You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"You must listen": Gaza teen tweets sound of bombs exploding

“I’m 16yrs old and have witnessed 3 wars, as I see, this is the hardest one.”

A PALESTINIAN TEENAGER in Gaza has been live-tweeting photos, audio recordings and video clips of an Israeli rocket attack.

The teenager, identifying herself as ‘Farah Baker’ and tweeting with the handle @Farah_Gazan, posted updates of flares and rockets landing in her area for hours last night.

At one point, she uploaded recordings of bombs exploding nearby and drones flying overhead, as well as video footage of flares lighting the night sky above:

Her distress and fears for her safety prompted a stream of concerned responses from social media users around the world:

Gaza Tweets

Earlier today, she tweeted this update about getting through the night’s barrage:

Explainer: What is happening in Gaza? >

Watch: Is this what the inside of a Hamas tunnel looks like? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 107 comments
107 Comments
    Mute Anna Kavanagh
    Favourite Anna Kavanagh
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:01 PM

A modern day Ann Frank only this time it’s the Jewish state of Israel who are the aggressors.

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:10 PM

Anti-Semitism alive and well

Mute Revolution
    Favourite Revolution
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:16 PM

Big difference between Anti-Semitism and anti Israeli. There are extremes on both sides of this conflict, but what Israel is doing are war crimes. Why are they doing it? All those nice oil+gas reserves just off the coast of Gaza. This conflict is nothing to do with the protection of Israel, its making sure the Palestinians are removed so Israel gets billions.

See 44 more replies ▾
    Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:18 PM

“Makes ya wonder if they reason they were persecuted in the first place is because of such acts of aggression and terror.” That is about as anti semitic as it gets.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:25 PM

Realistically there is no comparison with Anne Frank.The Nazis set out to systematiclly exterminate European Jewry.In the last 50 years Gaza’s population has exploded at an exponential rate.Such comparisons are spurious.
    This could be over tomorrow if Hamas stop the rockets.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:26 PM

Its not but so bloody what if it was???? The picture released by the israeli embassy is about as anti-islamic as it gets and also completely disrespectful to Ireland so whats the difference!??!?!?!?!?

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:29 PM

@Regan. Number 1 a semite is not just jewish and number 2, semites do not have a patent or monopoly on being insulted or being isolated and targeted

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:32 PM

It wouldn’t be over tomorrow if Hamas stopped firing rockets seeing as there was occupation and oppression before they started. Even this recent outbreak of rockets began after Israel began rounding up hundreds of people without evidence

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:33 PM

Nigel whil that was a ridiculously unhelpful thing the Israelis embassy did,are you pro-Islamic?The Islamic religion is the most repressive mysogynistic religion of them all.Winston Churchill had it nailed 100 years ago

“How dreadful are the curses which Mohammedanism lays on its votaries!
    Besides the fanatical frenzy, which is as dangerous in a man as hydrophobia
    in a dog, there is this fearful fatalistic apathy. The effects are apparent in many
    countries, improvident habits, slovenly systems of agriculture, sluggish methods
    of commerce and insecurity of property exist wherever the followers of the
    Prophet rule or live. A degraded sensualism deprives this life of its grace and
    refinement, the next of its dignity and sanctity. The fact that in Mohammedan
    law every woman must belong to some man as his absolute property, either as
    a child, a wife, or a concubine, must delay the final extinction of slavery until the
    faith of Islam has ceased to be a great power among men.

Individual Moslems may show splendid qualities, but the influence of the religion
    paralyzes the social development of those who follow it. No stronger retrograde
    force exists in the world. Far from being moribund, Mohammedanism is a militant
    and proselytizing faith. It has already spread throughout Central Africa, raising
    fearless warriors at every step, and were it not that Christianity is sheltered in the
    strong arms of science, the science against which it (Islam) has vainly struggled,
    the civilization of modern Europe might fall, as fell the civilization of ancient Rome.”

