You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Crowds watch the ships as they sail out of Dublin Harbour on Sunday. Julien Behal/PA Wire

Tall Ships Festival in Dublin welcomed 1.15 million visitors

Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport hailed the four-day festival as a “huge achievement and success”.

THE 40-STRONG FLEET of Tall Ships sailed out of Dublin yesterday following their brief stopover at the capital.

The ships were led out of Dublin Port by the Irish Naval Service’s LE Emer and their departure was marked by a 21-gun salute from the Defence Forces at the mouth of the Liffey.

Hundreds of thousands of people gathered in the city centre and in Dun Laoghaire and Howth to catch a glimpse of the ships before they left Irish waters.

According to the organisers of the four-day Tall Ships Festival, a total of 1.15 million people visited the Dublin event. So many people turned out for the final day of celebrations on Sunday that organisers said certain events would have to be curtailed due to the unexpected demand.

Festival director Mary Weir said the event had been a “resounding success for Dublin city”. She thanked Dublin City Council, Dublin Port, the event’s sponsors and all of the workers, volunteers and suppliers who helped to bring the festival to the Dublin quays.

“We were delighted to see the docklands full of visitors both young and old enjoying themselves and visiting the magnificent Tall Ships who have been on an incredible journey,” she added. “We wish them well on their next voyage and hope to see them return to our capital city in the near future.”

Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport Leo Varadkar said that the festival was a “huge achievement and success”.

“The festival has been great for the city and tourism,” he said.

In pictures: Defence Forces’ 21-gun salute to the Tall Ships >

In photos: Readers pics from the Tall Ships Festival in Dublin >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Dylan Dublin
    Favourite Dylan Dublin
    Aug 27th 2012, 8:38 AM

There is one left and that is due to leave today (Monday )
    – the Americo Vespucci . The best of them all.

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Aug 27th 2012, 1:56 PM

Does anyone know what time it leaves, i heard 5pm but im not sure.

Mute Ned stark
    Favourite Ned stark
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:23 AM

Jaysus the moaners are out early today.

The whole event from Thursday to Sunday was a huge success. Well done to all involved.

Mute Geraldine Lawlor
    Favourite Geraldine Lawlor
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:42 AM

It’s Monday and it’s raining they have nothing else to do but moan :)

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Aug 27th 2012, 7:30 AM

What a load of crap, finished at 2 o clock on the best day weather wise,

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 27th 2012, 8:00 AM

Yeh really spoiled your fun… Heaven forbid we actually let the ships leave at a reasonable time and before the sea conditions worsened… Donal, I just want you to remember, that you are the most important person in these affairs and your needs should come before all others…

Mute Paul Kane
    Favourite Paul Kane
    Aug 27th 2012, 8:26 AM

Paul Donal has a very valid point. The ships were scheduled to “parade” down the Liffey from 11am – 2pm. One batch actually left at 7 am with the rest bar one leaving from 10am. People packed into Luas’s like sardines were synchronising their trips into town to see this “parade”. Fair enough if bad weather was responsible for the ships earlier departure (this was never said on any of the announcements that I heard down there) but I would have thought that the planning would have taken into account the numbers expected and that events would be dispersed to allow the crowd to leave in an organic fashion. Instead it was one step away from telling people to feck off ;)

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 27th 2012, 8:49 AM

Donal’s point was that the event ended at 2.00pm, as it was scheduled to do. Many boats left at various times to avoid the weather, some actually stayed for an extra day – because 1. they were avoiding the adverse weather conditions 2. the crews were enjoying their time in our city.

The original post was typically begrudging. it didn’t mention Luases, organic dispersal of people or even organisation.

So while your argument is in fact a separate argument to Donal’s, I still disagree with you. A tremendous job was done in accommodating 1.15million visitors to the city centre. They may not have been great at communicating the effect of events on the final day. But the projected figures for the event were far below the amount of actual visitors. By all accounts the vast majority of people had a fantastic time.

Also, there’s allot worse things than being left without organised entertainment in Dublin City Centre. We have some of the finest city centre parks in the world, most of our museums are of a very high standard and are free, there are markets and street performers – all for FREE. But I’m sure you just went home in a state of begrudgery…

Mute Paul Kane
    Favourite Paul Kane
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:10 AM

Paul, I was there from 12 o’clock expecting to see ships leaving in a parade as advertised along with the thousands of others who crammed into public transport to get there. When these people didn’t have the advertised events to see the powers that be realised belatedly that they would of course flock to the events that were left and they cancelled them in a panic. It is obvious to me and a lot of others that this was bad planning, call me a begrudger if you want but when a high profile event has a published schedule they should do their level best to keep to it and if not have provide an explanation as to why the schedule was accelerated. Then having to cancel the other events because of your schedule gaff means that you have a lot more people than expected is a complete and utter farce. Sticking your head in the sand Paul and saying everything is fine is precisely the attitude that has trashed this country, but hey if it works for you fair play ;)

