You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny shares a joke with an attendee at the Fine Gael Árd-Fheis earlier today. Stephen Kilkenny/Light Curve Photo

The Daily Fix: Saturday

Your essential news round-up from the day’s main happenings, plus the little bits you may have missed.

EVERY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of all the day’s main news, as well as the bits and pieces you may have missed along the way.

• With a little over four hours to go until the deadline for registration for the Household Charge, figures from the Department of the Environment show that 770,980 households have signed up either to pay for the €100 charge, or to get their waiver. That’s roughly half of the eligible households.
  • Earlier, around 5,000 people gathered outside the Fine Gael Árd-Fheis at the National Convention Centre in Dublin to protest against the charge. Among those were people who had walked the distance from Malin Head in Donegal.
  • Inside the Ard Fheis, members have been hearing speeches from cabinet ministers, and voting on party policy – including a landmark motion which will see the constitutional convention prioritise the discussion of full gay marriage rights.
  • We’ll be liveblogging Enda Kenny’s keynote speech from 8:30pm this evening.
  • There was also some furore when the protesters arrived, however – as Fine Gael closed the blinds in the convention centre, meaning staff in the media areas couldn’t see the protesters outside. FG claimed they acted on Garda advice.
  • There’s been a security alert in Belfast for much of the day, after a suspicious device was spotted in the Queen’s Bridge area of the city centre. A bomb disposal unit has been present since lunchtime.
  • It was reported last night that Ireland’s involved in talks which would see the promissory notes replaced with EFSF bonds. Here, we’ve tried to figure out what that means – and whether it would be a positive move for us.
  • The Syrian government has declared victory in its year-long battle against the uprising there.

The light shines in through the glass front of the National Convention Centre, which today played host to the second day of the Fine Gael Árd-Fheis – and demonstrations against the household charge. Photo: Stephen Kilkenny/LightCurvePhoto.com.

• Crossmaglen Rangers have won their sixth All-Ireland club football championship since 1997 with a 2-19 to 1-7 win over Garrycastle of Westmeath. The win means Paul Hearty and Oisin McConville set a new record with six All-Ireland medals each. Here’s how it went down.
  • In other sporting news, Munster and Leinster are squaring off in the RaboDirect Pro-12 – you can catch our liveblog of that here
  • …while it was a significant afternoon of action in the Barclays Premier League, including some incredible drama at Eastlands.
  • Do you feel lucky, punk? Probably not as lucky as three people in the states of Maryland, Illinois and Kansas. They’ve shared the top prize in the most lucrative lottery of all time – taking equal shares in a jackpot of $640 million (€480 million).
  • Today would have been actor and comedian Dermot Morgan’s 60th birthday. We’ve found a video including gags which were, literally, 18 years ahead of their time. Take a look.
  • You must have been living under a rock if you missed the Kony2012 video, which became the most viral video of all time. Well, its reign didn’t last long – a movie about the Ugandan child army overlord has been usurped by a two-year-old dancing to Elvis.
  • New MP wins election in new constituency. New MP tweets his gratitude, and gets the name of the constituency wrong. New MP claims his Twitter account has been hacked. World nods its head and says ‘Yeah, sure it was.’
  • The world is getting pretty excited waiting for the next Batman movie, The Dark Knight Rises, coming out in July. The trailers, if you haven’t seem them, are pretty epic… but if you haven’t seen them, don’t bother: watch this Lego one instead.

(YouTube credit: )

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:16 PM

The girl beside Enda is a stunner. :-)

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Mar 31st 2012, 9:17 PM

It’s a shame she has the FG disease

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Mar 31st 2012, 9:38 PM

Kenny bags himself a nice blonde at the Ard Fheis

I hope Lucinda doesn’t get jealous!

Mute Graham Harkness
    Favourite Graham Harkness
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:01 PM

Ya would . The blondes not bad either

Mute Adrian Nolan
    Favourite Adrian Nolan
    Mar 31st 2012, 11:38 PM

Anybody else think she looks like a really, really, really young Anne Doyle?

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Apr 1st 2012, 12:24 AM

That’s Lucinda there behind him sher, slipping the knife out of his back and about to stick it in to the girls. She’s hogging her Enda, the same Enda she was quick to stab in the back only months ago. God politicians are the worst type of snakes there are. Stab ya in the back and then all about you the next minute. Worse than the mafia!

Mute Steve Jackman
    Favourite Steve Jackman
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:19 PM

Whistle for the hottie… Whooop Whoooop!!!!!!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:19 PM

Keep it professional, gents, thank you…

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:23 PM

Ok Gavan

Mute Patrick Minford
    Mar 31st 2012, 9:47 PM

Daily News Headline

TAOISEACH WANTS MORE WOMEN TD’S IN THE DAIL – preferably blonde!

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:22 PM

Why include that pic as a hook if you don’t want people to comment on it?
    Keep it professional indeed!

Mute Adrian Nolan
    Favourite Adrian Nolan
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:35 PM

Giggidy giggidy. Is that why they shut the blinds today?

Mute plato
    Favourite plato
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:27 PM

How come the govt are now COMBINING the figures for those who have paid the household charge and those who have applied for a waiver .. Spinning the numbers again folks!!

Mute Mike Scott
    Favourite Mike Scott
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:38 PM

It sees that allowing gay people to marry is more important than the 450,000 unemployed!

