You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wanderley Massafelli via Rolling News

Bad news for commuters - your taxi fare is about to go up by 3%

A usual €18 fare will cost around €18.70 after the changes come into effect.

TAXI FARES ARE set to be increased by 3.22% after the National Transport Authority signed off on a proposal for the fare change today.

In July, the NTA announced that it had been recommended that taxi fares increase by 3%. That came after the Taxi Fares Review which said that costs of operating a taxi had increased by this amount since the last price rise in 2015.

Today, the NTA board met to consider the review. The board approved the proposed increase in taxi fares by an average of 3.22%.

This is set to come into effect on 1 February 2018.

Once the new fares take effect, your journey into town, or into work, that costs €18, will cost around €18.70.

Capture National Transport Authority National Transport Authority

Here’s a breakdown of how it’ll affect your journey:

• An €8 journey would become around €8.40
  • A €10 journey rises to around €10.50
  • A €15 journey rises to around €15.65
  • A €20 journey rises to around €20.80
  • A €30 journey rises to around €31

For the taxi driver though, the cost of this rise can be high.

Back when the increase was recommended to the NTA, some taxi drivers told TheJournal.ie that the fare changes will act as a deterrent for people to get taxis and that the costs of recalibrating the taxi metre means that it’s not worth that hassle.

Once the fares go up, all taxi meters will need to be recalibrated to adjust to the new fare system.

Getting that done can cost up to €100, some taxi drivers told us.

Furthermore, the devices need to be checked by the National Standards Authority of Ireland’s Legal Metrology Service. This costs a further €86 to be done by the NSAI’s chosen accredited verifier.

The penalties for not changing over can be costly.

If a taxi meter is not calibrated correctly, the driver is liable to a fine of €250. And if the device is not ‘sealed’ by an accredited verifier, then a fine of €80 applies.

Bill McSweeney, from Irish Taxi Tours, told TheJournal.ie that while the cost of operating a taxi is indeed rising, a rise of 3% is “totally negated by the cost associated with having to recalibrate and re-seal the metre”.

“People wonder why taxi drivers are cynical,” he said. “We’re required to get the meters recalibrated every few years anyway.

So we could go get it recalibrated as we’re required to do, and then have to spend the same money when the NTA raise the fares a few months later.
With reporting by Sean Murray. 

Read: Ryanair plans to cancel 40-50 flights a day for next six weeks

More: Ireland to accept 330 extra refugees next year

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:44 PM

They even mamage to complain about getting a pay rise!

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:58 PM

@Paul P O’Sullivan: they don’t want a fare hike and you have managed to even complain about that. they cant win can they?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:35 PM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: They won’t refuse it though I’m sure?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:40 PM

@Paul P O’Sullivan:

So… are you busy tonight?

Mute TheGrey Gimp
    Favourite TheGrey Gimp
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:10 PM

@Dave Murray: They would if they had a choice. Why not leave it until 2019 and make it a 4 or 5% increase.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Sep 16th 2017, 8:12 AM

@Dave Murray: why should they our government TDs all Togo a big rise a few months ago . Disentangle here of any of them refusing it. Even the left boys an girls.

Mute OMG!
    Favourite OMG!
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:11 PM

Just back from business in the US. Used Uber everyday to get to meetings etc. So easy, user-friendly and much less expensive than taxis here in Ireland. Everything done through the app. No cash exchanged, no nonsensical tipping, ability to play music from your phone through the vehicle’s speakers, if that is your want. No brain-dead one-sided conversations that one has to endure at the hands of most taxi drivers in Ireland. It is however, the absolute value-for-money that Uber offers compared to the prices we pay here in Ireland for taxis that was so evident and how we are being ripped-off by the so called ‘Professional drivers’ of Ireland, although I’ve yet to experience a Professionally-driven taxi here in Ireland.

Mute Colman gan
    Favourite Colman gan
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:27 PM

@OMG!:

Über is in operation in Ireland for the past 3 years -why don’t you use them ?

Mute Dillon Kalen
    Favourite Dillon Kalen
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:40 PM

@OMG!: use uber black or uber taxi. Use uber black as there unmarked too end cars with clean drivers.