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:37 PM

Its not anti semitic to criticise israel

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:38 PM

This could be over tomorrow if israel and egypt ease the blockade and stop blowing up civillian targets

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg

Is that the same Winston Churchill who made horrendous racist and white supremacist comments about pretty much everyone other than the white Brits?

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:39 PM

Nazis… How could anyone think the Z.i.o.n.i.s.t.s of Israel are Nazis… sure look at this reasonable humanist and all together decent philosophy for bring peace to the middle east… sure its clear the Z.i.o.n.i.s.t.s.running Israel are just a great bunch of lads… right?

The 1999 Likud Party Charter:

“The Jewish communities in Judea, Samaria (West Bank) and Gaza are the realization of Z.i.o.n.i.s.t values. Settlement of the land is a clear expression of the unassailable right of the Jewish people to the Land of Israel and constitutes an important asset in the defense of the vital interests of the State of Israel. The Likud will continue to strengthen and develop these communities and will prevent their uprooting.

Similarly, they claim the Jordan River as the permanent eastern border to Israel and it also claims Jerusalem as belonging to Israel.

The ‘Peace & Security’ chapter of the 1999 Likud Party platform rejects a Palestinian state.
    “The Government of Israel flatly rejects the establishment of a Palestinian Arab state west of the Jordan river. The Palestinians can run their lives freely in the framework of self-rule, but not as an independent and sovereign state. Thus, for example, in matters of foreign affairs, security, immigration and ecology, their activity shall be limited in accordance with imperatives of Israel’s existence, security and national needs.

And the Likud Constitution of May 2014 is more vague and ambiguous. Though it contains commitments to the strengthening of Jewish settlement in Judea and Samaria, it does not explicitly rule out the establishment of a Palestinian state, but we all know exactly where that means…!

Genocide in Palestine is too light a word right now!

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:39 PM

No, but it is anti semitic to suggest that this

“Makes ya wonder if they reason they were persecuted in the first place is because of such acts of aggression and terror.” That is about as anti semitic as it gets.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:41 PM

And there it is so its wrong for any one to criticise israel or be anti semitoc but its ok to be anti islam in your eyes. So when your finished killing muslims who will you turn on next?

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:42 PM

No it isn’t, Reagan

Mute john stewart
    Favourite john stewart
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:46 PM

Well Z**n ism is anti semetic

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:47 PM

So rather then challenging his opinion on Islam,you berate him for having racist views,which were widespread among white people at the time,including Irish people.Nice Ad Hominem.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:51 PM

@ Hasbara Reagan

Atrocities in Islam?

Funny how the eyes of the world are not on the various bunches of third world uneducated poverty stricken zealots who have nothing but a warped view of Religion driving their insanely violent political goals because they dont know any better…i.e. Boku Harem,

Far Far more insidious, despicable and disgusting is a first world country where their people have all the luxuries and comfort that modern society can deliver… and yet who have nothing but a warped view of Religion driving their insanely violent political goals because they dont know any better i.e. Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. Israel!

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:52 PM

That’s correct Reagan.The likes of Hamas divide the world into Dar as-Salam-the house of peace,where Islam reigns supreme and Dar al-Harb- the house of war,the non-Muslim countries where Islamic law is not enforced.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:54 PM

@ And Scipio

Trying to distort the issue in true Hasbara style! And like Jed_I and most of the other Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. spin-doctors on here your identity is hidden… or faked!

Another hundred Palestinians killed today mostly civilians and another and ten Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. soldiers killed too…. The GENOCIDE in PALESTINE continues!

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:59 PM

Hamas are instructing civilians to die because they know how civilian deaths are great for propaganda, so fools like you will lap it up and support them.

