You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fireworks and bottles where thrown during an anti-lockdown demonstration in Dublin in March. Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Tánaiste urged tech giants to stop spread of Covid misinformation and help tackle illegal gatherings

Leo Varadkar sent letters to Facebook, Twitter, Google, and TikTok following violent protests in Dublin.

TÁNAISTE LEO VARADKAR wrote to four of the world’s biggest technology companies asking them what more they could to tackle illegal gatherings and the spread of misinformation during the pandemic.

Varadkar sent letters to Facebook, Twitter, Google, and TikTok in the wake of violent protests on the streets of Dublin earlier this year.

He said the events were “clearly planned” using social media platforms and private messaging services and that he had been “appalled” by what happened.

The Tánaiste said that this behaviour by a “selfish few” had undermined the sacrifices that millions of Irish people had made over the last year.

He said he was a “strong believer in freedom of speech” but that this was a well-organised “conglomeration of anti-mask, anti-vaccine, and anti-lockdown groups” using technology to organise themselves.

In responses to the Tánaiste, Facebook said they too were “appalled” by the violence and that they deeply appreciated the efforts of gardaí, healthcare workers, and those working on the front lines.

The social media giant said an internal investigation had taken place after the protest leading to the removal of 20 Facebook groups, 15 pages, and two Instagram profiles.

This was done where groups, pages, or profiles had “repeatedly shared harmful information and debunked claims about Covid-19 or vaccines”, their letter said.

In a response letter, Google said they took the issues in the Tánaiste’s letter “very seriously”.

However, they said that their services were not “currently known for being favoured” for the running of illegal protests or events in Ireland.

It said: “We have not been notified that our services were used for the purpose of organising the recent protests in Dublin.”

Google also said they were committed to removing content and Covid-19 misinformation that poses harm to users from their platforms.

The company also offered to run a discussion and workshop for the Tánaiste and his team on how they manage harmful content.

In the Tánaiste’s letter, the creation of a new Online Safety Commissioner was also flagged to reduce the “spread of illegal and potentially harmful content”.

Varadkar said the government wanted ‘takedown’ measures that were timely and effective, and a way to add further categories of harmful content.

In response to that, Facebook said they were concerned by delays in the passage of legislation governing online activity and possible “conflict” with EU directives.

Facebook said that the government should consider prioritising and expediting the implementation of the EU’s Audio-visual Media Services Directive.

And they also suggested that the government should consider “pausing the national online safety measures” to ensure both Irish and EU law were aligned.

Google said they were supportive of the legislation and that they were continuing to engage with government to help progress it.

They said: “Getting this legislation right will be crucial to addressing harmful online content into the future and we look forward to [its] speedy adoption.”

Asked to comment on their records, a spokesman for Minister Varadkar said the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media were now leading on new online safety laws and queries should be directed to them.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 73 comments
73 Comments
    Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jul 11th 2021, 1:44 PM

Here’s a novelty idea. Why not elect a group of people to run our country. People who are accountable to us. And we could even assemble a force of people to help implement the rules we make. Private companies have no place in our society to make rules. Fup off Tainaiste. Do your job

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:25 PM

@Michael: He should stick to writing letters to Kylie.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:32 PM

@Michael: I don’t know why my first comment didn’t post here? I know from personal experience in 2017 that the tech companies behind social media have been dragging their feet and making excuses for a long time in terms of the content on their platforms and how it is addressed. This is acknowledge across Europe. A lot of comments here I honestly do not understand and that does not mean that I think our Government (whichever parties are in power) shouldn’t be asked searching questions.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:31 PM

Problem is that people cannot truly trust our mainstream media for proper news. There was no mention in the online editions of RTE or the Independent of the government passing legislation to give further tax breaks to cuckoo funds the other night. Why is that?

