You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ballot via Shutterstock

If Junior Cycle "nonsense" continues, teachers could strike, says union

The results of balloting by two unions will be known on Wednesday.

THE RESULTS OF a ballot of teachers over the new Junior Cycle programme will be known this Wednesday.

Gerard Craughwell, president of the TUI, told TheJournal.ie that he is expecting a “resounding rejection” of the Education Minister Ruairi Quinn’s plan for the Junior Cycle.

“If this nonsense continues then we will have no alternative,” said Craughwell of potential strike action. “I haven’t met a teacher yet who will accept the proposal the minister has on the table.”

The ASTI and TUI are still in the middle of ballotting their members on the new Junior Cycle Student Award.

It is due to be introduced from this September, and negotiations have been underway between teachers’ unions and the Department of Education.

Ballots

A spokesperson from the ASTI told TheJournal.ie that their ballots will close on Tuesday evening and will be counted the next day, Wednesday 26 March. The result is expected that evening.

The results of the TUI ballot are also expected that day.

The unions’ ballot papers differ slightly, with both of them calling for action including withdrawal from cooperation with the new Junior Cycle framework.

That would include non-attendance at training and non-cooperation with assessment of their own pupils.

In addition, the TUI ballot asks members if they would take industrial action up to and including strike action “at an appropriate time”.

Strike action

Teachers recently held lunchtime protests, and Craughwell said that while none are planned right now, they are “highly likely to happen” again.

“Strike action is the most significant tool in our armour,” commented Craughwell.

I can see lots of demonstrations, I can see lots of other action taking place.

He said there has been “no move” in the talks between unions and the Department of Education.

“We meet [the] officials almost once a week, sometimes twice a week. We set out our position at every single meeting. There can be no doubt as to where we stand,” said Craughwell.

Read: “The anger is palpable”: Teachers to hold lunchtime protests over Junior Cycle>

Read:  Teachers to hold “symbolic” lunchtime protests over new Junior Cycle>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Roman RomanOwski
    Favourite Roman RomanOwski
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:34 PM

Shame on them…
    …that they missed!

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:15 PM

I’d say it was an Art student trying to be ironic

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:11 PM

Should have stoned the Traitor , very good at straight faced lies .

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:40 PM

751 thumbs up and counting for Romans comment. That’s the maximum I’v ever seen on TJ. Doesn’t say a lot for Enda now does it! FG are almost out the door, Yeoww

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:39 PM

The Teens and OAP, will put the rest of us to shame!

Mute Eugene Leahy
    Favourite Eugene Leahy
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:03 PM

@john I’m a teen, and a UCD student for that matter, I don’t watch x-factor or ‘tallaghfornia’.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:22 PM

You know this because you know all of them do you John? You generalise John, they’re individuals.
    The only thing you can generalise about is people who generalise are generally idiots

Mute Lauren Halligan
    Favourite Lauren Halligan
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:35 PM

John I have a teenage brother and neither him nor his mates watch X Factor etc.

You sound like one of those grumps in the 1950s giving out about that new-fangled rock and roll business…

Mute Rebecca Duffy
    Favourite Rebecca Duffy
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:25 PM

@John it’s *’Tallafornia.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:47 PM

Just look at the small number of students who bother to vote. They can shout and scream all they want but when it comes to the crunch, students are no where to be seen.
    Before anybody has a go at me, stats don’t lie. Students don’t vote in high numbers.

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:58 PM

One of the biggest reasons for that is that a lot of students live outside their jurisdictions and cannot return home mid-week to vote.

Mute Laura Rogan
    Favourite Laura Rogan
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:09 PM

@ John how narrow your view is on the country’s youth don’t put us all in the same box !

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:00 PM

So register to vote at the address you live in during the week. It’s not rocket science, you fill in a simple form. Granted, you can’t vote for the local gombeen politician who got the new road built and goes to every funeral in the parish, but you can still vote.

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:43 PM

Dave doesnt that mean your an idiot???

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:55 PM

Troll

Mute Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Favourite Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:30 PM

There were a fair few students on Occupy back in the day !! but definitly a small minority of 240,000 of them & some utter contempt from an insolent minority who passed by !!

