You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí are at the scene at Fortunestown Lane Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Witness appeal launched following shooting in Tallaght

Gardaí are at the scene on Fortunestown Lane.

LAST UPDATE | 3 Dec 2021

GARDAÍ IN TALLAGHT have issued a witness appeal after a man was shot twice in Cookstown this afternoon.

The man, in his 50s, was shot at a home at about 12:10pm.

He was rushed to Tallaght Hospital where he is in a serious condition.

Gardaí have recovered a firearm, and the scene has been sealed off for a technical examination.

They’ve appealed to anyone who was on the Cookstown Road between 11:45am and just after midday to come forward.

Officers are also seeking information about three vehicles that they believe were involved in the shooting.

• A small dark coloured van that was found on fire at Kilcarrig Close shortly after the shooting.
  • A small black car that was discovered partially burnt in Rathmill Glen in Rathcoole later on.
  • A small silver hatchback car that could have been parked in Rathmill Glen over the past 24 hours.

Anyone with video footage of the scene, these cars or that could be of assistance to Gardaí has been asked to pass it on to the investigators.

An incident room has also been established at Tallaght Garda Station, and it’s being overseen by a Senior Investigating Officer.

No arrests have been made.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 24th 2020, 5:58 PM

There’d be no coming back for them if the Greens go into government with either FF or FG

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:03 PM

@EillieEs: coming back from where ! Silly post

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:05 PM

@EillieEs: they came back after fookin up big time the last time.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:29 PM

@EillieEs: People said both they and FF were finished after their last stint in power, yet here we are. Most probable outcome now is FF/GP/few independents coalition propped up by a confidence and supply agreement with FG.

Mute Orpuk Jones
    Favourite Orpuk Jones
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Tommy Roche: people that want a centre left option that doesn’t have an ‘Army Council’ have limited options.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:04 PM

@EillieEs: No, the Greens would be fine with FF&FG, just they would have to compromise somewhat, they would get a Ministry , but they would have to tone down demands somewhat. If they were in an Association with SF, well they would be swallowed up, because SF intends to RIDE Roughshod over every and any small Party.

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:10 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: yeah, because FFG have no history whatsoever in the ruin of smaller parties?

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:14 PM

@EillieEs: they dont care! They’re prepared to take that hit in order to get their policies implemented.

Mute Mick Andrews
    Favourite Mick Andrews
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:52 PM

@Orpuk Jones: Orpuke. Do tell more. ‘ARMY COUNCIL’

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:02 PM

Who on earth believes this fella. Facts are he will be the meat in the FFG sandwich. Next election he and greens will be put to the sword again. Maybe become extinct. Greens = Tax.

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:19 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: meat is bad for you go vegan mate

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:21 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: A lot of tax will be needed no matter who takes the reins of government. How else are we going to get money to build houses or fix health.

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:41 PM

@John Murphy: From ATM’s…

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:09 PM

@John Murphy: silly billy John. Why, money comes from.the magic money tree! Don’t tell me you didnt know that?

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Feb 24th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: Die hard shinner against tax. Oof this is going to be a rough lesson for you, mate. We would all love to believe we can have world class services and ample homes and employment while cutting taxes on “normal” people and corporations and millionaires will pay for everything(we already have one of the most progressive or wealth punitive tax systems on planet earth and our low corporation tax is a strategic policy that creates essential employment and investment) we all want utopia, but if I told you I could shoot lasers out of my Mickey when no one is looking, would you believe me? Use your logical process, just because I want it to be true, I can’t shoot lasers, it doesn’t make sense and logically you could have figured that out.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Feb 24th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Sean Fahey: aw is Sean gettingthe lite touch taxation wise under fg. Ye couldn’t give a toss whose in government as long as your wallet doesn’t get tickle… Jog on

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Feb 24th 2020, 10:34 PM

@John Murphy: We already have the money to do all those things. It’s just that the gombeens that have been in power for the last hundred years have squandered all our hard earned money and will continue to do so as long as they’re allowed.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Feb 24th 2020, 10:52 PM

@Agenda21: unfortunately I have something strongly in common with Sinn Fein, the only way I’ll ever be rich is if I rob a bank.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Feb 25th 2020, 2:44 AM

@Sean Fahey: rather than you guys robbing the country through government saps through saving banks leaving people under pressure and missing a few mortgage payments and inviting in vulture funds to devour the leftovers.. That’s your team and its very transparent

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:56 PM

Credit to Ryan for being willing to talk to all sides. A refreshing stance, given the sleveenism currently being shown by the former big two.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:34 PM

@The Risen: What’s former about having double the seats of your beloved Shinners. Only sleeveens are the apology dodgers all chanting the party line as you do.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:57 PM

@The Risen: saot of the parties from the left have said they won’t join ffg, and in fact sinn Fein have stated they would prefer not to have FF or fg in government. All parties have their preferences so stop your whining already

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:28 PM

@David Glynn: LOL! Somebody else having to add both parties seats together to make a non point. Hence why they’re not the big two any more. SF are now the most supported party in this state. They got the largest vote, despite not even running candidates in some constituencies. FF and FG can’t be the big two if SF are bigger.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:46 PM

