You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Shutterstock/chrisdorney
Sanctioned
Tesco Mobile got a slap on the wrist for months of overcharging customers on EU roaming
The communications regulator found the mobile carrier was not complying with EU rules.
3.48pm, 2 May 2018
TESCO MOBILE HAS been sanctioned by the telecoms watchdog for wrongfully charging Irish customers over a seven-month period after the introduction of new EU roaming rules.
The mobile phone provider, the fourth-largest in the State, will repay customers who were overcharged after the company was found in breach of the regulations.
ComReg found that Tesco Mobile had failed to comply with new EU roaming regulations introduced last June. The new “roam like home” regulations meant that EU residents could use their calls, text and data in other member states as if in their home country.
However the regulator determined that Tesco Mobile had overcharged pay-as-you-go and bill pay customers for their roaming services from 15 June, 2017, the date the new rules took effect, until late January this year.
The customers had been charged for exceeding their roaming data allowances despite being within their domestic data allowances. In response to ComReg, Tesco Mobile agreed to reimburse customers affected by the overcharging.
“A small number of Tesco Mobile Ireland customers were incorrectly charged when they exceeded their fair usage limits while roaming,” said a Tesco Mobile spokesperson. “Tesco Mobile has since corrected this issue and we’re in the process of refunding customers in scope with the average refund at approx. €8 per customer. We apologise for this mistake.”
No further action will be taken against the mobile carrier, although ComReg said it will continue to monitor the company to ensure compliance with roaming regulations.
“ComReg has …. taken account of Tesco Mobile’s response and its remedial measures and, subject to the completion of all commitments received, will be taking no further action in respect of this matter,” the regulator said in a statement.
3 Ireland buyout
Tesco Mobile is the fourth-largest mobile service provider by subscriber numbers, accounting for 6.5% of the Irish market, behind Vodafone, 3 and Eir.
Latest figures for the company show that it had revenues of more than €64 million in 2016 with gross profits of €32.5 million.
Tesco Ireland acquired full ownership of the company last year from 3 Ireland, which previously owned a 50% stake. No figures for the deal have been disclosed. Tesco Mobile still has access to 3′s Irish networks until at least 2020.
Tesco Mobile has said in the past that will consider raising roaming fees for Irish people using their phones in the UK once the country leaves the European Union.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Honeybadger197:
Didn’t Leo himself say on Primetime that the garda evidence was very questionable.
Why is he speaking out of two sides of his mouth?
One voice on media and another in Dail Eireann is that it?
@Honeybadger197: Leo’s childish hyperbole and points scoring should have no place in “new politics”. I certainly don’t think that sort of nonsense from our leader should be celebrated.
Murphy was all for defending free speech on twitter for the jobstown lot, but now he is against free speech from the Taoiseach. Can’t have it both ways Murphy.
@Jane:
In his defensive rant yesterday Leo accused Paul Murphy of actions he did not commit, including hitting Joan Burton with a water balloon remarking that these actions were unbecoming of an elected representative of Dail Eireann. It’s there on record.
Varadkar owes Paul Murphy an apology.
@Mark DeFriest: lol. You need to listen to it against. The only one who owes an apology is Murphy to the 2 women. And he also owes the tax payer for his legal expenses.
Oohhhhhhh the hypocrisy. He pathetically hides behind Dail Privilege to make claims that in the real world could have him sued, but then tries to play the victim when someone correctly called out the behaviour in Jobstown.
@Honeybadger197: Owned by the him? telling untruths is not owning anything except telling a lie but then again FG’s police force also did that – in court. And then there is yes Joan the “real” victim – taking selfies and smiling at the camera all the while in mortal fear of the out of control mob. Leo is a great fiction writer all the same he calls it the truth but its really only fiction.
@Austin Rock: You’re wasting your time. You are arguing with people you still believe Enda Kenny was great. It’s like arguing with the religious, doesn’t matter if it’s wrong.
It was the judge that found statements from 3 senior Gardai to be lies, not Paul Murphy.
