You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 5 at 5 5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

EVERY WEEKDAY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you five things you need to know before you head for the door…

1. #TROIKA: It’s been a busy day of press conferences on the Irish financial situation. Ireland has met the targets set under the last bailout review, and there’s been some other developments on the likes of the sale of state assets. The ECB and IMF are divided on whether to allow us burn the bondholders of Irish banks, while there also seems to be some good news on the way for those in mortgage arrears. Here’s a quick digest of what we learned today.

2. #TRAWLER: Divers from the Garda Diving Unit and the Naval service have recovered two bodies in their search for the five fishermen who were lost when the Tit Bonhomme went down last Sunday.

3. #US 2012: And then there were four. Rick Perry has dropped out of the race for the Republican nomination, offering his backing to the former House speaker Newt Gingrich. He drops out just two days before the third primary of the campaign, in South Carolina.

4. #EMIGRATION: Separate to the Troika press conferences, Michael Noonan has come under fire after insisting that for many Irish people, emigration was a “free choice of lifestyle” rather than something forced upon them. Opposition parties have slammed the comments.

5. #DISABILITY: A new study published today has found that the attitudes of Irish people to those with disabilities has become more negative in the last five years. The National Disability Authority interviewed 1,000 people and found that, for example, 24 per cent of adults would object if a child with mental health difficulties was in the same class as their own child.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute James Kennedy
    Favourite James Kennedy
    Mar 13th 2017, 7:22 AM

“Paul Ryan’s grandfather arrived in US in 1851″ (166 years ago) Paul Ryan’s mother must have been very old having him. Leprechaun maths.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Mar 13th 2017, 7:34 AM

Paul Ryan’s grandfather arrived from Kilkenny in 1851. Seems unlikely. Maybe a great grandfather?

Mute Elizabeth Taylor
    Favourite Elizabeth Taylor
    Mar 14th 2017, 10:19 AM

Hello, my name is Elizabeth, i was going through an article and found out about a man called Dr Bomoh. i have been suffering from breakup issues with different guys. i had to contact the spell caster. Steve was on the verge of leaving me for another woman. but i stayed positive and believe i could have him back and make him stay. lo and behold Dr Bomoh helped me. Steve and i are getting married soon. Dr Bomoh is such a nice man, he also helped me stop my cardiac arrest problem. Thanks to him and thanks to God for the gift given to him. If you have any problem whatsoever, contact him on this email: godbomohspirit@gmail.com

Contact him for the following and see the great work of Dr Bomoh:
    (1)If you want your ex back.
    {2}If you want to be very successful
    (3)If you are searching for a job
    (4)You want to be promoted in your office.
    (5)You want women/men to run after you.
    (6)If you want a child.
    (7)You want to be rich.
    (8)you want to get Marriage Spells
    (9)Remove Sickness from your body Spells
    (10)Business spell
    (11)Lottery winning numbers
    (12)Bring Back Lost Love
    and many more…….

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:49 AM

“The executive order bans entry visas from six Muslim-majority countries”. They’re also war-torn countries and contain some seriously dangerous people who want to destroy the US. There’s no ban on many other Muslim-majority companies. Talk about biased journalism.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:53 AM

Oops, *countries, not companies. I’m far from being a Trump supporter but I’d like journalists to be as neutral as possible unless they state otherwise.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:13 AM

Exactly, what also isn’t mentioned is that individuals from said countries have gone on something of a crime spree here in Europe. Some 400,000 crimes recorded in Germany alone since the migrant crisis began that can be attributed to migrants who are primarily from the banned countries.

Mute Mark Thompson
    Favourite Mark Thompson
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:23 AM

@Jason Culligan – source?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:26 AM
    Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:43 AM

@Jason Culligan: Those individuals from those countries,were they vetted the same way that the Americans carry out their vetting? Also..let’s take Iran for an example :What improvements do you believe that the conman can make in the space of a few months?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:49 AM
    Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:51 AM

Also Jason, your own source called the 400,000 a guess . from your source “Migrants committed 208,344 crimes in 2015″

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:44 AM

Every Friday the Iranian Ayatollah yells “Death to America”, and then wants America to roll out the Welcome mat

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 12:06 PM

You understand that he is not every person in Iran right?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 12:57 PM

Typical Kelly-Anne Culligan, post a lie and disappear

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Mar 13th 2017, 1:58 PM

@Rosa Parks: But America already had the ‘welcome mat’ out to the many hundreds of thousands of students,doctors,,engineers & business people..Did you not know about this ?

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:34 AM

The fact Pence is apparently a born again Christian is the most worrying thing I’ve read in some time. There’s a fair chance this guy will be president. Or maybe he just used it as an excuse.

And why was Kenny “widely criticised” for a tweet saying he spoke with Pence and Pence was well aware of the domestic issues in Ireland? Sounds like more hysteria for the sake of it.

Mute Eye_c_u
    Favourite Eye_c_u
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:48 AM

I’d agree there. I know a few of them. They actually believe noahs ark was real that Abraham lived to be hundreds of years old that his wife gave birth at 100. That the world is young. That dinosaurs roamed the earth with us in a flintstones way. Crazy stuff

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:52 AM

You don’t know Pence was a religious fundamentalist?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:58 AM

*didn’t

Mute GameOverMan
    Favourite GameOverMan
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:31 AM

Like a drunk uncle on the dancefloor…here comes Enda to embarrass us all.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:17 AM

“And for the second time in a decade, Ireland has sent a prime minister who has had to quit due to CORRUPTION ALLEGATIONS, but instead gets to go on this fabulous junket…” (Source: RTE, probably)

Mute Martin Fahy
    Favourite Martin Fahy
    Mar 13th 2017, 7:07 AM

Entertain him ?
    Are they doing a Punch and Judy show for him, or a song and dance routine ?

