You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gareth Fuller/PA Wire/Press Association Images

'Irish link' to suspicious packages sent to UK army careers offices

UK Prime Minister David Cameron held an emergency government meeting after packages were sent to seven offices in England.

THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT held an emergency meeting Thursday after a string of crude explosive devices were sent to armed forces recruitment offices.

Prime Minister David Cameron chaired a meeting of the government’s COBRA emergencies committee after suspect packages were sent to seven offices in southeast England.

This evening, Sky News reports that at least one of packages is said to have had a Republic of Ireland postmark.

‘Crude

Counter-terrorism police are investigating and army bomb disposal units have been sent to assist.

A source said the devices were “crude” in design but “could have caused injury”.

An envelope was delivered to an office in Chatham and a package was found in Reading on Tuesday. Sky News television, citing sources, said they were small but viable explosive devices.

Another was discovered yesterday in the army town of Aldershot, while four more were found Thursday in Brighton, Canterbury, Oxford and Slough, the police’s South East Counter Terrorism Unit said.

Detective Superintendent Stan Gilmour.

The contents of the packages are suspicious in nature and will now be sent off for forensic examination.Even if the contents are determined to be a viable device they pose a very low-level threat and are unlikely to cause significant harm or damage.

A shopping centre in Slough to the west of London was temporarily evacuated, while cordons were placed close to all offices where packages were found.

“When a suspect package is reported we have a routine response which means we may need to evacuate the area if necessary until we can be sure it poses no threat to the public,” Gilmour said.

It is a necessary precaution until we know what we are dealing with.

A Ministry of Defence spokesman said security advice has been reiterated to its personnel, while the Royal Mail postal operator said it was co-operating with the police investigation.

Routine search

Meanwhile, in an incident thought to be unrelated, a suspicious package was found during a routine vehicle search at the gates of Mildenhall air station in eastern England, one of the major United States military airbases in Europe.

British bomb disposal units were called in and the item was determined to be a home-made firework.

A spokeswoman for the base said the device intercepted there “is not thought to be terrorist-related”.

- © AFP, 2012 with additional reporting by Aoife Barry

View 65 comments
65 Comments
    Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:09 PM

cowards who should be ashamed to call themselves Irish! They have nothing good to contribute to their country. No decent person wants to go back to this. Lived in Chatham for 5 years and got nothing but respect for being Irish from the English. There are are 100000s Irish people living and working there getting opportunities they couldn’t get in their own country!

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:15 PM

Relations between England and Ireland are the best they have ever been. These lowlifes wont change that.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:35 PM

Very true Marc

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:39 PM

Relations are only so good because shatter kenny and Gilmore act like good paddy’s around the queen.
    If things are so good why not open the Dublin/Monaghan files?

Feb 13th 2014, 9:14 PM

Doubt it’s Irish people.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:30 PM

Hope your right Jamie

Feb 13th 2014, 10:00 PM

Looks like i may be wrong.. just checked a couple of sites and it seems to be work of so-called dissident republicans. At least that’s what the cops in England are saying anyway.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 10:32 PM

It’s terrible isn’t it. I lived in Chatham. It’s a very working class area, very run down in parts but the people were always friendly towards the irish. Every second person I met claimed to have an irish connection. The army provides opportunities and employment to a lot of them in that part of England. Bad things happened on both sides but you have to move on. I get too bogged down with the negative comments here but when you lived in a place and see stuff like this it upsetting

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 10:32 PM

*it is upsetting

Feb 13th 2014, 10:55 PM

john it is what it is, sad and unnecessary but happening nonetheless. I wouldn’t say it’s any go at the ordinary decent English people though, more military/political related.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Feb 13th 2014, 11:14 PM

Id have thought dissidents would have claimed responsibility by now? No?

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:05 AM

Exactly John. The majority of Ireland do not want this.

