You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Police officers work at the scene of the deadly shooting. AP/PA Images

Two killed and five injured after man opens fire at Texas concert

Police are hunting for the offender who fled the scene.

TWO MEN HAVE been killed and at least five people were injured when someone opened fire during an argument at a concert in Texas.

Police are hunting for the offender who fled the scene on Sunday evening after the shooting at the Ventura, a music venue and bar in San Antonio.

The bar is along the Museum Reach portion of the San Antonio River Walk.

The medical examiner’s officer identified the men killed as Robert Martinez, 21, and Alejandro Robles, 25, police said.

A 46-year-old woman and four male teenagers aged 16 to 19 were hurt but are expected to survive.

An argument broke out inside the club and one person pulled out a gun and started shooting, San Antonio Police Chief William McManus said.

One victim died at the scene and another six were taken to hospital, where one was pronounced dead shortly after arrival.

Police said the shooting was “not a random incident” and that at least one of the victims knew the suspect.

McManus said preliminary information indicates the people shot were all patrons, rather than staff.

The chief said he is confident a suspect will soon be identified and apprehended.

Jacob Flores said he was among the 25 to 30 patrons in Ventura when someone shot at a performer and the venue turned into “chaos”.

“As soon as everyone heard the shots, everyone bolted out,” the 17-year-old musician told the San Antonio Express-News. “My life flashed before my eyes.”

A since-deleted Facebook event indicated Sunday night’s concert at the Ventura was “Living the DREAM”, a showcase featuring multiple performers.

Advertisements for the concert were posted to websites advertising local events and listed performers’ social media pages.

It was not the only shooting at a US entertainment venue on Sunday night. Two people were shot and killed and at least 15 injured outside a bar in Kansas City, Missouri, just before midnight.

An armed security guard shot and killed the man suspected of fatally shooting a woman outside 9ine Ultra Lounge.

Kansas City Police Captain David Jackson told reporters that responding officers found “a chaotic scene”. It was not clear if the gunman targeted anyone in particular.

A police spokesman said a gunman opened fire on a queue of people waiting to enter the bar.

A Facebook post on 9ine Ultra Lounge’s page advertised Sunday night’s “Sold Out Sundays” event, which appeared to be a celebration of the Kansas City Chiefs American football team, who beat the Tennessee Titans on Sunday to advance to the Super Bowl.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 25 comments
25 Comments
    Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 14th 2018, 12:24 AM

I love the Journal.ie for this. There wasn’t a county or party in Ireland who were Hurlers on the ditch in 1922. Every back seat economist and every “Were good as we are with what he have” gombeen would have said stay in the United Kingdom rather than embrace the mentality we are bold enough to do this (We had no natural resources to speak of). Look at Scotland. The english have them beaten down to believe they will be worse off for leaving the UK today as opposed to the reality that having discovered vast oil reserves off their coasts, they should be the richest nation on earth. Bring in the United Ireland referendum.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 14th 2018, 12:25 AM

@Cal Mooney: 1918… sorry.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Dec 14th 2018, 12:42 AM

@Cal Mooney: Go on the Liam Mellows!

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 14th 2018, 12:54 AM

@ObsidianShine: I love it. Today, Our Nation turns down heroes like Tyson Fury. His first words on winning the world championship were ‘ I am the first Irish man to win a world heavy weight title”. He have away his winnings at his last match to charity. I bet most people don’t know either of those facts. Our FFG parties refuse to run candidates in the North. They aren’t Irish. We can and will run our own affairs. Ask Tyson Fury.

Mute Kieran Monaghan
    Favourite Kieran Monaghan
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:05 AM

@Cal Mooney: I didn’t know that. Thank’s lad.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:05 AM

@Cal Mooney: In case anyone missed it, both Liam Mellows and Tyson Fury were born in England of Irish parents. True heroes. FFG believe that if you weren’t born in their 26 counties, then you are a second class citizen.

