You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Newspress

The Tesla Model S is no ordinary car. We drove it to find out how it's different

We put the Tesla Model S through its paces on Irish roads.

Last week, we drove the Tesla Model X crossover on Irish roads. This week, we put the Model S sportback to the test. 

THE TESLA MODEL S stands out from the crowd in many ways. First off, it doesn’t look like an electric car. This is a very sleek and sexy sportback.

Its smooth shape concentrates on aerodynamic efficiency and those powerful rear haunches give it a very athletic appearance. It has no front grille, again something that makes it different from most other cars out there.

But it is when you sit inside the car that you realise you aren’t in Kansas anymore, mainly because of that glorious tinted all-glass roof and huge 17-inch portrait tablet smack bang in the middle of the dash area.

Tesla Tesla

It is from this tablet that you operate almost all of the car’s settings and functions including the steering wheel feel, ride height and its famous Ludicrous Mode.

Melanie May Melanie May

The wide rear bench seat takes three child seats and you’ll fit three adults back there too. There is a very large boot which can be fitted with an optional two seats, meaning this can be a seven-seater (but those two seats are for small children only).

Because there is no engine there is also a frunk (front trunk) meaning the Model S has plenty of room to carry all your gear.

Newspress Newspress

For me though, the cabin looked a little lacklustre in its standard black attire. It’s a tad dated and the switchgear is actually borrowed from Mercedes – you’ll find it in an A-Class.

Melanie May Melanie May

But out on the road the Tesla Model S really shines. It glides effortlessly along and because the there is instant torque available the car accelerates rapidly (0-100km/h in 5.8 seconds for the 75Kwh model and a jaw-dropping 2.7 seconds in the P100D) with even just the slightest touch of the accelerator.

You can overtake anything and you really feel like the king of the road behind the wheel. It is exhilarating knowing how much power you have just under your right foot.

Nick Dimbleby Nick Dimbleby

The car is super wide and heavy because of all those batteries, but that weight is less obvious when it comes to driving. The batteries are married to the underside of the body creating a lower centre of gravity meaning it doesn’t roll about in the corners.

There is vice-like grip thanks to an all-wheel drive system created by two motors, one in the front and one in the rear, that digitally and independently control torque to the front and rear wheels. It’s hard to believe that Tesla has only been making cars for about 14 years.

Tesla Tesla

Of course, no car is perfect.

Because there is no engine the powertrain is virtually silent – but that does mean that you pick up on other noises and with the Model S tyre noise is noticeable, especially with the 22-inch low profile tyres fitted to the test car.

The A-pillar causes a bit of a blind spot when pulling out at junctions and visibility out the back window isn’t the best either but there is a really good back-up camera to help you reverse.  Also, because the car is so wide, our tight multi-storey carparks may be a bit tricky to negotiate… and might cause a lot of alloy-curbing anxiety.

Nick Dimbleby Nick Dimbleby

Being an electric vehicle the motor tax is cheap and running costs are low. But the Model S 75 costs from €86,102 and the P100D model costs from €178,499.

That said, for what you get in terms of technology, customer service, and drivability, the 75 and 75D (€92,828) are totally worth the investment. You are getting a car unlike any that has gone before.

Newspress Newspress

READ: These cars are increasing the most in popularity on DoneDeal >

READ: The Tesla Model X has finally arrived in Ireland. We took it for a drive. >

Comments
    Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:44 PM

We need them to speak up for us in the upcoming negotiations as all we’ve got is Phil Hogan.

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:14 PM

The British want to have their cake & eat it-but first they must buy the cake

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:35 PM

I would have thought £10,000,000,000 net contribution, £100,000,000,000 annual trade deficit will buy them some cake. The UK are happy to walk away from all this and that will leave the EU in an awful position, don’t think for a minute the power is not with the UK.

The growth forecast has been upgraded again today for the UK, now why would all that be? What are the current growth rates for the EU?

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 2nd 2017, 10:40 PM

@Paul Fahey: Hardly, Theresa May has already admitted defeat on the customs union. The BoE can make all the predictions it likes, but the UK economy has been greatly propped up by QE and currency devaluation.