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 29th 2012, 9:59 PM

I might well be, generally

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Nov 30th 2012, 7:10 AM

Still no idea what the occupy movement was about. Doubt anyone protesting had a clue either. Apparently they were upset about something. Seemed to be mostly bored middle-class youth.

Mute Cionnach O'Ríada
    Favourite Cionnach O'Ríada

I bet there was “scramble” by the Gardai!!!

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:03 PM

Another poached job.

Mute Michael Kelleher
    Favourite Michael Kelleher
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:41 PM

Just wait until the budget next week, suddenly there will be a new egg tax!

Mute Niall O Mhaolmhanaigh
    Favourite Niall O Mhaolmhanaigh
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:05 PM

so buy your eggs now at prebudget prices poke a hole in each end let them go rotten then for gods sake dont miss

Mute jrbmc
    Favourite jrbmc
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:12 PM

Egg on your face Enda lol, and not for the first time either …..

Nov 29th 2012, 1:36 PM

Don’t want to be seen egging them on but the students need to improve their aim.

Mute Story Teller
    Favourite Story Teller
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:39 PM

He is very lucky really, Imagine if someone threw back the amount of SH1T he has shovelled at the people of Ireland since coming into power!

Mute Seamus Kearney
    Favourite Seamus Kearney
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:49 PM

Wow, you (attempted to) egg the Taoiseach. Well done. How will that help your policy platform? Enda Kenny was in UCD to open a new student centre, something that those attending UCD and their predecessors have worked hard to get. These people should have had a day to celebrate their efforts. Do you think Enda Kenny or any decent politician would even have a meeting with any of your group after what you did today? Normal students participate in peaceful protests, petition their local TD’s, have public meetings, form their own alternative policies and actually get something done. Not engage in actions most would regard as criminal and childish.

Mute Aubrey O'Connell
    Favourite Aubrey O'Connell
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:02 PM

It sounds like you’re hatching a plan, there.

Mute Frank Cluskey
    Favourite Frank Cluskey
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:06 PM

Please don’t use Enda Kenny and decent politician in the same sentence!

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:26 PM

Kenny deserves every egg he gets.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:29 PM

I stopped reading after this “Do you think Enda Kenny or any decent politician”

Mute Maria Conroy Byrne
    Favourite Maria Conroy Byrne
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:43 PM

I agree with you Seamus -violence isn’t the answer. I’d be raging if one of my kids engaged in this behaviour. Having said that, I have little time for Enda Kenny. He seems intent on targeting the poor, struggling families, people with special needs or disability, lone parents and, now, even our most vulnerable human beings aren’t deemed worthy of protection. What a legacy! It’s no wonder people feel the need to protest. However, all protests should be dignified and should never resort to vile measures that attempt to degrade and humiliate. It’s counterproductive as all the attention focuses on the incident, not on the true purpose of the protest.

Mute Martin Mooney
    Favourite Martin Mooney
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:44 PM

Why did the Minister for Education not get the pleasure of opening this?

Mute colm o`leary
    Favourite colm o`leary
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:52 PM

Don’t you mean ‘egg-gaged’…Boom boom

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:09 PM

”Do you think Enda Kenny or any decent politician would even have a meeting with any of your group after what you did today?”

Seriously mate, at this stage I don’t blame them for egging him, it gets coverage in the media and might make him think twice next time he breaks another promise. Which I will list if you aren’t up to speed on?

Mute Seamus Kearney
    Favourite Seamus Kearney
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:05 PM

Niall, the Taoiseach was never trying to get credit for anything. Many groups invite Ministers or the Taoiseach to an event or an opening because of their position. You’re not just inviting Enda Kenny, you’re inviting An Taoiseach. There would not be as much media at the event today if he wasn’t attending. If groups don’t want him there they simply don’t have to invite them. To compare the actions of the French Revolutionaries to two guys who threw eggs at a man in a Student Centre in Dublin is disgraceful to their legacy.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 29th 2012, 9:44 PM

Above all Seamus…it just felt good. In other countries it might have been a grenade.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Nov 29th 2012, 9:45 PM

Enda has lied and lied and lied . He has ridiculed and sneered at us . I am not surprised that this has happened , only surprised it has not happened sooner. I will say I do NOT approve of this behavior ,as I would be afraid that those responsible would lose more through their actions and Kenny would get all the sympathy BUT I do understand WHY.
    He is at the end of the day a nobody with big ideas for dictating … REFUSE to be bullied .
    …… I would love to have seen his face tho !