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:31 AM

@Cal Mooney: That was some impressive negotiations in 1922 alright. All Ireland parliament proposed in Westminster in 1914. Followed by the utter folly of the 1916 Rising which was a massive catalyst for the partition of our island. The Parliament of Ireland Act split the country in 1920 and in 1922 the British ceded not 1 inch more than they wanted to. There was no glory in the Anglo Irish Treaty. It should never be celebrated.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 14th 2018, 2:40 AM

@Simon Power: amazing howany don’t no about 1914 proposal

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:42 AM

@Cal Mooney: are you nuts, we can’t run the 26 we have , how does anyone suggest we can handle 6 more , polotics aside now, but have you travelled on rural roads lately , it’s a tank you’d want , sinking into the ground , leading to ghost towns , God help us if we get all fuzzy and rush into this one…

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Dec 14th 2018, 9:23 PM

@Gerry Campbell: The argument that we can’t run the 26 counties is flawed. Who loses most politically if Ireland is united? FF and FG. It’s not in their interests to see a United Ireland.

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:51 AM

Thanks to the Journal for this, an excellent read. The sacrifice of our ancestors for freedom and Irish independence/sovereignty is incredible. Not to mention the election of a woman to parliament in the early 20th century. Can’t help but feel these men and women would be ashamed of our knowing politicians for giving up these hard fought freedoms to bankers and European centralisation.

Mute Elizabeth Hourihane
    Favourite Elizabeth Hourihane
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:09 AM

How many of these fine men and woman are turning in their graves at how long we held onto this long sought after independence, was it 800 years we fought for it? and we freely gave it away in less thst 80 years, when we joined the European Economic Community in 1973….. how sad is that.

Mute Daniel J. Somers
    Favourite Daniel J. Somers
    Dec 14th 2018, 3:02 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: They would be proud that Ireland was part of the EU and you know it

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Dec 14th 2018, 6:49 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: do you, in all honesty, really believe we gave away out freedom? Really?

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Dec 14th 2018, 7:06 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: Is losing your freedom like losing your mojo? I still have my freedom, I’m confused by your comment, am I not free?

Mute James Dara Brady
    Favourite James Dara Brady
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:11 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: yeah….a lot of them probably would not be happy that Rome isn’t calling the shots anymore..

Mute Dan Jacobson
    Favourite Dan Jacobson
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:38 AM

@Paddington C.: we became enslaved to a brutal theocracy that abused and killed thousands of our children, which ran concentration camps for those it viewed as morally inferior right up until 1998 and drove out the best we had from a banana republic. Having been walked into our next enslavement which is the stripping of national assets and burden of public debt we are being fooled into believing that constitutional reforms removing the legal apparatus of the last dark age make us somehow enlightened. It’s a technicolor dream coat you’re wearing Paddington.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Dec 14th 2018, 9:14 AM

@Dan Jacobson: you should write high fantasy for children.

Mute Dan Jacobson
    Favourite Dan Jacobson
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:51 AM

@Paddington C.: http://www.childabusecommission.ie …. No fantasy but difficult reading for an adult who masquerades as a children’s character.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Dec 14th 2018, 3:17 PM

@Dan Jacobson: I don’t think anybody actually thinks I’m Paddington Bear.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Dec 16th 2018, 3:31 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: we did technically invite the British over well the king of lenster dirmuid mc marra in 1167 did after been diposed by high king rory o connor and invited strongbow over to help him regain it

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Dec 14th 2018, 2:22 AM

As I read the above article I just feel sad that so many mean & petty posters on these threads want to disown the 6 counties. Just consider what the above Sinn Fein
    MPs sacrificed for what transpired to be a 26 County Republic.

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Dec 14th 2018, 2:15 AM

Look at the clowns we have now.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Dec 14th 2018, 7:05 AM

Of course a relatively short time after this Devalera sold Ireland out to the catholic church which resulted in the rape and abuse of women and children for decades to come and the surpression of Irish society.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Dec 14th 2018, 7:37 AM

@Barry Somers: Dev gave them the permission of the Irish government but the Christian churches had been operating the same policies for centuries before the formation of the State, in Ireland and across the globe.

