You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image: taxis in line at night at Temple Bar. Alamy Stock Photo

Taxi fare increase of 9% has kicked in, with late-night rate rising to €2.20 per kilometre

An extra €1 charged on trips booked, such as ordered on an app, will bring the fare increase to over 10%, Uber said.

TAXI FARES ACROSS the country have increased by 9% as of 1 December, which the National Transport Authority says is to reflect the ‘rising costs’ of operating a taxi service. 

The fee for pre-booking a taxi – including through an app – will increase by one euro, moving from €2 to €3 from now. 

A “special rate” that is applied to weekend nights between midnight and 4am will see taxi prices rise to €2.20 per kilometre.

This rate also applies to taxi journeys taken on Christmas Eve, from 8pm to 8am on St Stephen’s Day, and during the same time from New Year Eve to New Year’s Day.

There is an initial charge of €5.40 on “special rate” taxi fares. Standard rates, which apply Monday to Saturday from 8am to 8pm, are set at €1.32 per kilometre. There is a €3 booking charge in place for all taxis booked online and over the phone. 

A number of representatives of various taxi companies, including Uber and FreeNow, have criticised the increase.

Uber has said that the move will impact the night-time economy and fails to address an ongoing taxi shortage. 

“The NTA’s decision to increase pre-booking fees and extend peak-time rates will significantly increase the cost of taxi journeys, particularly for those who rely on taxis to get home safely at night,” the company said.

“This will disproportionately affect workers in the hospitality, entertainment, and nightlife sectors.”

Head of Uber Ireland, Kieran Harte said, “Raising taxi fares will have significant negative consequences for night-time economy workers who depend on taxis for safe transportation. Being the only door-to-door public transport service, taxis are a vital part of Ireland’s transport network, especially at night.”

Harte said that the decision will discourage people from going out at night and harm businesses that rely on late-night trade.

FreeNow Ireland general manager, Danny O’Gorman, said that more than fare increases were needed to support taxi drivers. 

“Increased safety concerns mean drivers are becoming less willing to work certain hours,” he said, adding that this was an issue industry representatives had brought up with election candidates.

He said that they were looking for a number of measures: “a dedicated Garda Helpline for drivers, ensuring Ireland’s regulatory standards and safety protocols are upheld, and requiring operators to invoice drivers from within Ireland to avoid VAT liabilities.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 52 comments
52 Comments
    Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:28 PM

The sooner we get more 24-hour buses the better

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:49 PM

@Ian McDonald: 15 is 24 hour but try getting on it after 11pm on a Saturday night, it’s nearly full when it leaves its first stop. And one every hour after midnight doesn’t help either.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:17 PM

@Ian McDonald: everything gone up in price it’s only going one way government so called have lost control of cost of living a complete joke

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:40 PM

@James Rowan: in what direction?

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:13 PM

@Ian McDonald: exactly

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:16 PM

@You’re Not Serious: in every direction

Mute Brendan shanahan
    Favourite Brendan shanahan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:34 PM

Why is there a minimum charge set by the Regulator in the first place. Uber/Bolt etc work well in other countries and create competition. Why not here?

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:56 PM

@Brendan shanahan: The taxi union petitioned the government at the time to ensure Uber was not allowed to operate in Ireland. It makes me sick when I see Uber written on normal taxis.Rather than looking after the public the government pandered to the demands of these spoilt, moaning brats and banned Uber. “Greed is good”.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:09 PM

@Brendan shanahan: The uber model is not something we want to import. Enter an existing market, undercut the operators, drive them out of business and the jack up the prices when you’ve a monopoly.
    A taxi to the airport in Chicago with uber costs double what it did when the regulated taxis were the majority serving it.

Mute declan benson
    Favourite declan benson
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:21 PM

@Ronan Mc: works well in Europe countries like Lisbon. Cheap Ubers everywhere and never stuck for a lift

Mute MattLJ
    Favourite MattLJ
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:29 PM

@Gerry Lamont: What taxi union?

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:18 PM

They love an increase the old sherberts. Very rare I get an Irish cabbie these days, I miss their knowledge.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:22 PM

@Basildon Joe: You’ve Googled some rhyming slang? Very convincing!

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:32 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: you follow me around like a bad smell.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:36 PM

@Basildon Joe: As I told you before. pointing out your multi-ID trolling is a public service.

If you want to create lots of characters and a playground for them, write a play.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:43 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: A Journal comments section play would be amazing tho

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:23 PM

Got a Bolt eBike home from the pub, cost me €2.50 and home in under 10mins…. Same trip in a taxi cost the neighbour €14 plus 25mins queuing.
    Go figure. Too many Taxi’s and charges are already scandless.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:55 PM

@Steve Davis: You didn’t get your skirt caught in the spokes or break the heels off you high heels using it then?