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Nov 30th 2012, 8:26 AM

Enda will only attend ” good news functions”, the labour lads are only ever wheeled out to face public abuse and outrage. It’s seems a common enough strategy of this crowd.
    European of the year award, Enda Kenny. Deal with media questions with regard to Savita…. Eammon Gilmore. The trend has been the same. Labour really are the whipping boys for FG.

Mute Kellyanne Ross
    Favourite Kellyanne Ross
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:43 PM

pity they missed . that would be a sight a lot of irish people would find funny

Mute Dave McFadden
    Favourite Dave McFadden
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:23 PM

I like how you went to the bother of setting up a twitter account to troll John.

Mute Dave McFadden
    Favourite Dave McFadden
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:24 PM

I like how you went to the bother of setting up a twitter account to troll, John.

Mute Dave McFadden
    Favourite Dave McFadden
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:25 PM

Whoops, its crap the way theres no option to delete a comment !

Mute michael o'toole
    Favourite michael o'toole
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:33 PM

John – you are corect
    so many of the students of today, are just spoiled brats of the Celtic Tiger era.
    all that concerns many of em is ‘ME ME ME ‘!!!

Mute Karen Doherty
    Favourite Karen Doherty
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:35 PM

Michael that’s a bit harsh and slightly judgmental. Maybe you should research the demographic a bit better!!!

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:43 PM

That egg was probably thrown by a stereotypical UCD Abercrombie and Fitch wearing , fake tan covered, expensive jewellery laden, rich daddy having, regular drinking oompa loompa who could definitely afford fees.

Mute Eugene Leahy
    Favourite Eugene Leahy
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:47 PM

stereotypical but not the average student there.

Mute Mark L'ingarde
    Favourite Mark L'ingarde
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:54 PM

Perhaps they were sticking up for people worse off. Not everyone thinks only of themselves.

Mute Fiona Dunkin
    Favourite Fiona Dunkin
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:10 PM

They weren’t actually. And even if they were, being able to ‘afford fees’ themselves is not the point at all. I second Mark.

Mute Barra
    Favourite Barra
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:42 PM

FEE (Free Eggucation for Enda) Ireland? Anyone? (tumbleweed…cricket noises) I’ll get my own coat…

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:30 PM

Ciara Conway reveals on her twitter page at lunchtime how she’s loving the waterford blaa in the dail canteen today while there’s a protest outside her local offices,yeah just couldn’t make it up

Mute Nicola Monaghan
    Favourite Nicola Monaghan
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:45 PM

gutted they missed, they should more time practicing their aim before trying this again!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:45 PM

Boil the eggs, before you use them. So they can be re-used, bring on the revolution!

Mute Joseph Loughnane
    Favourite Joseph Loughnane
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:58 PM

I love the outcry that some people have over hearing about this. They are not moved by the death of a woman in a Galway hospital but they get all righteous when Enda gets an egg lobbed at him.

Mute Stephen Griffith
    Favourite Stephen Griffith
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:47 PM

Who is not moved?
    I think everyone in the country was moved by what happened in Galway.

Stop trying to show you care more … it’s tedious when people do that.

Mute Aubrey O'Connell
    Favourite Aubrey O'Connell
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:47 PM

I heard that as soon as things boiled over the Gardaí were scrambled to the situation to catch those poachers.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin

Were many of the protesters kept in custardy?

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:46 PM

Eggciting news, pity they missed

Mute George L Rockwell
    Favourite George L Rockwell
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:25 PM

This is less than eggsemplary behaviour

Mute Andy Mars
    Favourite Andy Mars
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:39 PM

I suppose intolerant people show up everywhere George. You know yourself.

