You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar at a recent press briefing. Sam Boal

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has registered again as a doctor to help out during Covid-19

Varadkar joined the Medical Council register again in March.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has rejoined the medical register as a doctor to offer his services to the HSE during the Covid-19 pandemic. 

He is due to work one session a week for the HSE in an area suited to his qualifications. 

“Dr Varadkar rejoined the Medical Register last month. He has offered his services to the HSE for one session a week in areas that are within his scope of practice,” a government spokesperson confirmed to TheJournal.ie. 

“Many of his family and friends are working in the health service. He wanted to help out even in a small way.”

Varadkar rejoined the Medical Council register last month, the Irish Times first reported this evening.

He is registered under Dr Leo Eric Varadkar and first joined the register in July 2004. 

Prior to his career in politics, the Taoiseach studied medicine and worked as a doctor for a number of years. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 328 comments
328 Comments
    Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:39 PM

Fair play leo! Leading by example. Stay safe , you are needed!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:51 PM

@Mark Murphy: indeed. When you look at the leaders on either side of us, he is doing a fantastic job. Fair dues to him.

Mute Sean Treacy
    Favourite Sean Treacy
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:09 PM

@Whoswho: I notice your whiny comment hasn’t picked up a whole lot of likes !!

See 45 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:11 PM

@Whoswho: lol…I voted for them, so I’m dumb am I? I’ll be the bigger man here and not retaliate , I was reared a bit better than your lot. And by the way ‘he’ is your leader like it or not. Be a long time waiting for your ‘she’ to lead.

Mute Jimmy Murray
    Favourite Jimmy Murray
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:12 PM

@Whoswho:stay classy

Mute Shane Russell
    Favourite Shane Russell
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:13 PM

@Whoswho: we give out that people and politicians are elitist and don’t listen to ordinary people. Yet here is case and point of a selfless, welcome act and it’s a spin exercise.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Mark Murphy: Well considering what he done as minister of health I’m not expecting much

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:18 PM

@Shane Russell: The chap was in power for 5 years and he did NOTHING for the working people of Ireland! Anything he does know is spin to try and fool the Irish people. He has a PR team that is paid for by the Irish taxpayer. He has let REIT’S purchase houses instead of providing for the Irish people. He has always looked after bug business. His hero is Margaret Thatcher. Enough said!

Mute DBennie
    Favourite DBennie
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Whoswho: what are you doing yourself to help out?

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Whoswho: Jesus, you are a sad case, the man is a doctor, anyone who can help in the hospitals should help, including the Taoiseach. Politics has nothing to do with it. Michael Martin will be the next Taoiseach, so what has Leo to gain. I don’t often get cross and comment here, but you take the biscuit.

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Whoswho: ah the shinners have a voice!!

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Mark Murphy: show pony. Should concentrate on job he has or is he trying tell us Michael stepping up to the pedestal. Can’t stay in background.

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Whoswho: he has actually done more then enough. Yes we have homeless and the health needs improvement but in overall the economy has jumped higher then ever, he reduced unemployment to all time low, he increased the gdp by 100B. The holes will never be closed and as soon as one is closed another will open. If you think that your “Mary Lou” will have a magic button to fix everything you are so mistaken. I voted for him because as a working class family I am far better then I have ever been but you can call me whatever pleases your ego, I won’t call you anything for voting SF because that’s the whole point of having a free vote. But what makes you an idiot is not your vote for SF but it’s your negativity on such a positive news.

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:37 PM

Fair playnto Leo for showing example,and to Dr Trump for advising people to take untested medication rather than ventalation

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:39 PM

@Mark Murphy: wanting votes. Simple

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:41 PM

@Whoswho: and one other thing. By being such an a h ole to try putting down someone’s good will and being such a great leader when the country needs it the most, does your party no favors. In fact whilst you try to do the right thing for your party ( in your narrowed mind ) all your doing is letting other SIN FEIN voters here what kind of people voted that party and the next time there is elections which will be very soon they won’t be getting more then 20 seats, I will bet you of that. Only for the very reason because of people like you.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:43 PM

@Laro Alba: Sorry, please explain to all the readers how a Taoiseach can increase the GDP of a country by €100bn?? Is he making decisions at board level for Google, Facebook?

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Whoswho: does a pointless comment like this make you feel good? Add some value.

Mute Matthew O'Kane ☘️✊
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane ☘️✊
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Mark Murphy: i suggested he do this on facebook rather than complain about Mary Lou taking a few days to respond while she did her best to take care of her kids going to the same school with the first corona virus case looks like leo has taking a small peice if advice here is some more advice leo double nurses and doctors pay during this they need heros pay for their work

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:53 PM

@Whoswho: Did you ever hear of economic planning??

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:59 PM

@Whoswho: Oh! It didn’t take the Shinners and other lefties to come out.

Mute Shedonny
    Favourite Shedonny
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:01 PM

@Mark Murphy:
    There’s an election in the air.

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:02 PM

@Whoswho: Irish GDP was 290b when he took over and it’s now at 390b. Google, Facebook and all those could very easily have gone to France/Germany or anywhere in mainland Europe but instead they are here and it’s not without credit to the government. I’m not saying they have done everything right, yes they screwed up with so many homeless and by not investing more in the public healthcare. But like I said not a single government is going to just have a magic button and fix all the problems. Once one is closed another one will open and there always needs to be a balance on the investment. You cant expect any government to just build 5000 homes and accommodate 10000 homeless with a click of a finger cos I will go homeless too for few months if I expect to get a free house.

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:12 PM

@Whoswho: do you realise what would happen to us as a country if let’s say we got Mary into the government and she build houses for the 10000 homeless in 6 months. The next 6 months another 10000 will go homeless expecting houses on top of all the middle eastern refugees heading for the island expecting free houses. There needs to be a balance because you can’t have people expecting everything for free. What needs to be done is provisioning centers for homeless where they get food and a bed to sleep with rehabilitation centers to get rid of their addictions. But you can’t just expect to build houses for free because that will just create a lot of more homeless expecting free houses and the hard working people to pay for that.

Mute Pat Joffre
    Favourite Pat Joffre
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:20 PM

@Laro Alba: enough of that talking sense this is the journal comments section,

Mute Over the top
    Favourite Over the top
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:24 PM

@Laro Alba: I wouldn’t bother getting annoyed, you can’t reason with a brick.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Whoswho: you are sad.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Mark Murphy: “I was reared a bit better than you’re lot”. If you were reared that well you wouldn’t make comments like that.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:56 PM

@Laro Alba: we have homeless and health problems and we had them before Leo but they have gotten considerably worse under Fine Gael. You don’t have to completely ignore one to improve the economy.

