were elected on the campaign of lies we were subject to at the time. They then screwed us over at every turn. A reversal is the least they should do.

But as with every “vote buying budget” for every five euro joe soap benefits, higher earners benefit by twenty.

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:31 AM

“for every five euro joe soap benefits, higher earners benefit by twenty.” – That is how percentages usually work, yes.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Favourite Giovanni Giusti
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:33 AM

sure because the reason the AAA wants to keep giving us Dubliners clean water from our taps for free is not electioneering, no sirree

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:37 AM

That’s because the higher earners make 40 euro, pay 25 to the government in tax, who then give 5 to joe soap.

What’s not to like if you are a socialist?

Mute Ian Doyle
    Favourite Ian Doyle
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:08 PM

I understand percentage perfectly.

Most people dont earn enough to reach a higher tax bracket so they are gettng no benefit from a reduction in that.

Everyone would get the benefit of a lowering of the lower tax bracket. Both higher and lower earners.

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:55 PM

Giovanni Giusti, Have a look at the link below.

https://scontent-a-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10676314_828145853904412_1187431870302380397_n.jpg?oh=03742f113e213deaca503e58007e9e32&oe=54B5C1C6

Please stop making a fool of yourself by saying Irish people have free water.

Mute Eddie Binbags
    Favourite Eddie Binbags
    Oct 14th 2014, 10:31 AM

Budget budget mo mudget bana nana fo fudget
    Me my mo mudget
    BUDGET!

Mute Ben Thomas
    Favourite Ben Thomas
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:05 AM

A bloody Nespresso store….when will we learn.

Aspirational, rubbish, snob coffee. You get better and cheaper from a good bag of ground coffee in a plunger.

But…. you have to wait a few minutes for it to be ready….. AHHHHH

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:20 AM

You will have. Heard of the Boston tea party ? Well in protest ye should have the Dublin Nespresso party and feck all the Nespresso in to the Liffey . In protest against notions, the budget , taxes and fog .

Mute Seamus MacIonnrachtaigh
    Favourite Seamus MacIonnrachtaigh
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:52 PM

How about a “Knob Tax” on anyone who brags about how well off they are on The Journal?

Mute Ciaran Dixon
    Favourite Ciaran Dixon
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:46 PM

That scam that is the Universal Social Club sandwich charge should of been wiped out years ago!!

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:14 AM

Protesters already outside the Dail, giving out about the budget and the EU omg.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:51 AM

Oh one of them is in the article already, didnt see that, lol I’m like a journalist.

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Oct 14th 2014, 4:18 PM

The 11% USC on high earning self employed is disgusting. Of course they wouldn’t levy it on the high earners in the public sector.

Mute Dee Hamilton
    Favourite Dee Hamilton
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:02 PM

They should give us back €30 euro that they already took from us for child benefit. €5 is nothing to what they took from us (€30).give us back the amount you took from the child benefit.

Mute Munster2014
    Favourite Munster2014
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:20 PM

The sense of entitlement is strong in this one. Just be grateful you get any payment at all for them. There are those of us who don’t have kids, that don’t have the luxury of state payments every month and have had a lot more than €30 taken from us.

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:29 PM

Here’s another one. Typical moaner. Moan when there’s tax hikes. Moan when you get a little back. When deciding if you could afford to have children did you honestly take into account the monthly child benefit?

Mute Sharon Reid
    Favourite Sharon Reid
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:30 PM

Should be made into a tax credit instead encourage more back to work

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:41 PM

For the record for most the 30 euro was taken away with a hell of a lot more as no one just has kids in isolation. Most have had cuts or charges to deal with alongside child benefit cuts . That is unless you are super rich . For the record we are very much entitled to moan . Especially about our elected representatives . Child benefit has been factored into the household income and it is missed when cuts are made . its not our fault other havent produced children. Also I paid taxes for 30 years paying taxes that no doubt covered a lot of the child benefit paid for a lot iof the people on here who havent had kids themselves . They were kids themselves once. Also child benefit should not be a tax credit as not everyone can work outside the home. Some of us ( carers) work very hard for our benefits and can’t take outside work as much as we would like to.

