You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach called on to create 'Docklands tax' as part of north inner city taskforce

Enda Kenny met with all councillors from Dublin Central earlier this evening.

20/06/2016 North Inner City elected representative Councillor Gaye Fagan, Sinn Féin Mary Lou McDonald and Councillor Janine Boylan arriving at Government Buildings this evening RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

THE TAOISEACH HAS heard calls to create a ‘Docklands Tax’ to help tackle problems in Dublin’s north inner city.

A meeting earlier this evening saw Enda Kenny meet with all public representative from the Dublin Central constituency – the area where much of the recent gangland activity has taken place.

Also in attendance at the meeting were Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald, minister for public expenditure and reform Paschal Donohoe and minister of state Damien English.

Speaking at the meeting, Workers’ Party councillor Éillis Ryan proposed levying a tax on large businesses in the Docklands and International Financial Services Centre (IFSC).

“The north inner city requires large-scale, sustained public investment to help reverse the neglect of decades,” said Ryan.

Businesses in the Docklands and the IFSC have benefited hugely not only from their prime location in the north inner city, but also from a range of state support and infrastructural investment.

Speaking at a press briefing earlier this evening, minister Donohoe did not offer a specific response to the proposal, but said that the redevelopment of the area would be part of a strategy to tackle social problems.

As part of this there are plans to further invest in the Docklands, which Dublin City Council has designated as a Strategic Development Zone.

There are also plans for a large residential construction project is set to begin later this year at the top of Sheriff Street. 

The meeting today also focused on security issues in the north inner city.

Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald said that she was “very conscious” that the “heavy garda presence is very difficult for the families”, and that she was working toward a situation where “normal policing” could resume.

It was also mentioned that community policing is at the heart of plans for the north inner city.

Read: Plans for 3,000 homes on Dublin glass bottle site

Also: Man in his 20s arrested over gangland killing of dissident republican

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Yeah Ok
    Favourite Yeah Ok
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:08 PM

The Irish answer to any problem, more tax!

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:27 PM

Jaysus..when will this country (workers party councillors) in north inner city dublin ever learn what hypocricy is!! Tax and taxes do not solve a problem. People solve a problem. You cannot keep taxing and taxing and taxing and expect the social problems to go away.even if the IFSC paid €10million in tax, will that solve the unsocial behaviour of a few- the answer is no, the money would be p!ssed down the drain, the gangs and other unsociables would still be there and the IFSC will move to another location. Lesson – don’t bite the hand that feeds you. Get of your arses and deal with the problem( I bet most people know who’s causing the problems).

Mute Carina Portman
    Favourite Carina Portman
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:28 PM

Ah here, this is ridiculous at this stage. Seems to be the governments solution to all problems. Tax bloody everything!!! Why should businesses in the IFSC have to front the bill when its the government that have cut the Garda’s Budget in the first place? Just goes to show you how backward thinking this government is.

Jun 20th 2016, 8:33 PM

Ah Jenni and Carina should you not address that question to FF, FG and Labour after all those are the parties in power who have heaped taxes on the working people of this state since it was established?

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:35 PM

There’s not really a value proposition is there? tell you what Mr. Investment corporation, if you give us millions in tax, we’ll use it to house intra generational social welfare dependents in your area, just to put off any prospective customers or employees you might want to attract. Come to think of it there’s a similar scheme operating in my estate… ah well, great little country.

Mute Carina Portman
    Favourite Carina Portman
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:39 PM

Where does this end? Will it spread to other areas of Dublin? Maybe we all have to end up paying some of protection tax soon to the government? Nothing short of legal racketeering this is.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:24 PM

Idleness on welfare is a big part of the problem. Higher taxes on active people will strengthen the belief amongst many that only fools work.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:35 PM

We should introduce an idleness tax.

Welfare gets taxed at a progressively higher rate the longer you are unemployed, that is available to you as back-to-work tax credits if you commence/return to work.

#makeworkmatter

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Favourite Micheal Johnson
    Jun 21st 2016, 12:44 AM

@Alpha

There was an option if a party that said they would make work worthwhile at the last election but no one voted for them.

Maybe now that most of the people who the public seemed to despise have left Renua, they might actually develop into a centre-right opposition to counter this left wing nonsense while also challenging the FF-FG Cartel

Jun 21st 2016, 5:10 AM

It’s the only thing that the gov are good at, raising taxes.

Mute Portia
    Favourite Portia
    Jun 21st 2016, 3:56 PM

All tax is unlawful of course.

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:09 PM

I live in the inner city and I am completely against this. It is NOT the responsibility of business to sort out a culture of crime, drugs and laziness…it is the people who live there. The amount of services available to the labelled “disadvantaged” is beyond belief.
    It is up to the people themselves to cop on and take advantage of the fact they live in the city centre of a major city with universities, training centres, amenities,etc within walking distance. By giving them more money and even more resources in their community is only making their circle smaller.

Mute KingBen
    Favourite KingBen
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:09 PM

Why not just a North inner city tax to help the north inner city community? I know a castleknock tax to help the community of mulhuddart. Or a Maynooth tax to help the people of mohill. Idiots in power.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:20 PM

More waffle from the government it’s another photo op nothing else. They promise a lot but deliver shag all.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:29 PM

Don’t think it’s a govt policy lads!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jun 21st 2016, 3:07 AM

@paul mc – This waffle should not be tolerated. Nxt we’ll hear of an educational programme – to teach people right from wrong. These proposals are utter scutter.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:16 PM

Be great if these communities helped the gardai with information and refused to purchase contraband from their neighbourhood lowlives.

No doubt Mary Lou wouldn’t dream of suggesting such practical measures.

Jun 20th 2016, 10:04 PM

Most of the contraband is purchased by those in employment who give out about those unemployed. A bit ironic I know but that’s reality…….