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Mark Murphy: Great sure he is getting ready to hand over the Job of Taoiseach
    to John Delaney

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Mark Murphy: for the most part I do agree that his heart is in the right place but this is utter nonsense. He’s not going to magically have all this new knowledge and insight on the pandemic, purely by re-registering as a doctor, and he already has a very important job as the leader of the nation, for now. It’s a PR exercise.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Whoswho:If Leo singlehandedly developed a vaccine your fellow travelers would say it was just spin . Fair play to him ,he’s not just talking the talk but walking the walk.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Matthew O’Kane ☘️✊: Mary lu tried to spin airtime out of going to the same school as one of the first cases. Poor (me) Mary

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:02 PM

@David Carolan: your wanting likes. Simples

Mute Dave time
    Favourite Dave time
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Brian Hunt: able to read from a teleprompter all be himself, I’m sure the areas of society he’s been ignoring the last few years he’ll state ti pay attention going forward.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:01 PM

@IRL77: Shhhhh….. Can’t hear anything …

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:04 PM

@Whoswho: Moan

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:37 PM

@Peter Hughes: your not expecting much who are you and who cares

Mute Philip Mulville
    Favourite Philip Mulville
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:40 PM

@Whoswho: Dimwit.

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:55 PM

@Shane Russell: it clearly is a spin exercise. How long has it been since he practised? How much use will he actually be? He’ll be more of a hinderance to the other staff than anything asking questions.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:01 AM

@Whoswho: you on the dole ya whiney trout?

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:08 AM

@Mark Murphy: lets be honest here. He will be more of a hindrance to medics who are up to their eyes. He should concentrate on job he paid to do. Forget about the show pony PR.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:54 AM

@Mark Murphy: One word, cringeworthy.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Apr 6th 2020, 1:12 AM

@Dan McAleer: he will be a phone consultant which is needed to screen people concerned about covid symptoms- and before you pooh pooh that , he will be taking pressure off doctors who have been currently practicing to do more hands on work. I’m no fan of Leo’s politics, but i cannot knock this

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Apr 6th 2020, 1:28 AM

@Roger Dawson: Yes Roger, John Delaney was on the gravy train in the time of FFG
    Expenses for double jobbing TD’s the phantom voters in Dail Eireann.Collusion in the Garda and compensation claims from Swings

Mute Murus Gallicus
    Favourite Murus Gallicus
    Apr 6th 2020, 1:36 AM

@Mark Murphy:
    Me armpits are on fire. He re registered as a GP, to work one day a week and giving advice on phone in’s. Sure is that not what he does for the day job.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 6th 2020, 11:10 AM

@Laro Alba: A few facts for you:
    :Re GDP: look up ‘leprechaun economics’&GDP distorted by increased Corporation tax receipts as some loopholes closed in recent years.There were new OECD rules on taxing digital assets which will have more impact on Ireland as Ireland European hub for many multinationals.
    :Irish Consultants Association last September said there was 1.1m people on combined hospital waiting lists and there was dangerous overcrowding in hospitals with 118367 people on trolleys last year.There was a recruitment freeze despite the ongoing health emergency which was only lifted when coronavirus pandemic hit Ireland.According to HSE Prospectus Report (published before FG came to power in 2011)the number of critical care beds should be increased to 579 by 2020 but by end of last year there were only 255 critical care beds!
    : Ireland has the 3rd highest level of debt per capita in the world after Japan and US!
    : Ireland , unlike many other European countries,only uses 3 Catergories of ETHOS typology re homelessness and excludes 10 Catergories!
    :Generalising homeless as addicts is a disgrace! Homeless families with children increased by shocking 605% from 2011-sept 2019& homeless children in family units increased by shocking 677.7% between 2012-sept 2019.
    : Before this coronavirus pandemic Ireland had ongoing National emergencies in homelessness, housing and health.
    :There are no free houses!RTE’s George Lee said that by 2022 the cost of HAP could be nearly €2Bn a year(note: working people get HAP too)to private landlords so it makes more sense to increase the social and public housing stock and make it genuinely affordable,rents would be paid and also the increased social housing stock would be long term State assets!
    Unfortunately Threshold reported today that they are getting treble the phone calls from renters worried about losing their private rented accommodation.

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 6th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Dave Harris: screening people on the phone? Do you need to be a medical doctor to do that? Im sure most of us now know what the symptoms are and what to do in each scenario.
    Is a Doctor really necessary to do that? A nuse could easily perform such a task.
    I love the way Varadkar fans say they arent fans before singing his praises. The fella who has driven thousands of healthcare workers abroad in his time as Taoisech. A man who has overseen the current state of the HSE.

Mute Finn Ruari
    Favourite Finn Ruari
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:40 PM

Like him or not, he’s doing his best and he’s setting a great example. Compare that to other world leaders and we realise how lucky we are.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes

@Finn Ruari: Christ you people are so easily mugged off….this the same guy who ran the health service into the ground as minister for health is now a saviour lol….optics, spin and carefully created nonsense. I deal with facts and numbers and will judge him and his party on what they have done to this country…and folks if you think this act is worthy of forgetting all that then all I can say is you deserve every drop of it.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:27 PM

@Finn Ruari: Other world leaders are paying 80% of staff income, have provided houses for their citizens when they were in power, not privatised their bus routes, not taken €5m a year from their state to pay for PR. That’s €5m that should have been spent on hospitals, additional nurses, schools!! However no, it’s being spent to try and make him look good as his decisions have been all in favour of big business!!

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Peter Hughes: It’s killing you, isn’t it? Not only are the current government doing a superb job at managing this crisis compared to their peers around the world, but now they’re actually taking time out from their job of leading the country to go to the front lines in their spare time and risk their life.

I can only imaging the frothing of the mouth if Mary Lou donned her balaclava and started piecing together pipe bombs in her spare time, what a hero.

You fooled many as an alternative at the last election, but the colours have shined through brightly since and to use an apt metaphor we really dodged a bullet.

It’s a shame death and suffering is so critical in your political model.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:55 PM

@Whoswho: You are a great whinger.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:57 PM

@Sean Fahey: It’s the sacrifice of our health staff and people that are the heroes here not politicians, maybe you should think of the human cost of the policies of this party and FF in the past….so easily led down the garden path again….I would not vote SF if they were the last party on earth lol….but I will call out the horrific governance in the past of both FF and FG and the damage and lives lost in the process ….

