You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Nine things to know this morning…

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine things you need to know as you start your day.

1. #RECEIPTS: The government expects tax receipts to come in at €34.175bn by the end of this year, according to its White Paper on Receipts and Expenditure. That’s just under the €34.9bn target laid down for 2011. The figures on based on current tax rates and a revised post-Budget document will be released next week.

2. #OCCUPY NAAS: Several Maynooth students are continuing their occupation of the Naas constituency office of Fine Gael TD Anthony Lawlor this morning. The students entered the offices yesterday afternoon as part of a protest against fee increases and cuts to third-level grants.

3. #IRAN: The Iranian diplomats expelled by Britain this week have returned home, according to Iran’s FARS news agency.

4. #CAIN: One of several candidates pushing for the Republican Party’s nomination for the US presidential election is expected to issue a statement today on whether he will continue his campaign. Herman Cain has been accused of sexual harassment and of having an affair, all of which he denies.

5. #HYPNOSIS: A woman in the US is suing a treatment centre for allegedly implanting horrific memories in her mind during hypnosis sessions throughout her treatment for anorexia. Lisa Nasseff, 31, claims therapists at the St Louis facility led her to believe she had been involved in Satanic rituals and had been sexually abused.

6. #EURO: Former president of the European Commission and one of the architects of the euro Jacques Delors has told the Telegraph that the single currency was flawed from the start. He added that the flaw wasn’t so much in the planning of the euro, as in its execution.

7. #MASS: Lay women have started to lead Catholic congregations at ceremonies in a west Dublin parish over a shortage of priests to cover the services, according to the Examiner and RTÉ’s Would You Believe.

8. #SUNDANCE: The Irish comedy-horror film Grabbers has been selected for the prestigious Sundance film festival, which draws over 50,000 people each year.

9. #CRANK CALLS: Police in Illinois are complaining of a jump in crank calls due to people accidentally dialling 911 on their mobile phones – with their bottom. CBS reports that officials say the vast majority of the calls they get from mobile phones are “butt dials”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Cian O'Callaghan
    Favourite Cian O'Callaghan
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:49 PM

I think Stagg is referring to an era that is long gone. Having a pint at lunch and returning to work after disappeared as common practice somewhere back in the last century

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:43 PM

The only 2 professions I can think of off hand whereby it’s ok to drink on the job are politics in Ireland, and musicians. Musicians aren’t running the country.

Nov 20th 2013, 7:19 PM

It’s convenient for the lads to forget that alcohol is a drug just like any other. Alcohol affects your judgement even after one pint. What Stagg is basically saying is that it’s OK for the leaders of the country to be under the influence of drugs when making critical decisions about our nation. And before anyone gets all shirty, yes, alcohol is a drug.

It actually beggars belief.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Red_Stag1
    Favourite Red_Stag1
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:25 PM

Still quiet common in England in business. I think it is an awful carry on

Mute d'usachtacht
    Favourite d'usachtacht
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:39 PM

So true Cian. I have been working for over 20 years and in that time it has never been ok to go for a drink at lunchtime. If you want a drink then leave until after you are working and not if you intend to return to the office/ workplace. Emmet Stagg is just confirming his disconnect to modern Ireland.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:37 PM

I suppose these are the same people who are shocked at Rob Ford

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:26 PM

The thing is, Rob Ford has saved millions for Toronto…. People love him… Put a regular politician in his place, spending will balloon, and six figure salary jobs will be made for cronies, called housing, while homelessness and waiting lists will increase, then after that, they will vote for an increase in salary… Show me an honest politician…. They all deserve to be locked in that house at the beginning of Braveheart….

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:29 PM

Maybe they should be!

Mute Dafuq
    Favourite Dafuq
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:00 AM

You left out judges !

Mute Roseann Gallagher
    Favourite Roseann Gallagher
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:35 AM

Totally agree with you Cian

Mute Anna Clarke
    Favourite Anna Clarke
    Nov 21st 2013, 2:32 AM

I agree alcohol is a drug and all my working life I never heard it was ok to drink at work.By the same means if your a driver can you drink at work that would be NO then( drink kills people just look at our country it’s almost dead is that because most votes are made under the Influence CLOSE THE BAR and open a café to eat and get soft drinks.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Nov 21st 2013, 3:28 AM

Funny Luke but business lunches will frequently include a glass or two of wine and it’s interesting to not that I’ve never seen a colleague smashed during the day !

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Nov 21st 2013, 3:34 AM

Anna
    Our writing gives every indication that you were under the influence wile writing.
    First of all pet there is nothing wrong with drinking and driving during a lunch break as long as you honour the legal limits which would suggest a pretty dry occasion!

Mute Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Favourite Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:00 AM

Might be better off if they were.

