You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish man convinces Scandinavian company to put tricolour on crisp packs

The packets feature a story about an Irish man who created the salt and vinegar flavour with a Union Jack printed underneath and Niall Mullins wasn’t having any of it.

AN IRISH MAN living in Sweden has convinced a well-known Scandinavian company to replace the Union Jack flag on their crisp packaging with the tricolour.

The packets of salt and vinegar crisps produced by Estrella feature a story of an Irish man – Joe ‘Spud’ Murphy – who was the first in the world to come up with the cheese and onion and salt and vinegar flavours. Just under the story, however, there is a Union Jack.

Niall Mullins, who moved to Sweden in 2001, has been irked by the crisps for years and this week  he decided to write the company a strongly worded email.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie he said, “I suppose they just broke me one day, I just got a bit mischievous because I had time on my hands and I didn’t expect an answer from them but they got back to me within two days.”

In email correspondence, Estrella apologised “profusely” for the mistake and said it will “correct this as soon as the next batch goes to print”.

Mullins said he’s looking forward to seeing the first pack with the Irish flag on it and is hoping the company will send him a few freebies for pointing out their error.

It’s likely to be a few months before the new packs hit the shelves so we’ve created a mock-up of what they might look like. Maybe Estrella will spot it and model the new design on ours…

Read: A definitive ranking of Irish crisps, from worst to best>

Read: Happy National Potato Day! Here are 7 interesting facts about the humble spud>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:44 PM

That mock-up is almost as brilliant as the painting in Spain that that old woman ‘refurbished’.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:45 PM

Thanks Rory, I put a lot of work into it.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:57 PM

Well done Michelle. It even looks like it’s waving! You’re wasting your time as a journalist. No, I mean it…you are!

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:03 PM

Great comment great story well done guys

Mute Tonybeegood
    Favourite Tonybeegood
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:21 PM

It’d be so much better Michelle if you could learn the difference between the Union Jack and Union Flag. I think you’ll find it’s latter. But that would actually be good journalism then…

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:26 PM

Says Tonybeegood – the famous Pulitzer prize-winning Tonybeegood.

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:42 PM

Killjoy.

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:43 PM

I meant Tony = Killjoy.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:17 PM

Tony’s wrong: http://www.flaginstitute.org/wp/british-flags/the-union-jack-or-the-union-flag/
    “It is often stated that the Union Flag should only be described as the Union Jack when flown in the bows of a warship, but this is a relatively recent idea.”
    If you’re going to be pedantic, at least be sure you’re right. Otherwise you just look foolish…

Mute Tonybeegood
    Favourite Tonybeegood
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:30 PM

Ignoreland, does this look like a f*ckin’ warship to you? If not, then I’m actually right.

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:32 PM

You’re an angry little man, aren’t you.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:35 PM

Tony, again the link shown states that Union Jack and Union Flag were and are one and the same thing. it was only recently that people thought there must be a difference between the two. However, if you’d clicked on the link and read it you would see that the link concludes with the following words: ‘Such use was given Parliamentary approval in 1908 when it was stated that “the Union Jack should be regarded as the National flag”.’
    So there is no difference between the two.

Mute Tonybeegood
    Favourite Tonybeegood
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:36 PM

I’m glad to see that Michelle has taken my advice and changed it from Union Jack to Union Flag. Happy to do your job for you. My invoice is in the post.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:37 PM

@Tony. I think you should have read the quoted text. Here you go: “It is often stated that the Union Flag should only be described as the Union Jack when flown in the bows of a warship, but this is a relatively recent idea. From early in its life the Admiralty itself frequently referred to the flag as the Union Jack, whatever its use, and in 1902 an Admiralty Circular announced that Their Lordships had decided that either name could be used officially. Such use was given Parliamentary approval in 1908 when it was stated that “the Union Jack should be regarded as the National flag”.” Kinda blows your counter-argument out of the water doesn’t it?

Mute Mags Louth
    Favourite Mags Louth
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:41 PM

Might be worthwhile sending him up North. Solve the olde flag issue once and for all.

Mute Tonybeegood
    Favourite Tonybeegood
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:48 PM

Common usage of the wrong term (i.e. Union Jack) is through simple ignorance. I’m just trying to do my beat to educate the people on here, whether they are the author or the readers.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:52 PM

I see what you did there David….warship…blown out of the water…..bravo!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:56 PM

Tongue in cheek Michelle… ;-)

Mute Ian Drohan
    Favourite Ian Drohan
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:05 PM

Miserable git.

Mute Eileen Roche
    Favourite Eileen Roche
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:06 PM

Yes, and a big ‘WELL DONE” to Niall Mullens.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:08 PM

Tony, I’m after posting a link showing that you’re wrong. Thinking there’s a difference between Union Jack and Union Flag is just something people trying to sound smart bring up, when in actuality there’s no difference. If you were to ever go on QI, Stephen Fry would have the buzzer lying in wait for you.

Mute Jamie Ryan
    Favourite Jamie Ryan
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:10 PM

Badass over here.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:58 PM

Tiny = troll!! And stop feeding him!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:01 PM

Sorry should be Tony. On second thoughts though, Tiny might be aporopriate?

