You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Northern Ireland protocol, climate change in the media and a military coup in Sudan

GOOD MORNING.

Here’s all the news that you need to know as you start your day.

Northern Ireland Protocol 

1. This morning Gráinne Ní Aodha examines the impact of the Northern Ireland Protocol. 

“Since the EU published proposals to alter the current Protocol last week, UK junior minister David Frost and European Commission Vice President Maroš Šefčovič have been discussing the proposals in the hope of coming to an agreement.

If they don’t there is a threat that the UK will trigger Article 16, a nuclear option that will cut all post-Brexit trade ties agreed between the UK and EU, and restart a whole new process of trade negotiations from the start, as well as inflaming political tensions.

The EU and the Irish government have accepted that there are elements of the Protocol that aren’t working, but insist that there are businesses and citizens who benefit from it, and that changes, such as the ones published last week, can be made to improve it.

The UK government has taken the position that the Protocol needs to be scrapped in favour of other arrangements, and have reportedly submitted unpublished proposals to the European Commission.”

Climate Change

2. Media coverage of climate change has evolved in recent decades – with more stories usually seen during times of reports, conferences and extreme weather events. 

The Good Information Project looks at how the wide-ranging and never-ending topic broke into the sphere of the general public in the late ’80s. Since then, it has gone through ebbs and flows of coverage from the media.  

“Since the late 1980s, media coverage of climate has fluctuated. It usually increases in volume during extreme weather events, before UN annual climate summits and at the release of reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) – the most recent of which came out in August.

COP26 is taking place in Glasgow from 31 October and, as with previous COPs, there will be heightened interest in the climate crisis. 

The 2009 COP summit in Copenhagen also garnered a huge amount of media attention.

Between then and 2019 – aside from coverage around the 2015 COP in Paris – uS journalist Mark Hertsgaard said there has been relative “media silence” on climate change.”

James Michael Tyler

3. Jennifer Aniston has marked the death of Friends co-star James Michael Tyler by saying the show “would not have been the same” without him.

The 59-year-old died at his home in Los Angeles on Sunday after being diagnosed with prostate cancer, his representatives said.

The star was beloved by millions of fans for his portrayal of Gunther, the quirky manager of coffee shop Central Perk who possessed a head of bleached hair and an unrequited love for Aniston’s Rachel.

Sudan

4. Military forces in Sudan have detained a number of senior government figures, officials said, as leading politicians called on people to take to the streets to counter an apparent military coup.

Sudan’s information ministry said the internet had been cut off and military forces had closed bridges, while the country’s state news channel played patriotic traditional music and scenes of the Nile river.

The Umma Party, the country’s largest political party, described the arrests as an attempted coup, and called on people to take to the streets in resistance.

Covid-19

5. Public health officials yesterday confirmed 1,725 new cases of Covid-19 in Ireland.

As of 8am on Sunday morning, there were 473 Covid-19 patients in hospital, of which 97 are in ICU.

On Saturday, there were 2,427 new cases of Covid-19, 449 people with the virus in hospital and 93 in ICU.

Hospitality 

6. Bars and pubs hosting music performances will not need to introduce a ticketing system under the new industry requirements for nightlife.

People in those venues must remain seated if live music is being performed but there will be no requirement to introducing ticketing, unlike new rules for night clubs and music venues.

In a statement, the Department of Culture said that “traditional bars and pubs that are not operating as night clubs or live music venues can operate as per the hospitality guidelines which are published on the Fáilte Ireland website”.

Healthcare workers

7. The Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) is concerned that the Covid-19 infection rate among healthcare workers is moving in the “wrong direction”.

The union has renewed its call for booster vaccines against the virus to be rolled out to frontline staff.

INMO General Secretary Phil Ní Sheaghdha said the “level of infection rate of healthcare workers is going in the wrong direction” and that it is “especially concerning given the time of year”.

North Korea

8. South Korea’s president has said he will keep striving to promote peace with North Korea through dialogue after Pyongyang raised animosities with a resumption of provocative weapons tests.