Britain’s trump card is that they contribute 12-13% of the EU budget, that is they’re main source of leverage. Big questions remain about the position of city of London without access to the European market. And then there is the stock market itself, a massive bubble last long overdue and adjustment. If the predicts hold true then I’ll have to eat crow, but if slow stalls the we will get to see the true effect of Brexit. My feeling is that right now they is a massive smokescreen

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 3rd 2017, 8:13 AM

The Edge – oh really, don’t recall Theresa May admitting defeat, perhaps you could provide the link. The UKs trump card is actually the city of London largely controls and provides finance for the entire EU and any damage to the city will have a massively adverse effect on an already basket case financial system of the EU. The EU have acknowledged the importance of London and the massive risk it places on the EU in an official EU document, but let’s just ignore that shall we.

It is also odd that you out the £10 billion contribution as more important than the £100 billion trade profit the EU makes from Britain, simple maths will tell you which is more important.

Now the citation of where Theresa May has admitted defeat please.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 3rd 2017, 1:25 PM

@Revolting Peasant: He do what he is told…

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 3rd 2017, 1:53 PM

@Paul Fahey:

Correction it was Lord Price during an interview with Die Welt. Quotes below

“Over the past weeks I have met with many of my EU counterparts […] most of them have made it clear to me that there will be no cherry-picking,” Lord Price told the paper. “We have understood the message,” he added. Cited in the Independent

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/brexit-latest-news-theresa-may-eu-customs-union-governemnt-article-50-trigger-single-market-access-a7558576.html

And show me where you cooked up this mythical £100 billion figure. The figures I’ve seen were closer to 60.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/staggers/2017/02/how-city-london-could-save-uk-painful-brexit

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Feb 3rd 2017, 2:08 PM

The Edge > The Jack of all trades and a master of none

Mute cassius kerrigan
    Favourite cassius kerrigan
    Feb 3rd 2017, 4:28 PM

@Paul Fahey: The Growth is based on higher Consumption, itself based on taking on additional debt. Personal debt levels are past the point they reached in 200& and are yet again, not sustainable in the medium term. As regards the power being with the UK, exports to the EU as a % of its GDP are 4 times higher than the reverse statistic. And as long as the UK is in the customs union it can’t agree bi-lateral trade deals so any dip in exports to the single market ( due to tariffs and/or NTBs) in 2019/20 means it will go into recession. To put the scale of the problem it now has into perspective the UK earns more from exporting to Ireland (5 million) than to China (1.2 billion) and China is more interested in 500 million consumers (EU) than 65 million (UK).

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 4th 2017, 5:23 PM

@Paul Fahey: I’m still waiting…

Mute Colm Ó Liatháin
    Favourite Colm Ó Liatháin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:47 PM

How will they control immigration without a hard border? Their paper clearly states that they will control immigration.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:48 PM

@Colm Ó Liatháin:

Very simple. They intend to effectively take over the territorial soverignty of the ROI.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:54 PM

It’s a shame we have such a pathetic leader at such an important time.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:00 PM

Why a border,

As one MP said people can just fly in as a tourist to a Uk airport and not leave.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:14 PM

@coles Most leaders of this country would fall in to that category. Inclusive of most of the opposition leaders we have had. Grubby greedy selfish, party before people are traits in Irish politics across the board. I think we have had probably 2-3 max who I could say had integrity.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:05 PM

@fred Jensen Ah now Fred that’s jumping the (sub-machine) gun a bit; surely they’ve learned from their attempt to steal our sovereignty? More likely there’ll be UK customs at our airports and ports, just like the yanks do now.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:06 PM

*last attempt

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:07 PM

@Fred Jensen: If I had to guess I’d say it’s the opposite. They’ll create the border between the two islands of Ireland and Britain, with free travel between the Republic and NI.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:32 PM

Just like humpty trumptys wall. 40% of Mexicans come to America by Aeroplane. The wall won’t stop Aeroplanes.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:19 PM

Easy – we do a reverse Denmark/Greenland arrangement by allowing NI to remain in the EU and making the Irish Sea the new border. Land borders are stupidly kmpossible to enforce – partly why Clan Sturgeon’s proposals to put one across thr Scottish border attracted much-deserved ridicule. The DUP meanwhile can suck on all the sour lemons they want.

Mute James Roche
    Favourite James Roche
    Feb 2nd 2017, 8:12 PM

Honesty, have we ever had a good leader?

Mute Osine
    Favourite Osine
    Feb 2nd 2017, 8:30 PM

Yes, the problem is too many fecking begrudges in this country.

Mute Carl O' Maolain
    Favourite Carl O' Maolain
    Feb 3rd 2017, 2:23 AM

Could not have put it any better, Coles.