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:02 PM

@Sean Fahey: According to article:’Taoiseach re-registers as a doctor to help tackle coronavirus’,on breaking news he will be conducting phone consultations with patients and this article says ‘one session a week’& that’s good.
    It wouldn’t be wise for the present Taoiseach to actually work on the frontline in hospital because if he did get the virus like over 1000 frontline staff then his contacts in Government, special sub -committee & NPHET, weekly meetings with all the other political party leaders,their health spokespersons,their medical expert advisors ,etc would have to self isolate for 2 weeks while awaiting their test results.
    Your comments about Mary Lou,who has been ill for 2 weeks are disgusting.She and other party leaders, their health spokespersons, Government and their medical expert advisors and other experts have been meeting regularly every week and all have input!

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:09 PM

@Sean Fahey: risk his life? He will be answering the phones…. ehhh dont say risking his life, as plenty of nurses and doctors are, when he will clearly not be doing that.

Mute Nina Wallenius
    Favourite Nina Wallenius
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:10 PM

@Peter Hughes: what have you done for the common good during this crisis?

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Peter Hughes: sad comment

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: How boring.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:52 PM

@Finn Ruari: I’d have him over Bojo or Trump any day.

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:43 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: do we actually have over 1000 healthcare workers with the virus or you are just making that up?

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:57 PM

@Whoswho: so other world leaders are paying 80% of wages, that’s good of them .
    Unfortunately here what ever we pay will have to be repaid by the working taxpayer.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Laro Alba: Journal article:’50 clusters of Convid-19 identified in nursing homes,new health data shows’:This was research by Health Protection Surveillance Centre(HPSC) which gave data up to April 2nd.Their data showed that 1084 healthcare workers had the virus!!
    I don’t make things up ,I look at the facts and research!

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:27 PM

@David Grey: correct, our tax exiles who are usually limited to spending only 183 days in Ireland, will be allowed to remain longer this year, without taxation consequences, if they can prove to Revenue they were forced to stay because of the coronavirus.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:49 PM

@Aidan: Really setting the bar high there lol

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:03 AM

@Aidan: you’ve set a horribly low benchmark there.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:03 AM

@Whoswho: 5m?? Seriously??. I’d spend that on a decent night out.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:10 AM

@Sean Fahey: troll

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:40 AM

@Sam Greene: can you hear me now lol

Mute frank griffin
    Favourite frank griffin
    Apr 6th 2020, 9:25 PM

@Peter Hughes: u would think he had enough to do running the country

Mute Pat Joffre
    Favourite Pat Joffre

Fair play to him

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:08 PM

@Whoswho: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:12 PM

@Whoswho: no fan of Leo/FG. Think they’ve made plenty of mistakes dealing with this but Jebus that’s going overboard kid. Tone it down at least an ickle bit.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Mikhail Ramendik
    Favourite Mikhail Ramendik

@Whoswho: I’m not a fan of privatizing bus routes, but just how does privatizing bus routes rob people of their front gardens?

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:21 PM

@Mikhail Ramendik: As part of the Busconnects, their doing a CPO to purchase front gardens of peoples homes that are en route. Their also sawing down historic trees on the roads. All at a time, when people are doing everything they can to help the environment

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho

@Graham Manning: Overboard – He is the one that is making these decisions not me. And this is before the Austerity that there planning on bringing in to pay for all this. If you thought the last austerity was bad, you ain’t seen nothing yet. FFG at the helm! Cannot be trusted

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:28 PM

@Whoswho: you are ranting and raving like this for weeks. You must have severe anger management issues. You fail to see good in anybody or what they do. Do some deep breathing exercises and try to engage your brain before acting. Stay safe

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:30 PM

@John Byrne: Haha, I haven’t been on here in weeks my friend

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:45 PM

@Whoswho: dont forget the homeless!…. someone please think of the homeless!!!!!!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:05 PM

@Billy Davies: It’s not funny making a nasty joke about the homeless people, families and children!

Mute Pat Joffre
    Favourite Pat Joffre
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:11 PM

@Whoswho: calm down pal you’re going to have a stroke

Mute Over the top
    Favourite Over the top
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:27 PM

@Pat Joffre: wouldn’t it be funny if whoswho got Corona and Leo was the doctor assigned! My money will be on the treatment will be accepted.. !

Mute commoner
    Favourite commoner
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Whoswho: regardless of what u think of Leo he’s worth a 1000 of you and more for his public works.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:29 PM

@Pat Joffre: Haha, by telling people to think of previous decisions and not the spin?

Mute high ho silver
    Favourite high ho silver
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:31 PM

@commoner: What has he done nothing he gets handed a script to read and his public works he has done nothing for the public even when he was health minster this is just a PR stunt

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:05 PM

@Whoswho: You can tell Mary Lou to come out now, the game of hide and seek is over. She can volunteer to push the cake trolley around the wards.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:51 PM

@Over the top: Leo is answering phones… not treating patients, he wont be on the front line so calm down.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:15 AM

@Sam Greene: pity

Mute Gerard Anthony McBride
    Favourite Gerard Anthony McBride
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:42 PM

Credit where credits due, fair play to him!

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Favourite Caoimhín O Neill
    Apr 6th 2020, 6:15 AM

@Gerard Anthony McBride: fair play for running the country into the ground?

Mute Charlie
    Favourite Charlie
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:41 PM

Good on him .

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:35 PM

@Charlie: The health staff are still waiting for PPE and Leo is doing more Spin. I pity the staff with this FG leader not caring about them

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:46 PM

Was never a fan of his but he’s leading by example….. look across the sea in both directions however and you can see just emptyness

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Laughable: To be fair you wouldn’t want either of those two going anywhere near a vulnerable patient. That said fair play to Leo. Nothing compares to the experience of actually seeing things on the ground. This could prove incredibly worthwhile.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke

Clap hands emoji.

Mute Lochlainn Marcus
    Favourite Lochlainn Marcus
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:45 PM

@David Clarke: why can’t we use emojis here??

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Lochlainn Marcus: I can only imagine a certain AnnaXx who used to comment here frequently would have had great fun with a few specific emojis.

Mute Michelle
    Favourite Michelle

Fair play Leo

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:43 PM

Now if only Micheál Martin would go back teaching.

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:44 PM

Trump won’t wear a mask but Leo hopefully will. Fair play to him.

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy

Fair play to him, leading by example.

Mute Maria Kenna
    Favourite Maria Kenna
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:50 PM

Now that’s leadership. Fair Play.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin

Will be respected for this move .
    Actions needed more than self indulgent, self serving critical comment

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:58 PM

@Philip Howlin: this is clearly a self indulgent act.
    How long has it been since he actually worked as a Doctor? He’ll be getting in everyones way and annoying them asking questions.
    Its all about political point scoring after his performance in the last election.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Apr 6th 2020, 4:54 AM

@Dan McAleer: Sometimes its not about what you as an individual can achieve but how you can inspire others. So rather than knocking it, just take it at face value and galvanise your own resolve to do your bit to stop the spread.

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies

A world leader leading by example! Well done taoiseach!

