You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Romanno

Most people want to see our TDs dress better

Dáil rules state members should dress “in a manner that reflects the dignity of the House”.

NEARLY THREE QUARTERS of Irish people want to see TDs adhere to a dress code.

That’s according to a new Claire Byrne Live/Amárach Research poll, released last night.

The issue was raised once more after a group of TDs wore Repeal jumpers into the Dáil chamber.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie Brid Smith, one of those TDs, said that the idea was a distraction from the work of the Dáil.

“What someone likes or chooses to wear is subjective. There are hundreds of parliaments around the world. For example, in Papua New Guinea’s parliament, they hardly wear anything,”

However, the poll shows that 73% of people want to see a dress code enforced, while just 22% disagree with the idea. A further 5% say they are undecided.

Dáil rules state members should dress “in a manner that reflects the dignity of the House”.

The closest a dress code came to being implemented was in 2011 when a proposal was drafted to request TDs and Senators to wear appropriate business attire, but the proposal was rejected.

Read: Almost 90% of people think politicians should forgo their pay increase

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Stephen Fitzgerald
    Favourite Stephen Fitzgerald
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:26 AM

Wrong heading… Most people want to see TDs held to account.

Mute Fionn Bohane
    Favourite Fionn Bohane
    Oct 18th 2016, 6:56 AM

They’ll feckin expect an expense account for their wardrobe next, leave them wear what they want..

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 18th 2016, 6:59 AM

Jesus, you’d swear sometimes Clare Byrne polls were the Oracle at Delphi.
    They’re not.
    Believe me, the majority of people do not care one whit what a politician wears into Dail Eireann as long as they do the public some service.
    “in a manner that reflects the dignity of the House”.
    There’s very little dignity in Irish politics currently and no increase in Armani suits is going to alter that fact.
    And let’s be honest here, if a dress code was applied the first thing our politicos would do is orchestrate a clothes allowance, probably about 5 grand a month (to keep apace with changing sartorial trends)
    Cmon, we all know that.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:18 AM

@Daniel Fontaine: i would like a larger sample size but if I had to choose between a survey of 1000 people and your opinion based on no research, i would choose the survey.

Mute Kmnnj Ijmcimimvimvi
    Favourite Kmnnj Ijmcimimvimvi
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:36 AM

@Daniel Fontaine: To me it’s a sign of disrespect when you wear a tee shirt into The Dail. It’s unintended I’m sure. They do it to demonstrate to their constituents that they’re just ordinary people but it’s always smacked of “I can’t be arsed and that’s handy because I’m going to make a political statement out of it.”

Saying that, I have a bit of respect for Clare Daly (despite disagreeing with almost everything she has to say about how The State should be run) but I think as a stunt it’s got bad optics. To the wider public, at least according to this poll, it comes across as arrogant and lazy.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:58 AM

“a manner that reflects the dignity of the House”

Clown suits then.

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:25 AM

I couldnt care less if they turned up in mankini’s or hot pants as long as they turn up, make a worthy contribution, stay out of the Dail bar, actually make some good decisions and stop with the smoke and mirrors tactics.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:26 AM

Smoke and mirror tactics? You’re giving these muppets far too much credit if you think they are clever enough to employ tactics of any sort, they make it up as they go.

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:23 AM

They’re being paid enough

Mute Kerry Gallagher
    Favourite Kerry Gallagher
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:41 AM

@Joe Murphy:
    Just get rid of the FG/FF/LAB then worry about the dress code

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:09 AM

SF voter?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:17 AM

FG and the bogus Independents should be obliged to wear Apple logos.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Oct 18th 2016, 9:59 AM

Does the AAA PBP have a headquarters or are ye still stuck in someone’s bedroom like moping teenagers ?