Mute Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Favourite Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:05 AM

Healthy food and non alcoholic drinks.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:36 AM

Dafuq@ some of them have fallen asleep on the bench and are untouchable what a corrupt country

Mute Koke Pele
    Favourite Koke Pele
    Nov 22nd 2013, 2:43 PM

Neither are politicians I am afraid Luke…

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:59 PM

Pints at lunchtime make you sleepy. Perfect prep for afternoon in the Dail I suppose

Mute Maurice Danaher
    Favourite Maurice Danaher
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:29 PM

ZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZ

Mute John Fitzgerald
    Favourite John Fitzgerald
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:42 AM

STAGG is this B4 or after your visit to the PARK

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Nov 21st 2013, 3:26 AM

John
    You didn’t need alcohol before you behaved in a boorish and ignorant manner but would prefer to think that others do and did! Sometime you should learn the style of behaviour as acquired by gentlemen and see if you could adapt. Don’t worry as it wont happen….nothing will change because if your genetic make up.
    Sad isn’t it !

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 21st 2013, 5:37 AM

Maybe the TD’s didn’t drink enough. Judging my their performance over the last 10 or so years we might be better of if they had been asleep.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 21st 2013, 5:38 AM

By even. Me and my fat fingers again.

Mute Paula Mcilwrath
    Favourite Paula Mcilwrath
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:53 PM

Adams is right. Anyone else caught Drinking on the job would be sacked. Some companies insist on drink and Drug testing.!

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:48 PM

Lunchtime in London, all professions including those at Westminster will be at the pub. One of the busiest times.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:49 PM

Me hole. We have a couple every Friday lunchtime. No harm no foul. Don’t confuse drinking with being drunk.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Brid Macdermott
    Favourite Brid Macdermott
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:50 PM

So eloquently put…

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:02 PM

Exactly. Only difference with these guys is that they’re being paid, by the tax payers, to run our country. Amateurs and criminals, every last one of them.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:10 PM

I’m no fan, but calling them criminals infers they have broken the law; the vast majority in fairness probably haven’t.
    If it doesn’t interfere with the quality of work, it’s a non issue.

Mute Robert Zombies
    Favourite Robert Zombies
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:15 PM

London is great for lunchtime pints. Absolutely everyone who likes a pint will be in the pub and its not frowned upon at all.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:19 PM

@Padraig – good point though when I said criminals I meant for screwing the Irish people over. I’ve said it before I’ll say it again, it really doesn’t matter what party is in power, they’re all as bad as each other. They’re happy with their 6 figure salaries and sure why wouldn’t they be. They can have a few pints and go to work. Fair play to them.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:06 PM

If a gas fitter,electrician came to work on your house with a smell of drink off them , would you allow them in ?.
    Or how about a doctor , dentist etc….
    These people are making decisions that affect peoples lives.
    Get rid of it now.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:08 PM

It sure aint Philly, you got a lot to learn before you are up to our standards. And the odd beer or 2 on a lunch break is no harm. You just have to learn how to pace yourselves and not think of getting bladdered everytime you go to a pub.

Mute Patrick Gallagher
    Favourite Patrick Gallagher
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:13 PM

Mark, take down that ridiculous flag combination.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:49 PM

Its a long English tradition. I have seen situations where it was good and bad. But that’s irrelevant to this discussion and specifically our parliament.

Tom Barry was a disgrace on many levels. However the Anglo debacle really annoys me. Who really understood what they were voting for? I look forward to ask my TD when he calls to my door m

Mute Sylvia O'Mahony
    Favourite Sylvia O'Mahony
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:39 AM

True true

Mute Mairead Nolan
    Favourite Mairead Nolan
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:48 AM

I don’t think deputy stagg would stay sitting in his chair too long if a dentist came in to work on him after a boozy lunch….

Mute Irishtoxin
    Favourite Irishtoxin
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:11 AM

Well if you think thats okay go and live there .If your working here in Ireland you DO NOT drink and go back to work.
    Sacked on the spot!! Rightly so.

Mute Irishtoxin
    Favourite Irishtoxin
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:16 AM

Spot on

Mute Nosey Nelly
    Favourite Nosey Nelly
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:36 AM

Well said Irishtoxin.
    Health and safety regulations 2007 section 13 (I think) states you can not be on the business premisses under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Plus you are not covered by insurance.
    Jesus what sort of muppets have we got running this place!!
    Sack them all now!

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:40 PM

i wonder what’s it’s like in there stoned!! nod nod wink wink ;)

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:48 PM

And I get to go to court for smoking a joint in my own home away from any minors?!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:49 PM

Incredible hypocrisy being shown by our government

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:41 PM

Did you get caught, or are you just giving a potential example?

Mute SAFEASHOUSES
    Favourite SAFEASHOUSES
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:58 PM

17 admitted drinking and the rest are lying about it.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:38 PM

I wasn’t caught seen as I’ve never been quiet about this issues but they did come into my home. I never wanted to be a cost to the state but it wasn’t my decision.

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:31 PM

Kevin Kevin, it was your decision. You know pot is illegal. It’s like saying I put my hand in the fire and it got burned but it’s the fire’s fault.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:40 PM

When putting your hand in fire becomes a form of protest let me know

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:15 PM

And politicians know that even one drink impairs decision making. But they still choose to do it. They should be sacked on the spot.