Mute Michael Devlin
    Favourite Michael Devlin
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:00 PM

@Colman gan: uber is not fully operational. Can only be used to book taxis not uber so completely pointless. The taxi unions blocked it in Ireland as they new they couldn’t survive with competition

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:05 PM

@OMG!: you’re full of bull.the Americans must have infected you with it.
    Irish Taxi drivers are the most courteous in the world.And their Taxis are always spotless so stop your bull.

Mute Colman gan
    Favourite Colman gan
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:21 PM

@Michael Devlin:

My comments are in direct relation to Ireland’s taxis getting 3% increase as per article.

Your comments would appear to be confusing Limosine / Hackney services with Taxis .

Mute Marie Byrne
    Favourite Marie Byrne
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:57 PM

@OMG!: You have been to the US no nonsensical tipping seriously in the one sentence????? What people choose to forget is it is not taxi men that set the fares that is out of their control. If you drove a taxi you would realise how difficult it is to earn a living with the cost of petrol/ insurance /diesel suitability tests / meter sealing etc I am not a taxi driver myself but I have got enough taxis home happily chatting away to them to recognise that they are trying to earn a living just like everyone else.

Mute TheGrey Gimp
    Favourite TheGrey Gimp
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:16 PM

@OMG!: Just goes to show everyone how professional you are if you don’t know Uber is here over three years. You are just one of those people who want everything for nothing. It’s alright for you to get your wages. But god forbid anyone else get theirs. Moan moan moan

Mute Wes O'Toole
    Favourite Wes O'Toole
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:29 AM

@OMG!: Bets you get a Taxi when you are here now..And back to the Airport ! You snobby F.ckin hypocrite..!

Mute Wes O'Toole
    Favourite Wes O'Toole
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:31 AM

@gerry fallon: He’s an a$$ (○)….

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Sep 16th 2017, 6:07 AM

@Michael Devlin: your talking shite, the taxi unions didn’t block anything. If you did some research you would realise that if you want to accept fares for journeys, you have to have a Public Services Vehicle license, Uber outside of Ireland takes any driver of any vehicle with just a valid drivers licence.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Sep 16th 2017, 6:31 AM

@gerry fallon: and how long have you been a taxi driver?

Mute Marko
    Favourite Marko
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:41 PM

Rip off Ireland

Mute DaveSh
    Favourite DaveSh
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:46 PM

They had want to get their act together around refusing fares too.. reported a guy (easy to do by the way) and all that happened was that he had to say sorry

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:48 PM

@DaveSh: yep they’re still as rude as fook and drone on and on. I had one guy last week giving out about our coloured cousins. I was just like seriously? Am I actually paying to listen to a racist rant?!

Mute Brendan Colfer
    Favourite Brendan Colfer
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:07 PM

@DaveSh:
    Why did he refuse you..?

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:14 PM

@john Appleseed: I was in a taxi and he nearly drove a cyclist off the road due to irrational impatience. Made him pull over and refused to pay and said he could call the guards and I would report him if he did. That was when the cyclist turned up. He left pretty quickly then.

Mute Adrian Connolly
    Favourite Adrian Connolly
    Sep 16th 2017, 1:54 AM

@DaveSh: one taxi driver refused my run in mullingar early summer. He pulled up at the rank, I got in and told him where I was going. He told me he couldn’t do it because he had church the next morning. You couldn’t make it up. My run is 38 euro to get home. He wanted to do several short runs instead of doing my run.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:53 PM

As a taxi driver all our costs have gone up by 30% since the last time we got an fare increase and when we get this crap rise it will cost most of us 300 euro to get it.we have to pay between 60-80 to get the meter updated and then pay to get it sealed cost another 87 and then we have to take into account the time off to get it done so it’s a waste of time for us.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:10 PM

@james cullen: Are you saying there be at least a 30% increase?

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:48 PM

@Dave Murray: no Dave drivers costs have got up by 30% and we have to take the hit on it.

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:47 PM

Good and bad news for tourists with the good news being they will have the opportunity to enjoy the more scenic rides to and from the airport.