Mute Phil Redmond
    Favourite Phil Redmond
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:55 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: They can’t report everything and that particular issue was reported in other mainstream sources. People shouldn’t rely on just one or two sources for news. There is a big difference however between something not being reported by a couple of sources and social media platforms doing nothing to prevent the deliberate spread of misinformation or facilitating the organising of large scale gatherings against public health guidelines during a global pandemic

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:09 PM

@Phil Redmond: It is a huge story with regards to public interest, they didn’t publish it because it didn’t suit their narrative. Shame on them. Covering up the sins of FFG.

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:52 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Tin foil hat for Frank. The mainstream media including RTE can of course be trusted. Stop spreading misinformation.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:27 PM

@Fionn Darland: Very funny Fionn, I didn’t think you had a sense of humour. In case you didn’t read it properly my question is why didn’t the Indo & RTE report on the legislation passed by the government during the week which made it cheaper for cuckoo funds to operate in Ireland?

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:29 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Yawn.

Mute Phil Redmond
    Favourite Phil Redmond
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:39 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Oh would ya stop. Every news source has political leanings in some form or another and will always report things in a way that suits that political leaning but accusing them of covering it up is nonsense. It’s hardly a cover up when plenty of other sources reported it. Rte did report it btw cause I saw it on the 6:01 news. The only reason you are calling it a cover up is because that explanation suits your own narrative. Showing your true colours there. If you don’t like the political leanings of a particular news source then use one that you do like.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Phil Redmond: No I won’t stop, legislation was snook through the Dail to make it cheaper for Cuckoo funds to operate in Ireland and irrespective of bias/ leanings I want to know why rte.ie and the Independent decided this wasn’t newsworthy? This affects tens of thousands of young people who currently find it impossible to get a foot on the property ladder.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 7:32 PM

@Phil Redmond: Why are you angry?

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 11th 2021, 8:05 PM

@Phil Redmond: I don’t like liars either.

Mute Contrary Mary
    Favourite Contrary Mary
    Jul 13th 2021, 4:46 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: But they can trust a stranger on social media?

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Jul 11th 2021, 1:54 PM

Imagine trying to use your position to silence the voices of people who disagree with your idea. No only that but there are many scientists globally who argue very valid point and we have members of govts trying to discredit them using underhanded tactics. Not exactly how democratic society is supposed to operate.

Mute Ernie Gallagher
    Favourite Ernie Gallagher
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:13 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: Leo read Animal Farm a little differently than the rest of us; as an instruction manual rather than a forewarning.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:37 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: His role as an elected representative is to represent the people. A simple enough concept, really.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:53 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: That’s true Sean. The only problem is that he doesn’t represent the people who pay his salary.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:40 PM

@David Corrigan: Ah come on David, you know very well how it works. A certain amount of people vote for him, so he, in the main, represents them. So, by your flawed logic, he is paid by them. And if, God help us,. Mattie McGrath, became Tanaiste, he would be representing the people who voted for him. I can’t believe I have to explain this to you.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:55 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: 8,478 people voted for Leo in his own constituency of 70,337 last GE, he came in third, the first time in the history of the state a siting Taoiseach did not top the poll in how own constituency.
    His own constituency rejected him, but due to politics his is Tanaiste and will be Taoiseach again.

Mute Ernie Gallagher
    Favourite Ernie Gallagher
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:04 PM

@Da Dell: Martin didn’t fare much better in his. And as for Donnelly … Failed to reach the quota after FIFTEEN counts, then given one of the biggest gigs in politics.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:07 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: Let me explain it to you in very simple terms Sean. Those clowns get elected on false promises. When they get their feet under the desk, they actively go against the people of this country. They don’t do ANYTHING for the people that elect them. it’s as simple as that.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:19 PM

@David Corrigan: Yip, Leo & FG have being saying since around 2017 in their PP meetings, pre-election spin that Housing is a priority, but the situation has got worse. So playing lip-service to the people they supposedly represent while the mostly Vulture & Cuckoo Funds benefit.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:39 PM

@Da Dell: No, they didn’t reject him – 8,478 people voted for him. That’s how PR-STV works.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:29 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: When will he start do you think?

Mute Davey Ohanlon
    Favourite Davey Ohanlon
    Jul 11th 2021, 1:55 PM

Its not the job of social media companies to monitor/ prevent illegal gatherings, that’s what the police force are for.