While launching a spate of newly developed weapons in recent weeks, North Korea has also slammed Washington and Seoul over what it calls hostility toward the North.

Its actions indicate North Korea wants its rivals to ease economic sanctions against it and accept it as a legitimate nuclear state, experts say.

In his final policy speech at parliament, President Moon Jae-in said he will “make efforts to the end to help a new order for peace and prosperity on the Korean Peninsula be established through dialogue and diplomacy.”

Ed Sheeran

9. The singer has tested positive for Covid-19 less than a week before the release of his forthcoming fifth album.

The chart-topping singer, aged 30, said that he still intends to give his planned interviews and performances from his home.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:30 AM

fair play to the guy

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:21 PM

i don’t fully understand the ramifications of this….

say i own a Social Network based solely in the US (US servers only). Can I now not attempt to signup European users because their data would automatically be going to US servers?

If this is the case then surely it will ensure that EU users lose out on many many new services in the future.

If this isn’t the case, then is there anything stopping Facebook for example to entirely relocate back to the US?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 6th 2015, 1:15 PM

Miguel, as the guys below state, it is more than likely the data for global users will be stored in the EU (hopefully Athlone), it’s just they will have to ensure its not transferred back to the US. Facebook can still link the data and present it to US “friends”, but not persistently store that data. it would not make sense to move to US servers only, as the latency would impact performance that local CDNs remove, and user experience is paramount to social media users.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:37 PM

“In particular, there will be huge pressure on the Irish Data Protection Commissioner’s office when it comes to handling European internet users’ private information.!
    I have just the man for the job, now that the current, frivilous Irish Data protection Commissioner has been outed:
    Retired and availible:
    Patrick Neary.!!

Mute Gary Guilfoyle
    Favourite Gary Guilfoyle
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:27 AM

Irish Government act? make a decision?? Are you having a laugh???

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:30 AM

a committee of government friends will have to be set up to decide on this at a cost of millions

Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Favourite Desmond O'Toole
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:02 AM

This is not an Irish government issue. This rests at EU level now. The Data Protection (?) Commissioner now has to abide by this ruling and enforce the protection of the privacy rights of European citizens. The Irish government has no role in this decision or its enforcement.

Mute McGuckin Annette
    Favourite McGuckin Annette
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:26 AM

The Irish govt has to enact the ruling of the ECJ in to domestic law and serious questions need to be asked about the competency of the DPC who dismissed this case as frivolous and vexatious.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:02 PM

Why do people always say “Questions need to be asked”, but never follow up with an actual question?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:07 PM

Is that a rhetorical question? Not sure if I should answer now.

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:41 AM

The position of the Data Protection Commissioner and her senior staff is untenable at this stage. They’ve been found wanting by Europe’s highest court. The verdict is an indictment of the attitude of the Irish Regulator.

The last Commissioner Billy Hawkes has dodged this bullet, but there ought to be resignations all round.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Oct 6th 2015, 10:30 AM

Some chance, a pay rise and promotion , no one in this country’s civil service get to the top based on ability, it’s all brown nosing or else they pick someone that is expendable when it all goes tits up. it’s so corrupt it would be comical if it wasn’t so serious.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:45 AM

So what you are saying is that you want Europe to have a say in who we appoint to Statutory positions in Ireland

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:44 PM

No, what I’m saying is that I want a Regulator to behave like a Regulator. The Court criticised the DPC for abdicating on their legal responsibilities, and that’s a serious issue.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 6th 2015, 2:50 PM

Agreed 100% Ėamonn
    A regulator that looks like a joke against the best of the worlds tech companies is a national embarrassment.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:42 PM

” there ought to be resignations all round.”
    Are you kidding.?
    This is Ireland.
    what planet do you live on Eamonn Mac Eochaidh.?

Mute Alan Bailey
    Favourite Alan Bailey
    Oct 6th 2015, 10:23 AM

Has ramifications for all cloud-based service providers who have been operating under safe harbour arrangements and who now possibly need to ensure all European citizen data stays in Europe. Perhaps a good time to invest in data-centre property sites..

