You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Senator Roland Gutierrez, who represents the district where Uvalde is located, asks Texas Department of Public Safety Director Steve McCraw questions during the Texas Senate Special Committee to Protect All Texans hearing regarding the Robb Elementary School shooting in Uvalde Sara Diggins/Austin American-Statesman/AP/PA Images

Top Texas officer: Uvalde police response was ‘abject failure’

Steve McCraw said officers would have found the door to the classroom where the assailant was holed up unlocked if they had bothered to check it.

THE HEAD OF the Texas state police pronounced the law enforcement response to the Uvalde school shooting an “abject failure,” telling politicians that there were enough officers and firepower on the scene to have stopped the gunman three minutes after he entered the building.

Col Steve McCraw also said officers would have found the door to the classroom where the assailant was holed up unlocked if they had bothered to check it.

Instead, police with rifles stood in a hallway for over an hour, waiting in part for more weapons and gear, before they finally stormed the classroom and killed the gunman, putting an end to the May 24 attack that left 19 children and two teachers dead.

“I don’t care if you have on flip-flops and Bermuda shorts, you go in,” Mr McCraw, director of the Texas Department of Public Safety, said on Tuesday in blistering evidence at a state Senate hearing.

texas-school-shooting Texas Department of Public Safety Director Steve McCraw uses maps and graphics to present a timeline of the school shooting at Robb Elementary School AP / PA Images AP / PA Images / PA Images

The classroom door, it turned out, could not be locked from the inside by design, according to Mr McCraw, who also said a teacher reported before the shooting that the lock was broken.

Yet there is no indication officers tried to open it during the standoff, Mr McCraw said.

He said police instead waited for keys.

“I have great reasons to believe it was never secured,” Mr McCraw said of the door.

“How about trying the door and seeing if it’s locked?”

texas-school-shooting Texas Department of Public Safety Director Steve McCraw uses photos of doors to present what happened regarding the keys and doors during the school shooting AP / PA Images AP / PA Images / PA Images

Delays in the law enforcement response at Robb Elementary School have become the focus of federal, state and local investigations.

Evidence was scheduled to resume on Wednesday.

Mr McCraw tore into Pete Arredondo, the Uvalde school district police chief who Mr McCraw said was in charge, saying: “The only thing stopping a hallway of dedicated officers from entering Room 111 and 112 was the on-scene commander who decided to place the lives of officers before the lives of children.”

Mr Arredondo made “terrible decisions”, said Mr McCraw, who lamented that the police response “set our profession back a decade”.

Mr Arredondo has said he did not consider himself the person in charge and assumed someone else had taken control of the law enforcement response.

embedded267444289 Reggie Daniels pays his respects at a memorial at Robb Elementary School (Eric Gay/AP)

He has declined repeated requests for comment from The Associated Press.

The police chief gave evidence for about five hours on Tuesday at a closed-door hearing of a Texas House committee also investigating the tragedy, according to the panel chairman.

Senate members hearing the latest details reacted with fury, some decrying Mr Arredondo as incompetent and saying the delay cost lives.

Others pressed Mr McCraw on why state troopers on the scene did not take charge.

Mr McCraw said the troopers did not have legal authority to do so.

The public safety chief presented a timeline that said three officers with two rifles entered the building less than three minutes behind the gunman, an 18-year-old with an AR-15-style semi-automatic rifle.

Several more officers entered minutes after that.

embedded267353662

Two of the officers who went into the hallway early on were grazed by gunfire.

The decision by police to hold back went against much of what law enforcement has learned in the two decades since the Columbine High School shooting in Colorado in which 13 people were killed in 1999, Mr McCraw said.

“You don’t wait for a Swat team. You have one officer, that’s enough,” he said.

He also said officers did not need to wait for shields to enter the classroom.

The first shield arrived less than 20 minutes after the shooter entered, according to Mr McCraw.

Eight minutes after the shooter entered, an officer reported that police had a heavy-duty crowbar that they could use to break down the classroom door, Mr McCraw said.

The public safety chief spent nearly five hours offering the clearest picture yet of the massacre, outlining a series of other missed opportunities, communication breakdowns and errors based on an investigation that has included roughly 700 interviews. Among the missteps:

— Mr Arredondo did not have a radio with him.

