You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar reviews a trainee guard of honour on his first visit to Templemore Garda Training College in County Tipperary. RollingNews.ie

Taoiseach tells new gardaí: 'Your loyalty is not to the person in the uniform. It is to the uniform and all that it stands for'

A change in the culture of gardaí in which ‘no-one ever hesitates in speaking truth to power’ is needed, according to Leo Varadkar.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has told new Garda members that their “greatest loyalty is in providing a solid blue wall in support of justice”.

Speaking at the Garda passing out parade at the Garda College in Templemore today, where 200 new recruits attested, he said:

“Your loyalty is not to the person in the uniform. It is to the uniform. To all that it stands for,” adding:

“It is the best way of honouring your past and the men and women who have worn that uniform.”

Highlighting Justice Charleton’s report on the Disclosures Tribunal, the Taoiseach told the newest members of the gardaí that there is a need for a culture change within the force, “one in which people at all levels of the organisation, without fear or favour, share ideas on opportunities and problems”. 

He said there is also a need for a culture of shared accountability and one in which “no-one ever hesitates in to speaking truth to power “.

“I hope that in the years to come you will look back on today with pride that you were the recruits who entered at that moment of change. You embraced and owned the new culture,” he said. 

Modernisation of the force

Varadkar also mentioned the changes recommended by the Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland and the told the new recruits that Garda Commissioner Drew Harris is determined to drive reform and modernisation.

“His primary focus is to protect the public and his members. From my meetings with him, I know he is determined to make swift progress on the issues that have been raised by Gardaí – including rosters, uniforms and appropriate resources, such as ICT – to help you do your job,” said the Taoiseach.

TEMPLEMORE 758A7089_90559767 Taoiseach Leo Varadkar reviews a trainee guard of honour on his first visit to Templemore Garda Training College in County Tipperary. Rollingnews.ie Rollingnews.ie

“Those who put on the uniform are called to perform the highest service in the land. It is a responsibility you have willingly accepted and we thank you for it,” he told graduates this afternoon.

With criticisms levelled at the force in recent years about the pullback in community policing, the Taoiseach specifically mentioned the importance of it.

“As you embark on your careers, remember that many people will spend the most difficult times of their life in your presence. In the aftermath of a sudden bereavement, a mental health crisis, or during the anxious wait for a missing loved one, they will turn to you. This is a huge responsibility and one I know you are ready for.

“You have the power to make a positive impact. You have the power to save lives. You also have the power to change lives. The future is in your hands,” he concluded. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute justasheedy
    Favourite justasheedy
    Nov 30th 2018, 1:53 PM

Nob

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Nov 30th 2018, 1:53 PM

Your loyalty is turning a blind eye when and where we tell you.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 1st 2018, 12:02 AM

@Trevor Hayden:

Wasn’t he the first in Government to turn on. Callinan?

Rightly called him out for his “whistleblowers are disgusting” comment?

Inconvenient I know for you.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Dec 1st 2018, 2:05 AM

@Brinster: ‘first in government’ – I presume what you meant to say is the first in Parliament. Either way you’d be very wrong either way.

Mute Brendan Coyne
    Favourite Brendan Coyne
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:00 PM

It would be great if he practiced what he is preaching

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:37 PM

@Brendan Coyne: That’s what I thought also … his blind loyalty to his mate, Frances Fitzgerald comes to mind

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Nov 30th 2018, 9:33 PM

@Skybloo: she was cleared of any wrong doing by the tribunal so he did right to stand by her

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Dec 1st 2018, 2:13 AM

Report cleared her? Scandal after Scandal dogged her and her predecessor, Like the report concerning Naughten nothing to see here move on… What happened to the investigation relating to the millions missing in the Templemore?.. What happened with the written off penalty points?.What happened to the missing mobile phones and laptops?. The deputy leader of the blueshirts Michael Martin very quite on these subjects.

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Nov 30th 2018, 1:55 PM

Will Socky be attending the National Housing Demonstration tomorrow?

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:30 PM

@mursim:
    Will anyone be attending the national housing demonstration tomorrow?
    Jeremy Kyle is on

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:05 PM

@Patrick Nolan: I’ll be in the North West for the weekend, is there any regional events on, you know … where there is absolutely no problem with homelessness. Why call it “National” when it is a Dublin specific issue?

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:20 PM

@mursim: wait and see

Mute restinginmyaccpaddy
    Favourite restinginmyaccpaddy
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:42 PM

@Patrick Nolan: indeed.

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:37 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: Gone on up for the Lundy burning?