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding

Super and fair play to him I wonder is Mary going to be a nurse.

Mute Vee J Mac
    Favourite Vee J Mac
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Andy Harding: or a doctor?

Mute thenewguy
    Favourite thenewguy

Fair play. Not a fan of FG by any means, but I am proud to be Irish during this tough time. We’ve been shown leadership. On one side of the country we have a head of government playing scientific experiments and the other side of us we had someone claiming it was a hoax from an opposing political party. Ireland, Germany, Portugal too (their doing great work regarding mental health of people during this time too) to name a few European countries that are really trying.

My thoughts to Italy and Spain and that they cope with this well.

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Favourite Caoimhín O Neill
    Apr 6th 2020, 6:18 AM

@thenewguy: hello FG bot

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith

Think of the photo opportunities, all spin and no substance.

@John Smith: How is this “no substance”? He’s literally work as doctor. I seriously doubt you know what “substance” means in the context you’re trying to use it in.

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86

@John Smith: You tell him that if you need his help

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:52 PM

@Gerard Anthony McBride: He will dress up as a doctor for the photos, he won’t really work as one. So no substance just a lot of hot air.
    Does that explain substance to you or do you need a dictionary?

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Coco86: thats how you silence a begruder!

Apr 5th 2020, 6:55 PM

@John Smith: He’s not dressing up as anything. He’s providing phone consultations for 8 hours a week. Try actually reading the article.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Coco86: If you really think that he will help anyone you are as delusional as the rest of the bots in FG’s bot army.

Mute Pat Joffre
    Favourite Pat Joffre
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:00 PM

@John Smith: poor John is very angry at the world

Mute John Drake - Satirical Author
    Favourite John Drake - Satirical Author
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:02 PM

@John Smith: You are despicable.

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:04 PM

@John Smith:
    Bingo, another hurler on the ditch. Thats 2 now. Anymore?
    Surely the shinner trolls can do better than this??

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith

@John Drake – Satirical Author: I’m not the one using the crisis to further my political career.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:56 PM

@John Smith: if fairness you’re right – it would be irresponsible of him to double-job. But it is a nice jesture all the same.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Pat Joffre: and John loves the shinners, you can tell.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:33 AM

@Gerard Anthony McBride: No substance as in meaningless,doesn’t make an iota of difference.Won’t save lives,won’t cost lives,just nonsense PR excercise.

Mute Dearbháile Callan
    Favourite Dearbháile Callan
    Apr 6th 2020, 2:10 AM

@Gerard Anthony McBride: he is working 1vshift a week in an area most suited to his skills. He will not be frontline unless there is a camera there.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Apr 28th 2020, 11:01 AM

@John Smith: I’ll just leave this here
    https://twitter.com/ELLOBO142/status/1255060556496674816?s=09

Mute Stupid Blanket
    Favourite Stupid Blanket

Hon Leo ya legend ya

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly

Now that’s what you call leadership.

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:41 PM

He’s offering telephone consultation … some front line worker he will be !!!

Mute Billydog
    Favourite Billydog

@Tommy Byrne:
    What are you doing Tommy to help out?

Mute The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh
    Favourite The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh

@Tommy Byrne: where does it say that it’s a telephone session???? Oh it doesn’t, does it?

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Ray O Malley
    Favourite Ray O Malley

@Tommy Byrne: well done. First in with the negativity…

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky

@Tommy Byrne: He’s leading the country. He can hardly do a few shifts in a hospital.

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien

@Tommy Byrne: If he worked 7 shifts a week. Youd complain that he should be leading the country and not working.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Billydog: exactly….

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop

@Tommy Byrne: After not being registered for 5 years what do you suggest he do? Become an ICU consultant and intubate patients?

Mute Robert
    Favourite Robert

@Tommy Byrne: it’s easy to sit back and judge . How are you playing you’re part?

Mute Trish Ryan
    Favourite Trish Ryan

@Tommy Byrne: do you want someone out of practise on the frontline?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt

@Tommy Byrne: well fair play to him for doing that. I presume that has to be done by a doctor. He , in turn can free that doctor to work with patients. You had to look for the negative

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Tommy Byrne: No idea how you would know that, but even if true wouldn’t it mean he’s freeing up another doctor or allowing them some down time ?. SF voter here…. Fair play, Dr.Varadkar.

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Tommy Byrne: Sitting on your arse drinking cans yourself?

Mute Dominic Hearns
    Favourite Dominic Hearns
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Tommy Byrne: S*ag off Tommy Byrne. He’s doing a great job. He’s not shirking his responsibilities. Oh, by the way, where are Mary-Loooooo and that Doherty fellow ???

Mute Marcus Mc Cann
    Favourite Marcus Mc Cann

@Tommy Byrne: telephone consultation is equally as important in this situation …… Every little helps …. I’ve volunteered myself too…. I hope you are doing your bit too

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies

@Billydog: every journal article needs it’s begruder. Tommys done his bit.

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh

@Tommy Byrne:
    You are are barely even an excuse for a human being. When you see people doing the right thing, is it a painful reminder of your own inadequacies?

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Billy Davies: this is nothing more than a photo opportunity and something for propaganda team to spin… I’d be surprised if he even answers 1 call

Mute Mike Daly
    Favourite Mike Daly

@Tommy Byrne: what are you doing tell us ?

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Mike Daly: I’m still working… not anything important with health care but still keeping the country going…, what are you doing ??

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:10 PM

@Dominic Hearns: Pearse’s wife re-registered as a nurse weeks ago actually as did Senator Maire Devine!
    Mary Lou,her health spokesperson,all the party leaders and their health spokespersons, Government,their medical expert advisors and other experts have been meeting regularly every week.
    Mary Lou had been ill for the past 2 weeks.

Apr 5th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Tommy Byrne: fair play for the link tommy and obviously that wasn’t made clear from the article so thanks for sharing. Still think fair play to him…at least he is playing some part unlike that moron trump.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:19 PM

@Mike Daly: Don’t worry Tommy isn’t real no page available just another shinnerbot

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne

@Ossi Fritsche: very much real… just prefer my privacy !!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:26 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: I believe politicans are trying to do their best during this difficult time,they have families and could have family members in vulnerable catergories too,this coronavirus pandemic is affecting all of society and livelihoods.We’re all in this together!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: That’s looking at it objectively,I like certain politicans in all political parties even if I disagree with some politcal party policies!

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick

@The Exhibition Guy – Stephan Murtagh: regardless… it’s still a spin

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick

@The Exhibition Guy – Stephan Murtagh: regardless… it’s still a spin

Apr 5th 2020, 7:53 PM

@Mark Broderick: Ah Mark that’s your communist side coming out!!!! And you of private schooling….ha ha!!
    At least he is trying to do something unlike the US tango man…

Mute Finola Mc Hugh
    Favourite Finola Mc Hugh
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:04 PM

@Tommy Byrne: my local health centre are only doing video/phone calls to avoid spread in the waiting areas now.. this is for all issues.