Mute Eamon O Regan
    Favourite Eamon O Regan
    Mar 31st 2012, 8:42 PM

“D’ya know what the problem in Ireland is? It’s the qwuaaars”
    - Mick “the bull” Daly
    Barman of the year

Mute Brian Rafferty
    Favourite Brian Rafferty
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:28 PM

dont belive the figures its scare tatics

Mute Patrick Minford
    Mar 31st 2012, 9:44 PM

Kenny bags himself a blonde at the ard fheis

I hope Lucinda doesn’t get jealous!

Mute Ciaran Mc Hugh
    Favourite Ciaran Mc Hugh
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:51 PM

Lucinda isn’t jealous Enda shares his time with alot of blondes we just don’t get to see them all. Wasn’t Merkel blonde years ago.

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Apr 1st 2012, 1:19 AM

It makes me sick how FG/FF/Labour always throws the murderers, criminals…etc insults at Sinn Féin. Yet Dame Edna has no problem being photographed drinking champagne with a leader whose regime has been responsible for the cold blooded murder of 10s of millions of babies just because they were born female. Yellow belly Kenny makes me sick to my stomach. This BS about Chinese investment in the country is a load of cods wallop. All they are interested in is getting a foothold in Europe by buying our state assets at giveaway prices. It will be like taking candy from a baby. What do you expect from a bunch of failed school teachers? As they say those who can’t teach go in to politics!
    ‘Polls’, like statistics are notoriously dubious and should be outlawed. They are used as attempted opinion shapers not indicators. This is NOT news. This type of ‘news reporting’ unfortunately is all too familiar. The truth is, Kenny and his government are widely despised for continuing FF’s legacy of destroying this little island of ours. The real story of the day, and everyone knows it, is how so many people by way of refusing to pay the household charge, have decided to stand up to this government of incompetents. Also, Alan Shatter has clearly shown dismissive contempt for a massive percentage of the electorate with his insane comments. Planet Dail and the real world could not be farther apart.
    This isn’t the law of the land Mr. Kenny. It’s Blue shirt law to collect tribute for your German overlord Angela. Admit it Coward, you plan to give it away. Mick Wallace is dead right. It’s a cheap shot from a sleeveen’s in one of the protected professions. If anything illustrates the level of fantasy in this Vichy government, it’s Alan Shatter’s comment. He belongs to Irish elite that believes that money really grows on trees. Contrast Israel, a real country, with Ireland. Israel, Mr. Shatter, does not capitulate, ever! Shame on you Mr. Shatter. I expected much more.
    No it’s the law of the land. It is a tax voted upon in the only democratically mandated house in the country. You may not like it. You may consider it unjust. Fair enough. But you live in a representative democracy and are clear therefore that by not paying you are choosing to reject a democratically constituted law.
    oh please he is a lapdog to Europe he wants us to vote yes to the fiscal treaty to cause more austerity and basically hand power over to Europe he doesn’t stand up for the citizens as long as he gets his fat pay check and pensions, and the bankers like him that’s all that matters he makes me sick.
    I am totally disgusted at Justice Minister Alan Shatter telling people to “get a life”. How dare him!
    FG And LB make me stomach churn,
    Enjoy it while it lasts FG/Lab. Ireland is back in recession, your 5point plan is AWOL along with various election promises. A large section of society is non-compliant with your attempt to tax dwellings, still nobody has been held to account over the banking bailout which has cost this country dear, unemployment is where, emigration and wage disparity continue to climb, no progress on the banking debt which we cannot afford to service, corruption must be rampant as nothing has really been done to stamp it out…as in jail time, not a slap on the wrist, families being run out of the country by drug gangs etc etc.
    A lot done of your damage has been done, including the Bonus so your crony Conlon, and a man died of cancer, because of your neglect to write to him in support, maybe you have done much more damage to this country than you think, your all a pack of shameless, greedy, corrupt, intimidation, and irritation B….. That I do know.
    It’s only a matter of time, A child got abuse by Garda today on the protest, Garda attacked him, because he was trying to ask a question to one of your FG councils, Garda grabbed him by the tee-shirt and forcefully pushed him, only 12 years old, I witnessed it and so did 15 others, Alan Shatter is a disgrace to allow abuse to a child by the Garda, imagine victimising a child for crying out loud, Sick and shameless.
    His Mother is reporting it, to her Garda station and lucky we got the Number.
    You talk about Child Abuse. Hypocrites FGIt’s easy for Shatter to tell us to get a life from where he’s standing. The €100 tax may be a molehill on his outrageous salary, perks and allowances, but it IS a mountain to those of us on low incomes.
    He should also apologise to Mick Wallace, because at least Wallace created hundreds of jobs in his time! How many jobs has Shatter ever created from his own cosy existence in politics and the law?
    Hogan continues to be delusional:
    “I never contemplate disappointment. I think it’s great to see so many people complying with the law,” he said. That is like a manager of a football team losing 7-3 saying that it’s great we scored 3, whilst totally ignoring that the other side has scored 7!
    Hogan, the 70% who have not paid this unjust tax are ‘winning’ against your side that have only scored 30%. So stop waffling and admit defeat on this score!

Mute Adrian Nolan
    Favourite Adrian Nolan
    Apr 1st 2012, 1:34 AM

Let it all out Rita, thats it. You’ll feel better.

Mute Bryan Rooney
    Favourite Bryan Rooney
    Mar 31st 2012, 10:59 PM

Quote of the day Adrian ! Hats off to you!

Mute DashRiprock
    Favourite DashRiprock
    Apr 1st 2012, 12:39 PM

Enda Kenny… Pimp.

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 1:04 PM

Id go for lying embarressing cringey twat actually.

Mute DashRiprock
    Favourite DashRiprock
    Apr 1st 2012, 1:40 PM

and yet despite all that… pimp