Mute cassius kerrigan
    Favourite cassius kerrigan
    Feb 3rd 2017, 4:32 PM

@Harry Whitehead: one look at those faces would assure you that the DUP have an infinite capacity to suck sour lemons

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:41 PM

Ah the new ff spokesman on brexit can have a field day now . Stephen Donnelly . Meanwhile his ex social democrats partners and other members of the technical group probably now have no speaking rights in the dail. Since they are down to 5 …

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:46 PM

The British want us to be “intertwined” with their fate because they intend to use us as a bargaining chip in the negotiations. They will throw us under the bus at the first opportunity to give themselves a better deal. If they don’t get a good deal from the EU, they’ll tell Ireland to veto the deal or else the CTA is scrapped. The British are lining up a list of potential threats to use against Ireland and the EU.

We need to tell them to get stuffed. We are team EU and will not accept any British infringement into Irish sovereignty just to maintain an open border. It’s not THAT important to us.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:56 PM

@Fred Jensen:

Speak for yourself, but many Irish would be hesitant to throw the positive relation that Ireland has with it’s single largest trading partner down the drain to appease what is in reality a dying organisation that doesn’t care one bit about us.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:03 PM

@Jason Culligan:

Jason you’re young and have a lot to learn about making sure you’re not brainwashed about the world around you. UK is just 14% of our exports and almost wholely concetrated in the agri-food sector. We have a large trade deficit with the UK, we import almost twice as much from them as they do from us. The vast majority of the profit from that trade goes to the UK (Think of how much profit M&S make in Ireland). We would actually be better off as a country replacing trade with the UK with trade with the euro-zone.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:06 PM

@Fred Jensen/johnson: tell me how an open border is not that important to the island of Ireland again?? we have gone through this many many times before and you are never able to back it up

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:14 PM

Fred – hold fire there, you have been banging in for months how the €100 billion annual trade deficit between Britain and the EU is immaterial to negotiations, but now you are using a much smaller trade deficit between us and GB to further your weak point.

When we had a banking crisis the U.K. Did not throw us under the bus, they gave us a loan along with the loan they helped the EU finance. However, the EU dud throw us under the bus and then the train and then laughed and mocked us. I don’t think we need to worry to much about GB, but the EU is the greater danger to us.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:15 PM

Jason the EU is a larger trading partner for us than the UK is.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:24 PM

@Jason Culligan: If the UK was never in the EU would we have the same level of trade with them? Unlikely, methinks.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:25 PM

Ricky – the EU trade figure is skewed because much of the trade is between us and Belgium, largely because if the port at Antwerp and is then forwarded on outside of the EU. In real terms our greatest trading partners are the US (approx 25 billion) and the UK (approx 12 billion) and both of them are seemingly intent on setting up a trade agreement without us and the EU. Further, the relationships of the EU with the USA and GB is deteriorating at quite a rate and we certainly need to consider this carefully. The EU continues to restrict with whom we can trade and what we can trade, which is placing us very precariously in Brexit and future US agreements.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:28 PM

@gjpb:

Three things are up for grabs here. The Sovereingty of the ROI, ensuring no change whatsoever in Irelands EU membership and ability to trade within the EU, and the open border.

Now I can tell you very clearly that the open border should be very much the last priority among those three. You shouldn’t even have to ask me why that is.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:31 PM

Fred – do you even read what you write? Point one is about Irish sovereignty and then point two is about maintaining the status quo with an entity we have largely ceded our sovereignty to.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:39 PM

@Fred Jensen: you listed 4 items there. nobody is saying or wanting the first 3 to be impacted by the open border. I have listed numerous disadvantages to you already of having a hard border. you have still to come up with any adv to it.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:46 PM

@gjpb:

Your brain is unable to comprehend that of the three things i mentioned, one of them has to give way in the negotiations.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:51 PM

Fred do you really think Ireland has sovereignty?? We answer to the EU. We do what they tell us to do and we need to get permission to do anything.

You are deluded.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:55 PM

Rebecca of course we have sovereignty. Our membership of the EU is down to it’s continuing support amongst the Irish people. If the majority want to leave then we would leave.

