You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Men take part in the traditional 'splashing festival' in Naganoharamachi, Japan Yoichi Hayashi/AP/Press Association Images

The Daily Fix: Saturday

In tonight’s Fix: Abusive emails, alcohol tests and a triple limb transplant…

EVERY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you a roundup of the day’s main stories – plus any bits and pieces you may have missed…

• It’s been another agonising day for the families of the three fishermen missing from the sunken trawler Tit Bonhomme. The search effort again ended without results, despite an influx of volunteers joining Coast Guard and other teams in Cork’s Glandore Bay.
  • A man has been charged over the killing of a 24-year-old in Passage West, Cork on Thursday. Tony Leahy, 23, will appear in Cork District Court on Monday.
  • How many abusive emails did the EU official who publicly clashed with broadcaster Vincent Browne last week receive? A “large number”, according to her spokesperson…
  • Doctors today performed the world’s first ever triple limb transplant – giving a patient in Turkey two new arms and a leg.
  • France and Germany are mounting a new push for the ‘harmonisation’ of EU corporation tax rates, according to reports – which suggest the Government is likely to face renewed heavy pressure over the issue. Meanwhile, Greek talks with bondholders have broken down unexpectedly.
  • The family of missing man Gerard Daly, 43, have told of their “devastation” seven months after his disappearance. Gerard’s sister told TheJournal.ie they now fear Gerard may be dead, but believe witnesses may have crucial information.
  • A ‘deep clean’ is being carried out in the Belfast hospital ward where three newborn babies have died after an outbreak of infection.

Lord Mayor of Dublin Andrew Montague has his make up done today ahead of a performance for Chinese New Year in Temple Bar (Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Pat Freeman
    Favourite Pat Freeman
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:20 PM

Great idea we’ll done An Post

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:27 PM

Bravo An Post!

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid

Great idea, well done AnPost

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN

It is a move that is needed, but it shows how bad are things that we are now changing the system to facilitate the homeless… No sign of it ending any time soon then….

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips

@MickN: well as FG would tell ya… sher it’s only normal

Mute John Murt
    Favourite John Murt
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:28 PM

@MickN: stop complaining it’s a great idea

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:31 PM

@John Murt: He’s not complaining about the idea. He’s complaining about the reason it’s now necessary and he’s absolutely right to complain about that. Stop telling people not to complain about things that warrant it.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:52 PM

@MickN: How are they in any way “changing the system” ? It’s An Post providing free of charge to homeless people an already available service called a PO. Box. Cost is minimal to An Post and it’s good PR, but still, fair play to them.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:41 PM

Well done An Post

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:01 PM

Another superb innovation by a company to be proud of

Mar 14th 2019, 12:58 PM

Good idea but shame on our useless govs who’d rather see problems normalized instead of fixing them.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Mar 14th 2019, 2:19 PM

@Adrian: We’re not the only country in the world with a homeless crisis nor even close to the worst for it, if there was an easy solution then that wouldn’t be the case.

Plus even during times of the lowest ever homeless numbers, there’s always some people homeless such as those with addictions etc. This is a great idea for a great service but I guess there will always be mindless complaining from some.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 14th 2019, 2:26 PM

@Shane Corry: What a mindless comment. Our situation got to this because our government stopped building affordable housing. Did you not know that?

Mar 14th 2019, 6:32 PM

@Shane Corry: we’re also probably among the least densely populated of all these countries but just because all the other countries have a homeless problem shouldn’t be used as an excuse for our own govs failings. Also what about the 10s of thousands of misplaced and hidden homeless which our useless idiotic politicians like to pretend don’t exist. The sooner this country is rid of these FFG idiot gombeen parties and their joke of a shower of politicians the better.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:17 PM

Great Service. Well done to An Post.

Mute MAJOR PAIN
    Favourite MAJOR PAIN
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:13 PM

Good on ya…now that’s service

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:04 PM

Great idea, but this has been used in many countries for decades now, called post restante

Mute David Walters
    Favourite David Walters
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:12 PM

@DJ François: I used it traveling Australia in the 80’s

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Mar 14th 2019, 1:15 PM

@DJ François: very different service…you can get mail sent there but not use it as official address for banks and govt depts etc

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Mar 14th 2019, 11:37 PM

@DJ François: very different service, post restante is addressed to the post office (An Post have run this for years) while Addresspoint patrons will be given an actual address that will be indistinguishable from a standard real address. Thus removing the stigma of being homeless when applying for work etc

Mute Sean Beinead
    Favourite Sean Beinead
    Mar 14th 2019, 3:10 PM

Fantastic idea ,well done an post.

Mute Kevin Lynch
    Favourite Kevin Lynch
    Mar 14th 2019, 2:39 PM

Really cool

Mute PhoTangoIrl
    Favourite PhoTangoIrl
    Mar 14th 2019, 3:13 PM

Great.. Can we please retitle this article to any of the following “Government plan to use An Post as address service for homeless in dramatic move to be able to call all those who avail no longer homeless but move them off the register.” too long winded? “An post fix enables government to solve embarassing homeless numbers” or maybe “here is the latest sugary news on homelessness aimed to condition you the reader to believe this is normal and inevitable in society,” or “today’s Liberal feel good news on how we treat our fellow humans. (so you can stay comfortably numb and not get angry at those elected to serve all the people}.. A postal address is already provided by Simon and other charities trying to fill the hole left by callous lack of respect for other humans that is the hallmark of Irish state.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 14th 2019, 3:54 PM

@PhoTangoIrl:No offence Pho but would you stop many post offices & one Simon community spread in just a few locations..It’s a great idea.
    I don’t think article needs to be retitled at all.

Mute PhoTangoIrl
    Favourite PhoTangoIrl
    Mar 14th 2019, 4:15 PM

@Aidan Dorney: my point is not against the idea, it is against the messaging. We are not doing enough as a nation

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 14th 2019, 2:57 PM

Yes radical thinking by An post. Link it up with Phone & email notifications &
    the job’s oxo.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Mar 14th 2019, 8:40 PM

Fantastic and novel idea Let’s hope that Govt Departments are prevented from reducing the homeless figures on the back
    of this initiative. Out of the box thinking
    by some clever person at An Post. Well done !

Mute Maeve Moore
    Favourite Maeve Moore
    Mar 14th 2019, 9:56 PM

Fantastic idea! Innovative, practical and so enabling. Well done.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Mar 16th 2019, 12:30 PM

Yup normalise this whole fiasco, big business now it is…

Mute Val Fogarty
    Favourite Val Fogarty
    Mar 15th 2019, 8:54 PM

A case of swings and roundabouts I reckon…Gov trying to reduce the actual homeless figures…Need an address to access social welfare entitlements, then this gives you an address…BUT if you’ve got an address then YOU ARE NO LONGER HOMELESS!!

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Mar 14th 2019, 8:40 PM

Fantastic and novel idea Let’s hope that Govt Departments are prevented from reducing the homeless figures on the back
    of this initiative. Out of the box thinking
    by some clever person at a An Post. Well done !