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:00 PM

That’s why nobody is being prosecuted for harassing a whistleblower almost to his death. Same for the garda in the pub with the rat effigy of MacCabe. No prosecutions ,and that ain’t out of loyalty to the state.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:02 PM

@Picture This: what would you charge the effigy guy with?

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:13 PM

@Karen Wellington: super hero!

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:15 PM

@Karen Wellington: Sorry Karen. That was meant to call Maurice McCabe a superhero

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:17 PM

@Karen Wellington: the images were posted online so online harassment what else ?

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:12 PM

@Picture This: I don’t think online harassment is a crime, unless it is tied into a wider (non-online) harassment. Phoning an individual up repeatedly is harassment, while repeatedly posting malicious lies online isn’t (again, due to early precedence when judges didn’t get computers being their interpretation of offences against the person)

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:04 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: ask the blogger that was stopped at Dublin airport by detectives for writing negatively about Regina Doherty… by the way its alleged a commissioner sat in a politicians car in a shady car park meeting to tell him your man a kiddy fiddler and you in serious trouble, any excuses for a criminal investigation being initiated there… so regardless to what illegal or not it seems our politicians don’t have an appetite for justice.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Nov 30th 2018, 6:35 PM

@Karen Wellington: Personal injury

Mute Micheal McGee
    Favourite Micheal McGee
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:14 PM

Your loyalty is to the State…by becoming a revenue generator…

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:32 PM

@Micheal McGee: how much revenue do you reckon the garda dragged down the road in Carrickmackross generated? Or the garda on the drugs squad in Store Street who had acid thrown at him?

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Joe Bloggs: What’s the story on Carrickmacross? Seems to be some confusion as to whether the guard was in the car or being dragged by the car.

Mute restinginmyaccpaddy
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:31 PM

@Micheal McGee: indeed.

Mute Mary Garry
    Favourite Mary Garry
    Nov 30th 2018, 9:42 PM

@Cathal: It wasn’t Carrickmacross,it was Castleblaney

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Nov 30th 2018, 10:38 PM

@Mary Garry: Sorry ,just followed previous post. Didn’t notice it was wrong town.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:44 PM

Who’s Leo “ loyal “ to? It’s certainly not the people of this country!

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:14 PM

@Colette Kearns: Officially, the taoiseach is loyal to the people. The difference is it is to ALL people, and not just those that share opinion with you (or me, for that matter). Don’t confuse loyalty with treachery.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Favourite Patricia McCarthy
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:17 PM

Your loyalty is to the people of this country who pay your salary. Not to the suit or the person wearing it.

Mute peterw
    Favourite peterw
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:26 PM

@Patricia McCarthy: I hope you’re one of those people that shout that at guards while you collect your dole…

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:39 PM

@peterw: Why would you hope that?

Mute peterw
    Favourite peterw
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:53 PM

@Dave Doyle: Because people who say “we pay your salary” to garda are absolute twits.
    You don’t say that to your nurse do you?
    The gardai are there to serve & protect and by in large do a decent job, they don’t need someone shouting nonsense at them.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Nov 30th 2018, 5:16 PM

@ppayment, Exactly my point. The Garda do not need a twit in a suit, who collects the largest social welfare payment, in this country shouting at them. And I don’t need his lackeys attempting to bully me on this page. Get back in your box little man.

Nov 30th 2018, 3:45 PM

Its very hard to take leo at face value. Whatever he says, behind it, he’s probably thinking there’s one set of laws for himself and FG, and there are other laws for everybody else.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:59 PM

@Adrian: He isn’t wrong in thinking that. Politicians and their lackeys get a free ride over everyone else. A lawless unaccountable breed.

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:34 PM

One of the main reasons behind the falsified breath tests was a ‘lack of supervision’ . Ethical in all other aspects of the force of course.

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:20 PM

I hope to inspire the Gardai, to work as hard as me, to be the shield that protects the taxpayers from the hostile elements of society. I am confident my brilliant wisdom bestowed on these brave people will be used.

Thank you journal for showing these pictures, I am truly Ireland’s most charismatic, most trusted and inspiring leader.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:46 PM

@Socky Varadkar: Go on the Socky ya mad thing!!!