Feb 2nd 2017, 4:59 PM

‘Concept that a state or governing body has the right and power to govern itself without outside interference’ – Sovereignty

I am DYING to hear how the above statement applies to Ireland. Hasn’t for a long time unfortunately.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:03 PM

@Fred Jensen: we don’t know what’s going to happen in the negotiations (May herself doesn’t even know). on top of all the other articles where you have been called out for talking rubbish, excuse me if I dismiss your opinion here too.

you should get another backup account ready as I would say your Fred Jensen account will be deleted soon enough too (on top of your Fred Johnson account).

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen

@gjpb:

I think you’re confusing me for someone else….

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish

Rebecca by that definition we should withdraw from the UN, the European Convention on Human rights basically every international agreement Ireland as a SOVEREIGN state has signed up to in the last 80 years or so.

Feb 2nd 2017, 5:08 PM

No no. It’s the just the EU who directly controls our affairs.

Think you need to do some reading pal.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:18 PM

@Fred Jensen: nope, you are both the same troll.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:20 PM

Ricky – it is a fact that when you join the EU you agree to waive some of your sovereignty. I am sorry, but that is not even open to debate, it is part and parcel of membership. Odd that you appear not to know that.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:47 PM

Paul I am well aware that nations pool sovereignty in certain areas by joining the EU and other bodies. As are most people over the age of 12. My point is that ultimately this due to the fact that the people have decided to pursue this path. If we ever wished to leave the EU we could. It’s OUR decision not anybody elses. You do get that right?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:59 PM

Ricky – then perhaps you will start to respect the fact that the UK decided, democratically, to leave.

Remember, it was also our choice to say No to the EU twice, but they ignored us, like they did Netherlands and then we stupidly agreed to go again.

You may also want to apologise to Rebecca, who’s point was correct. We are in fact only sovereign in some areas and if we want to regain our true sovereignty we will have to vote on it, then debate it, then negotiate with the organisation we want our sovereignty back from, then we will have to financially pay for the return of our sovereignty and then we will be banned from trading with those we took our sovereignty back from. And don’t forget, whilst we are voting in it, the EU will spend millions of our money sending us propaganda as to why we don’t really want our sovereignty back, great, how democratic. Wow, you gotta love sovereignty, seriously, think deeper.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:04 PM

Paul when did I say I didn’t respect their decision. Are you going to apologise to me for accusing me of such????? We will no longer be sovereign when the people lose the ability to control our own affairs.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:15 PM

Ricky – just all your previous posts about “Brexitwonderland” “typical Brits” “weak hand” “economical suicide” “stupid” blah blah blah blah blah…..

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:22 PM

And yet I never said I didn’t respect their decision. I disagree with it and believe it’s a mistake. Is that the same thing as not respecting it now?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:38 PM

Ricky – oh yes, calling people stupid is so respectful, get a grip.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:48 PM

FFS Paul I believe they made a stupid decision but respect their right to make it. Grow up! It’s not a difficult concept.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:30 PM

Ricky – FFS you won’t mind or be disrespected when I call you stupid then, great we are at one, ok stupid?

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:33 PM

Jesus Paul this is embarrassing now.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:42 PM

Alt Facts from the Alt Tories. In their eyes we are a negotiating strategy, nothing more.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:51 PM

Customs will have a field day when people are bringing in products from a non-eu country = UK

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:53 PM

@Paul Somers. And I’ll have a field day using green diesel in the car as all the customs officials will be tied up elsewhere.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:09 PM

Sounds like they want to use us to gain access to the single market. We’ll do all the buying and ye can ship it over lads :-)

Mute Colm Ó Liatháin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:40 PM

Hard border so.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant

@Colm Ó Liatháin: Enforced by the Germans? No-one else wants it.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:43 PM

Theresa May explicitly said there will be no hard border on account of Britain, explicitly. However, should the EU want one that will be a different matter, but will be the requirement of the EU.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:47 PM

@Paul Fahey:

The British are the ones choosing to leave the EU, thus any hard border is a direct result of BRitish decisions.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:05 PM

Fred – so what is your point?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:10 PM

Fred – odd then that the British have been fine without a hard border for twenty years, but let’s ignore the actual facts. Let’s also ignore the fact that there has been a common travel agreement in place long before the EU ever existed. You will have to offer something a bit more detailed then “it’s the Brits fault”.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:38 PM

@Paul Fahey: As my memory serves it was the Irish customs who previously upheld the hard border. A particularly nasty bunch of individuals particularly in Monaghan and Louth who stopped and searched every vehicle. They really enjoyed their work at confiscating items bought in the north including condoms and tins of biscuits.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:08 PM