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:00 PM

Israelis in Tel Aviv 26.7.2014: “There’s no schoo…: http://youtu.be/h7qFACSfd_k explain that than.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:01 PM

Get it right mate,I work directly for Mossad.
    ‘The GENOCIDE in PALESTINE continues’ You don’t even know the meaning of the word .This must be the first genocide in history were a population has increased.Gaza’s population has increased exponentially in the last 50 years.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:06 PM

“Telegenic dead”, as Benjamin Netanyahu described them?! What he said is utterly despicable by any standards.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:13 PM

Adrian Parkes your motives are more questionable then mine.I comment across a wide variety of articles,unlike yourself,who is a one issue,fashionable cause merchant. Didn’t see you comenting on the article regarding the ethnic cleansing of Christians from the Middle East earlier,but then I’m not surprised at that.It’s a typical trait of IPSC acolytes. Come on,I want to hear more hysterical wails of HASBARA!.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:20 PM

@Scipio

Sorry step one in your Hasbara manual of deception is distort the issue…

But this debate is about the savage brutal and disgusting oppression and long slow genocide of the Palestinian people… nothing more, nothing less! SO if you cant provide a few facts then pack up your bags and run back to the embassy…

“My name is Reuven Moskovitz and I am a Holocaust survivor.

So why was a Jew trying to break the blockade of Gaza? It is a sacred duty for me as a Holocaust survivor, to protest against the persecution, the oppression and the imprisonment of so many people in Gaza, including more than 800,000 children.

I as a Holocaust survivor cannot live with the fact that the state of Israel is imprisoning an entire people behind fences. It is immoral! What happened to me in the Holocaust wakes me up every night and I hope we don’t do the same thing to our neighbours, and what I went through during the Holocaust reminds me of what the besieged Palestinian children are going through!”

Mute Murtaza Ali
    Favourite Murtaza Ali
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:24 PM

100+ people killed in a plane crash and sanctions on Russia by US and EU in matter of days. 1000+ killed in Palestine, and more US aid for Israel

I would love to ask an Israeli person if I can claim his North London villa because once my grand dad sat on his land some hundred of years ago. I have no proof but I have a book that says so, so you better believe it.

Well if I can find an Israeli person. They are probably hiding in shame.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:27 PM

Reagan — You are beyond parody… and indeed decency.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:28 PM

Reagan by that reasoning its ok to be anti israeli too for they have committed atrocities to further their zio@#ist cause….they have slaughtered countless civillians since 1948. By your reasoning it is also justifiable that muslims hate america and britain for the atrocities they have committed in the name of democracy and the japanese to hate america for nagasaki and hiroshima…..where is all your hate going to get you??

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:28 PM

You are an IPSC plant,who only comments on the one issue.You’re compromised my friend.Where are you on the Syria or Iraq articles where Arabs are getting killed on a far greater scale?Smell that?That’s the smell of hypocrisy.

The difference is Israel is a democracy,with freedom of speech.That particular holocaust survivor is free to hold views contrary to the government if he wishes.Try holding views contrary to those of Hamas in Gaza openly and you will be lynced on the streets.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:31 PM

When you steal my land bomb my house killing my children then bomb our hospital and school killing more little children don’t expect my hand in friendship.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:41 PM

Israel sends out its propoganda machone claiming self defence and human shields and rockets in hospitals and the fools like you reagan and scipio and carnac lap it up and then infest sites like these with your warped sense of justifiable homicide in the cases of mass murder of women and chidren in gaza…..how many times do you have to be told ?? You cannot justify murdering children

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:42 PM

@Scipio I find it hypocrtical in the extreme for people with their made up names on here, so one can only assume are Hasbara students or indeed Irish Catholics, to go on about how backward and oppresive Islam is!!! For christs sake, the UN HRC have just lambasted us for our shameful record on womens rights!! Catholicism wont allow women as priests yet decideds whas right and wrong for womens bodies!?! Catholicisim is sexually oppressive and has an edge of brutality as seen in many of the industrial schools and also an evil side with the cover up of the child molestation rampant in the church…yet you come on here and go on about Islam !!! Plus again you try distort what was said as I never once said Im pro-Islamic..Im a humanist and Agnostic

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:47 PM

Reagans interpretation of Anti Semitism, is someone who opposes war crimes or murder is automatically Anti Semitic ????
    Strange interpretation – Are you anything to Ronald – or that other Charles nutter ?????