Mute Dan Jacobson
    Favourite Dan Jacobson
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:43 AM

@Karen Wellington: No. The Enlightenment brought about the separation of church and state across most of Europe. Dev took us back 200 years.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Dec 14th 2018, 9:23 AM

@Dan Jacobson: I wish that were true, I agree that Dev legitimised church abuses here (all of them; slavery, human traffics, cruel and unusual punishment, et al) and provided such easy access to victims that he may as well have being selling citizens on an auction block, but religious abuse is a global problem that has been around for millennia without a break, i.e. during World War II Orthodox Serbs were forcibly converted to Catholicism, the first Magdalene institution was founded in late 1758 (age of enlightenment began in the 18th century/1700’s)

Mute ScewMadd
    Favourite ScewMadd
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:24 AM

@Barry Somers: Blaming it all on Dev is a convenient excuse, but it’s just that: an excuse. His actions were widely supported. From 1932 to 1959, a period of 27 years, he was Taoiseach for 21 of them without ever having to have a coalition. Who broke that streak? Well the other six years were John A. Costello, a man who consulted an archbishop on Government policy and declared himself a Catholic first and an Irishman second. After his time as Taoiseach, Dev was put up for election as President, winning twice. Hardly seems like a particularly unpopular figure then.

Ask yourself honestly, were we a backwards repressed country because he was our leader, or was he our leader because we were a backwards, repressed country? Deep down you know the answer. Great man history is a fallacy. The sad and unpalatable truth is that we did it to ourselves. There was no secret police going around to collect people in the night. Parents put their own daughters in the Magdalene laundries.

Mute ScewMadd
    Favourite ScewMadd
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Dan Jacobson: You’re kidding yourself. The Church in Ireland had held its role in Irish society for a long time before independence. Abuse in Letterfrack, for just one example, predates the formation of the Free State.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:18 PM

@Karen Wellington: true , but seeingly the bigger the influence -the bigger the problems – Dev let the McQuaid and The Catholic Church gain way too much power ad influence in ireland in the 40s 50s 60s 70s and we have the scars to show it – the extent and scale of sexual abuse scandals , tuam babies , laundries Paedophile Priests in Ireland is truly shocking and shuldn’t be deflected by saying ‘ religious abuse is a global problem’ that doesn’t cut it , that’s not an excuse that passes the smell test – it was rotten to the core here and the millions in outstanding liabilities for the religious institutions and the thousands of lives damaged are evidence to that.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Dec 14th 2018, 4:30 PM

@Dave Hammond: please please don’t think I’m excusing the crimes against humanity committed by the rcc. My point was that they were using their influence and power to abuse vulnerable people long before the formation of the State and long after Dev died, he was a simple tool to them. They’re a vile and insidious organisation who have and will continue to prey on the most vulnerable wherever they are let.

Mute Andrew Carson
    Favourite Andrew Carson
    Dec 14th 2018, 12:18 AM

Dev wasn’t a signatory of the 1916 Proclamation…

Mute Harriet Ryan
    Favourite Harriet Ryan
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:13 AM

This is really interesting. I never knew anything about most of these people who shaped our Isle. This is such a great article well done Journal.ie

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Dec 14th 2018, 6:53 AM

Some achievement yesterday by Leo and mehole not once in their speech did they utter the name sf. Just goes to show the pettiness of our so called leaders. All those great people who sacrificed everything for their country to see what we have leading us now.

Mute Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Favourite Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Dec 14th 2018, 7:52 AM

Amazing times and great article.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:30 AM

Excellent article. Fascinating.

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:49 AM

Great article but what is it with the mantra that ‘Collins was assassinated’. He wasn’t. He was killed in a military ambush in a war. At least be impartial. Otherwise great article. And ye media definitely whitewashing history. No matter how much it might irate some people they did represent Sinn Fein. History shouldn’t be diluted. The Department of Education is doing a fine job of that already.

Mute Caped Crusader
    Favourite Caped Crusader
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:03 AM

@John O Reilly: Assassination is the killing of any prominent person. Reasons include political, financial, religious, or military. Michael Collins was assassinated, that it was part of a military operation ‘oesnt matter.

Mute ScewMadd
    Favourite ScewMadd
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:35 AM

@John O Reilly: Regardless of all you’ve said it was still an assassination by definition. An assassination is a targeted killing of a prominent figure. Whether it was in wartime or peacetime is irrelevant. The only time shooting a prominent figure isn’t assassination is if they’re killed randomly, eg. someone robs a bank and they happen to get shot. For example, killing Reinhard Heydrich in WWII was assassination. No one could argue that referring to that as an assassination is “whitewashing history.” He was still a monster: an assassinated monster.