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:59 PM

@Ricky: isnt that what Doctors do?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:28 AM

@Tommy Byrne: A lot of people on here not happy with you,most claim to be volunteers who like to ask “what are you doing yourself”?
    A lot of people on their high horse tonight.

Mute John Bracken
    Favourite John Bracken

Like him or not…….ye’ve to give him kudos….. fair play indeed lad

Mute Denis Doyle
    Favourite Denis Doyle

Super hero

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell

No matter what move this man makes someone will find fault. I understand that everyone is really frustrated and afraid and sick of this whole situation and so are looking for someone to blame but I wouldn’t have either of his roles right now for anyone’s money. And even if he is going to work as telephone consultancy as someone suggested, does anyone know how hard that would be? Or how beneficial it is to have someone qualified on the other end of the phone listening? I didn’t vote for him, I know he has flaws, but I think he’s doing the best he can and it’s a lot better than most.

Mute Aidan Baragry
    Favourite Aidan Baragry

Fair play. All hands to the pump.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg

In times of true hardship you see true leaders. Not those best at party politics but those best to lead!

Mute Francy o loughlin
    Favourite Francy o loughlin

Fair play to him. More than what trump is doing anyways

Mute Dan McAleer
    Favourite Dan McAleer
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:00 AM

@Francy o loughlin: a hamster would be more use than Trump.

Mute conor murphy
    Favourite conor murphy
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:58 PM

Brilliant impact and incredible example

Mute Seomra Ban
    Favourite Seomra Ban

Bots out in force

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug

@Seomra Ban:
    Wait until they sober up, they’ll be all over thus!

Mute sally
    Favourite sally

@Seomra Ban: even worse they are shinnerbots!

Mute Kash Jam
    Favourite Kash Jam
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:56 PM

Respect!

Mute John Bracken
    Favourite John Bracken

Like him or not…….ye’ve to give him kudos….. fair play indeed lad

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power

As much as I dislike him,
    Fair play to him!
    If you have skills put your shoulder to the wheel.

Mute Caoimhín
    Favourite Caoimhín
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:10 PM

Like it or not, I count ourselves lucky to have a leader with a medical background. We are fantastic work with the circumstances given. I know there is people in here with all the answers that will disagree.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:14 PM

Stay healthy Leo!

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty

Has there been an update on today’s numbers, or did they not mention it on the news? Fair play to Leo, I wasn’t a fan of his but he’s doing a better job than both our neighbours are anyway.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland

@Freda Hanratty: For some reason we’re nearly always the last in europe to release\report numbers…I’m sure they’ll get around to it

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle

I’d say it’s a public relations move.

Mute #JUSTICE4NOEL
    Favourite #JUSTICE4NOEL

@Rory Mackle: would you Rory? Well that’s nice to hear.

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle

@#JUSTICE4NOEL: and you think you’re so clever whatever your name is

Mute John Bracken
    Favourite John Bracken

@Rory Mackle: or a Doctor honouring the oath to “first do no harm”

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra

@Rory Mackle: Why is a PR move a bad thing? He’s getting out there doing his bit. Will this hinder the fight against Covid-19 in any way?

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:31 PM

@John Bracken: who’s going to lead the country while he’s being a doctor, I’d say he’d have a bit of retraining to do as well , he’d probably just be in the way.

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: because he has become deskilled and I would imagine being caretaker Taoiseach is a full time job

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:48 PM

@Rory Mackle: He has become deskilled? You know this for a fact? Or are you just pulling unintelligible opinion out of a rear-facing orifice? …and you “imagine” caretaker Taoiseach is a full time job? I’d say it is! But there’s plenty of people who hold down more than one full-time job in this country to make ends meet— why berate the Taoiseach for doing any different?

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin

@Rory Mackle: you’re a clown!

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:12 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: just because you’re a bit slow, he hasn’t practiced medicine in 10 years so obviously he’s become deskilled

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:17 PM

@Rory Mackle: who cares what you think!

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:18 PM

@Jun Stone: you do

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:15 PM

@Rory Mackle: Open another can and relax your cacks.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son

Fair play Leo, made of sterner stuff.
    Bring on a second election when this is over you’ll sweep the boards.

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:42 AM

@Hector Son: I thought he was going to answer the phone not sweep the boards

Mute Anita OGalligan
    Favourite Anita OGalligan
    Apr 6th 2020, 11:15 AM

@Hector Son: I sincerely hope so, we don’t want FF or The shiners in power who will ruin the country like before. OK, I know mistakes were made with FFG but FG are more honest and hopefully FG would learn by those mistakes made.

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien

More Pr bull

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Tom o brien: You better be working in the ICU Tom. Otherwise thank your nurses and doctors and stay home.

Mute Brendan Redmond
    Favourite Brendan Redmond

I’m a die hard skeptic of any politician but if he goes and plays his part I tip my hat!

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:59 PM

Propaganda

Mute #JUSTICE4NOEL
    Favourite #JUSTICE4NOEL

@Lapsy Pa: Is it ever possible to please some people. If you dont give a hand, you’re accused of doing nothing and if you do, it’s a PR stunt. Shinnes and logic dont co exist

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa

@#JUSTICE4NOEL: should be too busy being Taoiseach in all fairness

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:58 PM

@Lapsy Pa: who ya calling a shine ya muppet ?

Mute #JUSTICE4NOEL
    Favourite #JUSTICE4NOEL

@Lapsy Pa: *shinner. Just speaking in general here. Hes doing his part l, I dont know why people begrudge that.

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:10 PM

@#JUSTICE4NOEL: he’s running the country, not a general practice !

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan

Hahahahaha, this is hilarious. We all know Leo won’t be let near any patient. But Michéal Martin must be furious. His one shot at being Taoiseach is slipping away…

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson

Is he getting paid yeah sure he is not like the young trainee nurses whom they promise would be payed and have now refused the same nurses no headline about that journal.

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:08 PM

@Derek Richardson:
    Because you just made this up.

Mute For Goodness Sake

@Derek Richardson: Rubbish. They are being paid.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:20 PM

@For Goodness Sake: I know a nurse who got a letter yesterday saying they will not be payed and that includes travel cost as well

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:50 PM

Not a fan of him or his party but an amazing selfless act fair play to him hope he stays safe

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:52 PM

@James Delaney: he will be answering phones. I’m sure he’ll be just fine.