Mute Phil Sheppard
    Favourite Phil Sheppard
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:24 PM

I see the usual taxi-haters are out telling their usual stories of that one time i got a taxi, or the taxi-service abroad is so much better, or they’re all racist & love taring all taxi drivers with same brush. While most of the trolls/haters that post, have no profile pic or some made up profile name. How original ;)

Mute Brendan Colfer
    Favourite Brendan Colfer
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Phil Sheppard:
    Exactly Phil..
    The usual mob on the journal.
    I can imagine with there attitudes personified with drink..
    Fookin Taxi taxi drivers

Mute Dave J
    Favourite Dave J
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:08 PM

Taxi Driver whinging expected to rise another 15% in Q1 2018 in line with wages.

Mute JJ Sharkey
    Favourite JJ Sharkey
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:41 PM

Any chance the NTA can limit the number of taxis in the city, they are everywhere, we now have more taxis than New York.

Mute Brian Jones
    Favourite Brian Jones
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:09 PM

Who honestly cares when it is such a total rip-off in the first place. 3%. So its ok to charge somebody EUR30 to drop them to the end of the road.. So 3% means nothing. Utter sheisters. Point is that they need to pay for licences, need to pay for their business, they need to pay insurance, they need to pay for tax,they need to pay for…. They simply need to pay money before they are provided money. The taxi driver is not the con artist, we are conning ourselves

Mute Mr_Tuxedo
    Favourite Mr_Tuxedo
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:24 PM

Ridiculous, the prices are never set in the first place, it’s different for every driver for the exact same route. Taxis already cost too much and are becoming harder to find.

Mute Colman gan
    Favourite Colman gan
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Mr_Tuxedo: maybe the drivers recognise you or your address and aren’t interested in collecting you

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:06 PM

@Colman gan: Quiet out on the road tonight?

Mute Byron D
    Favourite Byron D
    Jan 3rd 2018, 11:31 AM

@Colman gan: this is true , mouthy vulvas and bad experiences, will never see that driver again

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:55 PM

70 cent more!
    Oh my god that will be absolutely and utterly devastating to the future of this country.
    We will go bankrupt!!!
    70 cent? No I can’t take any more.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:08 PM

@gerry fallon: This time, but what about the last increase and the next one? It’s not as taxis are cheap as it is.

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Dave Murray: get the bus then or walk. No one is forcing you into a cab. People dont mind paying ridiculous prices for their pint but whinge about having to pay a driver to put up with their drunken crap and drop them home safely to their door at 4.00 in the morning on a horrible rainy night

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:26 PM

@Tommy Sea: If drivers don’t like drunken people paying them for a service then don’t work nights, nobody is forcing them to work those hours.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:10 PM

@Tommy Sea: yeah Tommy,they ask taxi drivers at Dublin Airport for a price to Drogheda or bray.I wonder if they asked Ryanair or Aer Lingus for discount what response theyed get?
    Also do they tell the barman in the pub “I only have 3 quid pal”.I know what he’d say.

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 16th 2017, 3:08 AM

@Dave Murray: I’d say you’re one of them people who pay a twenty odd euro fare all in small change like the driver’s a bloody laundromat. I wonder would you eat a meal in a restaurant or pay your barber with that sh!te

Mute Jack Purcell
    Favourite Jack Purcell
    Feb 1st 2018, 1:32 PM

@Dave Murray: Bi annual fare review 2008 :increase. 2010 :no increase. 2012 : no increase ,meters had to be reprogrammed anyway. 2014: Small increase with a decrease on longer fares, Tariff C removed. 2016: No fare review. 2018 : 3% increase.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:50 PM

Did certain people actually read the article properly? Morons. The taxi drivers dont want the fake increase because its exactly that fake. On a average fair its about 0.30c but as the article says the drivers have to pay a few hundred to get it. I dont know any other industry that has to outlay money for an increase. Its a money racket because for every increase to the driver, the government gets the meter sealing fee of €90. If anyone wants to report a driver for anything its easier than ever download driver check in app store.

Mute Anonymous Man
    Favourite Anonymous Man
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:06 PM

As if taxis weren’t expensive enough.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:50 PM

Also the current program runs out in the middle of next year so the meters won’t work from April on.