Paul is a buffoon. But that still does not excuse the Gardai from answering to Dail Eireann for committing perjury.
When the hell are the middle to senior ranking officers going to be hauled before the courts for falsifying evidence, destroying evidence (penalty points), defamation (against McCabe and Co.), or any more of the thousands of CRIMINAL acts being carried out within the force?
@P C: Scoring points and your loving it they should be running the country but Leo the lion and his friends couldn’t run a bath properly and you have clowns like you still supporting them open your eyes and see what’s going on the country is in a mess and you people are to foolish to see it
@time to wake up: They couldn’t care less about the country. All they care about is someone they don’t like getting shafted. Forget the consequences of having a corrupt police force. They are indoctrinated Blueshirts, it’s a religion to them. They are like Catholic’s trying to make excuses for their church covering up child abuse.
@Mark DeFriest: why he never said that.
If you bothered listening he said a balloon was thrown he did not say Murphy threw it.
But why bother getting the truth in the way.
@Mark DeFriest: questionable, means in his opinion questions should be asked and answers analyses , Murphy the little coward , under privilege , accused them of a crime, perjury, big difference .
@baz newham: Leo and his blueshirt colleagues together with the Labour Party were caught out by the decision of the courts. Perhaps Leo should be brought before the courts for refusing to accept the decision and maybe questioning the judge -innuendo
Just to be clear Paul on this. Yes the were acquitted of the allegations of false imprisonment but are you actually saying that their behaviour on the day was ok and not at all questionable??
@Paul Coughlan:
The courts decided that he was not guilty of false imprisonment. Any neutral person looking at the video of that day will confirm that he was acting like a thug
@Paul Coughlan: No, the court didn’t. He was found not guilty of false imprisonment. He was there as part of a protest that got out of hand. He should be man enough to take responsibility for that. His supporters decry Burton for complaining at her treatment, yet Murphy is whining like a little whipped puppy over some words in Dáil Éireann. In my opinion, he’s a weasel, a whiney, whinging, cowardly little weasel who wouldn’t even defend himself in court. Poltroon!
@GClare: hi sorry you did not see it ,i used no unlike Jobstown i used no foul language but i did mention an ice pick which in communist history looms large
€90,000 a year (he does give some to “charity”…including his own party). And he gets €80 a day expenses whether he attends Leinster House or not. He attended ONCE in May and claimed €80 EVERY DAY.
Mr Murphy needs to stop digging that hole, clearly unhinged it’s extraordinary he can’t see there was obvious thuggery at the jobstown event, further more he got a fair trial. If every defendant had the platform he has to moan and whine about being hard done by, the country would come to a stand still, actually the Dail has by all accounts with this nonsense taking up valuable time. Grow up Mr Murphy, is this really what your constituents voted you in for.
@P C: Murphy reminds me of a lefty posh Boy who has about as much awareness of working class hardship as lord Lucan. Great man for stirring desent , run for cover when the poo hits the fan. Ghastly individual really who should resign or just jump into that enormous hole he is digging.
@marg fitzgerald: I know plenty of people who came from fee paying schools who don’t think they’re superior. I think that is a very sweeping not to mention bitter statement…
@JJ O’Carroll: Paul Murphy went to an expensive private school and should be able to speak fluently when the Germans take over (don’t know why people are worried about that when people like Mr Murphy are voted in here!)
Will he just go away.
A man on over 80 grand a year getting free legal aid while also claiming dail expenses of €80 per day while at the trial.
What fools voted for this man? His issues are based on people not paying for services.
@Blah blah: The judge who granted him free legal aid, the guards who tried to pin a very serious charge on him, the court who heard the case ,legal representation on both
@Liam Dempsey: hadn’t finished: All had to be paid by you the taxpayer. Paul Murphy on over €90,000 a year, again paid by the taxpayer, should have better things to be doing than this stupid carry on. If any of the people mentioned had to fund this carry on out of their own pockets they would be whistling a different tune. It’s very easy to make decisions like these when someone else pays.