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:43 AM

@Sam Greene: I’m listening

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:54 PM

Pearse Doherty’s wife also returning to work as nurse last month. and senator Marie Devine has also returning as nurse.
    Great to see them leading from the front.

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:07 PM

@Peter McGlynn: go to bed u clown, there’s no comparison, did u ever see a Shinner doing anything good for country?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Apr 6th 2020, 10:45 AM

@john gavin: Its absolutely amazing all the blueshirt bots on here idolizing Leo and now calling for an election. This the same Leo who has ravaged the HSE, treated nurses disgracefully, thousands on waiting lists and trollies. Sorry I’m not falling for this the nurses, doctors and all hospital staff deserve better than a PR stunt.

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire

How about all the student nurses ?
    No pay !
    Come on Journal. Fair play , alot of student nurses …

Mute John Bracken
    Favourite John Bracken
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:22 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: excellent point too

Mute For Goodness Sake

@Willy Mc Entire: They are will be paid but need to be set up on the payroll system. But you probably knew this before you commented.

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:07 PM

@For Goodness Sake: Please post a link for said. It’s my understanding that Si and Lieo lied and they are not and won’t be paid. So either im misinformed or your telling FFG porkies .

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:54 PM

Fair play Leo what other country has or can say there front man is going on the frontline. I didn’t vote FG in the last election but call a spade a spade.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Breedge: hes not going to the front line. He’ll be answering phones, phone consultations. So calm down.

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:44 AM

@Sam Greene: I will put you through now

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77

Fair dues, but he obviously doesn’t expect to be in his Acting Taoiseach role for long, because doing any other work alongside it in these times is impossible.

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:05 PM

This is good news only if it means he is resigning as Taoiseach.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:55 PM

@brendan fitzsimons:
    Oh, grow up

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan

WILL DO ANYTHING FOR A PHOTO SHOOT

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:46 AM

@Pauline Fedigan: he particularly likes photos of himself on the phone

Mute Sara Fay
    Favourite Sara Fay
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:19 PM

Never bother about political stuff, but this time I am proud of you Leo— being a prime minister of Ireland

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:38 PM

I cannot believe the amount of people fawning over our fearless leader. This is a publicity stunt if ever I saw one. Holohan has more business on the front lines than Leo Varadkar, after all the HSE is who he actually works for. Leo is meant to be running the country until a new government is formed, and not a good job of it either as far as I can see, with leaving the rugby fans in despite cancellation, not telling people coming back from hotspots to self isolate at least and the latest one of forging ahead with getting goods from China despite the fact that other countries that had done so had issues with the goods.

Mute Eamonn Duggan
    Favourite Eamonn Duggan

My Taoiseach.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll

55 comments already in 15 minutes, you might think that some people knew in advance that this article was in the pipeline.
    I wonder if we’re going see the same glut of comments, again today, in the minutes following the release of the daily numbers.
    If this is what the much vaunted PR guy is getting paid for, you have to question the value.
    Mind you, it does keep the story of the €200 million of Chinese garbage off the pages so for Leo and Simon I suppose that alone is worth what they’re, sorry we’re, paying him.

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:07 PM

@Garry Coll:

Yes, a tribe of FG trolls lined up to shower almost inedntical praise on their Leader.

Not even subtle….

Mute Aisleen Dowling
    Favourite Aisleen Dowling

@brendan fitzsimons: and equally the same amount bashing him. Seems to me that people just point blank refuse to give credit where it’s due when it comes to either Simon Harris or Leo Varadkar.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:58 PM

@Aisleen Dowling: well said !
    Was thinking the very same

Mute For Goodness Sake

@Garry Coll: Such clap trap!

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:58 PM

@Aisleen Dowling: Credit where credit is due. Working ONE day a week when you’re a qualified doctor whose party have systemically destroyed the health system for the past decade and then exacerbating this crisis further by refusing to act fast enough during a global pandemic for fear of hurting the precious economy, not exactly awe inspiring stuff (I would be impressed if I thought this was anything other than a shallow PR stunt but we all know better)…but RTE will no doubt do several heart-wrenching puff pieces to make him look like the Dalai Lama, Mother Teresa and Jesus all rolled into one.
    That being said, IF he just gets stuck in no fanfare and helps out and we hear no more about our triumphant Leo whom we are all blessed to have as our benevolent overlord, no more tweets about him on the #frontline, no RTE specials, no soundbites about him being such a good ol’ boy, no front page news with him grinning ear to ear in his PPEs…well… then I’ll concede I was wrong, vote FG forever more and eat my boots.

Mute Aisleen Dowling
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:33 PM

@SJF: regardless of how he handled this, he was always going to get slated. Fact.

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:00 PM

@Aisleen Dowling: Maybe it’s because of his poor performance both as minister for health and Taoiseach. Fact. One thinly veiled PR stunt does not undo a decade of harm.

Mute Aisleen Dowling
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:45 PM

@SJF: your opinion, of the which you are entitled to of course. I’m of the generation that remember the misgivings of FF more than those of FG – but still recognise the efforts FG made to attempt to improve things. They brought us out of a recession only to have a global virus to bring us right back into it. They’re doing what they can, that’s enough for me. And I’m delighted it’s not Mary Lou and co leading this whole thing.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:09 PM

He’s doing an excellent job in this crisis and once again leading from the front. Stay safe Leo.

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:50 AM

@sean de paore: I think he willbe safe enough on the phone

Mute paul mc donough
    Favourite paul mc donough

Not that’s what a good leader does are you watching Trump

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan

GOD HELP US ALL

Mute Johnny B
    Favourite Johnny B

And the PR wheel keeps spinning.

Mute Kieran O' Callaghan
    Favourite Kieran O' Callaghan
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:49 PM

Well done Leo. Leading by example. Fair play

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Apr 6th 2020, 3:31 PM

@Kieran O’ Callaghan: If he was really genuine about helping this wouldn’t have been publisised. Ask the nurses what they think of him.

Mute Mary O Connor
    Favourite Mary O Connor
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:02 PM

Well done Leo and to those posting negative comments what are you doi g to help?

Mute Phil O Stine
    Favourite Phil O Stine
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:53 PM

Must be deskilled at this stage. Years since he practised

Mute Ciaran O'Neill
    Favourite Ciaran O'Neill
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:58 PM

Fair play Leo. That is real leadership and I’d say fairly unique in the world for a prime minister to do. No doubt the naysayers will still give out even though he is doing a very good thing!

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:55 PM

What ever he is doing as a Doctor it frees up another Doctor to work on the Frontline and for that alone he should be applauded. Every Doctor, Every Nurse, Every Paramedic that can be freed up from doing mundane work to work in our hospitals is a bonus.
    So if he is just doing phone consultations one day a week, brilliant.