Mute Pádraig McCarrick
    Favourite Pádraig McCarrick

Hahahha g’wan Fee.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:01 PM

And so the last bastion of rebellion has fallen flat. The lower classes are too tired to care anymore, the middle classes too busy to care, the upper classes to comfortable! The student, the rebel, the future, the seed from which our country will innovate, pull through and succeed….and they f**ked up a simple egging!!! I’m gutted. We’re screwed…..:)

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:02 PM

*too comfortable..sorry

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:20 PM

Can anyone see a trend. People on the streets, Gilmore and Enda being egged, protest outside the dail while they vote!?!! People are beginning to show their frustration :) bring it on

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:25 PM

FG passscchhhcall constituency office graffiti’d !! The people are defiantly showing their frustration. Very worrying for the FG party.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:17 PM

Just a bunch of cowards. Grafitti in the middle of the night. Throwing an egg from a crowd. Protesting with a scarf covering their face. Not one bit of legitimate protest.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:57 PM

If you’re looking for cowards Sean can I suggest the current Irish parliament and Seanad, each and every one of them.

Mute Sinead Lunney
    Favourite Sinead Lunney
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:19 PM

Sean I guess the reason they do it in the middle of the night or cover their face when, sadly, mis-firing an egg is possibly indicative of the fact that in the banana republic you’d be rounded up and spend a night behind bars, at the Garda’s pleasure, meaning they would miss out on the next batch of egg throwing, its not like their throwing rockets or bombs, i suppose then it would be appropriate to discuss the legitimacy of such a protest, in the scheme of things an egg is pretty innocuousness i would say!!!

Mute JP SHERRY
    Favourite JP SHERRY
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:52 PM

Enda’s the eggman, they are the eggmen.
    Gilmores the walrus, goo goo g’joob, goo goo g’joob.

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:02 PM

Well he IS a Mayo(naisse) man

Mute Martin Mac
    Favourite Martin Mac

Well done UCD. Fair play. Next time make sure you throw in some hard boiled one’s too. The moron kenny is destroying the country single handly.

Mute Vincent Murray
    Favourite Vincent Murray
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:58 PM

How is Enda Kenny destroying the country?
    We are back in the bond markets!
    Unemployment down year on year.

Think he’s doing the best job he can in the circumstances!

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:12 PM

What Vincent? Unemployment down year on year. Seems to me you like to fib like Enda.

Nov 29th 2012, 4:16 PM

@ Vincent unemployment down and emigration up?

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Nov 30th 2012, 8:18 AM

Very funny Vincent. Are you practising for Comedy Central. Unemployment is fixed at 15%. Cronyism continues. Minister continue to claim obscene wages and unvouched expenses. We are still committed to pay that lovely promissory note. We are bracing ourselves for the introduction of property tax and water charges. The USC will potentially increase in the next budget. Those of us working are being squeezed to breaking point, resulting in zero disposable income, thus no spending in the local economy. The weakest in society are having their services removed or reduced( home help, special needs teachers…). Please do me a favour poke you head outside your ivory tower and have a look around. A tiny little step into the bond markets does not equate to success when the extraordinary suffering of so many continues. Oh let’s not forget the thousands who have emigrated, they must feel very cheery with Mr Kenny.

Mute otto von raven
    Favourite otto von raven
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:37 PM

May I suggest the heavy artillery next time, ostrich eggs? http://www.ottosbunker.com

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:56 PM

How many of these students went to fee paying schools that got them into UCD in the first place? Just wondering!

Mute Eugene Leahy
    Favourite Eugene Leahy
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:07 PM

I didn’t, none of my friends there did, so I’m going to assume not a lot of them

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:21 PM

Sure all enda has to do is cut the dole and raise the price of rolling tobacco and dutch gold , thatll show those thug students

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Favourite Siobhan O'Mahony
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:51 PM

It may have shown disrespect to Enda Kenny, but he deserves it!! He’s not thinking about being disrespectful towards us when he is putting his hands in our pockets, taking our money and giving it to bankers, bond holders etc!!! They should’ve pelted him with rocks for the way he has crippled the poorest in society!!!

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:17 PM

Unfortunately he has let things get this way, he has lost touch with his eleggtorate. people don’t respect him or his government, because he has achieved nothing and lied about everything.

The only ones that do, are living in fear and probably still go to Mass of a Sunday…

Adebayo

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:22 PM

Horse/cow manure in a paper bag, give him what he gave us at the elections!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:27 PM

Pascal got his windows cleaned, I thought a boulder would have done a better job?

Mute padraig
    Favourite padraig
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:07 PM

Edna the Ginger is a waste of an egg, rotten or not.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:19 PM

Will one of the classes in the new Student Centre be set aside for egg throwing accuracy?