@The Risen: but you’re one of those that’s been adding the 2 parties together for the past 4 years! If it was correct then, why is it wrong now?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Connoroconner: Because they ran as separate partys in the election, silly.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Feb 24th 2020, 9:56 PM

@The Risen: After this campaign can’t wait for their inevitable comeuppance now that their murderous past and looney policies have been outed.
    And as regards seats, FF lost out on an extra 6 or 7 by a marginal amount of votes. You must call it as it is. And not being an FF supporter no disquiet for me there.
    You might reflect on all the issues raised by Martin and give a better response than the Marylooper dissembling and divertion.
    Reason is that there is no answer to gangsterism and criminality.
    We, the truth seekers haven’t gone away.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Feb 24th 2020, 10:00 PM

@The Risen: Surely there were more charity rip off won’t. pay their rent Trinity graduates around or anti semetic racist tweeters you could have run. I mean they are everywhere

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 11:04 PM

@The Risen: having your cake and eating it that’s called.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:19 PM

He knows that being in government is the only way to implement some or all of the green policies.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:39 PM

@DeWitt: exactly. Sinn Fein are no different, they are now willing to talk to literally anybody who will facilitate them getting their feet under the table. The only opportunity small parties have to get all or some of their policies implemented is to get into bed with a bigger party no matter how uncomfortable that may be. Like the PD’s in the ’90s, the onus is on them to play hardball and not to cave in to the bigger partner just for a quiet life.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:16 PM

@DeWitt: being in government generally does help you get your policies implemented

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:08 PM

Ryan will throw his hat in with anyone if it gets him on the right side of the house

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:10 PM

@Sea Graham: yes, because that’s the only hope you have of getting your policies implemented.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:15 PM

People are not angry with the Greens 2008 Car Tax Law .. they are furious ….

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Feb 24th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Neuville-Kepler62F: I’m not people, obviously

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:44 PM

The SF trolls are out in numbers

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:13 PM

Lots of posts slagging this man, but he is a rare thing in Irish politics: a man of integrity. He didnt shy away from saying before the election that extra taxes were necessary. Agree with him or not, at least he was honest.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:33 PM

@Connoroconner: Honest but not correct.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 24th 2020, 11:26 PM

@Connoroconner: like your self Conor, man of integrity. Your posts oose integrity

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:34 PM

Maybe FF will do their confidence and supply thing again. T’was for the good of the nation the last time wasn’t it?

Mute Sean Dempsey
    Favourite Sean Dempsey
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:22 PM

The Greens don’t care who they jump into bed with. It’s all about keeping Ryan relevant. Blueshirts on bicycles

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Sean Dempsey: The greens are a policy driven party. They’re upfront about what they believe in and they want to be in Gov to get their policies implemented. They’re not populist like many of the other parties in Dail who try and sell voters the canard that they can have every thing for free, retire at 65, public spending galore and someone else will pay for it all. And what’s this whole “Blueshirts” thing? It was barely yesterday when SF was justifying blowing up innocent men, women and children in the street in the name of their version of Irish republicanism!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:43 PM

@Damon16: yep. Critics of SF are not allowed go back 15 years, because, you know, that’s all in the past. But SF supporters can go back to the 1930′s. And then they ignore their own party’s link to the nazis in that era too. It’s textbook doublethink.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:12 PM

Sinn Fein have the weakest climate change policy out of all the manifestos. Getting into bed with them should lose them a serious amount of credibility considering climate is central to their own manifesto

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:29 PM

@JP: Talks involve compromise. SF would have to bring some of the greens manifesto on board.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:36 PM

I would imagine unfortunately that the greens will prop up a ffg government hoping that the “climate emergency” will be enough to get them re-elected next time.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Feb 24th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Ruairi Colton: But watch our bills go through the roof for heating, driving etc

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:14 PM

Pierce Doherty said the Ryan’s Green Party “Car Tax” “just makes people poorer”. Correct!

38,000 who signed this Petition agree … make it 50,000 ….
    https://www.change.org/p/unfair-irish-car-carbon-tax-law

.. no Sinn Fein Troll!!!!!

O!O!O …

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 24th 2020, 11:54 PM

Prayer for the day—-”From the pronunciations, ruminations, explanations and manipulations of the Green Party may the Good Lord protects us”

Mute backupanytime
    Favourite backupanytime
    Feb 24th 2020, 10:05 PM

€294,957,693,856 Irish national debt.
    Wake up people of Ireland. Your FFG governments have robbed you and your family to your graves

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 24th 2020, 11:28 PM

@backupanytime: feck off. it was SF caused that debt before they got to power

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 24th 2020, 6:46 PM

Some parties will leave their supporters to the mercy of the government of the day

Mute Leonard O'mahony
    Favourite Leonard O'mahony
    Feb 24th 2020, 7:44 PM

Sounds like he might enjoy being the kingmaker.

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Feb 24th 2020, 9:35 PM

Oh ah up the ra all over south side , will require extra graffiti police