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:40 PM

i’d be impressed if I believed it was
    A) out of any sort of sense of obligation rather than a cynical PR exercise and
    B) if he and FF (whose combined parties have less than 44% of the vote) weren’t essentially giving the other almost 60% an ultimatum “let us back into power for another 5 years or we won’t cooperate” and using a global pandemic to try and pressure the greens and independents to prop them up.

I also feel like I need to say this because I’m sick of hearing what a “great job” Leo and Simon are doing – they are ding the bare minimum, too late and after overwhelming public pressure…We are only doing a great job when compared to Trump or Johnson who’s policies were “do nothing” up until very recently.

Mute Caro Fionnagán
    Favourite Caro Fionnagán
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:10 PM

I have said a few negative things about leo , but I have to commend him for doing this . He dosent have to do it , so fairplay to him well done to all the Doctors and nursing staff . God bless

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn

It’s nice to see he is following the example of Sinn Fein Senator Maire Deveney who reregistered to join the front line 2 weeks ago with no fanfare.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Apr 6th 2020, 5:03 AM

@Paul Flynn: Good on her – highly commendable action. But didn’t that story get published in the Irish Times on 15th March ?

Mute Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet
    Favourite Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet

Just hope he doesn’t try to get his doctor’s salary as well as his Taoiseach salary. No need to be greedy Leo.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:03 PM

@Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet: Is that it?

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty

This is a fine gael or stunt to win votes and popularity from idiots who dont know better

Mute Martin McFly
    Favourite Martin McFly

@Richard Doherty: and Richard here is doing what at our countries great time of need? I didn’t vote for him but give him or anyone playing their part right now credit. You probably spent your dole flying to Cheltenham.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop

@Richard Doherty: Every shift he works is one someone else doesn’t have to. Stunt or no stunt, every little helps…

Mute J
    Favourite J

@Richard Doherty: I would even go so far as to say coronavirus was a false flag for him to get more votes. *sarcasm alert *

Mute Trish Ryan
    Favourite Trish Ryan

@Richard Doherty: votes for the election?oh wait that over.playing the long game i suppose,baiting us for the next one..

Mute Aaron Douglas
    Favourite Aaron Douglas

@Richard Doherty: or a lad who is using his experience and background to help the hse and the country. Fill up your glass there since it’s always half empty

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley

@Richard Doherty: well would much prefer to have an educated elected representative.

Mute Philomena Stack
    Favourite Philomena Stack

@Richard Doherty: Such a stupid comment?

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Apr 5th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Richard Doherty: alas, there’s no vaccine for begrudgery.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons

@Richard Doherty: and your contribution to the effort is to slag people off who are trying to help aren’t you a great lar

Mute David Daly
    Favourite David Daly

@Martin McFly: such an irrational comment. Because the man doesn’t line up with your opinion? Should we all fall in line with what opinion is given to us and praise our supreme leader for his contribution? What are you doing to help?

Mute Patrick Monaghan
    Favourite Patrick Monaghan
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:23 PM

PR stunt. RTÉ will just follow him around all day and he’ll be just posing for the cameras

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:41 PM

@Patrick Monaghan: do cupid stunts like you ever give anybody even a small bit of credit

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:47 PM

@john gorey: Credit where credit is due. Working ONE day a week when you’re a qualified doctor whose party have systemically destroyed the health system for the past decade and then exacerbating this crisis further by refusing to act fast enough during a global pandemic for fear of hurting the precious economy, not exactly awe inspiring stuff (I would be impressed if I thought this was anything other than a shallow PR stunt but we all know better)…but as @Patrick Monaghan has mentioned I’m sure RTE will do several heart-wrenching puff pieces to make him look like the Dalai Lama, Mother Teresa and Jesus all rolled into one.

Mute Aisleen Dowling
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:42 PM

@SJF: are you just copying and pasting the same reply to people’s comments?

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:51 AM

@john gorey credit for his phone ?

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien

Next one will be “ oh i got spat at “ Simon Harris stunt

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21

He may as well cause he’s a dreadful politician

Mute Seamus Bridgeman
    Favourite Seamus Bridgeman

A waste of PPE gear for a few PR photos FG have no shame

Mute For Goodness Sake

@Seamus Bridgeman: You have no class.

Mute Mikhail Ramendik
    Favourite Mikhail Ramendik
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:18 PM

Look, this is a politician “leading by example”. Of course it’s a publicity thing, but a Taoiseach, even a caretaker one, is supposed to do publicity. It also might be insurance in case Mary Lou manages to form a government after all; he will be able, if he is out of Cabinet, to crank up to perhaps half-time – this will still let him sit in the Dáil when it meets.

It’s not a “great hero” thing. It’s not a “villain” thing. It’s… reasonable and decent and leave it at that. The man lost the election and deserved to lose it; he has also repeatedly shown himself a better leader than Boris Johnson, which is frankly a low bar.

Mute Patrick Monaghan
    Favourite Patrick Monaghan
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:23 PM

PR stunt. RTÉ will just follow him around all day and he’ll be just posing for the cameras !!

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:01 PM

Good to see him back on the tools again

Mute Rachel Flood
    Favourite Rachel Flood
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:26 PM

Pity our minister for health doesn’t have any qualifications to help out also.

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham

To medic friends told me today that the three main hospitals in Cork are empty. As commendable as this is, we need a leader at the moment, not another doctor!

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham

@Carol Cunningham: Two

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son

@Carol Cunningham: false news alert!!

Mute Pat Man
    Favourite Pat Man
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:52 AM

@Carol Cunningham: looks like they’ve sorted out the waiting lists

Mute Sean c
    Favourite Sean c
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:19 PM

Who are the 1000s of leo lovers, they have utterly ruined us, both medical incompetence and financially. The sound bite optics king and a media darling, am I living in a parallel world.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:40 PM

His next move a new Election based on Spin

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:54 PM

The bots are out in force tonight. The spinners are on overtime. FG should be ashamed of themselves.

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:18 PM

@Eddie Byrne: You mean the shinnerbots? Mary Lou Irish hide n seek champion 2020.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe

Oh he’s great how much money will he get paid for that some man me a#se

Mute Konrad KA
    Favourite Konrad KA
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:29 PM

He’s doing stellar work in fairness, look at UK, France, SPAIN, Italy, Netherlands… it could be Ireland.

Mute Robert O’H
    Favourite Robert O’H
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:15 PM

I’m no Fine Gael supporter, but well done to Leo. Doing what he can and setting an example

Mute Mick Curtin
    Favourite Mick Curtin
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:14 AM

This is nothing more than a PR stunt. As minister for health and Harris/Dr Reilly and Harney spanning 18 years and look at the shambles of a health system we have. The People are dopey to fall for this trickery.