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:49 PM

Hopefully we are not too far away from The other Arab states who are not in Americas back pocket to intervene and put an end to this slaughter. Sooner the better.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:04 PM

Plus its a mortal sin to be “anti semitic’ but cool to be ‘anti islamic’ …the the typical hypocracy of the evil IDF apologists

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:09 PM

Indeed Nigel. And evil is the correct word in this case.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:24 PM

@Reagan OMG, did you just write that racist remark….. This is Ireland, and we have laws against such things.

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:35 PM

@Regan
    “Hamas are instructing people to die…for propaganda”
    “Of course it is ok to be anti-Islam”

Do you even read the shite you post?

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:38 PM

Shut up scipio. Do us a favour.

Mute Kieran McGrath
    Favourite Kieran McGrath
    Jul 29th 2014, 9:09 PM

Scipio..are you being serious here? Freedom of speech in Israel..you clearly have no understanding of how the media and government work in this particular country because if you did you wouldn’t be pulling such horseshit statements like this out of sky. Do a little research before you write such nonsense and embarrass yourself more than you already have. My I suggest Etgar Keret..you probably don’t know who that is, so Google him maybe and educate yourself more on this matter.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 9:29 PM

I was born a Catholic but no longer practice that religion,but there is no comparison between the two religions.Islam is on a whole different level of barbarism and oppressiveness.
    Maybe you can show me what part of the Catholic bible condones child molestation?

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 11:00 PM

This is not a debate about a religion! As you we’ll know! Set up a forum if you wanna moan about Islam… Ans yes there is lots to criticise there too… But NOT HERE!

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:32 AM

Theres no such thing as “the catholic bible” plus I never said it was in the bible…its in practice which is worse!!

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Jul 30th 2014, 3:27 AM

Israeli children feel the same fear when Hamas rockets come in, no rockets no Israeli response, simple as that!

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 30th 2014, 7:59 AM

@Jopmarsy

I think you have the cart before the horse…No Occupation no Rockets… Simple as that!

And yes indeed you’re probably correct about Israeli children feeling fear… but its the Palestinian children who are dying… by the hundreds!

Mute Revolution
    Favourite Revolution
    Jul 29th 2014, 5:58 PM

Its time to expel the Israeli ambassador and all his staff from Dublin now.

Mute Revolution
    Favourite Revolution
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:28 PM

This conflict is about resources. Its nothing to do with the protection of Israel. Israel wants to get its hands on the vast oil + gas reserves off the coast of Gaza. Here is a piece of analysis you wont find on any Irish media.

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/earth-insight/2014/jul/09/israel-war-gaza-palestine-natural-gas-energy-crisis

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash

Yes of course. It’s not like Israel are concerned with indiscriminate rocket fire into Israel or suicide bombers whose only purpose are too kill as many people as possible

Mute Revolution
    Favourite Revolution

If Israel stopped stealing land, building illegal settlements, blockading Palestine and other oppressive measures then they would not be getting such hassle. Put people down and treat them like animals then they will attack. Israel can only blame itself for what is going on here.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:45 PM

Israeli Ambassador OUT! OUT! OUT!

Please take action and call!!!

Dept of Foreign Affairs number is 01 4082000. Ring and ask for the Ministers office and record your disgust at the abstention on the UN Gaza vote. Then call the Minister Charlie Flanagan’s constituency office on (057) 862 0232 and ask his staff to record that you are also disgusted.

Please get on to all your local TD’s and MEP’s! Call i to their constituency offices and tell them that enough is enough and we want the Israeli ambassador kicked out on his supremacist behind!

This is an out and out genocide and the heartless Hasbara fools who infest the worlds websites and blogs with their fake facebook and twitter accounts must be resisted!