Mute Andrew Mac Mahon
    Favourite Andrew Mac Mahon
    Oct 18th 2016, 11:07 AM

AAA headquarters are just the socialist party headquarters on Thomas st

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:13 AM

Does wearing a suit make you work harder? No
    Does wearing a suit make a TD make decisions for the country and not for political gain? No

Who cares what they wear? Why is this even a thing that is in any media?? What matters is the work they do and the decisions they make. As others said, I guarantee if there was an enforced dress code, a clothing allowance would follow. Lets stop wasting time (and potential money) on this non-issue

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:26 AM

Clothes do not make the man. Actions and deeds do.

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:52 AM

@molly coddled: Indeed, look what Mick Wallace has achieved and he looks like he’s been dragged though a briar bush backwards.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 19th 2016, 9:12 PM

@molly coddled: The state of their undies does lol.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:36 AM

Unfortunately the worst crooks in the country wear tailored suits

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:45 AM

A domino mask, striped top and an over the shoulder bag marked ‘SWAG’ in bold lettering would be fitting.
    However, I’d still prefer to see them dressed in the pyjamas with the vertically pointing arrows. That would be ‘appropriate dress’.

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:29 AM

TDs..parasites of the country

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:41 AM

Why? Would you not prefer they concentrate on doing a good job?

Mute Cillian O'Gara
    Favourite Cillian O'Gara
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:01 AM

@Lisa Saputo: One does not have to come at the expense of the other.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:01 AM

No doubt if you enforce a dress code they will end up with a clothing allowance. I would prefer they do there jobs. I cant believe people think wearing a suit and tie makes any difference.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:09 AM

dress well but keep it simple, just like are politicians,

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Oct 18th 2016, 9:27 AM

Bertie’s Teflon Suit was an amazing innovation of fashion and technology interwoven to protect the wearer from heinous accusations of corruption, treason, crashing the country etc. Unfortunately, issuing these suits as standard would be far too costly for the taxpayer.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Oct 18th 2016, 9:20 AM

They shouldn’t be allowed to wear anything they should have to do their job in the Dail completely naked. Maybe some of them may feel a bit of shame.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Oct 18th 2016, 9:45 AM

Too right, whatever about certain lunatics beliefs, it is time these individuals showed just a little respect for the Dail. Bad enough some of them have absolutely no taste but adding scruffyness to the mix is outrageous, I’ve spoken to some friends abroad who are aghast at the disgraceful disrespect some TDs show the Dail.

Mute Aaron Kavanagh
    Favourite Aaron Kavanagh
    Oct 18th 2016, 4:02 PM

I honestly couldn’t care what they wear in the Dáil. I just want them to show up!

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Oct 18th 2016, 3:53 PM

As long as they don’t have to wear charvet shirts a la Charlie Haughey, courtesy of the taxpayers.

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    Oct 18th 2016, 3:02 PM

“Dáil rules state members should dress “in a manner that reflects the dignity of the House”.
    That explains why the dignity of the House is so low, the way some of the members dress.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Oct 18th 2016, 4:50 PM

They should introduce kilt day…on a Wednesday…in January

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:50 PM

Could the journal.ie not show one of our female Tds doing up her skirt so sexist….

Mute Oiche Fairy
    Favourite Oiche Fairy
    Oct 18th 2016, 3:01 PM

They could wear black plastic bags for all I care as long as they run the country properly.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Oct 18th 2016, 8:10 PM

Right. For a start, anyone watching Claire Byrne is intellectually challenged, and their opinions are tainted. These people swap FF governments for FG governments, both of which have repeatedly proven themselves both incompetent and corrupt in equal measure. They scoff at any ideas other than theirs, even though theirs have driven this country off a cliff on several occasions over the years
    They also invariably are impeccably dressed.
    Judge the man, not his dress. He may have stolen his clothing.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Oct 18th 2016, 5:22 PM

So you can spend decades lying through your teeth but as long as you’re in a suit it’s all good. In addition, from a fashion perspective a mans suits is extremely boring not that any Irish political is known for their style.

Mute Noel McGivern
    Favourite Noel McGivern
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:18 PM

obvs. they should be allowed to expense their new wardrobe, armani anyone?