Mute Maggie O'Sullivan
    Favourite Maggie O'Sullivan
    Nov 30th 2018, 5:18 PM

Sh ut up Leo

Mute John Declan
    Favourite John Declan
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:09 PM

Hitler said that first.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Nov 30th 2018, 5:04 PM

so Leo is now popping up at the cops passing out parades to give inane motivational talks to new recruits, what next will he be turning up at teachers and nurses conferring ceremonies ?
    If he is serious about reform in AGS, then we need less platitudinous blather and more action in relation to the wrongs uncovered by the disclosures tribunal , destined to gather more dust on another shelf in the DOJ

Mute Michael Kehoe
    Favourite Michael Kehoe
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:49 PM

What a tool, his loyalty is to himself and definitely not his position in Government. He makes Enda Kenny’s term as Taoiseach look reasonable. A dreadful leader of Government, caught up with spin and more spin and manipulation of the media. The men of 1916 must be turning in their graves. Country is soulless with the morons in Government and the tool from Cork is a disaster. A bumbling gobsh@te

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:40 PM

What a plonker he’s worse than Bertie he’d turn up at the picking of a. Snot if he get a photo op and at least Bertie never looked down his superior nose at you – off course the uniform didn’t safe Maurice McCabe as it was those in uniforms who pilloried him

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Nov 30th 2018, 7:11 PM

Their loyalty should be to the people of the republic of Ireland.

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Nov 30th 2018, 7:03 PM

In fairness, Leo would know a lot about loyalism, seeing as he’s been spending so much time recently wearing orange and meeting with his new BFFs in the lodge.

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Nov 30th 2018, 7:04 PM

@European Bob: *wearing orange socks ☺

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan
    Nov 30th 2018, 4:56 PM

Your suit says nothing about you Mr.Socks .

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Nov 30th 2018, 6:12 PM

FFS shut your trap Varadkar

Mute Rob Ryan
    Favourite Rob Ryan
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:54 PM

Hypocritical gimp!

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Dec 1st 2018, 12:12 AM

Put TD pay increases aside and give the increases to the front line staff!

Mute restinginmyaccpaddy
    Nov 30th 2018, 3:33 PM

indeed

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Nov 30th 2018, 5:29 PM

You tell them you unelected clown

Mute Declan Daly
    Favourite Declan Daly
    Nov 30th 2018, 2:58 PM

Your loyalty is to the uniform and not the person wearing it…

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Nov 30th 2018, 8:00 PM

Some lines from Shaw to stew on. Pick out your own gems but I like “not intelligent, only opinionated” and “not loyal… only servile” or, how about “not dutiful, only sheepish; not public spirited, only patriotic.”

“Your friends are all the dullest dogs I know. They are not beautiful: they are only decorated. They are not clean: they are only shaved and starched. They are not dignified: they are only fashionably dressed. They are not educated: they are only college passmen. They are not religious: they are only pewrenters. They are not moral: they are only conventional. They are not virtuous: they are only cowardly. They are not even vicious: they are only “frail.” They are not artistic: they are only lascivious. They are not prosperous: they are only rich. They are not loyal, they are only servile; not dutiful, only sheepish; not public spirited, only patriotic; not courageous, only quarrelsome; not determined, only obstinate; not masterful, only domineering; not self-controlled, only obtuse; not self-respecting, only vain; not kind, only sentimental; not social, only gregarious; not considerate, only polite; not intelligent, only opinionated; not progressive, only factious; not imaginative, only superstitious; not just, only vindictive; not generous, only propitiatory; not disciplined, only cowed; and not truthful at all: liars every one of them, to the very backbone of their souls.”

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Nov 30th 2018, 9:30 PM

Sodamite speaks

Mute Tony Byrne
    Favourite Tony Byrne
    Dec 1st 2018, 5:15 AM

The gardi are a digrace to their uniform they should be disbanded as were the ruc
    Too much corupption for too many years,
    For people to have any respect for them they need a new name and a new begining
    And its the ones at the top of the force are poisoning the the ones at the bottom, terrible for a country not to have faith in their own police force, it demoralizes the whole country

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Nov 30th 2018, 10:24 PM

Loyalty to the people should be shown for the past as well as the present. It seems that the past has been forgotten about as far as Leo and Drew is concerned. I’m sure they know what I mean.

Mute Barry Foster
    Favourite Barry Foster
    Dec 1st 2018, 10:22 AM

It takes a lot of manpower to generate over 2 million fake breath tests and nobody lost their job over it. Appatently it was a crime too widespread to investigate !! No sacking over the Templemore financial wrongdoing . No sacking over the scrubbing of penalty points for Gardai and family members . GRA were quiet boys when Sgt McCabe was persecuted.
    A grossly overpaid bunch of whingers layabouts and incompetents.

Mute Briain O'Dochartaigh
    Favourite Briain O'Dochartaigh
    Nov 30th 2018, 5:58 PM
    Mute Shane Bradley
    Favourite Shane Bradley
    Dec 2nd 2018, 3:36 PM

that’s a laugh coming from a man who is not even irish running our country into the ground