You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Keane and Haughey pictured together in 1998. Photocall Ireland

Just who was Terry Keane, Charlie Haughey's mistress?

Keane and the former Taoiseach had a 27-year affair.

IT WAS A watershed moment on Irish television: the long-time mistress of a former Taoiseach divulging details of their 27-year affair.

On 14 May 1999, Terry Keane told the nation what many politicians and journalists already knew or at least suspected.

She and Charlie Haughey, the one-time leader of Fianna Fáil, had engaged in a near three-decade affair. She also sold her story to the Sunday Times.

Haughey never spoke to her again.

Interest in their relationship was resurrected in recent weeks following the broadcast of the three-part RTÉ drama based on his life, ‘Charlie‘.

Many have questioned why Haughey’s wife Maureen and their children didn’t feature in the programme, while many scenes revolved around Keane (played by Lucy Cohu). This was a huge oversight, surely? Or perhaps a deliberate move by the director as Haughey’s family had expressed dissatisfaction that the show was being made.

RTÉ TV Promotions / YouTube

Earlier this week, Haughey’s son Seán (a former junior minister and current Dublin City Councillor) said the family was initially “horrified” by the drama. He said his mother had watched all three episodes as “she’s a divil for punishment”.

Seán said the family was primarily shocked by “the prominence given to Terry Keane, and the pillow talk scenes and so forth”.

charlie bed Screengrab / RTE.ie Screengrab / RTE.ie / RTE.ie

Across the three episodes, Keane was portrayed as a hostess who threw lavish dinner parties for Haughey and his political friends at his palatial home in Abbeville in Kinsealy, even accompanying him on a trip to visit then British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. It’s safe to say dramatic license was exercised.

Speaking in December, Aidan Gillen (who played Haughey in the drama) said he wasn’t interested in overly-exploring the relationship between the former Taoiseach and Keane as it would have been largely based on speculation.

So, just who was Terry Keane?

Ann Teresa O’Donnell was born to Irish parents in Guildford, Surrey in 1939.

She moved to Ireland to study medicine in Trinity College, but dropped out. She married a barrister, Ronan Keane, who went on to become chief justice. They separated in the ’90s, but never divorced.

The couple had three children; their son Tim died suddenly in 2004. Keane also had a daughter before her marriage whom she put up for adoption but later reconciled with.

She became a journalist and is best known for being the main contributor to the Sunday Independent’s long-running gossip column, The Keane Edge. In the column she hinted at a relationship with a prominent political figure, whom she referred to as “Sweetie”.

In an RTÉ documentary, Keane said her affair with Haughey was “partially to blame” for the demise of her marriage.

“We might have got back together if not for Charlie.”

killianm2 / YouTube

In the programme, Keane recalled her marriage breakdown as “devastating”. She said Charlie supported her through this period “not as lover, as an incredibly close, caring friend”.

Keane claimed she “got on quite well with Maureen”, adding: ”I thought she was, you know, she was perfectly reasonable.”
I’m absolutely certain that Maureen and the children knew about my affair, just as my family knew about it – yes, of course they did.

Keane said she felt guilty about the relationship but that Haughey’s marriage was his own responsibility, not hers.

Terry Keane Court Cases Keane leaving the Four Courts in Dublin in 2002, after Irish Times reporter John Waters successfully sued her for libel when she worked for the Sunday Times. Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Keane told RTÉ she was “fairly certain” Haughey didn’t want to marry her, but that the issue never really came up.

She said the only time she saw Haughey cry was when he thought she was pregnant.

He just cried and cried … he felt he’d let everyone down.

It turned out to be a false alarm.

Speaking of how she was depicted in the media, Keane had this to say:

I’m certainly not the unconscionable bitch that was portrayed.

Some have suggested their affair ended when Haughey’s financial woes deepened due to McCracken and Moriarty Tribunals. However, Keane said that “several things conspired” to end the relationship, with Haughey finally calling things off shortly before she went public.

Keane reappeared on the Late Late Show in 2006 to say she regretted exposing their affair in such a public fashion.

Haughey died from prostate cancer in 2006, he was 80 years old. Keane died at the age of 68 in 2008, following her own battle with cancer.

So was the final episode of Charlie actually any good?

Aidan Gillen on becoming Charlie: ‘It’s not a sensationalist hatchet-job’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute karl kenny
    Favourite karl kenny
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:24 AM

Can we actually answer this question? Or will you threaten to torn comments off?!