Mute Eugene Leahy
    Favourite Eugene Leahy

The student centre isn’t for class…
    Maybe the ag-science building will have one though.

Mute John Denby
    Favourite John Denby
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:59 PM

@Eugene I was behind you up until that last comment. Hon the Ags

Mute Eugene Leahy
    Favourite Eugene Leahy
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:07 PM

@John No offence was meant to the ag-science folk, it was just an admittedly poor attempt at humour on my part.

Mute john fox
    Favourite john fox
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:54 PM

only eggs. pity

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:29 PM

Should have thrown more then eggs.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:13 PM

Like what Paul?

Mute John Canno
    Favourite John Canno
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:32 PM

Spit is a good medium for showing disgust, I would say?

Mute Rob Zombie
    Favourite Rob Zombie
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:42 PM

Egg on their faces now..

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:42 PM

Waste of a good egg..

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:40 PM

Idiots who throw eggs at public figures ought not to even be in college at the tax payers expense. What good employer will hire someone who drags down the reputation of the insitution/organisation for whom they are fortunate to be a part of.

Mute Angela Gaffney
    Favourite Angela Gaffney
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:56 PM

Not all students are there at tax payer expense some people pay big money to educate their kids…and sure didn’t they pay for the eggs …poor kids beans for the rest of the week some people need to stop watching and reading the news it’s stressing them out

Mute Sorcha Ni Raghailligh
    Favourite Sorcha Ni Raghailligh
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:31 PM

“Fortunate to be part of”????? As a fourth year mature student of one of these institutions it’s safe to say they are fortunate to have students! A helluva lot of lecturers get away with murder when it comes to teaching..or lack thereof! And don’t get me started on the admin offices. It is the students paying their wages after-all, not the other way around!

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:55 PM

That’ll certainly show him the need for free education.

Mute Martin Mooney
    Favourite Martin Mooney
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:55 PM

Seamus you are Right. The French Revolution had something to do with Cake; Eggs are usually an ingredient in Cakes. So we need Flour and other things before we get to that stage.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:35 PM

Why not throw cow shite instead of using good eggs?

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:40 PM

And get their hands covered in shite? It’s student night tonight. Can’t go boozing it up and smelling like cow shit.

Mute Shay O'Reilly
    Favourite Shay O'Reilly
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:51 PM

Students, what a joke, want workers to pay their fees, can’t even hit the Taoiseach with an egg, wasters

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:04 PM

Yes Sheamus your 100% right……..Are those egg throwers the business people of the futue, i hope they get the disrespect back, as they richly deserve…..As for the comments above, just goes to show the mentality of some of those who posted.——–

Mute Joseph Loughnane
    Favourite Joseph Loughnane
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:08 PM

Yeah, we should take off our coats and lay them on the ground whenever Enda opens more buildings that the public never asked for, he is our master, and the least we can do as the “bizniz people of da futur” is obey every word until a scrap comes our way.

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:13 PM

@ Frank, LOL Genius put down!

Mute Matt Gleeson
    Favourite Matt Gleeson
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:38 PM

Enda….the mad yolk!

Mute Ciaran Bolger
    Favourite Ciaran Bolger
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:17 PM

Total ignorance is the only way to describe the action of throwing eggs or any other object at an elected democrat & apart from that, there should be respect shown for the office of Taoiseach.

By all means have a protest but show some dignity & don’t turn a legitimate democratic protest into lynching mob, throwing objects will win you no support from the ordinary decent citizen as it associate your cause with the tracksuit wearing extreme left wing groups & their ignorant display of democratic protest.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:26 PM

Funny that, their illegitimate protest seems have won a lot of support from the ordinary decent citizen on here?

I’m puzzled? Could these ordinary decent citizens actually be showing disrespect for the office of Taoiseach. Could they be showing disrespect for our great leader (a thousand blessings be upon him)?

How dare they.

Mute Frank Cluskey
    Favourite Frank Cluskey
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:30 PM

Spoken like a true yes man Ciaran

Mute YOjwLMwW
    Favourite YOjwLMwW
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:18 PM

Ciaran’s got a point, Enda Kenny, like all TDs in the Dail, were democratically elected. Perhaps it would be more constructive to not vote in such politicians in the first place!

