You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
How worried is Ireland's pharma industry about Trump's tariffs?
Top Trump advisor used Gmail for official business, adding to security pressures
Verona Murphy wins first-ever Dáil vote of confidence in a Ceann Comhairle by 96 votes to 71
Libyans celebrate at Saha Kish Square in Benghazi, after the National Transitional Council declared the country's liberation from the rule of Muammar Gaddafi. Francois Mori/AP
Daily Fix
The Daily Fix: Sunday
In tonight’s Fix: Dozens killed in Turkish earthquake, more campaigning in the Áras race, and ten ways in which the future has already arrived…
EVERY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you a roundup of the day’s main news – plus any bits and pieces you may have missed.
At least 85 people have now been confirmed dead after an earthquake hit the Van region of Turkey; the bulk of the damage has been wrought in the town of Ercis, where dozens of buildings have been reduced to rubble with many trapped inside.
Campaigning has been continuing in the Presidential election, with polling now just four days away. Today David Norris insisted that he was the reason there was a vote at all – alleging that the political parties were trying to find an agreed compromise candidate who may have gone uncontested. Michael D Higgins has had some harsh words for Seán Gallagher too.
In other political news, Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore have been advocating a Yes vote in the two constitutional amendments being voted on this Thursday – while the Irish Council for Civil Liberties has hailed the increasing numbers ready to vote No on the referendum on Oireachtas inquiries.
More details have been published of the Sunday Business Post’s opinion poll – which has cemented Fine Gael’s status as the most popular party, and which has confirmed that Fianna Fáil is now behind Sinn Féin in the popularity stakes.
Did you spot how we dodged the matter of the plural of the word ‘referendum’ there? We’ve been trying to get to the bottom of which is the real plural: referendums or referenda.
Libya has been declared officially liberated from the rule of Muammar Gaddafi at a ceremony in Benghazi earlier today, as an autopsy confirmed that the dictator died as a result of a gunshot wound to the head.
Europe’s political leaders have been meeting in Brussels to try and sort out the debt crisis that’s threatening to destroy the Euro. The outcome? They’re meeting again next Wednesday – when they’ll also confirm whether their plans will require a treaty change.
The Occupy protests have been continuing around the world this weekend – here’s our slideshow of how things have been going.
Senator Katherine Zappone and Ann Louise Gilligan – who are bringing a Supreme Court challenge against the State’s refusal to recognise their Canadian marriage – have vowed to continue their appeal despite a legal setback last week.
Ireland’s farmers have urged the government to treat them no differently from the public staff covered by the Croke Park agreement.
Thousands of Indian girls were given the name ‘Nakusa’ – literally meaning ‘unwanted’ – because they were born in areas which prioritise male children. Hundreds of them have been attending ceremonies to rename themselves hoping to move on with their lives.
A group of Irish students have set a new world record… for the longest time spent on a big wheel. The 1470-minute stint was spent on the wheel at the Point Village to raise cash for leukaemia research.
The cream of the online crop was celebrated at the annual Irish Web Awards last night. TheJournal.ie had a good night, taking the prize for Best Web-Only Publication as well as the overall grand prix for the best website in Ireland. Thanks to all of you for reading – the site wouldn’t be what it is without you.
Finally tonight: the future! Ten technologies that seem mind-bendingly futuristic, but which already exist. Which one do you want to see go mainstream first?
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Here come the trump types who spent the last few days here screeching their defence of the policy, only now they’ll claim their great leader was wise to want to end it.
@neilo: whatabout the Dems, crooked Hillary, Obama, the emails!! Whatabout the EMAILLSSS!! Deep state, snowflake, make America great, Chinese Leberal hoax, fake news, conspiracy, deep state conspiracy, pizzagate, liberal hoax #alternate facts
@neilo: Still waiting on Mr. Fake Facebook send me your name, address, copy of passport clown “Joe Caulfeld” to come on, along with that wet behind the ears kid “Daniel Carson” and “Sleepy Eyes Chuck Todd” etc…
@neilo: please look up The NY Times 2014/2015 same photos same reason. When a Parent is arrested the children cannot be taken into custody with them it’s a law that goes back to the 90s. Obama had it wrong also. If they go to a border post they will not be arrested and can claim asylum they will not be separated. They only get arrested When they cross illegally.