Love the way the establishment say ‘You had a fair trial, you received justice’ completely ignoring the fact that the trial never should have taken place in the first instance.
If Murphy had been convicted, thank God the public saw through the stitch up, then the establishment would be claiming his conviction was just.
Fine Gael are playing a dangerous game here. The public know what’s going on.
@Mark DeFriest: FG did not decide to charge him with False Imprisonment, you do actually know that don’t you? Or do you have evidence to suggest otherwise, which may support your ludicrous conspiracy.
@Mark DeFriest:
I fully accept that the trial was fair and he was found not guilty of false imprisonment but don’t forget that it was his thuggish behaviour that got him he charges in the first place.
Don’t go causing trouble and the Gardaí won’t have any reason to charge you for anything
@Mark DeFriest: as other commenters say have you anything to support the conspiracy you are claiming or is it other wise a hollow comment? Your magic bullet could blow this wide open!
@Mark DeFriest: Or don’t forget the police lied – we really shouldn’t forget this part, they lied that is the most worrying part of this charade – the police lied – in court.
@Mark DeFriest: Some of the public don’t want to see what happened here , doesn’t suit their agenda , Varadakar strikes me as a Thacher like person , a them and us attitude ,
@Mark DeFriest: well said mark..it’s so Irish the way people are playing the man not the fact..we have 3 Garda perjuring themselves and we’re more worried about what was said in the dail…open your eyes let ye..this is exactly the distraction fog want to get safely to the summer hols..
@Paul Gurney: where is the evidence the guards lied? What I read was that there wasn’t any video evidence to support what they say they heard or saw. That’s hardly the same as lying but perhaps someone has come up with some form of mechanism to prove something didn’t happen?
I know murphy was found not guilty of false imprisonment of John Burton and her assistant but how come on video evidence he is clearly heard saying “will we let her go” does that not imply he thought he had power to control her movement therefore he did feel he was holding her against her will. Courts apply the law not justice therefore I am not sure justice was served by the verdict, which was based on the fact that did Burton and her assistant have a way out, my feeling is she did if the Gardai used riot tactics but then this would have been a propaganda coup for Murphy and Co. Murphy is now setting himself up as a martyr when in fact he is a coward when he and his cronies attacked 2 women, maybe murphy should shut up and give us all a break
@Andrew Christian Troy: and there in lies your problem…the fact that you don’t like him doesn’t alter the facts..try to separate the two like a good man
Watch this space while Mr Varadker attempts to turn the Irish people in a bunch of obedient, humourless servants. Something similiar to the germans perhaps…you can hear it in his voice.
@Paul Fahey: Mark my words Paul, Leo Varadker has his ideologies of how Irish people should be and it is not going to be good for this countries identity.
Typical schoolboy bully; happy to dole it out but as soon as somebody fights back he goes running to teacher. Kudos to Leo Varadkar for standing up to this bully..
He seems to be under the impression that if a court clears you of a particular criminal charge, you are then exempt from any criticism whatsoever for the rest of your career.
Don’t know what else you would call that riot in Jobstown. It certainly wasn’t a demonstration & thuggery was certainly order of the day. I am all for protesting if people feel aggrieved but this was no protest it was a riot. Mr Murphy & co need to take a good hard look at themselves for their part in this riot. A bit less of the self pity, playing the victim& throwing his toys out of the cot from Mr Murphy. There have been plenty of demonstrations in this country & there was no thuggery like Jobstown
@Paul Coughlan: He represents himself, as shown by his pathetic accusations of defamation, incidentally while he himself was defaming the government, the Gardaí and the justice system. He is a coconut of the ordure…
Like it or not Leo got it spot on Murphy is a champagne socialist looking for any excuse to stay in the spotlight.