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:13 PM

Lay off the dizzy water Adrian. You’ll only do yourself a mischief

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:34 PM

Adrian Parkes …Cha could be soon put on overtime…

Israel is now stepping up its operations on Gaza with over 100 killed today

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-28539528

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:36 PM

Adrian. Let’s examine your post. You accuse me of lies and deception via lies and deception. Does that strike you as odd?

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:41 PM

Nah frank I’m scoffing a beshoffs in howth. Clocked out for the day at 3. Nice one.

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:42 PM

Reagan – No I think you are completely wrong .
    My summation of the vast majority of Ireland’s Citizens is that any indiscriminate or any type bombing or killing is ALWAYS completely WRONG – no matter who is carrying it out !

It just so happens in this instance that Israel are committing War Crimes on a level that none of us have ever witnessed in many of our lifetimes before – I personally did , but then again I’m nearly 63 years old .

Mute Shane Mooney
    Favourite Shane Mooney
    Jul 29th 2014, 5:59 PM

Keep the faith and please stay safe, the majority of us Irish people are 100% behind Palestine but our government let us down yet again!!!! #freePalestine #endtheslaughter

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:09 PM

Thankfully, Western governments have more sense than to support Hamas. #youclearlydontknowhowtousehashtags

Mute gary
    Favourite gary
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:14 PM

You really are an.idiot. Who said anything about supporting Hamas?

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac

Did you take a poll?

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:35 PM

Reagan supporting the palestinian victims is not supporting hamas….stop shilling for israel

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac

Hama’s refuse ceasefire offers. They are willing to sacrifice their children to gain international support and condemnation of Israel for defending theirs.
    “There will be no peace until they love their children more than they hate us”, Golda Meir.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:58 PM

@ Carnac

Words of wisdom from Golda Meir,

…the black-hearted monster who struck a deal with King Abdullah of Jordan to carve up all up historic Palestine between them, the same monster who went on record saying there was no such thing as the Palestinian people and as such they had no rights whatsoever, and the same monster who led Israel into the Yom Kippur War, a war they lost until the US, under their Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. masters whip sent them a new air-force!

Great role-model! Hows about a quote from Pol Pot next?

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:19 PM

Adrian Parkes seems to forget the massive amounts of miltary aid the Syrians and Egyptians received from the USSR.Despite having a massive numerical advantage they still lost.I suppose the Israelis should be blamed for Arab incompetence at warfare.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:27 PM

@Scipio

Wow you must be getting desperate… now we’re back talking about the USSR which doesn’t exist anymore…

Lets talk about today…

As of today the U.S. is providing Israel with at least $8.5 million per day in military aid and $0 in military aid to the Palestinians.

As of today Israel has been targeted by at least 77 UN resolutions and the Palestinians have been targeted by 1.

As of today 0 Israelis are being held prisoner by Palestinians, while 6-7,000 Palestinians are currently imprisoned by Israel, where torture murder ans strip searching is common.

As of today 0 Israeli homes have been demolished by Palestinians and well over 28,000 Palestinian homes have been demolished by Israel since 1967 alone.

As of today Israel currently has 262 Jewish-only settlements and ‘outposts’ built on confiscated Palestinian land. Palestinians do not have any settlements on Israeli land.

So I think we have more than enough to occupy us i the present dont’ you?

And as for Scipio well it is indeed the right name for you… since it was he who was involved in tthe Genocide against Carthage… sowing the land with salt so nothing could grow again… A perfect role model for a Z.i.o.n.i.s.t.! Wouldn’t you agree?

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:31 PM

Does pol pot still exist Adrian?

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:35 PM

Well why did you bring the Yom Kippur war then buddy?Obviously you do not like uncomfortable facts that challenge your IPSC narrative.

‘And as for Scipio well it is indeed the right name for you… since it was he who was involved in tthe Genocide against Carthage… sowing the land with salt so nothing could grow again…’

Ehh you’re getting Scipios mixed up there buddy(hint,there was more then one)or do you want me to give you a history lesson,,on the Punic Wars as well?