@james s: except when they get to a border post they are being turned away whether they seek asylum or not which leaves illegal entry or returning to whatever persuaded them to travel thousands of miles in perilous conditions. They have tried to do it the right way.
@Dave O Keeffe: incorrect when you claim refugee status they have to process you. But unlike here it doesn’t take years. Most likely they’re not legitimate refugees that’s why they choose the illegal crossing
This guy is out of control, strangely moving towards a dictator state.
How telling the only other foreign leader he gets on with is Kim. Who has his opponents (uncles) saveged to death by starving dogs.
The world should organise a boycott of American goods including movies untill they sort him out.
@Cathal Leonard: that wasn’t true about feeding the uncle to dogs and the boycott you describe will hurt the American people who are as bewildered by all of this as we are.
@Zmeevo Libe: You know what, I have a lot of friends in Russia who are not complaining. You do know the difference between a boycott and a sanction? a sanction is usually aimed at affecting the government, a boycoot can affect governments too but also people, the man on the street. Some guy growing vegetables having his food boycotted because it comes from the US etc etc
Congress makes the laws this one was jointl made by both parties). Trump is choosing to enforce it (Obama decided not to). The Republicans are now going to change the law.
Btw, any “family” that walks up to a border crossing and asks for asylum will not be split up (but will be detained). It’s only those that get caught illegally crossing and then claim they are looking for asylum that are detained seperatly.
It was the very left wing 9th circuit that created this problem.
@Fiasco99: FACT: families walk up to border crossings are being turned away regardless of what they say. FACT: That leaves families with the option of entering illegally or returning the the situation that was bad enough for them to need to walk thousands of miles to seek asylum in America. FACT: Arresting asylum seekers is a Trump/Sessions policy.
@neilo: notice how they always shoehorn Obama in there. Even though everybody knows he’s got nothing to do with this… Like Obama or not, he didn’t spend 8 whole years saying “Bush did it”.
@neilo: sean Hannity, how did you know ? Ah shucks ! Well I guess my politcal identity is over now. Thank you for telling me who my media political hero’s are, on tv. You know me better than I do,
@Jonathan Byrne: fact, They are trying to do it the legal way and not being allowed to do that by border police. Fact, having a hit out on you as a cop in Mexico fighting a cartel is not grounds for asylum anymore because Sessions said so.
@Fiasco99: erm , you are not helping – this shouldn’t be a partisan issue , a pro trump anti trump issue , it should be about how to treat people humanely under the circumstances regardless of the politics – it is not acceptable in this day and age to inflict misery by splitting families, especially the long term damage on the kids – building new tents and cages to manage that process which was in effect IMPOSED by this administration by their introduction of a new Zero tolerance policy – it is a policy not a law. The President has the power to change the policy not congress – – oh – and you are being an idiot.
@Fiasco99: i wasn’t named calling you… i was pointing out your were an idiot… this idiotic policy and what you called the manufactured outrage has seen the administration to buckle and the President has announced he will sign an order to stop the separations ( as I predicted earlier today ) – but your pretty selfish and totally classless attitude to the problem is there for all to see in your comments. I am sure you are proud of yourself.
@P.J. Nolan: No I agree this is a Katrina moment of sorts for Trump himself , how he handles major issues that resonate with people that can occur and cut thru the partisan politics can be pretty defining – it’s already been in the mainstream US news cycle for a few days that the quick fix would be for HIM to just pick up the phone , halt the new zero tolerance policy and then sort out – but he is JUST playing politics with it – they will put a band-aid fix in this week – but he missed the chance to be decisive and act like a President for all Americans this week -politically he chose to be partisan – blame the democrats for everything and rally his base instead – everyone knows he wants funding for his wall and is using tearing families apart as some sort of negotiating tactic – i think they will be punished in midterms in November and try hard as he may to claim HE fixed the mess at the border – the majority will only think he made the problem worse. Sad to see America in such moral decline.
@Dotty Dunleary: I like Obama but Lincoln was probably the best……. I read Team of Rivals, at points I was like “they’re making this up, no way this guy was THIS good” but it was meticulously indexed and researched…..