Mute Yiu Fai Lau
    Favourite Yiu Fai Lau
    Sep 16th 2017, 1:24 AM

The whole taxi industry here is mess up in a bad way. More taxi per head than most capitals, at the same time, we are swamp with taxi’s on friday or saturday, but when it comes to other weekdays, we struggle to get one, particularly outside the city centre. With fake taxi’s and uninsured cabs, it’s rotten to the core. On one hand I would like to sympathise with them, but on the other, the rotten ones has completely blown away our trusts, and their reputations. The Regulator should be haul in before for serious questioning, if keep up the price increase, they would price themselves out of the market

Mute Adrian Connolly
    Sep 16th 2017, 1:59 AM

Taxis are a rip off. I could fly to France for less than my fare on a Saturday night . I usually just book a hotel room in town because it works out cheaper than taxis. I understand why they cost as much as they do but I end up avoiding them because of the cost.

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Sep 16th 2017, 8:10 AM

@Adrian Connolly: you could fly to France for less than a taxi, if, you book it in advance. But let me ask you this, do you live in the airport? Because I’m assuming you don’t and have to drive there or get the bus, maybe use a toll road, pay for parking, and maybe the car you drive needs insurance/repairs etc. So it’s a little more than a plane fare to France at the end of it all.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:17 PM

@Adrian Connolly: why don’t you culshies stay where you are in your little rural town with nothing to do.You come up to the big shmoke for a bit of Craic and just moan about everything that is Dublin.A great place to live and very handy to get a Taxi.Im loving it!

Mute Adrian Connolly
    Sep 16th 2017, 5:13 PM

@gerry fallon: you do know that town doesn’t always mean Dublin? There are other towns in the country. We have taxis out here too ya know. In fact at one time, mullingar had the highest number of taxis per head of population than any other town or city in the country. My comment wasn’t about Dublin, it was about my fare into mullingar. 76 euro in fares is a big cost before anything else is taken into account. I’m not complaining about it either, it is what it is but it certainly limits the amount of times that I can afford to go on a night out.

Mute Adrian Connolly
    Sep 16th 2017, 5:18 PM

@neuromancer: I’m talking about fares,not the total cost. Naturally enough it is more expensive overall to go abroad.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Sep 16th 2017, 5:46 AM

Commuters, more like people coming home locked from the pub.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Favourite Keith Richardson
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:05 PM

Irrespective of fake or real increases, the rates set are the maximum a driver is allowed charge. The actual amount you pay is completely negotiable up the max charge allowed. This is according to the taxi regulator.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:15 PM

@Keith Richardson: Yes your correct but regardless what the driver charges or does not, the increase is mandatory along with the meter sealing so by law the driver has to get it done. If they were caught without it sealed I think the minimum fine is 250.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:50 PM

@Lou: you are right it’s 250.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:39 AM

@james cullen: thanks james!

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Sep 16th 2017, 3:24 PM

Get UBER in properly for the public to choose

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Sep 16th 2017, 9:48 AM

Did you see the list of tax defaulters from the revenue? There was a taxi drive caught, have a look at his settlement, that will give you an idea what they earn… To be fair he probably worked all hours of the day, but I was amazed…

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Sep 16th 2017, 9:14 AM

The average is 3% but for lower end fairs, which I’d imagine are more common, the increase is 5%. Even the 70c increase on €18 is a 3.9% increase. So the average real fair increase is going to be closer to 4%. If a taxi driver only earned €20000 a year they’d get an increase of €800. After tax and recalibration maybe that’s €400. And the recalibration is a one off cost. Moaners!

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:16 PM

I don’t have a taxi.

Mute Dave Malone
    Favourite Dave Malone
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:17 PM

70c extra to smell a fart

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:27 AM

Disgrace!!1.29 for diesel in portugal and a taxi was still have the price as this place!

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 16th 2017, 6:37 AM

@Daithi De Roiste: what’s the cost of insurance in Portugal or car maintenance, do they have nct there? There’s a reason why taxis are expensive here, they’re expensive to run

Mute liam lally
    Favourite liam lally
    Sep 16th 2017, 3:15 AM

Taxi Fares in Cork are high , example Airport to Maryborough Hill €20.
    Uber is not in operation in Cork ?

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Sep 16th 2017, 8:19 AM

@liam lally: maybe €10 would be a better price, how about €5. Sure why not cover the price of diesel for the taxi driver.

The same analogy could be used for alcohol… Why pay €4.30 for a pint in the pub, when you could buy a can in Tesco for half that.