Mute PAUL C
    Favourite PAUL C
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:10 PM

@Steve Davis: intox in charge of a bike/scooter far easier to prove that drink driving btw …. all that is required is the opinion of a gard ….

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:44 AM

@PAUL C: And you get off your bike and walk it home. boo hoo

Mute Always Question
    Favourite Always Question
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:44 PM

Ireland is regulating itself into oblivion.

Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:39 PM

Why are fares being increased by the NTA when being warned by the likes of Uber and Freenow that it’s not the answer to the problem.
    I listened to the person from Uber talking on the radio earlier, it was very good.

Mute Fynn
    Favourite Fynn
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:28 PM

Another kick in the cahoonas for the average person

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:44 AM

@Fynn: Cab drivers not average people?

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:59 PM

If you can, walk home. It’s healthier and by the time you reach home you’ll be likely sober. Either that, or take the bus.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:29 PM

24hr bus service on my route home from city costs 2 euro,the taxis can f….k off

Mute Peter McCormack
    Favourite Peter McCormack
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:22 PM

An electric scooter or ebike would pay for itself in no time at those exorbitant taxi rates.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:33 PM

@Peter McCormack: very dangerous machines. Your life is worth more than that.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:44 PM

@Peter McCormack: ye and would cost u more if the guards did their jobs in dragging ye through the courts 4 abusing our footpaths putting elderly pedestrian s into harms way

Mute Concerned Driver
    Favourite Concerned Driver
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:23 PM

@liam ward: Elderly of footpaths at 4am? Hahahaha

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 3rd 2024, 9:45 AM

Are old people terrified of everything that’s new?

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:39 PM

At a time when our government are trying to build a night time economy in our towns and cities, they have just made what was already an extremely expensive service even more expensive. Taxis like a lot of things in Ireland are extremely expensive, and this latest increase will just stop people going into town. Times like this you really regret that Dublin doesn’t have an underground, and probably never will!!

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:14 PM

@The Firestarter: your so called government haven’t a clue how to run the place

Mute dave byrne
    Favourite dave byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:35 PM

Need to get Uber into this country ASAP

Mute Ruth O'Mahony
    Favourite Ruth O'Mahony
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:28 PM

Uber taxi already exists in Ireland. Our transport laws are rightly, very strict and that’s why the likes of Uber & Bolts “ride sharing” service is not available in this country. They are constantly lobbying the government to change the transportation laws, under the guise of Taxis for Ireland Coalition. They have no interest in more taxis on the road. They only want to profiteer from a ride sharing service, which by the way has drivers being paid peanuts, which then leads to unroadworthy cars, lack of proper insurance etc. etc. I know taxis aren’t cheap, but some drivers are paying up to 10k a year for insurance and the costs of running a taxi are very high. But at least you know your car is roadworthy and your driver has been vetted correctly.

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:45 PM

But it’s ok to pay a fortune for pints and burgers. ah yes blame the taxis who take you home safely to your front door.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:33 PM

They neck of Crotty to appeal his sentence. I hope the judge increases the sentence. Absolute s@@@@ag.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:40 PM

@Andrew Kenny: he DIDN’T APPEAL it…… it was the DPP that appealed it on grounds of ‘undue leniency’. Hoping Natasha gets even a small taste of justice in January

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:03 PM

@Andrew Kenny: He isn’t. The State is appealing against the leniency of the sentence.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:56 PM

@J B: SERIOUSLY???? vicim blaming Natasha O Brien????? she nearly died in that unprovoked heinous attack

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Dec 2nd 2024, 4:13 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Indeed you’re correct Frank. On this occasion I didn’t read the article at all. Thanks for clarification.

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:47 PM

Let’s have Uber and it’s surge pricing be careful what you wish for people.
    https://www.uber.com/us/en/drive/driver-app/how-surge-works/

Mute no no no
    Favourite no no no
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:21 PM

Took a taxi home from the airport today, 47€ for a 20min drive. the increase doesn’t apply to daytime fares right?

Mute MattLJ
    Favourite MattLJ
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:30 PM

@no no no: Where was your journey and at what time?

Mute Maniac 2000
    Favourite Maniac 2000
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:58 PM

Taxis are now a luxury. A luxury many people can’t afford. Years ago I’d think nothing of getting a taxi, now I’d feel guilty getting one

Mute Wayne
    Favourite Wayne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:27 PM

Using Uber regularly in Portugal at the moment and it’s brilliant. Very cheap compared to Ireland, and never left waiting for a driver to accept the drive.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 6:31 PM

Sooner walk

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:10 PM

Won’t be using any Taxi’s from now on

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:12 PM

The FFG way! well done the over fifties in the Election

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:14 PM

Dodge personified