Mute Sarah Tyrrell
    Favourite Sarah Tyrrell
    Nov 21st 2013, 4:27 AM

We’ll let ye away with it ‘cos you’re cute Kev ; )

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:39 PM

and they won’t even consider easing the law on cannabis either! if this was certain other countries the people would have risen from their fcuking knees long ago and thought these mo-fo’s a lesson they’d never forget!

Mute Beibhinn
    Favourite Beibhinn
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:01 PM

I’m a citizen, and I have a problem with it.

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:54 PM

17 TD’s…basically the whole chamber so whenever I see it on the news.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:02 PM

“If a TD has a pint or two I don’t think that’s a problem for me and I don’t think it’s a problem for the citizens of the country either,” – Actually, I do have a problem with anyone going into work under the influence of alcohol, especially politicians making decisions that effect people’s lives.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:13 PM

If you “have a pint or two ” before going into the Dail its a problem for me Emmet Stagg and I believe its a problem for the vast majority of citizen’s of this country. Don’t you think politicians have a bad enough image ( not helped by their neanderthal behaviour during the marijuana legislation debate and vote) without coming out with stupid remarks like that ? Or are you that divorced from the reality of what the citizens of the country really think about you all ?

Mute Irishtoxin
    Favourite Irishtoxin
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:18 AM

Your right Stagg is stuck in the 80s

Mute Grace O'Neill
    Favourite Grace O'Neill
    Nov 21st 2013, 2:40 AM

Two pints can be equal to anything in excess of 4 units of alcohol, which can with the lowering of the drink driving limit – along with other factors – can put drivers over the legal prescribed concentration of alcohol.

It’s absolute folly that there should be a bar in the Dáil in the first place (especially one that is not open to the public, which is the only reason I think would justify it), where people are supposed to be making life changing decisions for millions of people when it is a well known, scientifically proven fact that alcohol inhibits decision making.

Mute sheelagh quinn
    Favourite sheelagh quinn
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:15 PM

Disgraceful , there were people outside the dail that night with candles .I saw it on the tv . The seriousness of that night was very real to them . Pan camera to a group of half locked hornballs inside . Time & a place for it . Not in your job as a public servant , not with my f&king taxes .

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers

This would be hilarious if it wasn’t so serious

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:56 PM

There are also plenty of jobs where you’d get sacked for coming in drunk and none of them involve governing a country

Mute Dolores Burke
    Favourite Dolores Burke
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:21 AM

Yep I’m trying to imagine how it would be ok for me to stand up in front of 30 teenagers in my classroom after “a pint or two” at lunchtime, although that’s not anywhere near the impossibility of trying to imagine having a bar on school premises…
    What planet is he living on if he thinks this is acceptable?!

Mute Ciara Corcoran
    Favourite Ciara Corcoran
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:01 PM

The difference between people in ‘normal jobs’ having a pint at lunch & people in the government having a pint at work is that the latter are the ones running the country and making vital decisions! Absolute disgrace that there should be a bar in the Dail in the first place!

Mute Claire McSweeney
    Favourite Claire McSweeney
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:29 PM

But do ‘normal people’ have pints at lunch? I don’t know anyone who does. Come to think of it I don’t know anyone with time for lunch!

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:32 PM

They used to on Coronation Street I remember!

Mute Grace Curran
    Favourite Grace Curran
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:58 PM

Any time we’ve gone to the pub for a work lunch its usually cos someone’s leaving and no one has ever attempted to order an alcoholic drink. It wouldn’t be tolerated.

Mute Red_Stag1
    Favourite Red_Stag1
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:29 PM

A certain gentleman from FF who is busy with a court case at the moment, where he is the star attraction was heard screaming CU*7 etc at a politician who is speaking. He didn’t just have 1 iced tea that evening. might have been 2.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:32 PM

Boss once took my colleague and my self out for a Christmas lunch, the two of us got pissed, on our return he finished our work, and paid for taxis to collect our wives so they could drive us and our cars home. A boss in a million.

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:09 PM

Go to any eatery – pub or hotel – where food is supplied at lunchtime and nobody drinks alcohol. If you went into work with a smell of drink on you you would be out the door. Close the bars in Leinster House altogether. Drink has no place in the workplace. There are plenty of pubs and hotels in the vicinity of Leinster House to entertain their friends.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray

I worked in the bar trade for a few years and it was extremely uncommon to see workers drinking during the day. People would come in for food and a pint of milk/mineral/coffee. Only maybe on christmas eve would you see retail workers having a sly two pints on break. There are health and safety issues involved for employers and insurance will not cover a drunken employee having a work accident. Anybody who comes in with a smell of drink is shown the door in anyplace I ever worked.

Mute Spud Byrne
    Favourite Spud Byrne
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:39 PM

““In quite a lot of jobs that happens and people go to pubs and people have a pint and a sandwich for their lunch,” he said.”

I can think of exactly 0 jobs where that would be acceptable. Stagg is talking absolute sh*te here.