Similarly regardless of how you feel about Collins (and your feelings are clear) he WAS assassinated. He was targeted for killing on the basis of his leadership role in the Civil War.

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Dec 14th 2018, 2:15 PM

@ScewMadd: I don’t believe I declared my feelings for Collins at all so I will now. A great Irish patriot but to a certain point but the actions of his regular forces during the civil war on his watch and on his behalf on his death were nothing but war crimes which have been whitewashed from our history to a certain degree. Collins was a warrior yes but also a monster which was needed to take on the British but not necessary for his own people. What followed him ‘O Higgins and the boys were worse and bred by him. I feel the term assassination is used in many articles to give no legitimacy to the anti-treaty forces in the Civil War. But look that’s just my opinion anyway.

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 14th 2018, 1:27 AM

Well they have really balloxed things up since then,,I’d rather have Jeremy Coburn leading this country at the moment..

Mute European Bob
    Favourite European Bob
    Dec 14th 2018, 7:06 AM

@Tomas: Who’s Jeremy Coburn?

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:38 AM

@European Bob: James Coburns brother. You know the actor.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:15 AM

@European Bob: he is a prixk on the other side of the river but better one than the 2 supposed leaders we have at the moment…

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:39 AM

Every one of them must have turned in their graves several times at this stage, with the robbing self serving sell outs that have come and gone since then. The current traitors selling our country out from under us being the worst yet.

Mute Brian James Moss
    Favourite Brian James Moss
    Dec 15th 2018, 12:35 AM

Brilliant Article The Journal does these excellently great research put in here fair play to writer

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:30 AM

Very, very last line, after most people have probably stopped reading – Erskine Childers wasn’t the first president. He was too late for that by 50 years or so….

Mute Kevin Geraghty
    Favourite Kevin Geraghty
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:05 AM

The Down Mid MP couldn’t look more Unionist if he tried!

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 14th 2018, 2:03 PM

Which constituity did Mickey D run in?

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 14th 2018, 9:43 AM

A hundred years ago it was SF telling the labour party when it was a strong socialist movement at the time. not to contest the election as it would take seats away from them. and they fell for it. now FF/FG are using the same sort of tactics on health and housing. using brexit as an excuse.

Mute ScewMadd
    Favourite ScewMadd
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:36 AM

@Sean Conway: Right ya, I’m sure Labour won’t be contesting the next election

Mute Sean Moore
    Favourite Sean Moore
    Dec 15th 2018, 4:15 AM

Fascinating article. Always amazed that the father of unionism, Edward Carson, was a Dub who played hurling in college.

Mute Mary Webb
    Favourite Mary Webb
    Dec 14th 2018, 8:41 AM

And politics is mostly about making sausage. All sorts mixed up together.

Mute eoin dunning
    Favourite eoin dunning
    Dec 16th 2018, 5:27 PM

Great article..well.done.

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:53 AM

Who cares?

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:03 AM

@Mike Conway: troll

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:42 AM

“Labour must wait”.
    For me the prevalent question is Connoly’s throwing in the lot of the working class as a revolutionary, socialist, force with nationalism. Mixing the red banner with the green, and thereby decapitating the working class. Derailing socialism.
    The cause of labour is not ‘Ireland’. The cause of labour is the world – the profound transformation of the world economy and society. In the process destroying British imperialism.
    We are now on the brink of world war, because of the outmoded capitalist system.
    Capitalist ruling classes, in competition with one another, base their power on states.

Yet the world economy is more and more an integrated (though not rationally) whole.

It is this clashing of capitalist states with a world economy that is leading to war. As competing capitalist classes compete to resolve the fracturing of the world by making the whole world their domain. The British Empire, The Third Reich, The New World Order.
    Nationalism in oppressed states has solved nothing for the people of those countries, except to enrich those at the top; and the myriad facets of world cultures has not been protected by nationalism. Rather it has been ossified, and degraded through the homogenisation of the capitalist market. Culture and economy are awaiting the socialist revolution.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Dec 14th 2018, 11:50 AM

@PV Nevin: An ossification of culture through the imposition of the dead hand of an abstract, ‘pure’ ‘national identity’ No bazoukis here!

Mute Ross Fehily
    Favourite Ross Fehily
    Dec 14th 2018, 10:26 PM

Nice article. How could someone hold 2 seats though. That’s odd