Mute Cranium
    Favourite Cranium
    Mar 13th 2017, 7:48 AM

Tweedle dum and Tweedle dummer.

Mute Alan Brogan
    Favourite Alan Brogan
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:21 AM

Dumb and dumber, dummie.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:07 AM

It’s more like the Benny Hill show

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:03 AM

A very conservative and right wing Taoiseach will enjoy the company of other very conservative right wing US politicians. They will have shared values.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:59 AM

We don’t have any conservative parties all our politicians are centre or hard left….Read the journal on an average day none of the conservative opinions on welfare or emigration or even on the EU would even be mentioned by an Irish politician….Irish media would be horrified at such opinions….

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:26 AM

@John003: very revealing.

Mute Richard Deegan
    Favourite Richard Deegan
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:49 AM

Entertain Enda with a bee in a jar!!!

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Mar 13th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Richard Deegan: three stooges reunited

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:41 PM

Ahh tooora loorra laddeee…a tooorrah looorah lee…

Mute gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Favourite gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:26 AM

Pence is only one impeachment away from the presidency…..and has the same problem as Kenny in that he has to bite his lip regarding The Donald and Trumpian Politics. Do you think Donald might try to hold Kenny’s hand if they come across a flight of stairs, ala Theresa May? Or will the Donald just be pleased that he’s able to hold on to the biggest pussy in Irish pilitics?

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:27 AM

The set is complete. A pr!ck and a pair of bollox.

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Mar 13th 2017, 7:05 AM

Which one were you missing Stephen?

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:42 AM

Nothing like liberal condescension on a Monday morning.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:15 AM

“I’m Irish. No, really. I am. It’s something Irish person has heard said in an American accent at one time or another.”

Better said in an American accent than in a Richard Gere accent.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:19 AM

Or a tom cruise one

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:29 AM

Have to say it’s wonderful to see so many Irish Catholics in the White House after 8 years of Islam.

Mute lez ferguson
    Favourite lez ferguson
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:03 AM

Born again Christian, just as bad as a Islamic fundamentalist .

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:29 AM

@lez ferguson:

Born again Christians don’t burn captives in cages on live cameras because they believe in a slightly different form of Christianity. Islamic fundamentalists, on the other hand, have no issues with such barbarity.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Mar 13th 2017, 9:56 AM

Nah , you’re right but Christians bury babies in septic tanks.Stay classy :)

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:59 AM

Mike Pence tried to fund the torture of US citizens

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:36 AM

Pence is Catholic.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:38 AM

Well done Rosa. He’s a born again Christian which is a form of catholicism which is a branch of Christianity

Mute R2BApp
    Favourite R2BApp
    Mar 13th 2017, 6:22 AM

Puke

Mar 13th 2017, 1:30 PM

I don’t think kenny will get much attention. The irish americans weren’t a huge factor in this administration winning the election. Bit of an annoyance to Trump i’d say meeting kenny, he’s got more important things to be doing, political, business and economics things that kenny simply wouldn’t have a clue about. Same with Ryan and Pence.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:01 AM

ah full blown tour, milking it for all its worth. make the most of it you despicable being. says it all about this lot. how many are gone over?

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Mar 13th 2017, 10:35 AM

The picture of 2016 is of Barack Obama and the caption says Paul Ryan. For goodness sake!

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 13th 2017, 11:41 AM

I have never supported our leaders push for amnesty for the past 30 years. I think there’s a case for those with deep roots in the US especially those who are elderly or infirm. But Irish politicians will get nowhere until they recognise that most Irish Americans these days vote Republican like White voters generally. It’s not wise to have all our eggs in the one basket. We need to build ties with the Republicans too. Otherwise forget about getting stuff passed in Congress that we want. As Speaker , Ryan decides what gets voted on in the House, and McConnell in the Senate.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 13th 2017, 12:05 PM

I’ve never understood why people make broad sweeping statements about people’s voting habits based on race and ancestry

Mute garry murphy
    Favourite garry murphy
    Mar 14th 2017, 3:35 AM

Help him get lost over there, they can keep him

Mute Noreen Byrne
    Favourite Noreen Byrne
    Mar 13th 2017, 8:09 PM

I am so ashamed that An Taoiseach believes it is ok to meet with Mike Pence who believes that gay people can be ‘cured’ with ECT & Paul Ryan who is currently boasting about destroying access to healthcare to low income & poor people.

Mute Elizabeth Taylor
    Favourite Elizabeth Taylor
    Mar 14th 2017, 10:21 AM

Hello, my name is Elizabeth, i was going through an article and found out about a man called Dr Bomoh. i have been suffering from breakup issues with different guys. i had to contact the spell caster. Steve was on the verge of leaving me for another woman. but i stayed positive and believe i could have him back and make him stay. lo and behold Dr Bomoh helped me. Steve and i are getting married soon. Dr Bomoh is such a nice man, he also helped me stop my cardiac arrest problem. Thanks to him and thanks to God for the gift given to him. If you have any problem whatsoever, contact him on this email: godbomohspirit@gmail.com

Contact him for the following and see the great work of Dr Bomoh:
    (1)If you want your ex back.
    {2}If you want to be very successful
    (3)If you are searching for a job
    (4)You want to be promoted in your office.
    (5)You want women/men to run after you.
    (6)If you want a child.
    (7)You want to be rich.
    (8)you want to get Marriage Spells
    (9)Remove Sickness from your body Spells
    (10)Business spell
    (11)Lottery winning numbers
    (12)Bring Back Lost Love
    and many more….