Vradkar has obviously lost the run of himself but it wouldn’t be the first time FG has suggested using these companies to restrict people’s freedoms.

Mute John Duggan
    Favourite John Duggan
    Jul 11th 2021, 1:43 PM

The arrogance to think you can govern by dictat. There’s a representative body (of which Varadkar is a member) that can regulate their activities through legislation. It’s not up to Varadkar to unilaterally determine how anyone/thing should carry out its activities.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:35 PM

@John Duggan: Hi John. You should really get your thoughts in order before you post. I have no idea what you are advocating.

Mute John Duggan
    Favourite John Duggan
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:45 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: Hi Sean. It’s not surprising you have no idea what I’m advocating because I’m not advocating anything, simply commenting.

What I would advocate is you extract your self from Varadkar’s hoop, that way you might be able to critically assess his actions rather than just defend them (plus it probably smells better out here too).

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:41 PM

@John Duggan: You’ve a lovely turn of phrase there, John. What surprises me is that you found over 80 Neanderthals who like your crudity

Mute Nollaig Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Nollaig Ó Ceallaigh
    Jul 11th 2021, 9:57 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: I’m surprised you found anyone to support your inanity. He’s right though, which might explain why more people favoured his comment than your own. Weren’t you big on democracy and all that in your posts above?

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:10 PM

My God thinking back a year ago. Sweden made a decision not to go down the route we are after going down… people said that they weren’t doing enough but look at the mess we are in now it’s getting more draconian. More gardai intervening more Fines more penalties ect ect. Trying to stop people with different viewpoints..

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Jul 11th 2021, 1:53 PM

Hey Leo p!s$ off!!

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:37 PM

@Ashling Fenton: Angry, much.

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Jul 11th 2021, 7:29 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: Yes because !di0ts keep voting in !di0ts.

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:23 PM

Not acceptable really.

From a Govt who have had a deliberate policy of creating a generation of renters and ensuring massive profits for companies who have few employees here and pay zero tax.

I honestly hope covid doesn’t cloud ppls memories of the children’s hospital, the fact we paid too much rent to Larry good man for the dept of health building and just said “we can’t ask for it back”, a new found lack of accountability for certain ppl in society (just wait it out or create other news) amongst everything else that means a small sector of the country always benefits with everyone else just wanting to not rock the boat.

How we don’t have thousands on the street right now is beyond me. The tax loop hole for vultures alone would have turned France upside down

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now

This is something that a lot of people would accuse you of being a conspiracy theorist then Leo actually goes and pulls a stunt like this…sorry this doesn’t jive with your narrative but they can say what they want…freedom of speech.
    This along with the spy on your neighbour & report BS is really getting too much.
    Its looking too like you will have had to had a vaccine shot or have had Covid before to allow you too eat or have a pint indoors.
    This is coercion.
    Too bad for the people who do not want a relatively untested rushed through vaccine for whatever their reasons maybe.

Mute Ilarion Cibu
    Favourite Ilarion Cibu
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:49 PM

Next time you will think that Ireland is the land of democracy and freedom of speech – Read this article again.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01

As if an ‘Online Safety Commission’ will have the competence to determine what is ‘potentially harmful content’ or even to understand that sometimes the truth *is* necessarily harmful to certain groups who don’t always have our best interests at heart. We can all agree that it would be nice to limit things like online bullying, especially of kids, but you just know the same laws that do that would be used to crush views that go against the consensus of the govt, the MSM, the EU and international bodies like the WHO, as the article itself implies. Yes, Leo, it’s frustrating that some people don’t hold the same views you do, but in a free country you just have to put up with it.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent

He should start with the man in the mirror.

Mute Ilarion Cibu
    Favourite Ilarion Cibu
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:09 PM

Leonardo the tap is always hungry for the spotlight

Mute Tac
    Favourite Tac
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:05 PM

I think this is what it felt like in nazi germany when they burned the books because they did’nt go with their narative. You cant stop the truth Leo and by trying we only seek it more.