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:08 AM

Does it prohibit US staff for Google or Facebook accessing European customers data

Mute Alan Bailey
    Favourite Alan Bailey
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:15 AM

I assume it does, as the access is from outside the EU

Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Oct 6th 2015, 1:07 PM

No, I shouldn’t think so. The issue is with the storage of data and not legitimate access to it. An employee of FB/twitter/Amazon, etc can access a customer’s data from outside the EU if there is a bona fide reason for doing so, e.g. fault or complaint resolution. What they may not do is transfer that data to a storage facility outside of the EU with the risk that it may be insufficiently protected from unsanctioned access by police or security services.

Mute Alan Bailey
    Favourite Alan Bailey
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:07 PM

Good clarification Desmond. The key thing about such access is that the employee of the US company does not download or store data of an EU citizen to a local server or device – how that may be controlled is a different matter

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:41 PM

It’s not the US based Google or Facebook they are worried about, it is the US Intelligence Agencies tapping into your phone and private life as they wish. You can thank Edward Snowden from uncovering this scam.

Mute David Emmanuel
    Favourite David Emmanuel
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:37 AM

“YAY” indeed. This is fantastic news.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:34 AM

Irish Data Protection Commissioner not fit for purpose.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:45 AM

this could have implications for Facebook’s building of a data centre in the Midlands, but privacy trumps profit every time.

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:50 AM

On the contrary, it makes Facebook’s need to construct additional data centres located within the European Union more pressing than ever.

Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Oct 6th 2015, 10:09 AM

It should but the Irish govern have always bent over backwards and had no respect for the privacy of its citizens in matters like this. The location of the Facebook building won’t change the courts ruling so it should still go ahead.

Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:11 AM

It will have no impact on the planned data centre, in fact it will require even greater investment in data centres for all cloud based and social media companies in the EU. In essence, the private data of EU citizens (and businesses) cannot now be held outside of the EU because the legislation that allows for that (the so-called Safe Harbour arrangements) have been found to be totally inadequate. This is a good day for the privacy rights of EU citizens and a good day for the economy. It’s not very often we get to say that.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:46 PM

Irish data protection commissioner is unable to do the job at present. she hasn’t got a clue,saying this case was frivolous. god help us.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Oct 6th 2015, 1:05 PM

Her predessor ruled could not put online video or pictures. of people breaking into your house It was against their privacy rights

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Oct 6th 2015, 9:43 AM

Almost four years the EC proposed a Directive on protection of EU citizens data by foreign companies, this would have had the effect of protecting ‘data’ of persons, not simply ‘citizens’ located in the EU area.
    Where is this legislation today, if introduced, it would provide some protection to their residents on the grounds under which this matter was lodged.
    In the alternative, why did a european come to Ireland to lodge a case against companies from thenUS but located here?

Mute Denis O'Brien
    Favourite Denis O'Brien
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:30 AM

Their EU headquaters in Europe is based here, from what i gathered from the article he came over because they where dealing with it EU wide through the offices here

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Oct 6th 2015, 5:20 PM

Precisely DOB, what damage might this do our economy, FB and Google pay little tax here but do create employment for Irish people, who do pay taxes.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:00 PM

FB saw this coming a mile off. there’s no way in hell Safe Harbor can live up to it’s billing, given what we know now. it’s self-certified, for god’s sake.

good news for all things date-centre-y in the EU. and our privacy, obviously.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/technology/facebook-plan-for-meath-data-centre-very-encouraging-1.2249845

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:33 PM

Just to be doublely clear… If you are reading this and you are in the NSA or CIA then I bear no ill will toward the U.S. and I think you’re a great bunch of lads. I am merely debating a point with another person. I hope to pass through your border controls without issue in the future as I have friends and family living there.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:36 PM

The Irish Data Protection Commissioner should be dismantled, it is an embarrassment.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:38 PM

Dismantle the role/office, not the person, of course :-D

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:23 AM

I would love to know why Google would not let me into any sites…until I signed their privacy agreement!! I was ( forced into signing, I feel! . Then I logged in again later, and they wanted me to sign again.. so to avail of websjfes, I had fo sign. Have I a case against thsm?