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 11:42 PM

Hah well feel free to use Scipio senior analogy if you want.. though it’ll be more appropriate when the world finally mobilizes to put this new Master race in its place once and for all! You of course being the Romans…

Mute Marc Walsh
    Favourite Marc Walsh
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:05 PM

Pretty heart breaking read, 3 wars at sweet 16. I can’t understand why a race of people who were all but wiped out during the Second World War seem hell bent on decimating another race.

Mute Keenan
    Favourite Keenan
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:13 PM

There is natural gas on the coast of the West Bank,that is what this is all about…

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:17 PM

Marc
    I have been to Gaza on many occasions and have never ever come across a teenage Palestinian with English at that level. Furthermore most of the girls are kept at home and not allowed go to school.
    Has no one ever come across propaganda before ?

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:31 PM

The West Bank is not on the coast.

Mute An Inquiring Mind
    Favourite An Inquiring Mind
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:42 PM

Richard, I doubt you were ever in Palestine. In fact I’d say you’re just making it up to try an get across a point,it’s what you do. However if you had (and you haven’t) ever been in Palestine you would surely know that you would be able to find many English speakers there.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:49 PM

Richard.

Are the images real ?

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:04 PM

@ Richard,

I have been to the West Bank and I can tell you their English is far better than a lot of places here in Ireland… and such was the case with Fatah in charge of Gaza too. I can’t speak for Hamas as they are certainly no angels and a theocratic organization but I sincerely doubt you were in Gaza when Hamas took over… but feel free to provide details so we can verify. I have contacts there. It would be lovely to find an Israeli supporter who wasn’t a fake Hasbara plant…!

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:06 PM

Mr Rodgers did you travel to Gaza on a Canadian or Irish passport?

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:08 PM

Plenty of them.Hasbara are certainly not interested in a Irish tabloid website.Only the deluded would believe that.You yourself are affiliated with the IPSC.Your bias is as clear as anybody elses.

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes

Indeed I am, as of 9am today… and I always will be until the third Reich of the 21st century, the Chosen People of Israel are brought to heel…

And you’re wrong.. the Hasbara are interested in everything everywhere… I’m studying them in an effort to combat them… and combat them we will!

Now I suppose you’re going to tell me it was Hamas who killed the UN workers in Gaza today.. not to mention the 20-30 children, and the electricity generating station!

War Crimes! War Crimes! War Crimes!

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:11 PM

Rodgers – I’ve come across your Fascist FG propaganda every day on The Journal.ie & it’s always the same ould BS !

Mute James Franco
    Favourite James Franco
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:00 PM

Mans inhumanity knows no bounds

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:36 PM

These are not men…

….animals in the wild behave better.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:06 PM

Israel is the new Nazi state.

When will they be tried for the war crimes they committ

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:27 PM

Another victim of Hamas brainwashing.Just in case you did not know,Hitler is widely admired throughout the Arab world.Mein Kempf is a best seller.

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg

Evidence, Scipio?

Mute Adrian Parkes
    Favourite Adrian Parkes
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:14 PM

@ Scipio

Well funny then how it was Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. leaders who actually worked with the Nazis as documented by Jewish historians Tom Segev and Lenni Brenner. This caused such a stir that it brought down an Israeli government in the 1950′s…

Ben-Gurion hoped the “Nazi victory would become a fertile force for Z.i.o.n.i.s.m” and Z.i.o.n.i.s.t. leaders worked out what became known as the “Transfer Agreement”, a 1933 pact with the Nazis to which Jews who wished to go to Palestine could transfer their Capital to Palestine., and Z.i.o.n.i.s.t.s. engaged in much terror and intimidation to force Jews to Palestine!

And there’s lots more where that came from…

Mute logical Thinking
    Favourite logical Thinking
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:17 PM

This isn’t going to end well… The people of Gaza have seen things Most of us could only imagine, growing up watching this would fill you with such hatred toward Israel. The hatred is built into both Israeli and Palestinian people alike grow up watching family and friends being killed and this hatred will be passed on.