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:30 AM

Can’t libel a dead person, so The Journal will courageously defend your right to free speech in this instance!

Mute Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Favourite Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:48 AM

Whats the question?

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:52 AM

The second part of the question should be “and do we care?”

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:54 AM

You have an alternative answer to the question “Who was Terry Keane”? Fascinating.

Mute alan harney
    Favourite alan harney
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:30 AM

Yes john you can the defamation act 2009 specifically deals with defaming the dead.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:13 PM

People are daft. Its amazing the number who *think* the law says something that it does not. This week’s examples:

- The Iona “Institute” (Lolek Ltd) were on radio railing against “changing the definition of marriage in the Constitution”. The Constitution does NOT currently define marriage.

- On Liveline a caller was expressing concerns about Polygamy becoming legal in a couple of years. If YES wins in May, there will be a Constitutional BAN on Polygamy (civil marriage being “between two persons”). Currently there is NO BAN on Polygamy in the Constitution. So after May the People would have to vote to allow polygamy, instead of just the Oireachtas as is the situation at present!

Mute Sharon Clarke
    Favourite Sharon Clarke
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:31 PM

Wow, didn’t know that. So technically, there is currently no ban on same sex marriage, would that be right?

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:42 PM

@Sharon: 100% correct.

The Referendum is being held as the better of two openings. The other would be a Act of the Oireachtas which could be constitutionally challenged by interest groups (think Iona). That alternative would result in a protracted and expensive legal battle (paid for by the State) all the way to the Supreme Court.

Having a Referendum to definitively express the views of the People on Marriage Equality immunises against any legal challenges since the People are sovereign and what we say goes.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:48 PM

@Sharon: To be totally clear, in 2004 the FF Government introduced a ban on same gender civil marriage. It had not existed in any Act between 1922 and 2004. That part of the 2004 Act will fall away automatically if the People vote Yes in May.

But the over point still stands:

Marriage is NOT defined in the Irish Constitution. So this Referendum will define marriage in our Constitution for the first time.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:13 PM

The constitution is not law. It does however provide a framework for the law. If the constitution bans gay marriage but there is no law against it, you cannot be prosecuted for it. However if somebody brings it to the Supreme court, then the Dail can be compelled into bringing the law in to line with the constitution.
    As it currently stands, gay marriage is a grey area. If the Dail were to allow it through legislation, it could be challenged in the Supreme court and the outcome of such a case would not be clear. The constitution puts an obligation on the state to protect the family and it could be argued that the spirit of such a clause was/is restricted to a traditional/hetero definition.
    Even when we say “yes” to amend the constitution, it does not make it legal. It only allows the Dail to pass laws without fear of challenge in the Supreme court as possibly unconstitutional.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:26 PM

@Alan:

Your first paragraph: “The Constitution is not law” statement is factually incorrect. There are parts of the Constitution which provide a framework for laws to be enacted, but much of it IS law.

Your second para simply states the argument Iona (Lolek Ltd) would put forth if it tried to challenge an Act introducing single sex marriage. Hence the Referendum to save everybody the bother and expense.

Your last paragraph is incorrect. This Referendum is self-executing. There will be no need for the Oireachtas to bring in a law to provide for same sex marriage after a Yes vote.

Other Referendums in the past were not self-executing. This one is self-executing because of its wording. The “in accordance with law” bit in the Amendment is simply there so that all of the existing usual rules apply, e.g. grandmother canNOT marry her daughter/son. (Breda: Don’t even try this – We the People and our Courts shall all be watching in disgust if you do and we won’t let you away with it!)

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:37 PM

@Alan: You confused reply is the perfect reason why we set to a Referendum Commission in advance of each vote to separate fact from fiction.

It’s also an indication as to why Lolek Ltd (Iona) should continue to be challenged on every misleading point they make in this debate so that they don’t win the Referendum by wilfully misstating legal fact.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:38 PM

@All: So many typos. So sorry.

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:48 PM

Winding_Down,
    I must hail your reasoning and knowledge on this issue and others in the past – your input here is excellent and I enjoy it immensely .
    Keep writing out loud

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 24th 2015, 2:05 PM

@winding down: I think you are misinterpreting what I am implying: We need a constitutional amendment (I.e a yes vote) to protect us from Rte-funded Iona legal challenges.
    Say yes!