Mute Eámonn John Ó HAodha
    Favourite Eámonn John Ó HAodha
    Feb 17th 2014, 3:13 PM

true

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Feb 13th 2014, 7:57 PM

So London Derry is in Ireland when it suits…

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Favourite Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:37 PM

hahaha excellent obsevration !!

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Feb 13th 2014, 7:50 PM

They should return them all to sender with some improvements made to the devices

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:07 PM

The gardai will probably be blamed for this too

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:50 PM

No this takes some intelligence, that lot are only good for tax and insurance end of story so don’t worry it’s defiantly not them

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:04 PM

Brilliant mart_n, love it.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:19 PM

What do you mean unnessarry garda bashing, u said they would probably be blamed for this, I said they wouldn’t , now you are saying they did not bug the office, it had to be them, only they could get caught, with all the cut backs, the only way the could bug anything is with one of them old tape recorders and microphones taped to the conference phone, it was bound to be noticed sooner or later, will ya whisttttttttt there now lad,

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:28 PM

I was being sarcastic. The gardai are getting blamed for everything. And yes you did point the finger straight away at the gardai over the gsoc incident and yes you are garda bashing for no reason by saying they are unintelligent and only useful for tax and insurance.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:39 PM

Boylan is that you, how’s that new lorry going for you, heard you got a few new trailers as well.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Feb 13th 2014, 10:19 PM

A stray comma seems to have infiltrated your stream-of-consciousness rant, posing a real threat of momentarily interrupting your vitriol.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 13th 2014, 7:54 PM

Yawn
    The British army is responsible for the deaths of hundred of thousand innocent civilians.
    Their war machine will match on and on and on.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Feb 14th 2014, 8:10 AM

Match on?

Mute Foxys Bicycle
    Favourite Foxys Bicycle
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:26 PM

Just because it’s from here does not mean it was sent by an Irish person or has anything to do with British occupation
    It could of been Ali babba over the Middle East

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:36 PM

@foxys your right & that’s the exactly what I thought when I read this but a lot of journal readers don’t think rationally about the stories so they just jump to the first conclusion with the burn them at the stake attitude.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:51 PM

Carefully there foxy, jihad jane will come after you, death to all infidels lalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalal

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:53 AM

In fairness if it has an Irish postmark it’s more like an Irish terrorist than a Taliban terrorist.

Mute Some Feen
    Favourite Some Feen
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:25 AM

Since when do terrorists try to blow shit up for someone else’s cause?

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:29 AM

Also be realistic. People may want a united Ireland but let’s not get crazy and talk about british occupation. Northern Ireland is part of the UK because the majority want to be British. Whether us in Ireland agree or not doesn’t matter. It’s a question for those in NI and them only. If that changes and the majority want to be irish then that’s what will happen. Feck political crap!

Feb 17th 2014, 3:16 PM

Somebody didn’t stay awake in history class.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:31 PM

I hope these morons are caught, they aren’t representing the people of Ireland.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 13th 2014, 11:51 PM

But they do…in their own twisted way….go away Republicans…

Mute conventional
    Favourite conventional
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:51 PM

Calm down everyone! Just because Sky News reports that at least one of the packages is “said” to have a RoI postmark doesn’t mean we should all panic. Let’s wait and see what it’s all about….

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 13th 2014, 7:53 PM

Can’t be any from the Irish, as bad as they are they don’t do crude,

Mute Tír Eoghain de Búrca
    Favourite Tír Eoghain de Búrca
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:54 PM

Alot of self hating “Paddy,s” on here!!!!!

Mute Paul FitzGerald
    Favourite Paul FitzGerald
    Feb 14th 2014, 7:09 AM

A fair few armchair republicans as well.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 14th 2014, 7:49 PM

A lot of d&#^#£^d$ on here to like yourself Tír Eoghan. Defining your Irishhness on how much you hate the British. Very mature attitude to have!