Chris – there was a border on both sides and they could be as difficult as each other. The British were not looking for excise payments as products were generally cheaper and more readily available there. However, they were looking for guns and people etc.. The Irish were looking for excise payments, with cigarettes, alcohol and fuel all significantly cheaper in NI.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 3rd 2017, 9:12 PM

Doesn’t matter what assurances Theresa May gives about a soft border as its incompatible with Brexit’s core policy of no freedom of movement of people…there will be a hard border.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:44 PM

Says nothing about protecting other EU citizens living and working in the UK or trying to safeguard British peoples status who are resident in EU countries. Ireland is being treated as a soft target to preserve the Good Friday Agreement and nothing more.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:16 PM

It does. Section 6

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:22 PM

They’ll have a lot of redrafting to do is Le Pen wins in France and Wilders in the Netherlands.

Mute David Fülöp
    Favourite David Fülöp
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:49 PM

@Marlowemallow: if she wins she will be a lame duck president. Look up cohabitation. Wilders can win the majority of the votes but he will never be able to form a government.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:04 PM

@David Fülöp: Nationalism is dissolving the EU. The era of neoliberalism, free trade and globalism are ending. How and when it happens and who pulls each plug are technicalities. It won’t be the end of the world. People will migrate and trade as they have done for millennia.

What will be disastrous is if our response is the kind of panic, hysteria and violence that Brexit and Trump have triggered. It will be particularly futile for Ireland to waste our energy trying to hold back the tide. We’re a minnow and we must learn to stay calm and adapt.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:07 PM

What discords will drive Europe into that artificial unity—only dry or drying sticks can be tied into a bundle—which is the decadence of every civilisation?” A Vision, William Butler Yeats

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:27 PM

If anything, Le Pen has become less popular since Brexit. Even if she gets through to the Second Round of voting, there’ll be no more spread for her to capitalise on. Unlike the Brexit popular polls where there were a good few close calls, out of the 26 opinion polls for the Second Round in France, the best she has done was to lose by 18%. Unless something catastrophic happens, she’ll get obliterated.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:21 PM

@Guybrush Threepwood: The long term trend is clear. Those who were shocked by Trump and Brexit are clearly missing the big picture and will continue to be blindsided until they reintroduce themselves to reality. If Le Pen and Wilders lose or fail to produce results then that will have consequences from their electorate. And the long term process of the disintegration of transnational structures will continue.

Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:39 PM

@Marlowemallow: 100% correct they missed the facebook boat, where people get their ‘facts’ from small 3 inch by 3 inch images on their facebook feed. If thats the ‘truth’ and people lap it up then i guess we are all doomed.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:22 PM

@scoop delivery:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opinion_polling_for_the_French_presidential_election,_2017

As you can see from the little gains Le Pen gets from First to Second Round voting, the French seem to be more anti Le Pen than Pro anybody else.

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:41 PM

Well they do still think we’re one of the ‘British isles’

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:53 PM

You are aware that the geographical land mass referred to as North America also includes Canada?

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:07 PM

‘we aim to have as seamless and frictionless a border as possible’ and I’d like to think at times I have a golf swing like Rory McIlroy. Its long over due now, but the UK government really should start producing documents on Brexit that are based in reality. There will be a border and it is extremely unlikely to be seamless or without friction.

Saying otherwise is fiction

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 3rd 2017, 8:15 AM

Edge – so we should take your word on that rather than Theresa May and other politicians actually involved in the process. Theresa May has explicitly stated there will be no hard border between the north and south of Ireland.

Mute stephen mc galey
    Favourite stephen mc galey

I think their trying to butter us up to take us over again, they were only biding their time….at least they know what their doing hahaha

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:18 PM

@stephen mc galey: they’re

Mute Paul Maher
    Favourite Paul Maher
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:08 PM

Mmmm….. There was once a time when Britain worried that Ireland would be used by Europeans as a back door to invade them…. Now they want to use us as a front door to invade a Market. Ironic, in the last 100 years they lost an Empire that gave them access to a free market of 500 million people. Then just last year they vote their way out of a free market of 500 million people… A market they had access in without having to coerce anyone…..There’s opportunity in this…… But for us or them????

Mute Dean Burroughs
    Favourite Dean Burroughs
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:26 PM

All the arguing back and forth, what would rats like you know about politics.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Feb 2nd 2017, 4:15 PM

As many as that. Maybe check how often it’s after ‘Northern’

Mute Colm Ó Liatháin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:40 PM

Hard border so.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:55 PM

Hard border/soft border, how about no border.