He is only a tick WITH No
Policy nothing he has to say makes sense ABSOLUTELY no sense he will continue to go after easy voters who feel entitled to everything without contributing anything just like the rest of AAPBP who will work very hard for 1 thing and 1 thing only their OWN TD’S JOBS AND MURPHY IS A COWAED AND A BULLY WHEN HIS MOB IS AROUND HIM
Aside from the fact that people may or may not like Paul Murphy. Does it not bother anybody that the level of corruption that was exposed as a result of this case is horrific. This case was held to teach the Irish people a “lesson”, that being that if you kick up or try and rise against us, we will come down on you hard..so shut up and stay in the little box we provided for you.
@Jim: If Paul Murphy believes there was corruption in this case, he should have the courage of his convictions and make a formal complaint, rather than using Dail privilege to make the accusations to a public audience without any comeback. He’s nothing but a militant little weasel
Good ol’ Paul, can see him sitting at home listening to Lennon’s “working class hero” on his iPod. While sipping from a multipack of Dutch Gold and reading an original of ” My Pet Goat”
Looking at all the coments there is one omission only for the likes of P ul Murphy and the rest of the Good people of IRELAND who marched and took dogs abuse from the bully boys in Irish water and pursued by the garda who it was established could not get their evidence straight it was just a political stitch upthat failed but for those people the true men and women of this country you would be paying the dreded water rates now
@James Mc Loughlin: Couldn’t agree more James, the begrudges are upset because the cosy cartels are being exposed, by people like Paul Murphy, he is also far more educated than a lot of the government cronies who for a long time managed to limp along with a nod and a wink of corruption. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK PAUL.
@Grace Gleeson: yes another joke €90.000 per year of taxpayers money and expenses of €80 per day on top of that
And gets Free legal aid
WHAT A FUC#KED UP COUNTRY
AND HE’S MEANT TO BE A SOCIALIST
(POWER TO THE WORKERS) MY AR#E
Didn’t Murphy have all his legal expenses paid by the taxpayer? So I suppose they re the only people who lose when he plays the victim again and again.
If it was in France or any other mainland country, Joan’s car would’ve been overturned and burned. The protest was handbags at 40 paces. Nobody died, as Joan laughed away in the back of her car. We as a nation, have been strategically seperated and dumbed down. Anyone who is anti- protest, is not thinking of the nation as a whole.
I’m not a fan of Murphy but it was very clear in Varadkars face, body language and tone of voice that he was mighty p^ssed off. The Government circled the wagons around Burton and used the mechanisms of the Gardai, DPP, Minister of Justice Fitzgerald and her BFF Commissioner O’Sullivan to send out a signal to people about water protests. Only trouble was the jury were Joe Public & thwarted the plan.
For Varadkar to so visibly be rattled and angry showed frustration at not only Murphy personally but the failed stitch up. Naturally the complicit Commissioner won’t be looking at the perjury of her officers – God no, sure what’d be the point of that.
Murphy was found not guilty but he is still not innocent of any wrongdoing on that day in Jobstown.He and his crony buddies have the right to protest but his behaviour on that day was appalling.He and his anti austerity buddies can’t be against everything but this is the line they are taking…water..bins… what next ????It’s popular for the type of electorate they represent to be on this bandwagon.The majority of the hard working people of Ireland have total disdain for this type of politics.Murphy & Co.are a disgrace and waste so much Dail time waffling on and on about the same thing day after day.There will always be a few gougers or furriers elected to Dail Eireann,but unfortunately the last election put in too many of them….can’t see that happening come next election.
Murphy likes to flaunt Dail protocol when it suits him: utilise the Chamber to review court proceedings, utilise Dail privilege to accuse Gardai of perjury
… yet funny how all of his charges against other TDs rely on claiming breaches of that same Dail protocol.
So which is it Murphy? Defiant Rebel? Martyr? Man wronged?
Similar to your court case, I watched a few minutes of tape from the Dail yesterday and it never showed Varadkar saying your were a thug.
Same as watching a few minutes of Jobstown, I never saw you say ‘shall we keep her here for the night’
It’s hard to tell what might have been said in all those other minutes that I didn’t see of course, whether of the Dail or of Jobstown. Certainly tape unseen proves nothing.