Mute Oonagh Comerford
    Favourite Oonagh Comerford
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:03 PM

Get that man a cape and a Superman suit!!!

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes

On one hand I applaud the effort but on the other think all his efforts should be focused on being the Taoiseach.

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:42 PM

One shift a week……..pr stunt……but sheep will believe

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:05 AM

@Mark Gough: the grooming has been gradual. It’s easy to steer when there’s fear and uncertainty…but fear doesn’t last and I don’t believe this eggy sh!t will work out well for our Leo.

Mute Ba Cr
    Favourite Ba Cr
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:56 PM

People have real short memorys if they vote this crowd back in.. is everyone after forgetting the damage they done to every walk of life from the average joe for the past ten years by there greed. He had no interest in people on trolleys, no interest in giving the nurses what they earned but now he is a hero by answering the phones one day a week. No douth he get a wage out of it and don’t be suprised if he gets another pension out of it. It”s not just ireland at a crisis, its the world. He is doing a good job at the moment but it took for there party to do poorly with the people. Its now he wants to build up his ego.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Apr 5th 2020, 7:22 PM

Great stuff Leo … killing two birds with the one stone….helping the cause and winning the popularity contest with Micky Martin! I hope it’s a genuine effort at helping out rather than what it looks like….. why does everyone need to know this!!!!

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:08 PM

Pity I don’t live in his constituency, for stepping up and putting his medical skills to use I’d definitely give him my number 1.

Mute Kieran Byrne
    Favourite Kieran Byrne
    Apr 5th 2020, 9:12 PM

He wont be doing a 24 hr shift then.

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:22 PM

Fair play

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:36 PM

He will be doing triage over a phone

Mute Bleurgh
    Favourite Bleurgh
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:11 PM

Damned If he did and damned if he didn’t…! If this was a shinner td, there would be praise.
    If he found the cure to corona virus, people would still criticise.
    What harm is it doing to anyone???

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:27 PM

I knew all the flushirts would wet themselves on this one.. Hilarious

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill

Supposedly the 1st thing he says to every new patient is “come with me if you want to live”

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:35 AM

Nothing more than a publicity stunt, he had a job to do already, or like former TD Dara Murphy does he now think he can double job.? Because Dara Murphy’s double jobbing didn’t work out well.

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:00 PM

I hope you paid the registration fees just like everyone else you called upon had too.

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:01 AM

Wish they’d pay the student nurses as promised and stop this PR bullish!t…do they not get dizzy from this constant spinning!

Mute Michael Sherlock
    Favourite Michael Sherlock

Jesus the keyboard warriors are always on..Leo at least stepping up to help out..he didn’t do anything for 5yrs but at least he’s trying now..we need to stand together and help save lives not bitch and moan and put down people

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Michael Sherlock: Trying now because he lost an election. And if he really gave a shit he’d agree to a national unity government instead of stonewalling any and every proposal that doesn’t see his party in power for the next 5 years.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy

Isnt that just typical of the irish? He was the devil incarnate when he ran the country into the ground a d topped up what ff did with health crisis.. then he announces what a good boy he is and everybody is applauding him. Bear in mind he is not going to relinquish his Gp salary for the good of the nation. It’s good that he is trying to help fir a change

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Celia Murphy: As the polls have shown, again and again and again and again…we have short memories.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:12 PM

The journal moaners will be loving this :)

Mute Murus Gallicus
    Favourite Murus Gallicus
    Apr 6th 2020, 1:33 AM

To soften everyone’s cough. He is working on day a week, taking phone calls.

Mute Ananya Sharma
    Favourite Ananya Sharma
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:44 PM

First there was Dev,and now we have Lev.

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Apr 5th 2020, 8:58 PM

Leo and his government have handled this crisis very well given the circumstances. There’s no point in denying that. But it doesn’t excuse their repeated screwing over of an entire generation of young Irish people during their decade in power, in particular their refusal to take the kind of drastic action they’re taking now in response to Coronavirus, in the face of the housing crisis which has destroyed tens of thousands of Irish peoples’ aspirations.

Indeed, the fact that they have been able to take hitherto unthinkable action to tackle this crisis but they were “unable” to do so to tackle the housing crisis, proves once again that the issue with regard to housing is indifference, not inability, with regard to doing anything about it.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:39 PM

I’ve heard stories about people only working one day a week so they can claim the 3 fiddy off the dole.

Mute Kipper O Keeffe
    Favourite Kipper O Keeffe
    Apr 6th 2020, 8:47 AM

A while ago when nurses fighting for better conditions where was he ?.
    It a publicity stunt because because testing not up to mark , PPE ordering a joke .
    He be in the way with cameras following him around and one shift a week .
    Do what you supposed to be doing and sort it out .
    NOT GO LOOKING FOR F##CKING BROWNIE POINTS.

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing
    Apr 6th 2020, 8:15 AM

He’s going to be answering a phone.. Just saying.

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Apr 5th 2020, 10:10 PM

Globalists all over the world must be wetting themselves at the thought of all currencies collapsing, leading to one world currency, government, religion. All under the power of lucifer who they already adore. Line up to be chipped for the digital currency. Then match dtraight to hell, which ye dont believe in anyway.

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Apr 6th 2020, 8:04 AM

As in the financial crash , as in our world cup experience it is not the leadership that defines the Irish people but their herd instinct to do the right thing. Our recovery from the financial / banking crisis was down to external investors looking at the amazing behaviour of the Irish and deciding ” that’s where we’ll put our money” It will happen again but give us the credit not a spin doctor. Its Tony Holohan that’s running this show so brilliantly

Mute John Joyce
    Favourite John Joyce
    Apr 6th 2020, 11:34 AM

This pandemic really is proving to be a huge PR opportunity to cement power. I personally know doctors and there is no shortage of them. The hospitals are empty. Their is a crisis in nursing homes and millions of livlihoods are being destroyed by a restrictions for a virus that is harmless to them. People are so easy to control. The comments are hilarious. Go Leo!

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Apr 6th 2020, 12:11 PM

@John Joyce: Well said. Leo is a diva and an attention seeker. Using the ‘crisis’ as only he could. Shameful stuff.

Mute Angela Godfrey Maher
    Favourite Angela Godfrey Maher
    Apr 6th 2020, 2:19 AM

Stop all you bloody moaners and go help as well in your community as we are .

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Apr 6th 2020, 4:03 PM

Hope he’s a better doctor than he is Taoiseach

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Apr 6th 2020, 7:35 PM

Very worrying, he is gay, he can spread AIDS help us here!

Mute Niamh Ni Bhradaigh
    Favourite Niamh Ni Bhradaigh
    Apr 5th 2020, 11:33 PM

Very proud. Well done Leo