You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
TEXAS GOVERNOR Greg Abbott has told the Irish acts who have pulled out of the South By Southwest (SXSW) festival in the state not to come back.
The SXSW festival in Texas has defended its sponsorship by the US army in the wake of music acts pulling out in protest.
All 10 acts from the island of Ireland have now pulled out of the arts festival in Austin, Texas due to the US army being a “super sponsor” of the event.
In total, more than 80 artists and multiple panellists have cancelled their involvement in the festival, according to the Texas Tribune.
The festival has responded, saying that it “fully respects the decision these artists made to exercise their right to free speech”.
It addressed a post by Texas Governor Greg Abbott, who said of the bands: “Bye. Don’t come back… We are proud of the US military in Texas. If you don’t like it, don’t come here.”
The festival said it did not agree with the Republican Governor and that it is an organisation that welcomes diverse viewpoints.
“Across the globe, we are witnessing unspeakable tragedies, the rise of repressive regimes, and the increasing spread of violent conflict. It’s more crucial than ever that we come together to solve these greater humanitarian issues,” the festival wrote on social media.
“The defense industry has historically been a proving ground for many of the systems we rely on today. These institutions are often leaders in emerging technologies, and we believe it’s better to understand how their approach will impact our lives,” it said.
“The Army’s sponsorship is part of our commitment to bring forward ideas that shape our world. In regard to Collins Aerospace, they participated this year as a sponsor of two SXSW Pitch categories, giving entrepreneurs visibility and funding for potentially game-changing work.
“We have and will continue to support human rights for all. The situation in the Middle East is tragic, and it illuminates the heightened importance of standing together against injustice.”
We are an organization that welcomes diverse viewpoints. Music is the soul of SXSW, and it has long been our legacy. We fully respect the decision these artists made to exercise their right to free speech.
Minister for Arts and Culture Catherine Martin, who is in the US as part of ministerial trips abroad for St Patrick’s Day, is due to attend the festival.
She said yesterday that she respects artists’ decision to pull out but that she will still be in attendance to “promote Ireland’s creative industries”.
Taoiseach Leo Varadkar was asked about artists boycotting the event while he was in Washington D.C., responding that it is not the policy of the Irish government to boycott events.
A message shared by Kneecap while in NY as part of US tour.
Kneecap, one of the Irish acts that pulled out, said the decision was an effort to “highlight the unacceptable deep link the festival has to weapons companies and the US military, who at this very moment are enabling a genocide and famine against a trapped population”.
Speaking to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, one of the rap trio’s members, Mo Chara, said they made the decision to pull out of the event “because it’s good to be on the right side of history”.
Responding to Minister Martin’s decision to attend the festival, Mo Chara said: “We’re not here to speak on behalf of other people or say who should and shouldn’t go. We were only making the decision based on us.
“I know the Minister was saying she was going to support Irish acts, I think she’ll be standing at the Irish stage on her own seeing as there are no acts playing anymore, but if she’s using her platform to speak out against it then all the power to her.”
Mo Chara said Martin has not contacted Kneecap regarding their decision to pull out of the festival.
English singer Rachel Chinouriri is one of the latest acts to pull out, saying she was “horrified to see things such as ‘army inspired yoga’ and ‘army functional fitness’ as some activities you can take part in at SXSW”.
Taoiseach Leo Varadkar was asked about artists boycotting the event while he was in Washington D.C., responding that it is not the policy of the Irish government to boycott events.
With reporting by Hayley Halpin
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein fighting with each other to splutter the greatest populist outrage. The issue is very straightforward, about a quarter of pensioners have been failing to declare income for tax purposes. This came to light because under THIS government, for the first time, the Dept fo Social Protection has finally begun to talk to Revenue about pension/social welfare income. Under FF, no such co-ordination ever took place.
Those indentified as owing tax will be dealt with in the same professional way that Revenue tends to deal with these issues. No-one’s going to be left on the bread line because of this. It’s time FF and SF, rather than bang the populist drum, actually took some tome out to think of the vast majority of pensioners who did declare additional income and who were fully tax-complaint. Or do SF and FF think these pensioners should be treated as fools for payihg the correct level of tax?
In all honesty there argument is about how the situation has been handled bot that these people are going to be hit! SF has said the revenue commission and the government should of made people aware of the situation before dumping this new tax onto them and FF are asking how long has the government been aware of the situation without letting there pensioners know!
@Daryl … wouldn’t agree with that interpretation, I’m afraid. It’s a typical political tactic by FF & SF. When you haven’t got anything meaningful to say about the substantive issue, then complain about the modalities.
The problem is this government will spend thousands to collect the fiver that it believes that it is owed. What the right thing to do would be to issue a general amnesty, cut the losses and improve the system, move on.
Couldnt agree more, and i think its totally wrong the way this FG/Labour government have handld this … They could at least have gone on the airwaves and let folks know what a screw up they had made and warn folks that this is coming … and they should have drawn a line under their own mismaagement and told folks that it will be a forward taxation, ie no impact to those that were unervalued by the Government and Revenues prior to this. How fair is it, that we have folks in their 80′s and 90′s getting letters to say that they are not tax complaint and owe the government back tax… ??? Bloody sickening as far as i am concenerned bg FG and Labour. And these are the same two parties in opposition that would have screamed the house down over this same treatment of old age pensioners ……
Well said lads. This government is making me sick. They will spend countless hours collecting “cents” when if they want “euros” all they have to do is introduce a fairer method of taxation. But they won’t they’ll continue to spread “doom and gloom” and we’ll be called “begrudgers”. I couldn’t give a sh!t. Can’t shut us all up.