Mute Grace O'Neill
    Favourite Grace O'Neill
    Nov 21st 2013, 2:50 AM

Living in a fantasy world, I imagine that Stagg is one of these ‘old schoolers’ that believes it’s also fine to have a few pints and drive home on the back roads cos ‘sure there’ll be no traffic’. Alcohol inhibits cognitive function, decision making and reduces reaction times – perfect so for when you’re going in to debate on serious issues for generations to come. You’d have to wonder who’s job it is to monitor how much people are drinking and if anybody has ever had to be ‘cut off’, this country is actually unbelievable sometimes..

Mute Carr Barnes
    Favourite Carr Barnes
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:22 PM

I’m absolutely disgusted by his perception that the citizens of this country regularly drink during working hours and would have no problem with the fact that he regularly drinks during/immediately before working hours. Unfortunately he does not have a Twitter account where I can inform him publicly that this particular citizen DOES have a problem so it seems an email will have to suffice – although I understand he believes citizens shouldn’t be able to email TDs either.

Mute Ernie Looney
    Favourite Ernie Looney
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:08 PM

It’s against the law to drive after two pints it should be against the law to run a country. The dail bar should be closed permanently

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law

And what say you about the quick snort of coke in the Jax then. Drink is good. Drugs is bad.

Mute John Hegarty
    Favourite John Hegarty
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:04 PM

alcohol is a drug. that doesn’t make sense.

Mute Vicky Winters
    Favourite Vicky Winters
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:09 AM

eh I think a sense of humour might be required now and again john..this being one of the ‘now’ times!! lmao

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:52 AM

The only difference that I can see, is that one drug is liquid and another is powdered.

Mute Mary Doyle
    Favourite Mary Doyle
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:14 PM

Tis no wonder the country is in a mess, drinking during working hours should not be allowed, if it happened in a Private company one would be sacked, but not these clowns.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:42 PM

Strangely enough having a beer with lunch in countries that work, Germany, Sweden, Finland et al is considered perfectly acceptable. So your point is?

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:16 PM

@Alan the point is we aint these other countries i dont care what they do its what goes on here that i care about they shouldnt be drinkin its as simple as that

Mute Karl Cranny
    Favourite Karl Cranny
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:38 PM

Sorry to piss on your bonfire, but not acceptable in Germany anymore for some time now.

Mute Yusuf Jamal
    Favourite Yusuf Jamal
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:56 PM

Shouldn’t they be using all of their brainpower whole deciding laws for a county? Alcohol clouds your mind and inhibits thinking.

Mute Mandy Mcleod
    Favourite Mandy Mcleod
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:55 PM

What a joke and there’s 1 in 5 starved kids goin to school and bed hungry what feckin year are we in the 80 or 90

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

More ridiculous hyperbole. Starving kids? Am I living in Ethiopia in 1984? Would you get a grip.

Mute Eoin Dineen
    Favourite Eoin Dineen
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:27 PM

Sadly, it’s true: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/food-poverty-on-the-rise-in-ireland-1.1601295 Also with St Vincent de Paul spending €10 million extra so far this year compared to last year it’s clear there’s something seriously wrong.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:56 PM

I don’t se the word “starved” in that article at all. Nor do I see the figure “1 in 5″. Nor is there a link to any survey done by Healthy Food For All.

What I read was an article about what people eat, not how much.

As I said, ridiculous hyperbole by the original poster.

Mute Eoin Dineen
    Favourite Eoin Dineen
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:37 PM

From that article: ”The conference also heard that one in five Irish children goes to bed or school hungry because there is not enough food in the house.” If you’re making a distinction between being ”hungry” and being ”starved” you’re just getting into semantics.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:01 PM

and these people get into a car and drive home without been stopped and breathalysed… and no way are they having just one pint.Then they go on tv and the radio telling us we have an alcohol societal problem and minimum pricing should be introduced and sports sponsorship should end…fking hypocrites

Mute John Kinsella
    Favourite John Kinsella
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:25 PM

I’m an Irish person aged 81 and do not drink pints at the rate Stagg says he does. I do not drink pints at all. So speak for your own ignorant self Emmet. You are as clued in as a brick wall.

Mute Francis Gorman
    Favourite Francis Gorman

I still don’t understand why you would admit this on tv. Grand you take a pint and you still get away with it don’t go tell everyone ya dope.

Mute pg
    Favourite pg
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:32 PM

Stagg watches a lot of corrie.as that’s the only place where you see a pint being drunk with their hotpot !

Mute BehanR
    Favourite BehanR
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:12 PM

The irony hurts my insides.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:44 PM

Pints at work,absolutely priceless.these people are so out of touch with reality it beggars belief.i cant think of one employer who would tolerate his employee’s having a couple of pints while out on lunch. This is going to be seen all over the world and then we wonder why the world views us as the drunken irish.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:05 PM

Emmet should have a long walk in the phoenix park instead of a boozy lunch. Then again……….

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:11 PM

I see what you did there :)

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:35 PM

So do I! :)

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:53 AM

Good one ciaran.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Favourite Robert James Behan
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:42 PM

I work in a safetly critical field so drinking at lunch time would probably get me the sack but I would think in most jobs it is at least frowned apon to drink on the job.