Mute Hans
    Favourite Hans
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:45 PM

Very 1984….. thats terrifying

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:33 PM

He also contacts them to remove hashtags that he dose not like from Trending Lists.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:29 PM

Is he trying to get tech giants on his side for censorship?

Mute whitewater
    Favourite whitewater
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:48 PM

Anyone who doesn’t see the government’s increasing authority to interfere in citizens private lives and suppress basic rights as worrying needs to read a few history books. Governments rarely relinquish power they have taken.

Mute john reynolds
    Favourite john reynolds
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:45 PM

So is Leo now going to be removed for all his false statements

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:50 PM

Does he not see the glaringly obvious conflict of interest when political parties, especially FG, are heavily connected to social media companies.

Does Varadkar have a brain in his head at all?

Get the Catholic Church out and then get in to bed with powerful social media companies, it will end well.

The narrative he and his party have been spouting for years is far more dangerous.

Another brainless Taoiseach for Ireland, hooray.

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Jul 11th 2021, 5:18 PM

L-Ego and his Gobelsian dreams
    Drunk on power
    Full of self importance …

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 11th 2021, 2:28 PM

Facebook only takes action after the fact. The ad revenue dollar is king before anything else.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:00 PM

Leo is a complete and utter ARS-HOLE

Mute Kieran Byrne
    Favourite Kieran Byrne
    Jul 11th 2021, 8:27 PM

Could the Tech Giants stop the spread of him instead.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jul 11th 2021, 8:45 PM

Since when has it become ok to request social media platforms to spy on your citizens gather information and pass it on to the authorities and government?! Does this actually sound okay to anyone? Is this not a hallmark sign of an autocratic country? How did i wake up in Myanmar this morning? (hyperbole! Before some apologist loses their proverbial).

Seriously though a lot of things seem to be suddenly ok in Ireland that would have seem abhorrent 24 months ago. We now are legalising discrimination, requesting trch companies to spy on their citizens and inform authorities of any wrong-doings and also requesting tech giants to perform censorship (happy for fake news to be censored but what constitutes “fake”? Does correct and accurate information that goes against the government narrative “fake” news or “false information”?).

I know there will be the usual government brown-nosed apologists on here defending the government no matter the action (Ally, Gary, etc), but seriously on the whole, how do people think this is ok? Are people not a bit worried on the direction ireland seems to be headed?

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:59 PM

Leo is a complete and utterly ARS-HOLE

Mute John Michalski
    Favourite John Michalski

Asked again or is this a recycled story

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:27 PM

Well, we have a massive University here in Dublin, with some of the most brightest, smartest people in the world, receives massive tax payer funding. How about asking UCD to help debunk some of the misinformation? It is bad enough that they won’t sack her, but they could help with debunking the awful AWFUL misinformation she spews and then her followers act on.

How about stopping anti lockdown rallies with people who are spewing conspiracy theories?

Yes, absolutely look to Twitter to help do more with regard to misinformation, but the government, universities need to step up also.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:35 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Yes, let someone decide what it is right and what is wrong for all and ban all that they deem is wrong, what could possibly go wrong.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:42 PM

@Da Dell: I said help debunk dangerous misinformation and ban rallies that spew the same.

I don’t see a problem in UCD debunking Dolores’ claim of a terrorist bomb threat in Rotterdam to disrupt food supply chain.

That is one example of many, many misinformation and conspiracy theories shouted by Dolores.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 3:44 PM

@Da Dell: I can tell you now, the Gardaí at the count centre were not paid actors. There you go, Dolores was wrong. Do you have evidence to suggest otherwise?