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Jan 24th 2015, 2:13 PM

It will censor many of the first words that spring to mind, but hopefully will let me say that she was a vain, narcissistic trollop with whom Charlie Haughey was perfectly matched.

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Jan 24th 2015, 2:58 PM

Surely if a civil marriage bill was passed and sent by the President to the Supreme Court and they said it was constitutional then it would be pointless to challenge and there’d be no need for a referendum, no?

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:11 PM

@Daniel:

Yes, you’re right – Article 26 of the Constitution gives the President that discretionary power and, *if* deemed constitutional by the Supreme Court, that Bill – in its entirety – would then be immunised from further constitutional challenge by Iona or whoever else.

In practice though, the Government wouldn’t voluntarily go this route since the decision to refer is the President’s to make, and they cannot force him to do that because they’d be overstepping their powers. Besides, if he cooperated and referred it and it *was* deemed unconstitutional, a Referendum would then be both legally necessary and politically divisive. So you see the predicament, they’re rather let the People definitively decide rather than drag things out!

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:31 PM

@Alan Lawlor: Fair enough, sorry for implying that you’re a supporter of Lolek Ltd stance on civil marriage!

@Mike Howard: I really appreciate that, thank you!

Mute Paul Mc Nulty
    Favourite Paul Mc Nulty
    Jan 25th 2015, 11:37 AM

@winding_down Well played sir , well played. ;)

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:59 AM

She was a gangster’s Moll.

Mute ptriley
    Favourite ptriley
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:26 AM

Basically she was just a slapper who liked a good time and talked posh and called Haughy “Sweetie”

Mute Michael Birrane
    Favourite Michael Birrane
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:55 AM

“Haughey never spoke to her again”. So he was Sweetie and sour? ;-)

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:35 AM

Spitting image of Catherine Nevin in that last pic, uncanny!

Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:25 AM

Two of a kind, and to hell with everyone else.

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:15 PM

He did give free travel to the elderly

Mute Bernie Linnane
    Favourite Bernie Linnane
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:34 PM

He gave it? We gave it Willy. He was just the responsible minister at the time.
    He wasn’t much of a giver. In fact, history has proved that taking was much more his style.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:29 AM

Not even if she had pedals

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:18 AM

Just how many times has John Waters sued / settled a complaint against somebody for libel???

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:33 AM

Yes, the media constantly wrote about Haughty and he always kept his mouth shut

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Jan 24th 2015, 2:15 PM

I love how Spell Check always changes his name to Haughty, maybe the people who program it can apply for tax-free status as poets.

Mute CharlotteM
    Favourite CharlotteM
    Jan 24th 2015, 9:47 AM

What was Fran from love hate doing in that picture with Haughey. Maybe Charlie really was the boss and not Nidge !

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:25 AM

I think ‘Fran’ in the cover photo is Diarmuid Galvin. Terry Keane was his mother-in-law.
    I feel old knowing this …

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:01 AM

No oil painting!

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:18 AM

Poor a Maureen

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:05 AM

Maureen has forgiven him

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:30 PM

How did Maureen forgive Charlie after a 27 year affair? I dont think i would be able to forgive him..

I cant understand why women have affairs with married men anyway.

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:14 PM

@ Sinead Hannley

” I cant understand why women have affairs with married men anyway”

Reason: They can enjoy the company of a man a few evenings a week, have a drink, go to the theatre etc … and do other things as well! … and then go straight back home again, a free woman

There is no washing of his underwear, no cooking his meals and no putting down the toilet seat lid every minute of the day!

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 24th 2015, 2:02 PM

Big willy..

That romantic part only lasts a few weeks.

But what about the broken dates, the “i’ll leave my wife and children” promise, the last on his list, the guilt, the fact that your presence is hurting his wife and children.