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:37 AM

Don’t use Google then, try alta vista instead

Mute Continent Simian
    Favourite Continent Simian
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:37 AM

Not unless they also forced you to use those sites…

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:39 AM
    Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Favourite Rock Stoneballs
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:03 PM

Absolutely, bring them to court there. open and shut.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan

This is a good thing

Mute Phil Callanan
    Favourite Phil Callanan
    Oct 6th 2015, 1:45 PM

It’s every company that transfers personally identifiable information from the EU to the US. Not just US companies, and certainly not just US Tech companies. Also, it doesn’t necessarily mean that EU based data centres are required. At a minimum, Binding Corporate Rules (BCR’s) for data transfer need to be in place. A lot of legal and privacy consultants will make a lot of money in the short term.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:36 AM

Edward Snowdon is a traitor, plain and simple

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:41 AM

Well Snowdon is stuck in a Moscow bedsitter for the rest of his life Poor man

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:43 AM

He should be in a US Federal prison.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Oct 6th 2015, 11:57 AM

a traitor to whom? the US govt, or the US people/constitution?
    very important difference.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:05 PM

He betrayed his country, he is a traitor.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:12 PM

country and government are not the same. sure look at this little sh!thole – perfect example.

he did not betray his country.

you managed to set up a Twitter account – surely you have the capacity to understand this.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:18 PM

“Country and government are not the same thing”, OMG is that really true, if only I had a dictionary or something similar.

Lets look at the dictionary definition of traitor shall we,

a person who betrays a friend, country, principle, etc

Yep I think that qualifies, but I’m not an expert, how about we put him on trial and let a jury of his peers decide.

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:21 PM

Care to Explain how he betrayed America?

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:23 PM

He sign a contract with the CIA, took their money and then broke his word.

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:28 PM

So he betrayed the CIA? That’s not America. The declaration of independence says “That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.” Edward Snowden shows more regard for the true America rather than what it has become. A lot of the practices of the NSA, the CIA, Homeland Security are more of a betrayal to the American people than Snowden ever will be.

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Oct 6th 2015, 12:30 PM

Sorry to be clear, the data harvesting took place without the “governed” being aware. Snowden was bringing the facts to the public knowledge because the government whose power should come from the people was basically doing what the hell it wanted without regard for due process.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?

“put him on trial and let a jury of his peers decide.”

under the Espionage Act, he’s not allowed defend himself. I’d avoid that too.

Judges have ruled evidence of showing intent to inform the public, benefits of the leaks, and lack of damage to national security is inadmissible, so there’s that too.

https://www.techdirt.com/articles/20140106/11563925775/sen-schumer-is-completely-wrong-snowden-would-be-barred-arguing-his-case-trial.shtml

but you stick to your mantras.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 6th 2015, 1:34 PM

All of this is irrelevant unless he presents himself back in the US, none of you have convinced me he’s no a traitor.

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:06 PM

What about the traitorous actions of the u.s.? Spying on the entire.world. no mention of that. America is a war mongering arms dealing shower of murders who think nothing of fabricating evidence to attack Iraq … which is an illegal.2at so get down of ur high horse. Americas veil well and truly slipped and we see them.for what they are. Corporate capitalism … money money money .. Snowden is a hero

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:32 PM

convincing you wasn’t on my to-do list.

dispelling your bullsh!t was. and we’ve done that.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 6th 2015, 2:46 PM

Helen Dixon should resign.

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Favourite Rock Stoneballs
    Oct 6th 2015, 3:05 PM

“European and US officials have already been trying to nut out a new transatlantic data transfer deal to replace the safe harbour regime, but no agreement has been struck.”

Ah, so in actual fact this will be a very short lived victory.