— Police and sheriffs’ radios did not work inside the school. Only the radios of Border Patrol agents on the scene did, and they did not work perfectly.

— Some school diagrams that police used to co-ordinate their response were wrong.

State police initially said the gunman, Salvador Ramos, entered the school through an exterior door that had been propped open by a teacher.

embedded267380472 Actor Matthew McConaughey holds an image of Alithia Ramirez, 10, who was killed in the mass shooting at an elementary school in Uvalde, Texas, as he speaks during a press briefing at the White House on Tuesday, June 7(Evth an Vucci/AP)

However, Mr McCraw said the teacher had closed the door, but unbeknownst to her, it could be locked only from the outside.

The gunman “walked straight through”, Mr McCraw said.

The gunman knew the building well, having attended the fourth grade in the same classrooms where he carried out the attack, Mr McCraw said.

Ramos never communicated with police that day, the public safety chief said.

Senator Paul Bettencourt said the entire premise of lockdown and shooter training is worthless if school doors cannot be locked.

“We have a culture where we think we’ve trained an entire school for lockdown … but we set up a condition to failure,” he said.

Mr Bettencourt challenged Mr Arredondo to give evidence in public and said he should have removed himself from the job immediately.

He angrily pointed out that shots were heard while police waited.

“There are at least six shots fired during this time,” he said.

“Why is this person shooting? He’s killing somebody. Yet this incident commander finds every reason to do nothing.”

Uvalde mayor Don McLaughlin said on Tuesday that the city has “specific legal reasons” that it is not answering questions publicly or releasing records.

“There is no cover-up,” he said in a statement.

Later in the day, the Uvalde City Council voted unanimously against giving Mr Arredondo, who is a council member, a leave of absence from appearing at public meetings.

Relatives of the shooting victims had pleaded with city leaders to instead fire him.

“Please, please, we’re begging you, get this man out of our lives,” said Berlinda Arreola, the grandmother of Amerie Jo Garza.

After the meeting, the mayor pushed back on Mr McCraw’s evidence casting blame on Arredondo, saying that the Department of Public Safety has repeatedly put out false information about the shooting and glossed over the role of its own officers.

He called the Senate hearing a “clown show” and said he heard nothing from Mr McCraw about state troopers’ involvement, even though Mr McLaughlin said their number in the school hallway at points during the slaughter surpassed that of any other law enforcement agency.

Questions about the law enforcement response began days after the massacre.

Mr McCraw said three days afterward that Mr Arredondo made “the wrong decision” when he chose not to storm the classroom for more than 70 minutes, even as trapped fourth graders inside two classrooms were desperately calling 911 for help and anguished parents outside the school begged officers to go inside.

An hour after the shooter first crashed his truck outside the school, Mr Arredondo said, according to Mr McCraw’s timeline: “People are going to ask why we’re taking so long. We’re trying to preserve the rest of the life.”

But Mr McCraw said on Tuesday that the amount of time that elapsed before officers entered the classroom was “intolerable”.

Police haven’t found any red flags in Ramos’ school disciplinary files but learned through interviews that he engaged in cruelty to animals.

“He walked around with a bag of dead cats,” Mr McCraw said.

In the days and weeks after the shooting, authorities gave conflicting and incorrect accounts of what happened.

But Mr McCraw assured politicians: “Everything I’ve testified today is corroborated.”

Mr McCraw said if he could make just one recommendation, it would be for more training.

He also said every state patrol car in Texas should have shields and door-breaching tools.

“I want every trooper to know how to breach and have the tools to do it,” he said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 12 comments
12 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:53 PM

I miss ‘Most Haunted’ with Derek Acorah. When he exorcised the wandering spirit of Dick Turpin by making whinnying noises to simulate Black Bess it was just beautiful

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:02 PM

Didn’t he also say something like ‘I need Dick? Where’s Dick?’

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:08 PM

He did indeed. We need him back on TV, he is the ultimate exorcist, never mind that American wannabe

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Oct 31st 2015, 12:24 PM

That show was brilliant back in day, shame i grew up a little since and it ended.

Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:11 PM

“I’m getting a Mary..Yes Yes definitley a Mary .Mary loves Dick ..Yep Yep ,Mary Definitley loves Dick”..I cried fcuking laughing for an hour when he said that..

Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:12 PM

Sorry i’m quoting Derek Acora from Most Haunted there..haha

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:22 PM

Lol, he was brilliant, ‘I feel I’m back in 1500-something now’…

Mute Grigori Rasputin
    Favourite Grigori Rasputin
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:58 PM

This can’t be the first ever televised exorcism, because exorcisms aren’t real. It’s like advertising the first ever televised unicorn race, and then showing some horses with cardboard tubes stuck onto their heads running around.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:05 PM

Well, exorcisms are real in that they take place in the real world and there are enough gullible people to believe that they are genuine, but no doubt the ‘demons’ won’t show up tonight, they don’t seem to like cameras.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:10 PM

they’ll probably stay in tonight, they have a very busy night tomorrow night!

Mute Hughie Geaney
    Favourite Hughie Geaney
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:42 PM

I’d watch that B-)

Mute damien o brien
    Favourite damien o brien
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:41 PM

my lovely horse…

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:32 PM

Watch the movie deliver us from evil. True story from a detective point of view who now is a demon hunter and exorcist. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2644186/Im-going-head-head-devil-Meet-NYPD-cop-took-20-EXORCISMS-experiences-demon-hunter-inspired-new-horror-film.html

Mute Grigori Rasputin
    Favourite Grigori Rasputin
    Oct 31st 2015, 12:46 AM

No, I won’t. Because it’s complete and utter bollox, and you are a total idiot for believing it.

Oct 31st 2015, 5:36 PM

Channel4 did a live exorcism years ago now using test equipment etc and it blew them away… and it was funny as the outcome wasn’t what Channel4 wanted or expected. They said they would be back but never did or said another word about it.
    http://www.theguardian.com/media/2005/feb/25/broadcasting.channel41

Channel 4 has been trying to rubbish exorcism since this program aired…

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:51 PM

haha. These god-fearing yanks will lap it up.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:00 PM

I doubt the god fearing would watch it..does the station have permission to carry out a rc exorcism? doubt it, so its probably a non religion specific exorcism. I’d still watch it though

Mute Geoff Tracey
    Favourite Geoff Tracey

please please possess say it’s Tubridy were exorcising

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:55 PM

The need tubular bells as the theme tune. Otherwise I’m out.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:04 PM

More bollocks!

Oct 31st 2015, 5:26 PM

O John…

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:21 PM

The demons have told me that the decline to appear unless the get appearance money.

I’ve been appointed to collect the money fir them and to be their exclusive corporeal representative.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:54 PM

Where can I see this? I could do with a laugh.

Oct 31st 2015, 5:27 PM

Your humour must be as bad as mine then? lol.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:54 PM

“Without that confirmation from Coffey and other psychics that something creepy remains there, Tovay said that Destination America wouldn’t go to the house.”

That’s like NASA saying “Without Astrologers we wouldn’t go into space.”

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:18 PM

Superstitious hogwash for gullible and uncritical idiots.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham

Hopefully it’s as successful as the televised witch burning they had last year.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:23 PM

Enda Kenny could do with a good dose of exorcism to be honest.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:27 PM

Ah for Jazus sake will you ever f*ck off! we can’t even have an Halloween ghost story without some idiot mentioning Enda Kenny. Do you think you’re brilliantly original or something?

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:43 PM

Seems like you could do with one yourself there dermot. Relax boy.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:52 PM

I’m totally relaxed, enjoying a lightweight Halloween story and a glass of wine, at least I was until the wag of the year (you) decided to interject with a totally original comment. Enda Kenny, eh? How DID you come up with that one? But hey, you’re obviously a wit of the highest order, so I will defer to your superior intellect and crawl away chastened and chastised.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:02 PM

Don’t be so hard on yourself. Just a bit of Halloween banter. Don’t go too mad on the wine, makes ya very aggressive.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:20 PM

lads do yous know whats haunting…nothing…hey matt..did you know they do this halloween thing in Ireland..and they sold it to America…do you know whats amazing about that matt…nothing ..club classic today matt..rockwell..amazing fact matt..he didnt really sing on the song matt..he was shite..so his daddy brought in michael jackson matt…number one song matt..something else matt..halloween matt..nothing. enjoy

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:24 PM

if you guess the show, i’ll give yous a surprise?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:27 PM

oh btw..i’ve nothing to do with the show..they might sue me..but hey ho..they might laugh and actually give me a prize .