Surely TDs who legislate for this country should not be boozing on the job?

I suppose its very much a case of one set of rules for the Dail and another set for the rest of us.

Maybe next time Obama comes to visit Enda can bring him around Dublin for a boozy lunch….

#Shambles

Mute Mitch Cumstein
    Favourite Mitch Cumstein
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:55 PM

People are saying imagine if a Garda or a Teacher was drinking at lunchtime. Actually these people have way more important jobs than Emmet Stagg. Anyone can be a yes man. You can be a yes man after a rock shandy or 10 pints. As for running the country? The likes of him aren’t running anything.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:01 AM

Mitch, you had one too many N’s in running. What they are doing is runing

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:04 AM

Mitch .you misspelt running it is spelt ruining. Oh that’s a different word altogether, but that’s what they are doing

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:07 AM

Just red thumbed my self for bad spelling and hitting submit before reading through.

Mute Jenster
    Favourite Jenster
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:26 PM

I remember when I started my job 15 yrs ago (private sector). Part of my long winded contract was a piece about not drinking during working hours. And rightfully so. I don’t believe there’s any place for alcohol while working ESP if your work affects your fellow citizens!

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:55 PM

I think this is completely inappropriate. I would never drink before going to work or during my working day, and I would expect the leaders of the country to behave the same way.

Mute EndaMeKnob
    Favourite EndaMeKnob
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:17 PM

You have very high expectations. What d’ya think you were voting for, change or something?

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:28 PM

Couldn’t tell you Enda, I’ve never yet gotten the government I actually voted for!

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:11 AM

Jane , we all get the government we voted for. Not necessary the government we wanted

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:30 PM

Only 17 admitted it!?!

Mute Red_Stag1
    Favourite Red_Stag1
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:32 PM

FG, FF and Lab. gave Adams more hassle and abuse in Leinster house in the 2 weeks after he complained about drunken backbench politicians than they did over the whole disappeared show.

They could care less about that but just don’t come in here trying to reform or upset the cozy little thing that they have going on.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:35 PM

The problem Mr. Stagg is that a pint or two can lead one down a very slippery slope…one minute your having a few quiet ones in the Dail Bar and the next your off down the Phoenix Park looking for a casual relationship with a rent boy

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 21st 2013, 5:34 AM

And the next, your being bummed in the park.

Mute Jose Verandah
    Favourite Jose Verandah
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:36 PM

It doesn’t matter if the Irish government spends its days and nights staggering around the chamber in an alcoholic stupour. It has no real executive power. It’s a Vichy Government. All important decisions were made for it long ago by the Troika. Its function is merely to act as a rubber-stamp mechanism for the absentee overlords. Let them drink themselves into oblivion, marking the days until they scurry out of Leinster House with their bloated pensions, dragging their bloated overfed carcasses into a golden retirement where they can spend the rest of their days stuffing their faces until their blackened hearts explode. Vermin.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:44 PM

Why, oh why, can I only like this once?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:14 PM

“I don’t think it’s a problem for the citizens of the country either,” he said.”

Labour once again show they haven’t a clue what is and isn’t a problem for the citizens of the country!

Mute Big bad bull
    Favourite Big bad bull
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:15 PM

I guessed that a long time ago. Sure the spend the day shouting back and over at one another, bringing up what happened in the past. They’d remind ya of a gang of young ones outside supermacs at 3 in the morning

Mute niamh fitzpatrick
    Favourite niamh fitzpatrick
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:43 PM

Thats ridiculous..im a nurse..would anyone want to be cared for by me if i had drink taken?! Hardly…

Mute Grace O'Neill
    Favourite Grace O'Neill
    Nov 21st 2013, 3:02 AM

Can only imagine how installing a bar into a hospital would go down..

Mute thomas the tank
    Favourite thomas the tank
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:48 PM

Imagine Ming walked into the dail after a crafty bifter at lunch,be shot

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:05 PM

That Emmett Stagg is away with the fairies.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:09 AM

Isn’t he’d as “fairy”

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:54 PM

There having a pint and then there’s that disgraceful carry on that went on not so long ago that made us an embarrasement..

Mute first_timer
    Favourite first_timer
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:31 PM

I believe in Live and let live but just saw stagg on program and TBH my blood boiled… Where does he get the idea “most Irish” have a liquid lunch .. And it’s ok have a pint at lunch … If I drink at work I get sacked.. No arguement ! What a complete and utter arse, I am disgusted he was given airtime to the viewing “world” with that attitude … If he thinks that way … Guaranteed others there think the same , close the bloody bar, if they are that bad for a pint.. They have a problem and to think rational decisions can be made by someone whose mind is on a couple of pints…. For For sake, no wonder this country is so F’d up.. There’s a time and place for everything …. wise up Emmet or get to john of gods !

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:05 PM

Drinking on the job is a sackable offence anywhere else! One pint can effect driving ability so why would they think it’s ok to drink and run the country?!