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:29 PM

Jack it in, Tony you pedant!

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:42 PM

“I’m trying to do my beat to educate the people on here” ??????
    If you are going to write down a comment like that, then maybe you should proof read it first you clown.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:15 PM

Gary…he might just be a Rastaman doin’ his beat mon!

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:05 AM

@ tonybegood

the Union Jack is also often called ” the butchers apron”

Mute Larry Ryan
    Favourite Larry Ryan
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:21 AM

@tonybegood I think its the English flag that’s known as the butchers apron and not the British flag as you wrote.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:24 AM

Your actually a tosser

Mute Jeff O'Reilly
    Favourite Jeff O'Reilly
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:22 AM

Another flag bites the dust Tony!

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:17 AM

Why make all that fuss about the British flag! Who cares? Just think about the person who put the Scandinavians right! Éire go breá!

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:37 PM

I love you Harry! ;)

Mute mark mccann
    Favourite mark mccann
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:37 PM

“do my beat to educate”

Brilliant job you’re doing, I’ll do my beat as well.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Favourite Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:49 AM

they might shoot him
    that would shut his big mouth once and for all

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:51 PM

Well done to this man. Its only correct for him to point out the error allowing it to be rectified. Well done to the company in question to be open enough to take the criticism & correct the mistake.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:05 PM

Thanks dude;)

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:53 AM

well done to this man ?

arguing about a packet of crisps

he sounds like the kind of fella who gets a glass smashed into his face some day
    and everybody in the pub will say
    too good for him
    he got what was coming to him

Mute MonaghanRichie
    Favourite MonaghanRichie
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:44 PM

Well done Niall. Anything successful from Our Shores the brits try to claim.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:53 PM

The crisps are Swedish…

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:51 PM

And we claim anything Swedish.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:30 PM

Ikea was originally called O’Kea and was founded by 2 brothers from Leitrim until the Swedes bought them out in a hostile takeover…

Mute Carl O Maolain
    Favourite Carl O Maolain
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:15 PM

The Swedes are able to produce said flavoured crisps because of an Irishman and give credit to him for it.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:51 AM

they got the oil
    they got the gas and we go around like fools boasting we ‘got rid’ of them

Mute Liv Dunne
    Favourite Liv Dunne
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:53 PM

Ah, now I want a crisp sandwich! Batch loaf with spreadable kerrygold and a mug of Lyons tea!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:09 PM

sexual

Mute denism
    Favourite denism
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:17 PM

Lyons tea is an English company Barry’s is your only man

Mute Liv Dunne
    Favourite Liv Dunne
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:39 PM

Haha… But I prefer Lyons extra strong tea!!

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:49 PM

Lyons tea is the only tea.

Mute Adrian Rochford
    Favourite Adrian Rochford
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:53 PM

There’s no such thing as Irish tea. Unless you can tell me what county it’s growing in

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:54 PM

Never been in a supermarket then Pauric….

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:00 PM

Lyons is owned by Unilever which is a Dutch company. Sorry to be pedantic.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:05 PM

You can still drink Lyons tea Pauric, even if it’s Dutch. Their Orange flavoured tea is lovely!!

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:47 PM

Bewleys tea is the best

Mute Johnny Ace
    Favourite Johnny Ace
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:19 PM

I wouldn’t switch to Bewleys for all the teeth in China.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:26 PM

Is that your ” biting” wit Johnny or just a typo?!

Mute Johnny Ace
    Favourite Johnny Ace
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:41 PM

That’s a lot of teeth. Who wouldn’t want a load of teeth?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:12 AM

i guess we can’t admit we like it.. unless it was made in ireland

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:45 PM

Heartbreaking news to Patrick Lyons, I’m sure.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:48 PM

I think I am having a nervous breakdown Seán. I will have to seek medical treatment.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:59 PM

Pack of tayto will sort you pauric.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:31 PM

You could have a packet of Kings crisps instead. Made by the Tayto co. but maybe more palatable to your particular tastes. :0

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:48 PM

King crisps it is then Dylan. Good thinking!

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:57 PM

King crisps made with British Queens…

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:27 PM

“I suppose they just broke me one said, I just got a bit mischievous because I had time on my hands and I didn’t expect an answer from them but they got back to me within two days.”
    Can anyone explain the first 8 words of that sentence?

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:53 PM

Confused me too. He must have been speaking Swedish and it was lost in translation.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:58 PM

I think he meant to say “I suppose they just broke me one day”. Typo.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:15 AM

he must have been talking through his ho**

could only be irish

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:29 PM

Well done Niall. The tricolor will definitely increase sales like the pubs here in Florida with Irish names owned by Brits and Americans. There’s one changed from Linksters to The Paddy Wagon with no Irish connection, another one called Murphy’s used mainly by Brits, The Leprachaun, owned by a Dub man same owner as the one on International Drive is full of hillbillies ..Irish names definitely do attract customers

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Aug 24th 2013, 11:21 PM

They can eat them with corned beef and cabbage.