Also acting the maggot by throwing things at politicians only makes sense in the mind of extremists and only serves to isolate ordinary people who prefer dialogue and lobbying.

Mute Frank Cluskey
    Favourite Frank Cluskey
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:46 PM

Stephen
    Yes the public elected them but if you compare Fine Gaels election manifesto to what they have done since you would be forgiven for thinking that the opposition got in.

Mute John Canno
    Favourite John Canno
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:31 PM

And boy is he listening to the protests as they have been commencing. Yes, you can bet that he will be taking head of the 30 minute marches here and there.

Mute Rónán Burtenshaw
    Favourite Rónán Burtenshaw
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:14 PM

“Tracksuit wearing extreme left wing groups.”

Mute john fox
    Favourite john fox
    Nov 30th 2012, 7:53 PM

what respect did bell enda slow US. by his lies. before he got it to power . and turned his back on. the people that got him where he is now .

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:59 PM

I deplore Fine Gael policies, if that’s what you can call the thinking of this government. Enda Kenny is not a fit leader for this country and has proven his incompetence at every turn, not to mention having a less than suitable relationship with the truth.

That said, if the best that the third level students of this country, has to offer, is throwing eggs at him. I really do despair for our future as a nation!

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:18 PM

Don’t bother with your despair most of them will emigrate. You’ll be left here with the PJ wearing dole heads :) that’ll suit ya

Mute John Canno
    Favourite John Canno
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:34 PM

Throwing eggs is a far better alternative than stones; and gives the —hole a private look at what we think of him. Personally, I would go with spit or follow our simian friends, but that’s just me…

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:59 PM

Next time bloody practise!!!!!!

Mute Conor Garry
    Favourite Conor Garry
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:36 PM

“Omelette you away with it this time” quoted Kenny.

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:26 PM

Next time a bucket of water would be ideal, as eggs have a tenancy to stray off target because of there shape. Plus everyone likes getting wet and wild especially on a cold day;)

Mute Peter Mahony
    Favourite Peter Mahony
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:09 PM

Those eggs would be a portion of a student’s week worth of food while they wait for the grant money, if it ever gets to them. Huge sacrifices being made by the protesters there. They have my admiration.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:23 PM

That’s the grant cut so…

Mute Cathal P Forde
    Favourite Cathal P Forde
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:08 PM

disgraceful throwing eggs at our leader!!! such a waste when there are children going to school hungry. Even more shameful is the fact that they missed.

Mute Jim Duffy
    Favourite Jim Duffy
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:42 PM

Students still looking for something for free. Some things never change. What makes them think they alone should escape cutbacks? Previous generations of students all had to pay fees. Why should this generation of students get special treatment.

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:15 PM

Because it was a pre election promise not to increase fees. Remember the photo op with Quinn signing a ‘contract’. Students are fed up with the lies along with the rest of us. It’s not about getting anything for free……unless your a bondholder?

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:14 PM

Our brave fearless leader! Enda could have thrown his 5point plan at the student! The European of the year award too. All hail Overlord Kenny

Mute Fiona Johnston McLaughlin
    Favourite Fiona Johnston McLaughlin
    Nov 29th 2012, 1:50 PM

This is no yoke. I’ll scramble to get my coat!!!

Mute Thomas W Cooke
    Favourite Thomas W Cooke
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:46 PM

They didn’t like your joke, I thought it was ok. Please fry harder next time.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:50 PM

Well Dave I’m not in Ancient Greece and I’m using the term in context of the day! So maybe you should try living in the present instead of trying to look clever!

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:07 PM

Its a word not a term. A term is a group of words. I seriously think you should stop accusing other people of being idiots, for your own sake.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:22 PM

It’s a word and a term, to describe someone, maybe you should stop trying to be a, condescending idiot! Semantics the last refuge of true stupidity.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:35 PM

Oh I’m “trying” to be an idiot now, but I haven’t quite made it yet. Nice of you to say so. Maybe you could give me some tips? No?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:41 PM

Hey lads,

Can we keep it civilised please? No need for name calling, ’tis not the playground.

Cheers
    Sinead

Mute Lisa Dowdall Mcevoy
    Favourite Lisa Dowdall Mcevoy
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:18 PM

Pity they missed !!!