Mute Silver Fox
    Favourite Silver Fox
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:16 PM

History repeating itself, the abused become the abusers! Sick and very sad. That poor little girl, stay strong!

Mute Gzeit
    Favourite Gzeit
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:46 PM

I just can’t believe the world we live in. If Any other country in the world (USA probably the exception) continually behaved like Israel there would be global sanctions so severe it would probably cripple the state. North Korea looks like a good samaritan in comparison. Just goes to show that governments truly are powerless and that it’s the rich elite who have there own agendas who are really calling the shots.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:21 PM

They are not flares, white phosphorous shells by the looks of the photo

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:36 PM

White Prosperous shells are supplied to the IDF by Thiokol Aerospace INC Louisiana. Apparently there is a loop hole that the IDF uses that permits them to use this lethal skin removing incendiary weapon.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:58 PM

Frank even when you are corrected you persist. There is no loophole WP is not illeagal using it for anything other than a smokescreen or illumination is outlawed.

The shells pictured here appear to be of the non exploding variety deployed by the IDF which are native to Israel only made in Israel and designed not to spread WP anywhere other than on the shell itself !

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:15 PM

………..”using it for anything other than a smokescreen or illumination is outlawed”..

It is also outlawed by the UN in civilian areas.. (Of course the UN Ignore Israel’s Genocide war crimes)

That’s the loop hole… the IDF are filthy Liars!! Of course they will state that they are using it for smoke screen just like they lie about HAMAS the evidence of civilian injuries proves anything but.

Google ……Weapons of the DEVIL dangerous creation….. too graphic to post links.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:23 PM

Frank oh dear me, the laws governing it’s use are covered by the Geneva and Hauge conventions.

The UN law you are attempting to reference wrongly I might add is the convention on certain conventional weapons it specifically excludes “Munitions which may have incidental incendiary effects, such as illuminants, tracers, smoke or signalling systems”

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:43 PM

For a country who suffered under a repressive religion for centuries, Ireland is amazingly blind to the most oppressive religion on the planet.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H

Carnac dont be an idiot

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jul 29th 2014, 7:59 PM

Whatever the Palestinians do they will continue to be killed with impunity and their land and dignity stolen, with or without firing rockets. That can’t change until the international community stand up to the US and that’s not going to happen either. I’ve heard too many Israelis say over the years in my company, from school until now, that there will never be peace until the last Arab (Palestinian) is removed from their land. It’s been hard wired into too many of them, but not all. I’m not being anti-semetic , I’m just illustrating the root of this murder. Posting on the journal calling people anti-semetic is not going to change anything anywhere any time soon.

Mute James Franco
    Favourite James Franco
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:47 PM

Rodgers you spoofer you were caught lying what a dope

Mute Jason Naughton
    Favourite Jason Naughton
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:25 PM

Should Hamas stop sending rockets into Israel? Should these Arab states begin to recognise the state of Israel? At the core of this crisis is a power battle between the Fatah movement and Hamas. Hamas has kicked off this conflict to shore up support within Gaza.

Mute Keenan
    Favourite Keenan
    Jul 29th 2014, 6:44 PM

You say kicked off like there hasn’t been a seven year siege and constant harrasment and imprisonment of a whole population

Mute Noel Boland
    Favourite Noel Boland
    Jul 29th 2014, 8:39 PM

This is terrible some thing like 70% of gaza population is under 19 …. Terrible all together !!! There’s no hope for the human race !!!

Mute Mohamed Shahin
    Favourite Mohamed Shahin
    Jul 29th 2014, 11:54 PM

God protect you. Shame on Arabs and Egypt to let that happen but dont blame the people you know that most of muslims are restricted by their government and presidents but I am sure Victory is soon just it is a time Farah. Please God make us once together to do the right thing.

Mute Eoin Brosnan
    Favourite Eoin Brosnan
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:24 AM

Carnal we see very clearly the brutal and callous occupation and oppression of the entire Palestinian population!