So, I’d have to go with Lincoln if picking the best US President ever.
@Mark Jones: I really wouldn’t go that far Mark, greatest since Reagan perhaps. No comparing him to presidents such as Lincoln, Washington or Calvin Coolidge.
This is only starting to be a PR disaster? Says enough about Republicans. And the fact that they believe him is a joke. He could just turn around and withdraw his support and no one here would even blink. The man is pure evil.
@Deborah Behan: yes pure evil, gotta love those action catchphrases. If ya look up a history book say from the last century then there was actions of evil. In comparison to now, ya having a laugh.
“solve the border crisis and family separation issue by allowing for family detention and removal”.
Family detention means the kids will be placed in holding cells with adult and young males while being processed and waiting for removal. Is this really safer for the kids ? Would the Supreme court allow kids to be incarcerated in this manner ? The same people who opposed separation will now oppose incarceration.
Either way Trump closes the loophole. Fair play to him.
@neilo: when one of your election backers are folks that will benefit the most from having these people locked up,then it’s best not to deport them straight away..
please don’t respond Joe
@Joe Caulfield: Are you asking if putting families in supervised detention centres is better than creating thousands of unaccompanied minors and locking them in cages where they are forced to change the nappies of the infant children amongst them due to lack of care?
@Joe Caulfield: are you avoiding answering a straight forward question? Hint: mass incarceration of toddlers is what this policy is, the supreme court are allowing it. The detention centres allow them to be with their families.n
Liberals live babies being cut up and aborted from their mother’s womb and tossed into trash cans or dissected for stem cells. Cry because illegals cannot just march into the country without going through processing and rightfully being separated from their children temporarily after committing a crime, even though they KNEW THIS when they chose to come in, and could turn around at any point.
@Daniel Doran: The Democrats want to incarcerate the kids in large holding cells with adult males. Would it not be safer to place them in a separate situation while the parents are processed ?
@Joe Caulfield: why are you responding to a person that has a fake profile ? Is it because you are in agreement with him ? Ahhh,So that is how it works with you…bless
@Francis Mc Carthy: Didn’t see his account was closed. Don’t worry won’t be responding to him again. Just goes to show what a problem anonymity is on this site.
@Daniel Doran: yes , most of us reasonably intelligent adults can agree that the illegal immigration issue needs to be managed – many are not asking for them to be admitted to the US , just asking that they don’t split up the kids from the families as this newly introduced zero tolerance is doing – it is damaging and traumatising young kids thats all- they need to manage the problem differently…..which they will after this clusterfukk of a policy roll out , but seriously just saying that they could turn around at any point is completely missing the point. Seriously are u 12 or something ?
@Daniel Doran: when there’s a gun at the back of your head it’s probably best not to turn around. For some of these people even this separation is better than the alternative. Better doesn’t mean right though. Asylum seekers are being denied legal entry making illegal entry the only option.
Liberals you say United States is horrible place, horrible health care, “Nazi” leader, concentration camps… a oppressive horrible regime… if this is the case why do immigrants risk life and freedom, AND their children’s lives and freedom to get in?
@Daniel Doran: many are fleeing the very things Trump claims they are bringing. Did you know that death threats from cartels are no longer grounds for asylum in America? Even if you’re a cop in the area the cartel are operating.
Just like with DPRK, trump saves us from a disaster of his own making, and were supposed to be grateful. Plato’s democratic paradox – idiots can vote. What ruinous games are next up? US/UK have lost international credibility with outright lies to their people, serving only the wealthiest, turning the gullible majority against the minority. NATO’s next..whilst Putin builds his Rusasia. We need a JFK to unite the centrists, and yes he wasn’t perfect but leagues above these fools.
Making besties with a murderous dictator.
Insults the PM of his closest neighbor.
Puts innocent children into cages away from their families and says its for their own good.
Now he’s after pulling out of the UN Human Rights Council.
Whats next?
How worried is Ireland's pharma industry about Trump's tariffs?
Eoghan Dalton
5 hrs ago
trump administration
Top Trump advisor used Gmail for official business, adding to security pressures
7 hrs ago
Speaking rights row
Verona Murphy wins first-ever Dáil vote of confidence in a Ceann Comhairle by 96 votes to 71
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say