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:03 PM

@Da Dell: lazy argument what could go wrong. What about the couple that believed Trump’s claims about bleach and ingested heavy duty tank cleaner? Or the woman’s father who believed Trump’s claim covid wasn’t and later passed away.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:05 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: you also said “How about stopping anti lockdown rallies”. In a democracy people are free to have different opinions, protest and be wrong. You are also free to not like or agree with it.
    You only have issues with protests and opinions that you don’t agree with.
    I personally didn’t agree some protests too, but fully believe its their right to do so.
    As for conspiracy theories, last year people where called nutjobs and tin-foil hat wearers when they said the that Vaccine Certs would be required to enter premises.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:07 PM

@Da Dell: What about the incitement of violence, the constant narrative of Luke O Neil being the reason reason for the “draconian dictatorship laws” and then taking no responsibility when he is assaulted? What could go wrong. How about asking yourself, what could go wrong by allowing people to incite violence and spew dangerous misinformation, ask yourself that. What could go wrong.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:08 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: W t f has Trump got to do with Ireland & Leo contacting Social Media companies .. what would be better for Ireland would be for SM companies to debunk Leo’s & FG’s claims since around 2017 that Housing has been a priority ..

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:09 PM

@Da Dell: Ah I said people speaking at anti lockdown rallies spewing dangerous misinformation. Telling a crowd that 30% of all people will get Bell’s Palsy from a vaccine? Yeah I don’t think they should be allowed to speak.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:11 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: I really dont know what the ‘ell you are talking about, so obviously I dont follow or have heard that stuff that angers you ..

What could possibly go wrong … Nazi Germany

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:14 PM

@Da Dell: The Trump reference is about covid19 dangerous misinformation and how people act on it.

I agree with that aswell.

I am tired of the government saying we need to build affordable housing and then a vulture fund swoops in and buy up an entire community.

They keep saying it over again and again.

Vulture funds keep buying up communities :/

Housing isn’t a priority for the government, vulture funds are, we will run out of public land and soon it will be too late. We are in a system to make the elites rich while we are given just enough to scrape by in life. I could go on and on about housing.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jul 11th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Something to agree with, lets leave it at that then.. its too nice a day here to be arguing, in fact for me its too warm and I am moving inside, enjoying the Wimbledon final and the build up to the Euro Final as the Italians seem to have taken over :)

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Jul 11th 2021, 6:37 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: ‘…I don’t think they should br allowed to speak.’ Then you are arguing for govt and tech giants to collude in censorship. If a point of view is wrong, refute it, don’t suppress it. As Bret Weinstein puts it, in a society that values free speech, 99% of what is spoken might be dross but the 1% is what improves our knowledge. You seem to have faith that the interests of the powers that be will always intersect with the common good, but that is very naive. A year ago, the WHO would love to have suppressed the idea that covid was a lab leak. Now, it’s looking like that might be the best explanation. Also, there’s no way I would let colleges decide what can be said when they can be so easily taken over by harmful ideas like critical race theory and ither grievance studies.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jul 11th 2021, 8:52 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Since when has it become ok to request social media platforms to spy on your citizens gather information and pass it on to the authorities and government?! Does this actually sound okay to anyone? Is this not a hallmark sign of an autocratic country? How did i wake up in Myanmar this morning? (hyperbole! Before some apologist loses their proverbial).

Seriously though a lot of things seem to be suddenly ok in Ireland that would have seem abhorrent 24 months ago. We now are legalising discrimination, requesting tech companies to spy on their citizens and inform authorities of any wrong-doings and also requesting tech giants to perform censorship (happy for fake news to be censored but what constitutes “fake”? Does correct and accurate information that goes against the government narrative “fake” news or “false information”? It is widely open to abuse and as the other poster mentioned you are just way too naive not to see it.)

I know there will be the usual government brown-nosed apologists on here defending the government no matter the action (Ally, Gary, etc), but seriously on the whole, how do people think this is ok? Are people not a bit worried on the direction ireland seems to be headed?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 11th 2021, 8:09 PM

Coming from Varadkar…like calling the kettle black.

Mute Contrary Mary
    Favourite Contrary Mary
    Jul 13th 2021, 4:55 PM

How about we educated people to stop believing everything they read online? Start requiring all sides of issues without spin or clickbait headlines to be given on every article AND require sources for information given. You only have to look at how politicians/parties/governments/businesses use news to their advantage to control things from election outcomes, to competition control, to pandemic compliance to see it’s needed.