Mute Sharon Reid
    Favourite Sharon Reid
    Oct 14th 2014, 1:00 PM

One of the parents should be working Tax credit can go to them. No need to be married to transfer it I personally think it would be more beneficial as a tax credit those who really need it can claim it would make doing something like means tested much easier etc as well. Also means that it can’t be “taken out of country” so to speak foreign parents would have to be working in Ireland to claim it.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Oct 14th 2014, 3:59 PM

“We can go and face people on the doors now,” one Labour senator says
    Just don’t come to my door liars

Mute Ulle Lashes
    Favourite Ulle Lashes
    Oct 14th 2014, 12:54 PM

The double payment should be an illegal in EU. Also making you pay for something you are not using. First you have to pay the annual charges (even if your house is empty an you use 0 liters of water) and then you pay 4.66 per m3 (1000 liters) what is over the yearly allowance.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/water_services/water_charges.html tells us for single person they yearly charge is 176 euro and for this they get 30000 liters “for free”.
    How can they claim it is free??? You pay 176 euros for 30 m3 of water, making the m3 price 5,87 euros per cubic meter (and even more if you don’t use up your 30000 liters in a year)
    Water charges
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie

Mute Tony Keely
    Favourite Tony Keely
    Oct 14th 2014, 3:42 PM

Ha ha ha Joan thinks by giving people €5 extra on childs allowance they can go onto the doorsteps with confidence…….LABOUR party are going the way of the greens….lying to the people…..screwing us with all your taxes……I hope you come to my door in person…

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:53 PM

Noonan has a frog in his throat and a German in his ear

Mute Sheik Yerbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yerbouti
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:34 AM

Also if you have aspirations of joining An Garda Siochana the Communications Clinic can offer you the skills to ace the test. And it will only cost you €200.

http://gardaapplicationclinic.ie/

Mute Sheik Yerbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yerbouti
    Oct 14th 2014, 11:17 AM

So all comments about Terry Prone / Communications Clinic / Irish Times Apology / Karagh Fox / Govt advisory payments to Savage/ Prone are acceptable on this blog?

Mute anneke vrieling
    Favourite anneke vrieling
    Oct 14th 2014, 5:59 PM

Very good speech by Mary Lou McDonald. I’m not a member of Sinn Fein, never even voted for them (mainly because of their IRA connections) but she made some very very good clear points. It was totally unnecessary for Sean Barrett to interrupt her for simply looking at Enda Kenny, surely anyone speaking about the budget today would do that at least every now and then. Mary-Lou was right to comment this was biased on his part. And then for him to say: withdraw the remark or leave?? Would have loved to hear the rest of her speech. Sean Barrett’s should resign and be replaced with a truely impartial Ceann Comhairle!

Mute speak up
    Favourite speak up
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:43 PM

Here’s my budget predictions… Bullsh!t, bullsh!t, bullsh!t, PR equipped statements followed down the road by u turns on some unpopular decisions

Mute Aonghus Collins
    Favourite Aonghus Collins
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:01 PM

That’s not accurate, you’ve misread how it all works.

There is no standing charge, and a free allowance for a household of 30 kL. If you use less than this, you pay nothing.

The €176 figure is an assessed charge for people with no meters, and is based in an average consumption of 66 kL. If you have a meter you pay €4.88 per kL over 30kL used.

In the event of your unoccupied house with 0L usage, there’ll be no charges.

Hope this helps.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Oct 14th 2014, 5:25 PM

The water charges “double taxation” argument kinda goes out the window now with these tax cuts…

Mute Colin Treacy
    Favourite Colin Treacy
    Oct 14th 2014, 3:01 PM

Will someone please pass Michael Noonan a spit bucket… I think he’s about to hock over Brendan Howling..

Mute Rob Ben Jones
    Favourite Rob Ben Jones
    Oct 14th 2014, 5:49 PM

PRIVATE SECTOR Pension Levy is gone!
    Happy Days!

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:09 PM

He should have gone with the red tie, that’s my favourite colour.

Mute Rosie Murray
    Favourite Rosie Murray
    Oct 15th 2014, 12:01 AM

Poor nurses….any hint of a raise? :(

Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    Oct 14th 2014, 2:15 PM

Public pension levy remaining the same??

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Oct 15th 2014, 3:05 PM

‘Lads, lets bribe the elderly vote with €100 for water charges, that’ll keep us popular’