You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Cleaning staff at Templemore Garda College serve notice of industrial action

Impact, which represents the workers, said there is not enough staff to deal with increased student numbers at the college.

CLEANING STAFF AT the Garda College in Templemore have served notice of industrial action today.

Impact, the union representing workers, described them as “the lowest paid civil servants in Ireland”, noting they start work on “the lowest possible legal wage”.

It claims there has been a failure by management to hire enough staff to deal with increased student numbers at Templemore after garda recruitment recommenced.

The union has also raised a number of safety concerns with management and is seeking a formal Health and Safety Authority inspection of the facility.

“Pay for college cleaning staff is the lowest in the civil service, with a starting salary at the national minimum wage, and well short of the recommended €11.50 living wage,” commented Impact’s national secretary Andy Pike. “Staff are also expected to carry out a wide range of extended housekeeping duties without receiving any additional reward.”

There is now a two-week window for management to engage with Impact before staff start their work to rule, which will see cleaners revert solely to cleaning duties instead of working as housekeepers or hotel services staff.

The union has also threatened to take an equal pay case against the State because male staff doing similar work in other parts of the public service are paid significantly more than the female college cleaners in this dispute.

Read: ‘We’re prepared to strike’: Union to ballot secondary school teachers for industrial action>

Poll: Do you support the Dublin Bus drivers’ strike?>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:24 PM

So we have the guards working for free under the Haddington road agreement and the cleaners getting paid subsistence wages but guess what, they’ll just take it because their told to. Putting on the green jersey while the multinationals get away with murder.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:33 PM

Exactly Aoife, it’s galling.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:44 PM

Aoife give me the lin m k where th jhno e guards are working for free,and the what’s the difference between a cleaner in the private sector and the kps that get paid same as for u to eat our. .

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:47 PM

And may I add without a pension plan

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:28 PM

Google garda & Haddington Road; you’ll find any number of articles on the requirement.

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:30 PM

Lay off the disco biscuits sparky

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:53 PM

Crcker— LANA $pin ti.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:54 PM
    Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 6th 2016, 12:05 AM

30 hours per year!!! Garda management took advantage..cheers. .if I was to get paid for every hour I’ve worked overtime..not condoning this but who speaks for the underdog in the private sector

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Sep 6th 2016, 1:35 AM

Sparky. If you want to work for free that’s fair enough but is it a stipulation of your job that you do. Personally I’d rather spend time with my friends and family than work for free for the government. It’s almost a full week of work for free that they’re doing. That’s ridiculous really.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:04 PM

In fairness having people to clean up after must have come as quite a shock considering the place had been empty for so long.. Seriously though, minimum wage is terrible for the work involved.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:37 PM

It is gardly skilled nor requires a huge amount of training.

Mute Anthony Healy Poroloniczak
    Favourite Anthony Healy Poroloniczak
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:28 PM

And when you use public facilities are you happy when they are clean?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:45 PM

garda training or the cleaning, shawn. #equalPayWithGuardsForDifferentJobd

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:42 AM

You don’t see army recruits needing cleaners…

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:56 PM

They have their finger on the pulse.

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:58 PM

They’ll brush this one under the carpet I suspect!!

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:34 PM

Good on them. Best of luck and solidarity.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:12 PM

solidarity with the workers!

Mute John Galvin
    Favourite John Galvin
    Sep 6th 2016, 2:36 AM

Someone has to be the lowest paid civil servant….just because you are getting paid the lowest doesn’t mean you deserve a raise. If you don’t like the pay or conditions go somewhere else and get paid for what you are worth. Now if there are proper safety concerns, yes that’s a valid complaint. Or if you are being made to work hours without being paid, sure that’s a valid complaint.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:58 PM

So now we have a despute over cleaner’s claiming that they are over worked because there are too many graduates, and a force that nothing is changing..lol

Sep 5th 2016, 10:32 PM

€9.75 an hour .. minimum adult rate of pay is € 9.15 .. I have full respect for cleaners. . It’s a hard job to do but they are not paid to clean based on how many are in the college ..

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:08 PM

Suzie your “I have full respect for cleaners … but” line sounds awfully like the “I’m not racist but” line so frequently heard in other situations

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:12 PM

Sparky, they just want fair play and a decent wage, just as the Recruit Gardai need, a bit of fair play.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:23 PM

Eugene..so take the kp in the private sector,very underpaid because I work in that sector. .give them their proper wage and the chefs that work on Sundays without double time..are you willing to pay double for your Sunday lunch.

Sep 5th 2016, 11:29 PM

Gunnarsahn , nope I do actually have full respect for cleaners . It’s a tough job ..

Mute ...
    Favourite ...
    Sep 6th 2016, 1:44 AM

Work harder in your youth build a skill through dedication and hard work. Wave goodbye to €9.15 an hour.
    Drives me mad all these wasters who coast by without any effort then realise one day that to live they need an income. Grab the 1st job they can get without any qualifications as a result of previous laziness and then complain that they are not getting paid enough. You get out of life what you put in, deal with it.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 6th 2016, 9:52 AM

You see everyone does not and cannot go to University and obtain Degrees. We need cleaners, mechanics, roofers, labourers . If everyone had a University education not too many of them would want to clean and there would not be enough plum jobs to go around. Cleaners and kitchen staff work harder than a. Lot and they to deserve a fair wage, just as the young teachers, nurses, and gardai.

Mute Robert O Farrell
    Favourite Robert O Farrell
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:50 PM

Big big news. That’s a fascinating story.

Mute Peter Moran
    Favourite Peter Moran
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:33 PM

Must be looking for more lemon pledge

Mute Nigel Roy
    Favourite Nigel Roy
    Sep 6th 2016, 1:41 PM

Didn’t see them going on strike when there was little or no recruits going through Templemore..now they have some work do do they want more staff so they can keep their cushy civil service hours…nothing but a drive for pay increase and a union looking for morw staff to increase member..let them go on strike..hire cleaners in to do their job and stop their pay

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Sep 6th 2016, 12:53 PM

Outsource it !