Mute Daniel Ryan
    Favourite Daniel Ryan
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:49 PM

Unreal! Anyone caught drinking on a job would be fired.

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:55 PM

So what, it’s not like TDs actually do anything important. They simply follow the party whip and do as instructed. Time to abolish the Dail.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:28 PM

Its the oireachtas not the dail. The dail has never existed. It can only sit under a 32county Ireland those ars holes are imposters.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:29 PM

They should be tested weekly for illegal drugs , and alcohol, as basically they are driving the Country-over a cliff!

Mute dav O
    Favourite dav O
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:27 PM

Hypocrites!!!

Mute first_timer
    Favourite first_timer
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:44 PM

The law maker can be under the influence making a law, but a law enforcer cannot??? Which way would you rather have it???

Mute first_timer
    Favourite first_timer
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:35 PM

If drinking didn’t impair judgement then there wouldn’t penalty points for drink driving…. To confirm its DRINK driving not drunk driving … Go figure Emmet

Mute Stephen Lawlor
    Favourite Stephen Lawlor
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:48 PM

Anyone try The Ginger Man pub…every Tuesday night place is full of TDs…even our Exalted leader enjoys a beverage

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:05 PM

No, but then again, I’m a little fussy about the company I keep.

Mute EndaMeKnob
    Favourite EndaMeKnob

The more the merrier, you can even buy me a pint for making you pay the brunt of Europe’s debt. I just keep winning. It’s a smith wicks with a Guinness head debt slave minions and don’t forget it.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:48 PM

Must pop in with a crutch.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:24 PM

Maybe oireachtas report should shoot there instead.

Mute irishcrisis
    Favourite irishcrisis
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:22 AM

Hello , hi hello 999 I need your help my neighbours house is on fire ” ok sir if you stay on the line with me, I’ll just get the lads out of the fire station bar, and they’ll be with you shorty” …. Said no one ever !!! A drink before a meeting is wrong , a drink before a dail meeting is fooked, would you take it from a fireman, doctor, nurse, etc… Why is this even been spoke off FFS!!!!!!

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:49 PM

Only 17? …

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:42 PM

#Ireland …..Drunk in Charge!

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:53 PM

Can’t believe whip Stagg would even say that, does he even realise how thick/how much of a hypocrit he is? Legalised Mafia strikes again.

Mute Vicky Winters
    Favourite Vicky Winters
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:36 PM

If it’s illegal to drive a car on 1 pint how in gods name is it ok to run a country on a few scoops?? Ffs get real!

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Nov 21st 2013, 2:01 AM

Well Vicky, even God would think that ,that was taking the piss.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:17 PM

What are we trying to achieve with this type of journalism other than a creepy form of audit and inspection of the daily activities of Public Representatives which would have more in common with a fundamentalist society.
    There are clear indications that normal warm blooded people with an ounce of sense should run a mile from any form of Public service as the personal cost is becoming much too high. The levels of personal intrusion is reaching ridiculous proportions as the Public Executioners inspect and trawl through work diaries and expense claims and voting records and debate contributions in an attempt to find the most minuscule of contradictions or inaccuracies so the journalist can scream their discovery from at least a second page while claiming the equivalent of a days pay from their even creepier editors.
    Perhaps the real problem is that we have too many journalists without full time employment and the only way to get published is with the whiff or hint of scandal!
    Isn’t it time we took stock?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:30 PM

Go home Rodgers you’re drunk!!!

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:31 PM

No Paddy Richie Rodgers…
    we have drunk politicians making decisions that affect the futures of generations…disgusting!

Mute Michael Farrelly

@ Richie Rogers I take it you are trying to be funny or do you really believe that the public should trust everything that the politicians do and say without any questions asked ? Kinda sounds to me that you want a dictatorship ?? I guess that is what you are essentially saying

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:04 PM

Richie, I know you blueshirt types don’t like to hear this, but our public (mis)representatives are our employees. They should be held to the same standards any other public employee. If expenses claims are being misused, their misuse should be investigated, just as it would be in any well-run organisation. As for the contradictions you mention, they are not miniscule. Those who “campaign in poetry and govern in prose” are governing fraudulently, i.e. they have no mandate. They should be held accountable for their hypocritical u-turns on just about every aspect of policy you can think of. Oh, and I suspect those running a mile from public service are those who view it as a gravy train.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:18 PM

Tom
    Isn’t it extraordinary but I agree with nearly every single point you make. Of course TDs should be treated exactly the same as any other Public Servant. But that’s not what’s going on here Tom. I don’t know of any PS that has his or her monthly expenses chewed over in public newspapers like a well gnawed bone or the suggestion that a drink at lunch or at any other time during the working week is something to be followed by a breathalyser and public flogging!
    You see Tom the naysayers and the whingers and the moaners and the Left and the Ultra Left and the dogooders and the bum nibblers and the frothy mouthed all want their bit of the action but they wouldn’t either put themselves before the electorate or have a chance in hell of being caught with a position of responsibility. But they sure as hell will grouse and mewl and look for anything to demean and sneer and it’s fast becoming a place where only self puffing independents and Sinn Fein will last the course!