Mute Sean Power
    Favourite Sean Power

absolutely ridiculous. I don’t like enda kenny, or any of them to be quite honest, but I do hope they realise that the idiots responsible for this are not representative of the vast majority of students. they are a disgrace to the student movement and a disgrace to themselves.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:38 PM

Well said.

Mute Matthew Ryan
    Favourite Matthew Ryan
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:32 PM

Yes throwing eggs is a constructive form of protest

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:18 PM

Ryan I am a grad student who is currently working 3 jobs to makes ends meet! If you think throwing and egg will solve anything, then you really should consider emigration. Most of the jobs that are being created are for high end grad students ie IT and BioPharm. Fine Gael do not have a jobs strategy they have an emigration strategy. The difference being that I read your posts and I see a future banker, accountant or TV exec like the overly millitant students that grew up around me in the 80′s. The only effect that an Egg will have on change, is a fertilized one, that might develop into an intelligent force for change, clearly none of those around UCD today!

Mute John Canno
    Favourite John Canno
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:30 PM

GOOD.
    He’s lucky it wasn’t stones.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:38 PM

Because not getting hit by stones is much worse than not getting hit by eggs.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:14 PM

Which came first the idiot, or the idiots!

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:46 PM

Idiot is an ancient Greek word, its literal meaning is someone who doesn’t take an interest/participate in politics, so I’m afraid you are wrong, these guys aren’t idiots. Maybe you are?

Mute aaron mohan
    Favourite aaron mohan
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:42 PM

What a waste of eggs

Mute Aoife Quinn
    Favourite Aoife Quinn

Do they not have anything better for doing? Like, for example going to lectures/studying??

Mute john fox
    Favourite john fox
    Nov 30th 2012, 8:00 PM

or buying more eggs

Mute Caroline Hughes
    Favourite Caroline Hughes
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:48 PM

Thin end of the wedge! Politicians are now being seen for what they are; traitors. After the budget all will become clear to the people and TDs will get the boycott treatment, the people will treat them with the total contempt that they richly deserve.

Mute Yvonne Callaghan
    Favourite Yvonne Callaghan
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:01 PM

I would’nt have missed.

Mute Carmel Byrne
    Favourite Carmel Byrne
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:25 PM

Free education at third level is a new thing it is only in since 1996 or so. Enough wallowing and pointless protest Students get a loan, get a part time job get some initiative and move on. What about the countless thousands of people who did pay and managed to secure jobs in the 80s and 90s. This is what is like in most countries get over the mentality that you deserve something for nothing. Future generations may have more backbone as a result and therefore may be more aware of the importance of education itself. Nothing is decided yet on fees so cool the jets those who don’t have to pay £9000 per year like the U.K.

Mute Aoife Quinn
    Favourite Aoife Quinn
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:48 PM

Agreed! You don’t have to go to college either, that’s your own choice.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:47 PM

students useless bless them,,,, wouldnt hit a cows ass with a hurley stick

Mute Daffy TheBear
    Favourite Daffy TheBear
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:53 PM

Don’t reckon it woulda been eggs I’d be throwin..

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:19 PM

They should be saving their cash now instead of wasting it on eggs for throwing.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Nov 29th 2012, 9:30 PM

Only need to get lucky once :)

Mute harpurlee
    Favourite harpurlee
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:29 PM

haha pity they werent hard boiled

Mute Bill Walsh
    Favourite Bill Walsh
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:41 PM

Shouldn’t the police and army etc who are supposed to defend this country from all enemies foreign or domestic have arrested this traitorous government by now?

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:28 PM

Are you suggesting a military coup? I have heard it all now!

Mute Fint Chacha
    Favourite Fint Chacha
    Nov 29th 2012, 8:14 PM

Eggciting times, as students they should set up an eggcecution squad – 7 students fire eggs at the same time from behind the grassy knoll – who knows which egg hit him, fired by who – they could take them all into custardy as long as there’s no eggstradition… ;-)

Mute Simon Gaites
    Favourite Simon Gaites
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:09 PM

Immature behaviour.

Mute Chris Nolan
    Favourite Chris Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:12 PM

I know… The Taoiseach should really start taking his job seriously.

Mute David Ryan
    Favourite David Ryan
    Nov 29th 2012, 7:21 PM

Haha, Free Eggs for Everyone !!!