Paul had no new battle. The water issue has been addressed. The non charges are very solvable . He is running out of issues that attract his type of supporter.
The establishment political classes, and official Ireland would need to be very careful with their comments both inside and outside the Dail. Paul Murphy and co are not your usual gombeen political class, to be put down and ostracized by the establishment. They are articulate, educated, and know how to rattle the cosy lifer politico’s in Leinster house. With all the various Tribunals, Inquiries, and court cases going on at present there will be interesting times ahead, and the establishment political classes better get their facts right, for bulling, and heckling, the left will cut no ice with the citizen’s. New politics it is then from here on.
The establishment are trying to brazen it out and attacking Murphy is actually populist rabble rousing. I see by the comments it is succeeding. I’m not a Trot or even a socialist but it would be nice to think that if I ever got involved in a court case that I could expect the Garda evidence to be accurate.
Pity nobody from fffg remember d countless enquiries reports lieing in leister house? Now Noonan and Kenny are gone does me hole Martin or his nemesis vara dear want to talk about moriarty??? Thought not….just like their avid frame room boys!!
Poor little rich boy like Barrett. Feeling guilty because he was sent to elocution lessons and can’t manage the Dublin working class accent when addressing the useful idiots of the Left
@P C: same for Mary Lou Mac. I somehow doubt that she would get elected in Churchtown or wherever she comes from. Hence the house purchase and relocation to Cabra. The accent needs a lot more work though
@Sean @114: So you are saying there are 2 Ireland’s and the address you have determines your status. Are there no workers in Churchtown? are they all upper and middle class? and think they are above the good honest people living in Cabra, i doubt if the vast majority of people in Churchtown would agree with your stupid comment, Did you learn anything in school about class division and the causes, i suggest you read some books on the subject then you might have a different prespective, but judging by your comment i doubt it.
@James Doyle: I’m not talking about Churchtown in particular I’m talking about the constituency. To prove my point is this the constituency that elected Shane Ross, another FG TD and a Green Party candidate in the last election? SF polled 7% in that constituency in the last election 7th out of 9 candidates. I rest my case.
@Sean @114: I wouldn’t vote SF ever, but then again I most certainly did not want Ross or Greens!! Like voters in many constituency I despair at who supposedly represents me.
Murphy is a rabble rouser. Some hero for frightening a 60 year old woman in fear of her life. It is irrelevant if she was a labour t d seeking left wing vote nobody should be subjected to the rabble insults is c you next Thursday. These degenerate knucklescrapping, low lifes only want to establish their entitlements and fail to contribute Cos society owes them. Care for those in need but these degenerates need to contribute and stop feeding off the natioon
If you talk like a thug, act like a thug and look like a thug you are probably a thug! Good man Leo- a man for the squeezed middle class- not that vermin, he does not represent me!
Had the verdict gone the other way Leo and the Blueshirts supported by F.F. The party that brought this country to it’s knees would preaching from the rooftops that the status quo was preserved. What part of this trial does not the Blueshirts understand. Jobstown 7 were found NOT guilty of All charges. Judge stated the evidence given by guards was dubious at best. Leo and Martin shocked at Paul Murphy’s allegations, but when documents concerning the criminal trial of a banker Sean Fitzpatrick collapsed after shreading of documents by a government department these paracites were deafening by their silence. Well done Paul and all the defendants in trial .Well done to the jury.
This is getting more like Mcgregor Vs maywether all the time.
Two TDs slagging each other and hundreds of clowns commenting on here about who got the better of who.
In the words of mr gogarty , F**k you deputy Murphy , F**k you, and the bunch of idiots that follow you. If Leo could lower his iq, you could possibly join him in conversation
Labour room built for less medicalised births cost €100,000 but rarely used
Adriana Casserly
7 hrs ago
Live Blog
World leaders slam Trump tariffs as EU insists it's 'not too late' for negotiations
Updated
11 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
8 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say