Feb 17th 2014, 3:17 PM

he said anything why are you jumping to a conclusion.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:05 PM

Yawn to you too John Smith if that is your name, yawn too to 800 years of oppression, British war machine, god I’m falling asleep here.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:13 PM

Its not that long ago that F.A.S offices where encouraging this behavour. The behavour of joining the Brittish Armed forces that is ( not making parcel bombs ).

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 9:13 PM

Here here!!

Mute Daniel O Farrell
    Favourite Daniel O Farrell
    Feb 13th 2014, 11:09 PM

Aging lothario go read history books and they’ll tell you the Brits killed more people throughout the world their a bunch of war mongering machines them and the yanks

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:22 AM

Oh come on, this anti british crap is getting old in 2014. This is an article about Irish terrorists sending letter bombs and people can try and justify it? Shameful.

Feb 13th 2014, 9:12 PM

This is probably some Islamic loo-laas and nothing to do with Ireland.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:56 AM

In fairness the reports are saying they had irish postmarks. I’m sure 99% would thankfully want to distance themselves from crap like this though.

Mute JB
    Favourite JB
    Feb 13th 2014, 10:14 PM

There are people out there who will resist British oppression by any means neccessary.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 13th 2014, 10:37 PM

What British oppression! Like Northern Ireland’s free British national health service, fairer taxes on workers, a more stable economy! Oh yes the people are so oppressed in 2014! The republic we love in is the Mecca of freedom where you are taxed to the neck, and politicians who arnt even accountable to wipe their own arses! Get over yourself.

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Feb 13th 2014, 11:45 PM

These bombs could have killed innocent people including Irish and British postal workers.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:23 AM

British oppression? Eh … What does that mean?

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:51 AM

It’s embarrassing as an Irish person in England to be associated with this however slightly even if it’s from Ireland or Northern Ireland. I walked past the armed forces careers office the other day when the bomb disposal unit were outside and didn’t think much of it. What utter idiots. How can anyone justify sending letter bombs?

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:56 AM

It is not only embarrassing but it can also be dangerous if you are anywhere near one of theses fiendish devices either when they are in transit via the postal system or after they have reached their destination. If they are identified as originating from Ireland, then it is bad news for Ireland and Irish people both at home or in the UK. Let us hope these criminals will be caught.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:02 AM

I’ve an appointment at one of the forces career offices soon and I have to say I feel a bit awkward about going in now with an Irish accent after terrorists from Ireland (or so it seems at least) sent them letter bombs. I’m sure they realise that almost irish people are decent people but these idiots do help anyone.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:04 AM

Stupid autocorrect. *most irish people are decent and they don’t help anyone

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 14th 2014, 6:32 AM

Don’t feel awkward James. Go in and just be yourself. There are loads of irish people in the army over already

Mute Al O Reilly
    Favourite Al O Reilly
    Feb 14th 2014, 9:17 AM

Typical comments from west Brit Dubs

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Feb 14th 2014, 4:25 PM

Oh drag out the old West Brit line again, which sad wannabe armchair republicans in this country drag out any time people do not agree with their pathetic anti British comments. Grow up lads, the war is over, and Britain if anything is one of our best friends in the world.

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 14th 2014, 7:58 PM

Lothario well said! Every country has its few eejets

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Feb 14th 2014, 7:59 PM

Yea Al I’d say you contributed a lot to the ’cause’……. NOT

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 13th 2014, 11:45 PM

We elect their relatives and friends to the Dail. It says a lot about the Irish. They don’t represent me or any of my family and friends.

Mute Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Favourite Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Feb 14th 2014, 8:30 AM

All of the criminal gangs of the IRA etc are in the UK. It is clearly their problem not ours.

Feb 17th 2014, 3:21 PM

why so many down votes he is right.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Feb 14th 2014, 3:30 PM

A lot of plastic paddies on here. Be off and don’t bother us with your free state rethoric. Btw this was too amateur to be done by Republicans. Probably done by a bored kid.

Mute bilbo baggings
    Favourite bilbo baggings
    Sep 5th 2015, 4:53 PM

THIOCFIDH AR LA!!!!!