Its so wrong.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:24 PM

Poor Maureen? For a woman that had a great pedigree via her father but all the charisma of a dishcloth she did pretty well out of the deal. She got her kids, and in the latter years of her marriage, a lifestyle with comforts she could never have dared dream of. And if she wasn’t happy with the way things were she could have spoken out but she well knew who buttered her bread and kept quiet. It’s hardly surprising then that when Terry Keane, a glamorous, vivacious, highly intelligent and politically clued in woman crossed his path, Charlie was drawn to her like a moth to a flame. She was his equal if not superior in many ways and I’m sure his political rise was due,at least in part, if not entirely to her wise counsel. People on here who have had no contact with any of the people mentioned have eagerly jumped to the conclusion that SHE was the on one who had something to gain from their relationship when, in reality,the reverse was true. Prior to Charlie, Terry Keane had a very nice, upper middle class lifestyle. When they started their affair in the early 1970′s he was a TD who had been Minister for finance and due to the arms crisis had been relegated to the back benches with future prospects seeming increasingly unlikely. Hardly a hot prospect for a harlot on the make as some people seem willing to label her. It was only after they began their affair that things turned around for him and perhaps all the brovado and personal belief that seems to charachterise the man at that time in fact came from having someone to spark political ideas off and with a strong enough personality to stand up to him and tell him when he was about to make a mistake. And it is true that as he rose up, Terry rose up too, but then, so did “poor Maureen”. As Garret Fitzgerald said, Haughey could have been great, had preoccupation with wealth and power not clouded his judgement but that wasn’t down to Terry Keane, He had already bought Abbyville in Kinselaly before they started their affair.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:52 PM

Far too much writing for journal comments colm . Ah prob hard leave your husband in those days don’t forget ,

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Jan 24th 2015, 5:52 PM

Very good comment Colm and very true!

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Jan 24th 2015, 5:56 PM

You hit the nail on the head there Willy! Men need to be responsible for their own marriage! Sick of the woman always been to blame. All adults here……

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jan 24th 2015, 7:16 PM

Shinead, I think that’s the whole point! He had to woo her constantly, so the romance lasted decades instead of weeks and if he wanted to keep seeing her and she was never last on the list. She didn’t want him to leave his wife and kids for her, in fact if he had she would have probably ended things there and then if he had. I doubt if there was any hurting his wife and children considering it seems the she and Maureen got on quite well, does that sound like a hurt wife to you? And the children probably didn’t know untill much later… Why, when a married man strays it’s always assumed that it’s the “other” womans fault. It’s the man that is married. Conversly, When a married woman has an affair with a single man, she’s always seen as the one in the wrong because she strayed. Double standards much?

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:04 AM

Comments about Prince Andrew are blocked but Terry Keane is fair game

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:29 PM

Big Willy. Andrew is alive ie not dead !

Mute myownboss
    Favourite myownboss
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:41 AM

It takes two to tango!

Mute Ben Leonard
    Favourite Ben Leonard
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:27 AM

she’s a bloke.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:44 AM

*was

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:47 AM

She is still with us …

… in telly drama anyway!

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2015, 11:59 AM

I still have no idea what she ever saw in him …….

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:08 PM

What did those teenage girls see in Berlusconi?

Dollar signs!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:24 PM

She was no beauty queen herself

Mute Loosecannon
    Favourite Loosecannon
    Jan 24th 2015, 10:43 AM

Are you sure she wasn’t a drag queen?

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:56 PM

She was another one of the individuals who suffered none of the effects of the policies of C J and Fianna Fail. The same Fianna Fail who completely ignored all the warnings about C J of which even the dogs on the streets knew about.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Jan 24th 2015, 1:20 PM

Ye forgot to mention the bit where Haughey was in a wrangle with Ronan Keane over his wife Terry. In the end Haughey got Terry Keane and shortly afterwards Haughey appointed her now ex husband as Chief Justice.

Jan 24th 2015, 2:51 PM

Surely you are not saying the judiciary can be bought? Next you will tell me there is no tooth fairy!

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Jan 24th 2015, 3:03 PM

Bit unfair to Ronan Keane. He was appointed to the Supreme Court in 96 by a Fine Gael/Labour/DL Government. Don’t think Charles Haughey had any part in that.

Mute Sharon Clarke
    Favourite Sharon Clarke
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:23 PM

The long haired dude is of course Diarmuid Gavin, her son in law.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:11 PM

Is that Diarmuid Gavin with the mullet & leather jacket in the background of the first picture?

Mute Sharon Clarke
    Favourite Sharon Clarke
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:24 PM

Yep

Jan 24th 2015, 5:34 PM

So he just didn’t f… the country but her too???

Jan 24th 2015, 2:39 PM

Just who was Terry Keane, Charlie Haughey’s mistress? Might have something to do with the belt tightening Haughey was urging on us. Wonder who pushed him of his horse?

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:57 PM

The late Saudi king had 10 wife’s and 22 kids, makes Charlie look pretty harmless haha