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:18 AM

Thanks for blaming the state of the country on me. I’ll try harder next time…

Mute Paul Barry
    Favourite Paul Barry
    Aug 27th 2012, 10:05 AM

No wanting to get involved with your argument, but the shedule was correct. They started leaving at 10:40am as published. As with all big events in Ireland you have to get there early to get a good spot.!
    http://www.sailtraininginternational.org/news/article/read_parade-of-sail-tomorrow_item_100760.htm

Mute Joerg Steegmueller
    Favourite Joerg Steegmueller
    Aug 27th 2012, 12:06 PM

The Tall Ships Festival was definitely a big success…in many aspects! A LOT of work was done before the event to organise and plan it well and it attracted a huge amount of people without any problems. …But at the same time the termination of the festival at 14:00 was an absurd decision and probably one of the biggest FAILs in Irish event history.
    The ships did NOT leave at 14:00 because of the weather and the festival was not declared as FINISHED at 14:00 because of the weather, but because – in their wisdom – the event organisers had seemingly no interest in continuing the festivities when their obligation (to the Tall Ship Race) was fulfilled. It was PLANNED to finish at 14:00, so comments here about the worsening weather conditions are – with all respect – nonsensical.
    There was absolutely no need to end it all at 14:00. Sure the ships had left, but they were only the trigger for the event as far as most people were concerned. A nice backdrop, great decoration. But you can continue a street festival even without having tall ships in the Liffey. The Festival was massively advertised to attract people into the City, but on Sunday the visitors were let down. Not by the ships, they can leave whenever they want but by the local organisers of the festival. I know that some ships had left before the originally planned time and some people who wanted to seea big parade would gave been a little disappointed, but that would have been a minor upset.
    It has been said here as well that the dispersal of the large amount of people would have been the reason for the 14:00 finish, but that argument is nonsense as well! Because on Saturday the party continued until 21:00 and the crowd still made it home without any problems.
    Cancelling events (as far as I know only the “Rock the Boat” record attempt was outright cancelled) was surprising but you can live with it. Closing all concession stands at 14:00 and telling people over the speaker system constantly “…the festival has now finished” from 12:15 (it was later corrected) was disturbing the masses that just had arrived for a sunny afternoon in the City Centre. The outdoor live music stage in George’s Dock (that location was another big mistake, but that’s a different discussion) had entertainment on Saturday until 22:30, on Sunday it ended at 14:00!
    The festival easily could have continued until 18:00, which would still have been 3-4 hours earlier than on Saturday. The impressive Amerigo Vespucci and our reliable Jeanie Johnston were still there, so there were still two tall ships for decoration.
    It was a huge disappointment, albeit not a sudden surprise if people read the programme, but an odd and nonsensical decision to end the festival so early. Nevertheless the festival was great and showed that the Irish authority’s horror of large crowds is not justified. It would be great to have more similar festivals, but it’s now back to the unexciting St. Patrick’s Day Parade for Dublin’s “biggest” festival.
    [Finally, a brief comment on the visitor numbers: It shouldn't really matter if 500,000 people were there or it 3mio people were there, but the numbers quoted are most likely totally arbitrary. It is close to impossible to guess or estimate such a crowd that is so dispersed over a huge area over 4 days, but the 1 or 1.15 mio claim is most likely just an invention of the event organisers. I'd say it was well below that figure. The Metro Area of Dublin (i.e. Greater Dublin) has a population of 1.8mio and the population of Ireland is 4.5mio. So a QUARTER of Ireland was allegedly at the festival? Hmmm.]

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Aug 27th 2012, 1:52 PM

Joerg, i visited the Tall ships in the city Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and im sure many thousands more people did the same. Im a tourist from London and i also heard many english accents at the event aswell as many tourists from all over. The island of Ireland has 6.3 million people, i heard many many northern accents at the event. So figures released i well believe, if not underestimated. Thousads of people lined the coast of Dublin north and south on sunday to see them leave and the few hundred thousand that lined the Quays of the city.

Mute Steve McNally
    Favourite Steve McNally
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:22 AM

I thought it was a fantastic weekend. Well done to all involved

Mute Russell James Alford
    Favourite Russell James Alford
    Aug 27th 2012, 11:08 AM

After working in the Docklands/IFSC for the last two years I must say I have never seen the place so electric on a weekend! Such a shame the area doesn’t have more events (albeit smaller) to really showcase the area as more than a Monday to Friday space!

Mute Steve McNally
    Favourite Steve McNally
    Aug 27th 2012, 12:08 PM

Couldn’t agree more. Should be something on once a month in the summer

Mute Paul Kane
    Favourite Paul Kane
    Aug 27th 2012, 8:16 AM

How can you declare something a success when on the busiest day you don’t keep to your published schedule meaning the majority of people travelling in miss seeing the boats leaving and that you have to cancel other associated events because you didn’t adequately anticipate the crowds that a fine day would attract. If anything it highlights that we cannot handle events of this size.

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:17 AM

Soooo-ven-eeee-orrr Hats.

Mute Caroline Locke
    Favourite Caroline Locke
    Aug 28th 2012, 7:21 AM

We love the tall ships and hope to see them here at home someday.

Mute Caroline Locke
    Favourite Caroline Locke
    Aug 28th 2012, 7:22 AM

Lucky Dubliners :-D