Mute Seán Tynan
    Favourite Seán Tynan
    Aug 24th 2013, 3:54 PM

1-0

Mute Amy Ní Chaoimh
    Favourite Amy Ní Chaoimh
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:19 PM

I was so happy when Estrella brought out Salt & Vinegar flavour. The Swedes are not crazy about vinegar.

Mute Brendan Mc Hynes
    Favourite Brendan Mc Hynes
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:51 PM

I love a good crisp story, keep the crisp stories coming…

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:13 PM

“X Tea is the best”
    “Y Crisps are the best”
    As Clint Eastwood said :
    Opinions are like a55holes – everyone
    Has one …

Mute Rory O'Brien
    Favourite Rory O'Brien
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:27 PM

I love when these stories get taken over by the squabbling opinions being posted! It’s like a written word soap opera and I can’t get enough of it! Feck the crisps story!

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:29 PM

Actually prefer Ruairi myself ;)

Mute Niall Gilmartin
    Favourite Niall Gilmartin
    Aug 24th 2013, 4:55 PM

God we really do have little to be worrying about in this country, will we ever ever move on???

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:01 PM

Fair play to yer man. Spud Murphy was Irish & not British so it’s right that the Irish flag goes with his name & not the UK flag.

Mute Carl O Maolain
    Favourite Carl O Maolain
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:17 PM

We have this country, and our flag, because Irishman and women fought and suffered for it. You should respect that.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:04 AM

michael collins was a fool
    he died for nothing

if he saw what ireland,, has become he would puke

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:05 AM

fair play to yer man arguing over a pack of crisps ?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:16 AM

we got rid of FF and look what we have now

independents and SF

no wonder this country has gone down the drain

Mute Muldvarp
    Favourite Muldvarp
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:23 PM

It’s this kind of small minded pettiness that keeps Ireland where it is.

Mute Carl O Maolain
    Favourite Carl O Maolain
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:19 PM

How is it small minded pettiness?

Mute marcus de paor
    Favourite marcus de paor
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:32 PM

And why is it small minded and petty to ask for accurate representation in advertising ?…how about if someone in another country is selling something that’s got its origins in Sweden uses the finnish or Danish flag. … is that ok? ….. we are irish and have an irish flag not the union Jack

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:03 AM

imagine how stupid you have to be to argue about a pack of crisps ?

will somebody put on a pair of steel toe working boots and give that pathetic loser a running kick into the stones ?

Mute kev
    Favourite kev
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:44 PM

First Belfast city hall now this . Our poor wee fleag .

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:24 AM

you could use the flag like a towel
    after you wash the blood off your hands

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:34 PM

Now we know who to name the new bridge after!

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:19 PM

Lol! Excellent. I’m presuming you mean Joe “spud” Murphy! ?:)

Mute Carl O Maolain
    Favourite Carl O Maolain
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:27 PM

The Niall Mullins Bridge over the liffy..I like the sound of that. The heros of Ireland fought for the freedom of countries from tyranny, wrote Nobel prize winning poetry and novels, explored and discovered new lands or came closer to the south pole than any other, such is what qualifies you to be considered to have a bridge over the liffy named after you. Niall, on the other hand, writes an polite yet annoyed email to a crisp company and forwards it to the journal.ie.. brilliant.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 24th 2013, 9:49 PM

God loves a tryer Carl ;):)

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Aug 24th 2013, 11:44 PM

People in these countries don’t know the difference between the UK and Ireland and they really don’t care.
    I was asked once by a French guy “what’s the difference between UK and Ireland?”. I was lost for words.
    They really couldn’t care less what flag is on their crisps I’d say. It’ll make no difference to sales.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:22 AM

Aah but we can educate those who are ignorant! ..? Perhaps it is better to mix with people who have a little knowledge of overseas countries!

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Favourite Justin Donoghue
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:15 PM

You should’ve asked him what part of Vichy France he was from.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:59 AM

the only difference it will make
    is there will be an irish wan*** going around like
    boasting he set them right like

the brits blah blah blah

fu**ing idiot

Mute Niall Gilmartin
    Favourite Niall Gilmartin
    Aug 26th 2013, 2:59 PM

How very true Ger, loads of sad f**kers in this country who spend their every waking hour looking for reasons to slag off the Brits.

Mute Belly Up
    Favourite Belly Up
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:50 PM

Hello Michelle

Mute Áine Hynes
    Favourite Áine Hynes
    Aug 25th 2013, 5:11 AM

I like the cut of this man’s gib.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:57 AM

do you like rancheros ?

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:18 PM

The worst thing you could eat is crisps…

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:20 PM

I have tried nails but I would prefer crisps.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Aug 24th 2013, 5:22 PM

Crisps > dog poo

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:49 PM

often noticed it but always presumed salt n vinegar was english in origin.funnily enough many swedes really dislike salt n vinegar crisps.

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Aug 24th 2013, 7:18 PM

Whats All this about Crisps there Taytos not crisps as everyone knows !

Mute @shaneorigan
    Favourite @shaneorigan
    Aug 24th 2013, 6:51 PM

Any chance to see the email he sent??

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 24th 2013, 8:35 PM

Send me your email and I can personally forward it to you. Think you should be able to access my Facebook through here so pm me.