Mute peter kiely
    Favourite peter kiely
    Nov 29th 2012, 2:26 PM

Put them in jail Enda along with ur weekend warriors

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 3:38 PM

No your trying to be condescending, your very successful as an idiot! Even using your defenition of the word, since as far as I can tell you have no interest in politics.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Nov 29th 2012, 4:41 PM

Ryan, no I don’t support the Shinners so having the PJ wearers here doesn’t suit me. The only jobs being created are graduate jobs so no need to emigrate, well except maybe the arts students that don’t go into politics. Wanting intelligent students, capeable of delivering effective change as opposed to egg throwing ones, in capeable of engaging in change, no brainer don’t you think?

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:05 PM

Do you seriously think a grad student wants to Slavs away in tesco thanks to jobs bride or pathway to slavery courtesy of min harangue burton? And even if there was jobs for them there’re 15?of the population unemployed so there’s not enough to go around but your reading from a broken manifesto just like Vincent above who thinks employments down year on year. And if throwing an egg gets your goat up your in for a surprise I’m sure there’s more to come. Or is it that your jealous of students ?

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag

Who cares what they want? That’s just life. You start at the bottom and work your way up.

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:51 PM

Sour grapes there Sean

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Nov 30th 2012, 3:52 PM

There’s no doubt that the Taoiseach is doing a very difficult job. He was recently democratically elected by the people of the country. At the last election lots of noisy opinionated people claimed they could do a better job but didn’t stand. If the students who tried to assault the lawfully elected leader of the government think they can do a better job they too can stand for election. Any violence that is used instead of political action should not be condoned or tolerated. It is indeed a slippery slope to Fascism.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 1st 2012, 11:36 AM

Here’s something I read today:

A man, whose family was German aristocracy prior to World War II, owned a number of large industries and estates. When asked how many German people were true Nazis, the answer he gave can guide our attitude toward fanaticism.

‘Very few people were true Nazis,’ he said, ‘but many enjoyed the return of German pride, and many more were too busy to care. I was one of those who just thought the Nazis were a bunch of fools. So, the majority just sat back and let it all happen. Then, before we knew it, they owned us, and we had lost control, and the end of the world had come. My family lost everything. I ended up in a concentration camp and the Allies destroyed my factories.’

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Nov 29th 2012, 9:50 PM

Ah the Journal rabble rousers. Don’t you just love them. Let’s get out on the streets, burn things down, destroy property, tear up what we can. That’ll make the country a much better place won’t it.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Nov 29th 2012, 6:03 PM

pickle them all i say

Mute Karl O Flynn
    Favourite Karl O Flynn
    Nov 29th 2012, 5:56 PM

One reaps what one sows!!!
    KARMA!!

Mute Liz O Malley
    Favourite Liz O Malley
    Nov 30th 2012, 4:24 AM

Just as a matter of interest, why not do the water balloon form of delivery.
    (Stick a couple of rotten egg yokes somehow in a couple of balloons)
    Is it possible?

Mute Liz O Malley
    Favourite Liz O Malley
    Nov 30th 2012, 5:00 AM

Hypothetically speaking, I’d like to add

Mute Jim Duffy
    Favourite Jim Duffy
    Nov 30th 2012, 2:14 AM

Like previous student radicals the egg throwers will no doubt end up in the establishment in the Dail or business or in the media in a couple of years. They always do. Remember Eamon Gilmore, Pat Rabbitte, Joe Duffy, Donagh Diamond, etc etc.

Mute Sarah Nic Pháidín
    Favourite Sarah Nic Pháidín
    Nov 30th 2012, 1:16 AM

RTE on the 6.01 news said he had been at UCD – never mentioned student protests at all. Are they editing the news to keep students voices out of it? Well done The Journal for giving us the full story

Mute hsianloon
    Favourite hsianloon
    Nov 30th 2012, 1:11 AM

and they complaint when riot police exist… how could they not, with behavior like that

Mute Brendan Wall
    Favourite Brendan Wall
    Nov 30th 2012, 2:51 PM

How come we can open a new student centre and we have no money for repairs for the heating in a primary school.??Is this somewhat strange?or am I asking too much of equality??

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 30th 2012, 2:40 PM

ironic, throwning the eggs back at the chicken!