Agree. Well, mostly. Discomforted by patronising references to folk in their 80s and 90s. It is possible to be 90 and extremely well off and be non-tax compliant…
Joe Sixtwo
You are spot on . Draw a line , get people tax compliant from today and MOVE ON….. God Almighty it is so tiring stating the obvious ….. It will cost nothing and bring in revenue immediately .
Cal Mooney
You are right
It is awful to think of very elderly / more vulnerable individuals getting these letters …. Heartless fools that sent them out.
Reada
We wont be shut up !!
Why should pensioners with large private income not pay tax on their benefits from Social Protection. If you become unemployed, your unemployment benefit under PRSi is taxable so why not pensions. If you are on a 3 day week your benefit is taxable. WHY NOT HAVE ALL FILE A TAX RETURN EACH YEAR STATING TOTAL INCOME FROM WHATEVER SOURCE INCLUDING UNEMPLOYMENT , CHILDREN’S ALLOWANCE AND RENT ALLOWANCE OR WHATEVER, THEN EVERYONE WOULD BE TAX COMPLIANT. IT IS ABOUT TIME DSP SENT INFORMATION TO REVENUE. WELL DONE
Maura
Why you ask ….. Because people who have worked all of their lives AND saved and contributed to private pensions to have a comfortable retirement have already paid taxes, now if the revenue want to chase after cents then do so , but from today . The government are not fools . Look at the bigger picture and ask yourself why they want us all arguing over this . They are deflecting our attention from all the other stuff that is happening…
In the great tradition of FF turn one section of society on another hence everyones eye off the ball cudos to you FG/Lab didn’t take ye long to learn but hey ye have been learning from FF for 10+ years.
Thanks Billy. To read some of the other posters here it seems that people not declaring their income for tax purposes is ALL the government’s fault. The old habits of not playing by the rules go deep, supported by the cynical populism of FF & SF. Those of us who do play by the rules are treated as mugs. No more, I’m afraid. It’s time we took our country back from the cute hoors.
That is not true Desmond. We’re just sick of the order that this shower in government take.
I love paying tax. I love the fact that it pays our teachers, nurses, Gardaí, unemployed, those on social welfare and anyone in need. What I don’t appreciate is paying it into a big black bank hole!
Let’s be very careful about the ageist types of comments and the need to protect elderly cuddly pensioner types……….after all Mr Fingleton is over seventy and Sean Quinn is somewhere in his mid sixties if I’m not mistaken!
My widowed Mother is 84 and is tax compliant , but she is not fully compus mentus (excuse any misspelling) and as such she would be so worried and upset if she opened a letter like this, she would worry about it for ever . It is a disgraceful move by the revenue . They well know how to check up without causing unnecessary worry . Of course people should pay their dues but if they have not and they are genuinely ignorant of the ”crime” then draw a line and start from today… Not all non compliant pensioners are in the same financial brackets as S Quinn or mr Fingleton!!!
By the way Reada your tone is unusually offensive for a woman and how would you know that the current activity of the Revenue is seeking out “cents” when non payment of taxes on contributory State pensions where the recipient already exceeds the threshold would run into thousands in any one year.
Your further criticism of the Government implies that they direct the Revenue authorities on a day to day basis.
Would you like to reconsider your rant?
Mark. I get a bit annoyed at times but I don’t think that my being a female should deter me from expressing my anger. Do i detect a bit of sexism there. I tend to shoot from the hip when I see these scoundrels and the order in which they chose to reform the system.
And thanks for the invitation Mark but I’ll pass on the invitation to reconsider. I meant every word of it.
Reada you recently commented on the idea that most readers have no idea that your name is actually female and therefor much of your overexcited commentaries may well be viewed as male like! It is not inappropriate to consider many of your rants as aggressive.
Indeed I was much more concerned at your gross misunderstanding of the duties and responsibilities of officials within the Revenue Authorities and the rather silly idea that they work on the day to day direction, supervision and control of the Government.
The constant criticism from many quarters that public servants are less than diligent is belied by this particular issue where they have evidence of tax evasion or non payment and protect tax paying citizens and the State by doing their duty. How can you possibly find fault with that and then load your vulgar hostility on the Government of the day?
Still no room for a recant?
Mark Rodgers
Why are you being so defensive of such an outrageous decision by the revenue commissioners ? I am amazed at the lack of empathy of so many people on this thread for people who have worked all their lives AND contributed towards their own retirement plan… I just do not understand the attitudes displayed .
No recant necessary Mark. I mean what I say and I say what I mean. I’ve already responded to Desmond above. But ftr I am a very proud Irishwoman and I love my country very much.
I am one of those people who consider it a privilege to pay tax. As I said to Desmond. I love paying tax. I love the fact that it pays our teachers, nurses, Gardaí, unemployed, those on social welfare and anyone in need. What I don’t appreciate is paying it into a big black bank hole!
Israel bombs Beirut and sites across South Lebanon after alleged Hezbollah rocket attack
Niall O'Connor
Updated
1 hr ago
Homelessness
Number of people in emergency accommodation reaches record 15,378, including 4,653 children
Updated
4 mins ago
Kenmare
'Extremely concerned': Gardaí and Michael Gaine's family make missing person appeal in Kerry
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say