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:29 PM

did you pull that factoid out of your own navel or someone else’s?

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:47 PM

Those internaitonal businesses and the people who work in them already pay for the north inner city. their taxes fund their dole and free socail housing. What more do these people want from us, a free trip to Disneyland every year? Tell them to take a hike, stop dealing and taking drugs and get themselves and education and a job. Take some responsibility and quit blaming everyone else for your problems or trying to take from others in the usual irish begrudging manner.

Jun 20th 2016, 10:01 PM

I guess Fred your addressing those who lost their jobs during the crash? Well done son you have sunk lower the those who lost their jobs……

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Jun 21st 2016, 12:48 AM

No Kerry. But the fact that you have to point to a minority not being referee to just to make your point shows how weak it is.

72% of people on the housing support scheme are 100% dependent on social welfare… ie the rest of us taxpayers. People who lost their jobs had already been paying their PRSI so therefore have contributed and hence deserve to claim from the system when they fall on hard times

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:34 PM

As it’s only a few minutes walk from a city centre where at least half the shop assistants seem to come from every corner of the globe ……. and fair play to them ……. many working there probably commuting an hour or two as well – I often wonder at the auld deprivation guff and unemployment whinges as well.

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Jun 21st 2016, 12:55 AM

@Michael

Exactly, well said. Yet Gary Gannon and the other Stalinist left wingers would have us believe that this area is neglected. The area gets more per head of population than anywhere in the country.

Never forget that it is the mission of the left to keep people dependent on social welfare so they can keep spending and keep the votes coming in. Ideas of personal responsibility and EQUALITY don’t even come into it. Just keep pouring resources into these areas no matter how unequal it is to the rest of the country.

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:58 PM

Maybe the salt of the earth locals could take a bit of pride in their area. Some areas are tidy but Sheriff St is constantly covered in litter while Ballybough has untagged bin bags all along it and by the canal too. It isn’t workers in the IFSC dumping there

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:02 PM

People are womdering who amonh them will get murdered next, and you’re having a go at them for dropping a bit of litter? Priotities!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:06 PM

Oh please Neal – they’ve been wrecking everything and dumping in the streets for decades. Don’t give me the sob story.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:06 PM

If you’re really worried about getting murdered then you’re probably involved in the feud. There’s a slim chance that you’d get targeted if you’re innocent in all liklihood. If these people don’t care about their area then why should we!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:03 PM

Really? It’s someone else’s fault and someone else has to pay for the laziness and attitude of the perennially entitled in the North Inner City?

How about instead of that we bring in the army and operate a zero tolerance approach while we train them out of generations of leeching off the taxpayers.

I’ve lived and worked there. People CHOOSE to be criminals. It’s nothing to do with poverty or lack of privilege.

How about we audit each family and see what they have contributed to the republic they’re always bleating on about.

The many decent people who live in the area deserve better policing and a much harder line with the endemic criminality there. It’s time to stamp it out once and for all.

Mute Neil79
    Favourite Neil79
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:11 PM

A little to late Enda , I suppose its a good PR stunt & an opportunity to let on you give a flying f#ck to the ordinary decent people of the north inner city

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Jun 21st 2016, 12:59 AM

Eh did you read the article? It’s not his idea.

And if you know that and you’re still criticising it, that means you are criticising the Taoiseach for hearing ideas. Lol

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:14 PM

Do FG ever think of anything else except….tax?

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:21 PM

If you read the piece, it was a Workers Party (lol) rep who suggested this tax.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:26 PM

Not surprised really…. Rabbitte came from the Workers Party and look at how blue he became.

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Jun 21st 2016, 11:29 AM

Jesus, that’s some fair twisting going on to make FG responsible for a pretty pavlovian leftist response to any problem.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:02 PM

Why don’t they ship all the trouble makers out of this area and into jails. The people working in the IFSC are probably commuting from all over the place to get there so why tax these people more.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jun 21st 2016, 3:12 AM

Internment ?

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:10 PM

Franny has gained a few Lbs…does that constitute on line or social media abuse??? If it does well…hasnt she lost weight?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear

Hahaha!

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe

Three fine women there all right.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:00 PM

They should clear out these ghettos and build a proper inner city. It’s embarrassing having tenement flats in the city centre. The tax proposal is ridiculous. That’s the quickest way to kill business in the area because all they’d need to do is move offices to the south side or a peripheral business park to avoid it.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:13 PM

Always knew angles to scheme and scam. Dropping TD’s wages would put a few bob in the public purses.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:27 PM

They have Gaelteacht areas with special tax rules to suit certain politicians needs. A list of Gaelteacht areas would be interesting as Meath has a special rate in their Gaelteacht. Did Bertie sort out a special arrangement for his daughter and husbands tax?

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:32 PM

I thought tonight was endas 40 years a parasite party ?

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:00 PM

You know what would pay for that without taxing people AND help regenerate the area… The commercial rates on a few 40+ story office towers in the docklands.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Jun 21st 2016, 3:11 AM

You know, it’s not a bad idea for the government to introduce a policy that the proceeds from buildings over 25 storeys will be directly redistributed to less well off areas in the inner city. That might be a way to entice certain left-wingers in Dublin city council to stop blocking high rise developments.

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:35 PM

Maybe if they introduce a suburbs tax it might stop raining.

Mute Conor Dunne
    Favourite Conor Dunne
    Jun 21st 2016, 7:32 AM

If it moves tax it, if it keeps moving regulate it and if it stops moving subsidise it!

Mute mo chara
    Favourite mo chara
    Jun 21st 2016, 2:34 AM

Gentrification?

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Jun 21st 2016, 11:52 AM

Jaysus that photo – sex in the city – munter heifer Dublin style.

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:39 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about l 5days ago ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)