Mute Rodan
    Favourite Rodan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:03 PM

Here’s how this will go.. The UK promises to keep the border as “friction free” as possible. They exit customs arrangement and have to comply with border controls of an EU country. So, how to satisfy both? Answer, simple.. Technology. The solution to this impasse with be the implementation of a technology solution that allows “friction free” movement whilst at the same time fulfilling the EU border control requirements. Think number plate recognition, facial recognition, etc. I think it will be done in such a way as to offer little or no hinderence to anyone holding an EU or UK passport and technology will be the answer.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Feb 2nd 2017, 8:45 PM

@Rodan:

That’s grand but there will still need to be a certain amount of phyical customs officers, at least to do random sport checks. It’s the only way to prevent smuggling. Can’t leave it all to technology.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 2nd 2017, 11:19 PM

How much will the technology cost.

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Feb 2nd 2017, 5:36 PM

If anything trump and Brexit strengthen the EU. Nothing like a common enemy to unite peoples. The harder trump tries to break up the EU, the more stubborn EU countries will become.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 9:44 PM

@jfn. Not sure about that. Orban and Putin held talks in Budapest yesterday. Ostensibly they were about Russia supplying parts for a nuclear reactor. Orban brought up how harmful he thought sanctions against Russia were and mooted the idea of forming a coalition of like-minded eu countries to lobby against them. Britain’s out, there are rumblings in France and the Netherlands, now orban has suggested this. I’m generally pro-eu. I think we need to remain, but the powers that be must get their act together and make real changes before it collapses.

Mute SherdyMe
    Favourite SherdyMe
    Feb 2nd 2017, 10:28 PM

The UK needs to be told by Ireland: ‘We are inescapably intertwined to Europe’!

Mute Niall Connolly
    Favourite Niall Connolly
    Feb 2nd 2017, 11:16 PM

‘When the UK leaves the EU, we aim to have as seamless and frictionless a border as possible between Northern Ireland, so that we can continue to see the trade and everyday movements we have seen up to now.’

In plain English. ‘There will be a hard border with customs and immigration checks’.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:59 PM

Anyone worried about the following?
    http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv%3AOJ.C_.2016.299.01.0065.01.ENG&toc=OJ%3AC%3A2016%3A299%3ATOC
    “Expand and accelerate the implementation of activation policies to increase the work intensity of households and address the poverty risk of children.
    Pursue measures to incentivise employment by tapering the withdrawal of benefits and supplementary payments.”

So the EU wants here to create work by throwing people off the dole???

https://ec.europa.eu/ireland/news/eu-commissioner-moscovici-in-dublin-today-remarks-to-media_en
    So the EU tells us everything, no matter what the UK says or does the final word always lies with the EU. That is not democratic at all.

Mute Rodan
    Favourite Rodan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:11 PM

@Alois Irlmaier:

That reminds me of the contempt they showed for Greece. It has gone way beyond a simple trading relationship now. Obviously the EU seek to eventually control all its members, but why?, what is their “end game?”.. This is why the UK will be treated harshly, because they dissented. I make two predictions, firstly the EU will seek to punish the UK financially for the decision it has made, and secondly that the whole article 50 process will be quietly “revised” and that following Brexit it will be next-door to impossible for other member states to follow suit and leave. We shall see, but by their actions during these times will the EU be judged..

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:26 PM

@Rodan: Whatever it is, it will be an U.S. of Europe under 1 bank?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VY3P-Fj4EHw

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 3rd 2017, 1:13 AM

@Rodan: The EU is too corrupt and ex members become lobbyists for companys after their unelected role of power, it will not last.

Mute Denise Gerrard
    Favourite Denise Gerrard
    Feb 2nd 2017, 11:13 PM

Listen all ,brexit will happen and Britain will be far far better off,and you all will be stuck in an increasing dictatorship, federal state . Having to bow down to unelected bureaucrats, plus when you get all the immigrants from all over Europe in their thousands because all of Europe is an utter mess ,see how you feel then

Mute James Mac An Ridire
    Favourite James Mac An Ridire
    Feb 3rd 2017, 6:39 AM

Using Ireland as a bargaining tool

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 4th 2017, 10:13 PM

@James Mac An Ridire: As a tool anyway?