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:29 PM

You really can defend anything they do, can’t you Richie?

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:35 PM

So Richie, do you think the fact that TD have had unvouched for expenses, unknown in any other area of business, has contributed to the fact that journalists and the public are a little bit curious. Of course you probably think we should trust them to be 100% honest and not be under any type scrutiny. Of course they have a great record in this regard ? I’m still trying to figure out if you are a government PR agent or a troll ? Can anybody help ?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 8:03 PM

@Jane I suspect that’s Richie’s job as assigned to him by Mount Street. Defend the indefensible.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:37 PM

@Richie Rodgers I am not on the left or ultra-left. I’m just not an unabashed fascist, that’s all.

Nov 20th 2013, 9:58 PM

Don’t know what your place of work is like but if I had a “couple” of pints for lunch I’d be fired Richie which I can not disagree with.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:46 PM

Seeing as these public servants are making decisions which affect us the people of ireland then I think I’m entitled to know whether they’re sober while making these decisions. Bad enough to think they might have a drink at lunch time, but to think that the Dáil bar is open during debates which means they’re drinking in the workplace is unbelievable! And no, Minister Stagg, we’re not comfortable with TD’s being able to drink while they’re at work.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:47 PM

The unspeakable in defence of the indefensible, to coin a phrase!

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:55 PM

@Mary – That’s the point – they’re not making any decisions. They have no minds – the Party Whip takes care of that. Drunk, sober, stoned, makes no odds – the Whip has spoken… We need to get rid of the Whip – even the connotations of the term seem appropriate – they are slaves to the party ‘wisdom’

Mute Alice ORiordan
    Favourite Alice ORiordan
    Nov 21st 2013, 7:39 PM

Our money goes to pay TDs and we expect them to turn up to work as you or I would do …do you drink going to work? When people go into public office they are fair game and as we pay their wages it is only fair that we know how they conduct themselves…So no I don’t think we are intruding into their lives. If it wasn’t for journalists we wouldn’t know half of what goes on…

Mute Theresa Lewis
    Favourite Theresa Lewis
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:12 AM

The bar in the Dail.should be shut down. This is a place of work not leisure. We are a laughing stock to to the rest of the world. An absolute disgrace! !!

Mute David O'Reilly
    Favourite David O'Reilly
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:16 AM

Incredible to see remarks like this from a TD. Our culture has changed immensely over the last number of years. Proof, if proof were needed, that the Dáil culture remains enveloped in olde Ireland!

Mute Conall O Ciobhain
    Favourite Conall O Ciobhain

I have two every Wed before I collect the dole, handy out

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Nov 20th 2013, 10:59 PM

This country is a joke and these idiots are at the helm. Time to emigrate..!

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:01 AM

And in other news..Brian Cowan regularly drank the allowance of the other 150 TDs

Mute Tina Graham Murphy
    Favourite Tina Graham Murphy
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:36 AM

Ud be suspended maybe sacked in dunnes if u did this …no questions asked

Mute Sarah Tyrrell
    Favourite Sarah Tyrrell
    Nov 21st 2013, 4:36 AM

So two pints DON’T cloud your judgement in the Dail, but DO cloud your judgement driving…Right…Got it :)

Mute Angela Halpin
    Favourite Angela Halpin

Couldn’t have a pint at lunch even if I wanted to, as most of the pubs in my town that haven’t closed don’t open till at least 5 or 6.

Thanks for all the cuts in wages and extra taxes and charges lads, just enjoy your Leinster house bar while you can, oh, and Emmet someone should drag you kicking and screaming into this century, I’m free Monday at 2 – after you finish your canapes and pint of vodka – ya Muppet.

Mute David Freeland
    Favourite David Freeland
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:56 PM

Where’s Paul Gogarty when you need him

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:49 AM

Good man stag, and riding rentboys in the phoenix park is grand too.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:05 AM

What’s the old joke from years back again….what have Emmet Stagg and the Pope got in common? They both had their rings kissed in the phoenix park.

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:50 AM

I think there should be no bar in the Dail at all, after all its a place for work and not a hotel or social club.

Mute Conor Meehan
    Favourite Conor Meehan
    Nov 21st 2013, 4:41 AM

“F*ck you deputy Stagg, F*ck you”

Mute Sylvia O'Mahony
    Favourite Sylvia O'Mahony
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:35 AM

Typical corrupt & irresponsible so called leaders of Ireland, shame on you!

Mute Simon Potter
    Favourite Simon Potter
    Nov 20th 2013, 9:27 PM

Easy to see they’re all ” langers” most of the time

Mute Breaking Good
    Favourite Breaking Good
    Nov 20th 2013, 5:59 PM

Enjoying themselves so what?? Sure everyone is corrupt anyway

Mute fionn mac cumhaill
    Favourite fionn mac cumhaill
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:06 PM

If what would you think if any of the following spoke directly to you and you smelt beer off their breath?