Oct 31st 2015, 5:23 PM

He is processed by the spirit of Merkel.

Mute catkins407
    Favourite catkins407
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:54 PM

I saw a program on discovery and there is something like 56 or maybe 52 catholic priests who work as exorcist in the US today and apparently they are always very busy. There are ways you can tell mental illness from possession and they showed some of the ways. All seemed very believable if it wasn’t a load of nonsense. Still loads still believe in this. Very odd.

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:54 PM

Hardly staged is it considering we are so close to Halloween ??. Doubt if exorcism needed would have made the free ads in June

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:04 PM

If you really want to hear an authentic exocisim (apparently) try this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qr-IdHU3A5M Anneliese Michel Exorcism audio tapes

These are the audio tapes recorded during the exorcism of a 23 year of woman.

The full story is here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anneliese_Michel

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

There’s no such thing as an authentic exorcism. People supposedly possessed are usually mentally ill. So are some of the exorcists, mind you, albeit they might be well intentioned.

Mute kenobi :)
    Favourite kenobi :)

Ended up being the fim called the exorcism of Emily Rose. WEIRD STORY.

Oct 31st 2015, 5:22 PM

Dermot the catholic church uses professional psychologists to evaluate people who believe there are processed, most have some psychological problem but not all and psychologists are present as well at exorcisms and some left the profession after being involved with the exorcism then, very few do stay as an psychologist for exorcisms. It scares the hell out of them, that is why.
    People excuse the paranormal under psychological terms for it saying it is all in their head but a few cases do prove the rule, just because we can’t explain it doesn’t mean we should ignore it or excuse it until when we can find an excuse that makes us feel that when we know what it is, in terms that we can explain what it is? Once we can explain it then we accept it because knowledge gives us control over it or a feeling of control anyway?

Mute Nicko Byrne
    Favourite Nicko Byrne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:05 PM

Ohh the yanks at there scaremongering again

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:56 PM

Americas ‘most haunted’ season. Does anyone know if we can watch it over here live?

Mute Nicko Byrne
    Favourite Nicko Byrne
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:47 PM

Hahahaha is this real or what? Who’s a believer of this? Lmao them yanks are high on pumpkin pie Wahahaha

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:01 PM

to the one person that is red thumbing everyone…we know you are red thumbing….whhhhhaaaaaaaaa!

Mute casey
    Favourite casey
    Oct 31st 2015, 2:49 AM

Are you sure it’s a living person? Or a spirit? Ohhhh ohhhh :) why haven’t they come up with a most haunted for Ireland.

Oct 31st 2015, 5:25 PM

Leap Castle?

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:49 AM

I wish he would exorcise some of the demonic policies that are currently being waged against the Irish people by this Satanic gubbermint!

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:13 PM

Load of balls

Mute Aiden Kellegher
    Favourite Aiden Kellegher
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:12 AM

Derren Brown did a brilliant special on ghost hunters. This clip sums up what exorcisms actually are. https://youtu.be/VfWst2y54Ik

Oct 31st 2015, 5:30 PM

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/tv/showtracker/la-et-st-exorcism-live-destination-america-halloween-discovery-20150730-story.html
    The picture to this story here is funny as the girl (Blair) levitates the 2 priests are staring up the girls dress, but yet it was the 70s when the film was made lol.

Oct 31st 2015, 5:11 PM

That should create a lovely mass procession or haunting then, turn peoples TV’s into processed ouija boards…
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3297686/A-spooky-coincidence-Terrifying-SKULL-COMET-set-near-miss-Earth-Halloween-don-t-panic-310-000-miles-away.html

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:48 PM

Is there a link