Garda
    Teacher
    Nurse
    Doctor
    Fireman
    Soldier

All public servants. They’d be sacked or severely disciplined.

Yet the Dail has no issue with serving alcohol to the leaders of this country while they debate literature which affects us all into the future? Madness

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:17 PM

You’re so right it hurts. That buffoon stag watches to much corrie and eastenders.
    TD’s yet again detached from reality.

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:58 PM

They need the drink to give them the confidence to get up and talk s***

Mute Grumpeee Oldman
    Favourite Grumpeee Oldman
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:04 PM

Welcome to the house of fun !

Mute irishcrisis
    Favourite irishcrisis
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:17 AM

Here here x very well put ! Totally agree

Mute Conall O Ciobhain
    Favourite Conall O Ciobhain
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:03 PM

Fair play to them the rest of us are only jealous, lucky bastards

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:27 PM

When the party whip dictates the vote, what difference does it make what state the puppet is in?

Mute Cian Hulm
    Favourite Cian Hulm
    Nov 21st 2013, 12:34 AM

If I had a pint before work id lose my job, simple as.

Mute Pauline Brennan
    Favourite Pauline Brennan
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:55 PM

Crack cocaine must b ninety in there Craic sorry Craic must b ninety in there so party like its 1999 why don’t u shower of (insert ur own word here as u c fit……..)

Mute Frank F
    Favourite Frank F
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:03 PM

What channel is this programme supposedly on at 10pm tonight??
    Doesn’t appear on any of the Irish stations anyway.

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    Nov 20th 2013, 7:30 PM

Tv3 Frank, it’s called midweek.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:34 AM

As if we didnt have enought problems with alcohol in this country,we now have an elected member/legislator Mr Stagg encouraging the use of alcohol during working hours while making important decisions on behalf of the citizens,the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:47 AM

Perfect! They get these fat salaries to make very important decisions regarding the running of the country and they can’t even be sober for it.
    No wonder the country is in the state it’s in!
    Furthermore, if anyone of us had to go to work smelling of alcohol, we would be sacked.
    This Government really thinks they are the “Untouchables”!

Mute Oisín Boyce
    Favourite Oisín Boyce
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:38 PM

Did the Dáil dress code ever go through? I don’t mind the TDs having a few pints on the job, as long they’re dressed appropriately.

Mute Ken Hanley
    Favourite Ken Hanley
    Nov 21st 2013, 1:37 AM

Bunch of piss heads runnin the country….. Nothin changes

Mute Gina Seaman Carroll
    Favourite Gina Seaman Carroll
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:57 PM

I think Coronation Street is the only place they have a pint at lunch time!!!

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Nov 20th 2013, 6:56 PM

What a pathetic reason for a sound-bite ‘article’. Arse! Feck! Girls!

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Nov 21st 2013, 8:25 AM

I think they are exempt from getting stopped and breathalysed as they are TDs.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Nov 21st 2013, 5:13 AM

And people wonder why the Irish have a reputation for drinking across the world! If the park incident couldn’t get rid of him then that comment in itself should be enough.

Mute Alice ORiordan
    Favourite Alice ORiordan
    Nov 21st 2013, 7:36 PM

And the 17 TDs who owned up were the only truthful ones…bet some of the others were guilty too and were too cowardly to won up…I never ever had a drink going to work…This is disgraceful and we pay these people….What a shower of no goods.

Mute Daniel Tinnelly
    Favourite Daniel Tinnelly
    Nov 24th 2013, 2:37 PM

I’m sure you wouldn’t like your surgeon to have the same view on drinking at work Mr Stagg. Or your driver. Our your kids teachers. Or pretty much anyone that is going to be making important decisions that will directly effect your life. But politicians are ok, I guess.

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Nov 21st 2013, 9:37 PM

if Stagg is so confident we all approve let us vote on it so!!

Mute United Farmers UFA
    Favourite United Farmers UFA
    Nov 21st 2013, 8:20 AM

With our current whip system, its perfectly ok to have drinks in the Dail. They are after all contributing to the tax take, then its a vote yes or no or pull a girl onto your lap.

Mute Shane McDonnell
    Favourite Shane McDonnell
    Nov 20th 2013, 11:58 PM

A pint at lunch! Wow, big deal

Mute John McHale
    Favourite John McHale
    Nov 21st 2013, 10:23 AM

Between all the red thumbs, green thumbs and the many comments above, it makes you wonder is there any work being done in the Country at all at all ?

Mute Janet De Hora
    Favourite Janet De Hora
    Nov 21st 2013, 11:57 AM

Why do they need a bar at all? Who else has a bar in their place of work? These gombeens have made a bad enough mess of our country- do they really think drink is going to help fix things??

Mute Clare Monks
    Favourite Clare Monks
    Nov 21st 2013, 3:12 PM

how can having alcohol during your working day be justified. surely the importance of your job determines weather alcohol should be allowed. these people are making decisions on our country and are allowed alcohol. surely if its not a problem as some of them say then they wouldnt object to getting rid of the bar altogether.